DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
With regards to the 112a for claim 5 it is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
With regards to the 101 upon reconsideration it is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/8/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the 103 rejection, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Applicants’ arguments consist of “while” a reference recites an element (for example, mandibular adjustment device) it doesn’t show or suggest copy of claim. They do not discuss why it doesn’t not disclose the portion of the claim merely a general allegation that it doesn’t.
Additionally, Applicants discussion of Burich, Yammamoto, Debbarma, White and Anjanappa is not persuasive because its moot as they were not previously applied for claim 24 which was brought into claim 1 and amended nor are they currently applied for the elements.
For Larsy in view of Yoon in further view of Lath Examiner disagrees that the elements are not shown as recited in the rejection to the amended claim, see below.
With regards to the discussion of claim 23 regarding Yoon this argument is found not persuasive and moot, see the rejection below.
For the above reasons the arguments are not persuasive. The remaining discussion relies on the arguments discussed above and are not persuasive for the same reasons.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 17366186 (‘186), fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Examiner notes that the current Application was filed as CIP of the ‘186 application. Elements of claims 1, 26-27 (and by extension the dependent claims), for example “PPG”, do not seem to be present in the parent ’186 application. As such the priority for claims 1 is 01/21/2022 per Provisional Application 63/301,501.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-10, 12-14, 18-20, 22, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220117777 Nathaniel Lasry et al. (hereinafter Las) in view of US 20180310881 to Yoon et al. (hereinafter Yoon) in further view of US 20190125261 to Lathrop et al. (hereinafter Lath).
Regarding Claim 1, an interpretation of Las discloses a processor-implemented method for health monitoring ([0009], [0114], [0136]) comprising:
providing wireless connectivity between a processor and a wireless transmitting device ([0136] including “a processing agent (not shown) may be provided for additional ex-situ treatment of data . . . The WAN interface could be based on Ethernet or other wireline protocol or could be a wireless interface (e.g., 3G, WiMax, 4G/LTE, 5G, cellular network, etc.). Skilled persons will readily understand that the connection is a logical connection and that different network nodes (e.g., routers, switches, etc.) may be present thereon . . . The dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 may then exchange data (e.g., send and receive instructions) with the remote part. The remote part may be provided as a smartphone, a smart tablet, a portable or fixed computer or the likes. In addition, the remote part may further allow the dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 to communicate with the processing agent therethrough.” See also [0059]; Recites transmitting data wirelessly from the intraoral device to the external processing element. Also recites sending data to remote devices which are computers etc. which also have processors), wherein the wireless transmitting device is integrated within an intraoral sensing interface for use in a person ([0054] including “The electronics module 1110 may be integrated within the sleep monitoring device 1100”, [0059] see also [0071]);
coupling a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor ([0059] including “a photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensor”, [0117] see also [0108]) to the wireless transmitting device ([0059] including “necessary electrical connectivity between the PPG sensor and the electronics module 1110 are added during the manufacturing step (e.g., as wires or as 3D printable conductive material). In other embodiments, the PPG sensor is in wireless communication with the electronics module 1110 (e.g., Bluetooth, proprietary protocol, etc.).”, [0117]), wherein the PPG sensor is attached to the intraoral sensing interface ([0059] including “mounted on the sleep monitoring device 1100 facing the palate of the wearer, such that the PPG sensor is in contact or close proximity with one or more blood vessels of the wearer.”, [0117]), and wherein the PPG sensor is used to detect cardiac functionality of the person ([0059] including “The PPG sensor can be used to measure . . . heart rate”, [0117]);
