DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 10-12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 2019/0309817 to Juracek et al. in view of US Patent Application 2013/0327211 to Booth et al.
Re: claims 1 and 6. Juracek et al. show in figure 1 a shock strut, comprising: a shock strut cylinder 145; a shock strut piston 140 slidably disposed within the shock strut cylinder; a rebound chamber 171 disposed within the shock strut cylinder and adjacent the shock strut piston; a first percolation seal 110 configured to restrict a first flow of fluid between the shock strut cylinder 145 or particularly the lower portion of element 145 and the rebound chamber 171 at least in the area of the seal; an orifice support tube 123, 130 disposed within the shock strut cylinder, but is silent with regard to the second percolation seal, a fluid source, and a conduit as recited.
Booth et al. teach in figure 1 and in paragraph [0058] the use of a piston cylinder assembly with a second percolation seal particularly in paragraph [0058] when the reference refers to one “or more locking seals”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the seal of Juracek et al. to have comprised both a first seal and a second seal, in view of the teachings of Booth et al., in order to provide increased fluid flow resistance and thereby increase the strut assembly damping capability.
Also see In re Harza since Applicant failed to provide an explanation of criticality with respect to having a second seal.
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Booth et al. teach in figure 1 the use of a piston cylinder assembly including a fluid source connecting to element 117 and described in paragraph [0081] and a conduit 127, 129 having a first end shown near 117 and a second end shown near 124, the first end coupled to the fluid source 117 and the second end coupled to the seal 124.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the strut of Juracek et al., as modified, to have comprised a fluid source and a conduit, in view of the teachings of Booth et al., in order to provide a means of selectively and actively adjusting the fluid pressure reaching the seals to actively affect the amount of fluid flow resistance and, thus, the damping force.
Re: claim 2. Juracek et al., as modified, teach in figure 1 and in paragraph [0013] of Juracek et al. the limitation wherein a liquid or oil chamber 172 is defined on a first or lower side of the second percolation seal 121 (alternate interpretation) and a mixed fluid (air-oil) chamber 171 is defined on a second or upper side of the second percolation seal, as modified, the second percolation seal being configured to restrict the second flow of fluid from the liquid chamber to the mixed fluid chamber.
Re: claims 4 and 15. Juracek et al., as modified, further show in figure 1 of Juracek et al. the limitation of a metering pin 150 connected to the shock strut piston 140 via shown intervening element connections, as broadly recited, wherein the second seal, as modified, is configured to engage the metering pin to restrict the second flow of fluid similar to the way in which the first seal engages the metering pin to further help with fluid flow restriction, as modified.
Re: claims 9 and 16. Juracek et al., as modified, are silent with regard to the first seal being configured to engage a sidewall of the shock strut cylinder to restrict the first flow of fluid.
Booth et al. teach in figure 1 the use of a first seal 124 being configured to engage a sidewall of a cylinder 102 to restrict the first flow of fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the first seal of Juracek et al., as modified, to have engaged a sidewall of the shock strut cylinder (as opposed to a metering pin), in view of the teachings of Booth et al., in order to provide a means of contacting a larger sealing surface which may result in more effective flow restriction.
Re: claims 10-12 and 1 (alternate interpretation). Juracek et al. show in figure 1 a landing gear system, comprising: a shock strut, the shock strut including: a shock strut cylinder 145; a shock strut piston 140 slidably disposed within the shock strut cylinder; a rebound chamber 171 disposed within the shock strut cylinder and adjacent the shock strut piston; a first percolation seal 110 configured to restrict a first flow of fluid between the shock strut cylinder or the bottom portion of the shock strut cylinder and the rebound chamber; a second percolation seal 121 configured to restrict a second flow of fluid between the shock strut cylinder or the bottom portion of the shock strut cylinder and the rebound chamber; an orifice support tube 123, 130 disposed within the shock strut cylinder; a first channel surrounding element 110 disposed within the orifice support tube, wherein the first percolation seal 110 is disposed within the first channel; and a second channel surrounding element 121 disposed within the orifice support tube, wherein the second percolation seal 121 is disposed within the second channel, but is silent with regard to a fluid source and a conduit as recited. With regard to claim 10, the landing gear is disclosed in paragraph [0011].
Booth et al. teach in figure 1 the use of a piston cylinder assembly including a fluid source connecting to element 117 and described in paragraph [0081] and a conduit 127, 129 having a first end shown near 117 and a second end shown near 124, the first end coupled to the fluid source 117 and the second end coupled to the seal 124.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the strut of Juracek et al., as modified, to have comprised a fluid source and a conduit, in view of the teachings of Booth et al., in order to provide a means of selectively and actively adjusting the fluid pressure reaching the seals to actively affect the amount of fluid flow resistance and, thus, the damping force.
Re: claim 14. Juracek et al., as modified, teach the limitation of the conduit being coupled to the orifice support tube via intervening elements of the strut forming to overall assembly as broadly recited.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 16-19, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11814160 to Bodki et al. in view of US Patent Application 2019/0309817 to Juracek et al.
Both the instant invention and Bodki ‘160 recite a shock strut cylinder, a shock strut piston, a fluid source, a conduit, and a seal that is configured to be inflated and deflated but is silent with regard to the seal being a first and second seal and is silent with regard to the strut assembly being comprising an orifice support tube.
Juracek et al. teach in figure 1 the use of a shock strut assembly comprising a first 110 and second 121 seal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the seal of Bodki’160 to have comprised both a first seal and a second seal, in view of the teachings of Juracek et al., in order to provide increased fluid flow resistance and thereby increase the strut assembly damping capability.
Juracek et al. teach in figure 1 the use of a shock strut assembly comprising an orifice support tube 123, 130.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the strut assembly of Bodki’160 to have comprised an orifice support tube, in view of the teachings of Juracek et al., in order to provide a means of housing the seals to help prevent decoupling.
With regard to the specific recitations in earlier filed application for Bodki’160 see In re Goodman.
In In re Goodman, 29 USPQ 2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993), the court held that for the purposes of obvious double patenting a later genus (broad) claim is not patentable over an earlier species (narrow) claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection do not rely on the combination of references used in the prior office action. Upon further review, new rejections have been presented.
Conclusion
mmb
March 6, 2026
/MELODY M BURCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616