coupling a breathing sensor ([0060] including “a pressure transducer or a pressure switch . . . to measure variations in intraoral air pressure to indicate respiratory frequency”, [0118] see also [0108]) to the wireless transmitting device ([0060] including “necessary electrical connectivity between the pressure transducer or a pressure switch and the electronics module 1110 are added during the manufacturing step (e.g., as wires or as 3D printable conductive material). In other embodiments, the pressure transducer or a pressure switch is in wireless communication with the electronics module 1110 (e.g., Bluetooth, proprietary protocol, etc.).”, [0118]), wherein the breathing sensor is attached to the intraoral sensing interface ([0060] including “integrated in the electronics module 1110 or mounted on or integrated within (a non-airtight compartment of) the sleep monitoring device 1100”, [0118]), and wherein the breathing sensor is used to detect pulmonary functionality of the person ([0060] including “a pressure transducer or a pressure switch . . . to measure variations in intraoral air pressure to indicate respiratory frequency”, [0118]);
coupling an inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor ([0063] including “accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors”, [0121] see also [0108]; discloses accelerometer and gyroscope) to the wireless transmitting device ([0054], [0063] including “necessary electrical connectivity between the one or more accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors and the electronics module 1110 are added during the manufacturing step (e.g., as wires or as 3D printable conductive material). In other embodiments, the one or more accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors is in wireless communication with the electronics module 1110 (e.g., Bluetooth, proprietary protocol, etc.).”, [0121]), wherein the IMU sensor is attached to the intraoral sensing interface ([0063] including “accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors integrated in the electronics module 1110 or mounted on or integrated within the sleep monitoring device 1100.”, [0121]), and wherein the IMU sensor is used to detect three-dimensional motion of the person ([0063] including “The one or more accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors can be used to measure head movements and body vibrations of the wearer.”, [0121]);
coupling a temperature sensor ([0061] including “temperature sensor”, [0119] see also [0108]) to the wireless transmitting device ([0061] including “necessary electrical connectivity between the temperature sensor and the electronics module 1110 are added during the manufacturing step (e.g., as wires or as 3D printable conductive material). In other embodiments, the temperature sensor is in wireless communication with the electronics module 1110 (e.g., Bluetooth, proprietary protocol, etc.).”, [0119]), wherein the temperature sensor is attached to the intraoral sensing interface ([0061] including “integrated in the electronics module 1110 or mounted on or integrated within the sleep monitoring device 1100”, [0119]), and wherein the temperature sensor is used to detect intraoral body temperature of the person ([0061] including “measure variations in user's temperature”, [0119] see also [0108]); and
providing health data about the person to a receiving device ([0054], [0136] including “The WAN interface could be based on Ethernet or other wireline protocol or could be a wireless interface (e.g., 3G, WiMax, 4G/LTE, 5G, cellular network, etc.). Skilled persons will readily understand that the connection is a logical connection and that different network nodes (e.g., routers, switches, etc.) may be present thereon . . . The dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 may then exchange data (e.g., send and receive instructions) with the remote part. The remote part may be provided as a smartphone, a smart tablet, a portable or fixed computer or the likes. In addition, the remote part may further allow the dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 to communicate with the processing agent therethrough.” See also [0059], [0071], [0108]; data is sent to remote device such as heart rate, temperature readings etc.), based on data from one or more of the PPG sensor, the breathing sensor, the IMU sensor, and the temperature sensor, wherein the health data is provided using the wireless connectivity ([0054] including “The sleep monitoring device 1100 may be used as a diagnostic aid in the context of different illnesses (apnea, cardiovascular monitoring, etc.).”, [0136] including “The WAN interface could be based on Ethernet or other wireline protocol or could be a wireless interface (e.g., 3G, WiMax, 4G/LTE, 5G, cellular network, etc.). Skilled persons will readily understand that the connection is a logical connection and that different network nodes (e.g., routers, switches, etc.) may be present thereon . . . The dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 may then exchange data (e.g., send and receive instructions) with the remote part. The remote part may be provided as a smartphone, a smart tablet, a portable or fixed computer or the likes. In addition, the remote part may further allow the dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 to communicate with the processing agent therethrough.” See also [0059], [0071], [0108]; health data is wirelessly sent from the intraoral device to external/remote device based on data from one or more of the claimed sensors).
An interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose the wireless transmitting device is embedded in the intraoral sensing interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor (diagnostic medical systems), Yoon teaches the wireless transmitting device is embedded in the intraoral sensing interface ([0019] including “an intelligent mouthguard 100 including sensors, a battery, charging and wireless electronics circuitry. The intelligent mouthguard system comprises a printed circuit board 103 embedded in a mouthguard 100 and a software application that enables low-energy wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth®, WiFi, WLAN, etc.) between the electronics in the mouthguard 100 and an external hub or server.”, Figs. 1A-1B). Yoon also discloses PPG sensing ([0019], [0026]), temperature sensing ([0019], [0025]) and inertial sensing in 3D ([0019], [0024]) and transmitting the health data information based on the sensors to a remote device with processing wirelessly ([0017], [0019] including “low-energy wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth®, WiFi, WLAN, etc.) between the electronics in the mouthguard 100 and an external hub or server . . . configured to communicate with each of the sensors and to communicate various information to the external hub or server.”, [0021]-[0022], Fig. 1C).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include transmitting device embedded in the intraoral sensing interface for transferring data from the sensors as recited by Yoon because embedding the transmitter in the substrate provides a protective coating ([0023]).
An interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose wherein the PPG sensor is located in an anchored position on the intraoral sensing interface adjacent to a specific tooth of the person.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic method), Lath teaches wherein the PPG sensor is located in an anchored position on the intraoral sensing interface adjacent to a specific tooth of the person ([0027] including “a photoplethysmograph (PPG) heart rate monitoring device may be utilized to measure the heart rate of the user. In some embodiments, the heart rate monitoring device may be disposed within the mouth guard 10 at a location adjacent an artery in the face and/or gums for measurements”, [0031] including “, the posterior portion 38 faces the rear of the mouth (e.g., near the molars),”, [0039], [0044] including “the heart rate monitoring device 78 may be located in the . . . posterior portion 38 of the base member 14.”, Fig. 14 see also [0022], [0041], Fig. 3; when the device is integrated into at a specific location it is adjacent the specific tooth which is relative to that position).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include more specifically PPG in an anchored position adjacent to the upper molars of the user as recited by Lath because it is merely combining prior art elements (the PPG sensor recited by Las with the more particular positioning as recited Lath) according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 2, an interpretation of Las further discloses wherein the health data is used to monitor four-sensor health functionality of the person ([0054], [0059]-[0063] various sensors and functionality measured, [0117]-[0121] various sensors and functionality measured see also [0142]; the reference discloses the claimed four sensors each monitoring health “functionalities” thus provides four sensor health “functionality” of the person).
Regarding Claim 7, an interpretation of Las further discloses coupling an electroencephalogram (EEG) sensor ([0056], [0062] including “EEG (Electroencephalography) probes”, [0120]) to the wireless transmitting device ([0056], [0062] including “necessary electrical connectivity between the EEG probes and the electronics module 1110 are added during the manufacturing step (e.g., as wires or as 3D printable conductive material). In other embodiments, the EEG probes is in wireless communication with the electronics module 1110 (e.g., Bluetooth, proprietary protocol, etc.)”, [0120]).
Regarding Claim 8, an interpretation of Las further discloses wherein the EEG sensor provides data ([0056], [0062] including “EEG (Electroencephalography) probes”, [0120]) to augment the health data ([0054], [0059]-[0063] various sensors and functionality measured, [0117]-[0121] various sensors and functionality measured; the reference discloses the initial four claimed sensors as well as the EEG sensor data).
Regarding Claim 9, an interpretation of Las further discloses wherein the health data that is augmented is used to monitor five- sensor health functionality of the person ([0054], [0059]-[0063] various sensors and functionality measured, [0117]-[0121] various sensors and functionality measured; the reference discloses the sensors for monitoring various elements of “functionality” of the person).
Regarding Claim 10, an interpretation of Las further discloses wherein the five-sensor health functionality is used to determine non-activity performance ([0037] including “The present invention relates to a sleep monitoring device” see also [0059]-[0063] various sensors and functionality measured, [0117]-[0121] various sensors and functionality measured), wherein the non-activity performance includes sleep performance of the person ([0037] including The present invention relates to a sleep monitoring device . . . can be used to provide at least some of the data helpful for specialists in the diagnosis of Obstructive Sleep Hypopnea (OSA), Central Hypopnea or other sleep disorders. ” see also [0059]-[0063] various sensors and functionality measured, [0101], [0117]-[0121] various sensors and functionality measured), wherein the sleep performance includes detecting stopping and starting of breathing while the person is sleeping ([0003] including “Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA) is a condition where patients have recurring episodes of . . . cessation of breathing”, [0037] including “The present invention relates to a sleep monitoring device . . . can be used to provide at least some of the data helpful for specialists in the diagnosis of Obstructive Sleep Hypopnea (OSA)” see also [0059]-[0066] various sensors and functionality measured, [0067] recites sensing for OSA, [0117]-[0124] various sensors and functionality measured, [0125] recites sensing for OSA; Sensors are recited as being for detecting OSA and OSA is recites as being the recurrence of cessation (or stopping) of breathing during sleep).
Regarding Claim 12, an interpretation of Las further discloses wherein the sleep performance includes detecting nighttime conditions ([0037] including “The present invention relates to a sleep monitoring device . . . can be used to provide at least some of the data helpful for specialists in the diagnosis of Obstructive Sleep Hypopnea (OSA), Central Hypopnea or other sleep disorders. ” see also [0059]-[0063] various sensors and functionality measured, [0101], [0117]-[0121] various sensors and functionality measured; OSA etc. are being interpreted as “conditions”).
Regarding Claim 13, an interpretation of Las further discloses wherein the sleep performance identifies sleep stages ([0063] including “indicate the wearer's sleep state (e.g. awake, REM sleep, light sleep, deep sleep)”, [0121] see also [0051], [0062], [0120]).
Regarding Claim 14, an interpretation of Las further discloses wherein the EEG sensor comprises one or more sets of tri- electrode intraoral contacts ([0056] including “When using three different EEG probes”, [0062] including “EEG (Electroencephalography) probes”, [0120]).
Regarding Claim 18, an interpretation of Las further discloses coupling an interface-embedded preprocessor to the wireless transmitting device and one or more of the PPG sensor, the breathing sensor, the IMU sensor, and the temperature sensor ([0103] including “a single processor 2124 with one or more processor cores or an array of processors, each comprising one or more processor cores.”, [0108], [0120], [0136], Fig. 16 see also [0054], [0117]-[0123]).
Regarding Claim 19, an interpretation of Las in view of Yoon discloses the above in claim 18.
an interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose wherein the preprocessor and the wireless transmitting device comprise an integrated electronic device.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic methods), Yoon teaches wherein the preprocessor and the wireless transmitting device comprise an integrated electronic device ([0021] including “the printed circuit board 103 comprises an ARM Cortex microprocessor 109 with an integrated Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) 2.4 GHz transceiver such as the Silicon Labs Blue Gecko BGM111.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include integrated processor and transmitting device embedded in the intraoral sensing interface as recited by Yoon because the integrated processor and transmitter maintains the smallest footprint and being embedded provides protection ([0021], [0023]).
Regarding Claim 20, an interpretation of Las discloses wherein the breathing sensor detects inhales and/or exhales for the person ([0060] including “a pressure transducer or a pressure switch . . . to measure variations in intraoral air pressure to indicate respiratory frequency”, [0118] see also [0108]).
Regarding Claim 22, an interpretation of Las further discloses wherein the breathing sensor comprises a microphone ([0065] including “The sound sensor can be used to measure variations in sound (e.g., intensity of snoring noise and breathing effort).”, [0067], [0123], [0142] see also [0059]).
Regarding Claim 25, an interpretation of Las in view of Yoon in further view of Lath discloses the above in claim 24 including Las disclosure of a PPG sensor (see the rejection of claim 1).
An interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose wherein the anchored position is adjacent to an upper M1 molar of the person.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic method), Lath teaches wherein the anchored position is adjacent to an upper M1 molar of the person ([0027] including “a photoplethysmograph (PPG) heart rate monitoring device may be utilized to measure the heart rate of the user. In some embodiments, the heart rate monitoring device may be disposed within the mouth guard 10 at a location adjacent an artery in the face and/or gums for measurements”, [0031] including “When the mouth guard 10 is disposed within the user's mouth, . . . the posterior portion 38 faces the rear of the mouth (e.g., near the molars),”, [0039], [0044] including “the heart rate monitoring device 78 may be located in the . . . posterior portion 38 of the base member 14.”, Figs. 3, 14 see also [0022], [0031], [0041], [0043]-[0044]; The reference discloses heart rate sensor (PPG) is located posterior portion adjacent/near the molars, including where the M1 molar is located).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include more specifically PPG in an anchored position adjacent to the upper molars of the user as recited by Lath because it is merely combining prior art elements (the PPG sensor recited by Las with the more particular positioning as recited Lath) according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 26, an interpretation of Las discloses product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium for health monitoring, the computer program product comprising code which causes one or more processors ([0009], [0114], [0136]) to perform operations of:
providing wireless connectivity between a processor and a wireless transmitting device ([0136] including “a processing agent (not shown) may be provided for additional ex-situ treatment of data . . . The WAN interface could be based on Ethernet or other wireline protocol or could be a wireless interface (e.g., 3G, WiMax, 4G/LTE, 5G, cellular network, etc.). Skilled persons will readily understand that the connection is a logical connection and that different network nodes (e.g., routers, switches, etc.) may be present thereon . . . The dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 may then exchange data (e.g., send and receive instructions) with the remote part. The remote part may be provided as a smartphone, a smart tablet, a portable or fixed computer or the likes. In addition, the remote part may further allow the dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 to communicate with the processing agent therethrough.” See also [0059]; Recites transmitting data wirelessly from the intraoral device to the external processing element. Also recites sending data to remote devices which are computers etc. which also have processors), wherein the wireless transmitting device is integrated within an intraoral sensing interface for use in a person ([0054] including “The electronics module 1110 may be integrated within the sleep monitoring device 1100”, [0059] see also [0071]);
coupling a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor ([0059] including “a photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensor”, [0117] see also [0108]) to the wireless transmitting device ([0059] including “necessary electrical connectivity between the PPG sensor and the electronics module 1110 are added during the manufacturing step (e.g., as wires or as 3D printable conductive material). In other embodiments, the PPG sensor is in wireless communication with the electronics module 1110 (e.g., Bluetooth, proprietary protocol, etc.).”, [0117]), wherein the PPG sensor is attached to the intraoral sensing interface ([0059] including “mounted on the sleep monitoring device 1100 facing the palate of the wearer, such that the PPG sensor is in contact or close proximity with one or more blood vessels of the wearer.”, [0117]), and wherein the PPG sensor is used to detect cardiac functionality of the person ([0059] including “The PPG sensor can be used to measure . . . heart rate”, [0117]);
coupling a breathing sensor ([0060] including “a pressure transducer or a pressure switch . . . to measure variations in intraoral air pressure to indicate respiratory frequency”, [0118] see also [0108]) to the wireless transmitting device ([0060] including “necessary electrical connectivity between the pressure transducer or a pressure switch and the electronics module 1110 are added during the manufacturing step (e.g., as wires or as 3D printable conductive material). In other embodiments, the pressure transducer or a pressure switch is in wireless communication with the electronics module 1110 (e.g., Bluetooth, proprietary protocol, etc.).”, [0118]), wherein the breathing sensor is attached to the intraoral sensing interface ([0060] including “integrated in the electronics module 1110 or mounted on or integrated within (a non-airtight compartment of) the sleep monitoring device 1100”, [0118]), and wherein the breathing sensor is used to detect pulmonary functionality of the person ([0060] including “a pressure transducer or a pressure switch . . . to measure variations in intraoral air pressure to indicate respiratory frequency”, [0118]);
coupling an inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor ([0063] including “accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors”, [0121] see also [0108]; discloses accelerometer and gyroscope) to the wireless transmitting device ([0054], [0063] including “necessary electrical connectivity between the one or more accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors and the electronics module 1110 are added during the manufacturing step (e.g., as wires or as 3D printable conductive material). In other embodiments, the one or more accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors is in wireless communication with the electronics module 1110 (e.g., Bluetooth, proprietary protocol, etc.).”, [0121]), wherein the IMU sensor is attached to the intraoral sensing interface ([0063] including “accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors integrated in the electronics module 1110 or mounted on or integrated within the sleep monitoring device 1100.”, [0121]), and wherein the IMU sensor is used to detect three-dimensional motion of the person ([0063] including “The one or more accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors can be used to measure head movements and body vibrations of the wearer.”, [0121]);
coupling a temperature sensor ([0061] including “temperature sensor”, [0119] see also [0108]) to the wireless transmitting device ([0061] including “necessary electrical connectivity between the temperature sensor and the electronics module 1110 are added during the manufacturing step (e.g., as wires or as 3D printable conductive material). In other embodiments, the temperature sensor is in wireless communication with the electronics module 1110 (e.g., Bluetooth, proprietary protocol, etc.).”, [0119]), wherein the temperature sensor is attached to the intraoral sensing interface ([0061] including “integrated in the electronics module 1110 or mounted on or integrated within the sleep monitoring device 1100”, [0119]), and wherein the temperature sensor is used to detect intraoral body temperature of the person ([0061] including “measure variations in user's temperature”, [0119] see also [0108]); and
providing health data about the person to a receiving device ([0054], [0136] including “The WAN interface could be based on Ethernet or other wireline protocol or could be a wireless interface (e.g., 3G, WiMax, 4G/LTE, 5G, cellular network, etc.). Skilled persons will readily understand that the connection is a logical connection and that different network nodes (e.g., routers, switches, etc.) may be present thereon . . . The dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 may then exchange data (e.g., send and receive instructions) with the remote part. The remote part may be provided as a smartphone, a smart tablet, a portable or fixed computer or the likes. In addition, the remote part may further allow the dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 to communicate with the processing agent therethrough.” See also [0059], [0071], [0108]; data is sent to remote device such as heart rate, temperature readings etc.), based on data from one or more of the PPG sensor, the breathing sensor, the IMU sensor, and the temperature sensor, wherein the health data is provided using the wireless connectivity ([0054] including “The sleep monitoring device 1100 may be used as a diagnostic aid in the context of different illnesses (apnea, cardiovascular monitoring, etc.).”, [0136] including “The WAN interface could be based on Ethernet or other wireline protocol or could be a wireless interface (e.g., 3G, WiMax, 4G/LTE, 5G, cellular network, etc.). Skilled persons will readily understand that the connection is a logical connection and that different network nodes (e.g., routers, switches, etc.) may be present thereon . . . The dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 may then exchange data (e.g., send and receive instructions) with the remote part. The remote part may be provided as a smartphone, a smart tablet, a portable or fixed computer or the likes. In addition, the remote part may further allow the dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 to communicate with the processing agent therethrough.” See also [0059], [0071], [0108]; health data is wirelessly sent from the intraoral device to external/remote device based on data from one or more of the claimed sensors).
An interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose the wireless transmitting device is embedded in the intraoral sensing interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor (diagnostic medical systems), Yoon teaches the wireless transmitting device is embedded in the intraoral sensing interface ([0019] including “an intelligent mouthguard 100 including sensors, a battery, charging and wireless electronics circuitry. The intelligent mouthguard system comprises a printed circuit board 103 embedded in a mouthguard 100 and a software application that enables low-energy wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth®, WiFi, WLAN, etc.) between the electronics in the mouthguard 100 and an external hub or server.”, Figs. 1A-1B). Yoon also discloses PPG sensing ([0019], [0026]), temperature sensing ([0019], [0025]) and inertial sensing in 3D ([0019], [0024]) and transmitting the health data information based on the sensors to a remote device with processing wirelessly ([0017], [0019] including “low-energy wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth®, WiFi, WLAN, etc.) between the electronics in the mouthguard 100 and an external hub or server . . . configured to communicate with each of the sensors and to communicate various information to the external hub or server.”, [0021]-[0022], Fig. 1C).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include transmitting device embedded in the intraoral sensing interface for transferring data from the sensors as recited by Yoon because embedding the transmitter in the substrate provides a protective coating ([0023]).
An interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose wherein the PPG sensor is located in an anchored position on the intraoral sensing interface adjacent to a specific tooth of the person.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic method), Lath teaches wherein the PPG sensor is located in an anchored position on the intraoral sensing interface adjacent to a specific tooth of the person ([0027] including “a photoplethysmograph (PPG) heart rate monitoring device may be utilized to measure the heart rate of the user. In some embodiments, the heart rate monitoring device may be disposed within the mouth guard 10 at a location adjacent an artery in the face and/or gums for measurements”, [0031] including “, the posterior portion 38 faces the rear of the mouth (e.g., near the molars),”, [0039], [0044] including “the heart rate monitoring device 78 may be located in the . . . posterior portion 38 of the base member 14.”, Fig. 14 see also [0022], [0041], Fig. 3; when the device is integrated into at a specific location it is adjacent the specific tooth which is relative to that position).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include more specifically PPG in an anchored position adjacent to the upper molars of the user as recited by Lath because it is merely combining prior art elements (the PPG sensor recited by Las with the more particular positioning as recited Lath) according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 27, an interpretation of Las discloses a computer system for health monitoring ([0114], [0136], Fig. 16) comprising:
a memory which stores instructions ([0114], [0136], Fig. 16 see also [0142]; transmits data to remote computing device);
one or more processors coupled to the memory wherein the one or more processors, when executing the instructions which are stored ([0114], [0136] including “a processing agent (not shown) may be provided for additional ex-situ treatment of data”, Fig. 16 see also [0142]; transmits data to remote computing device), are configured to:
provide wireless connectivity between a processor and a wireless transmitting device ([0136] including “a processing agent (not shown) may be provided for additional ex-situ treatment of data . . . The WAN interface could be based on Ethernet or other wireline protocol or could be a wireless interface (e.g., 3G, WiMax, 4G/LTE, 5G, cellular network, etc.). Skilled persons will readily understand that the connection is a logical connection and that different network nodes (e.g., routers, switches, etc.) may be present thereon . . . The dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 may then exchange data (e.g., send and receive instructions) with the remote part. The remote part may be provided as a smartphone, a smart tablet, a portable or fixed computer or the likes. In addition, the remote part may further allow the dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 to communicate with the processing agent therethrough.” See also [0059]; Recites transmitting data wirelessly from the intraoral device to the external processing element. Also recites sending data to remote devices which are computers etc. which also have processors), wherein the wireless transmitting device is integrated within an intraoral sensing interface for use in a person ([0054] including “The electronics module 1110 may be integrated within the sleep monitoring device 1100”, [0059] see also [0071]);
couple a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor ([0059] including “a photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensor”, [0117] see also [0108]) to the wireless transmitting device ([0059] including “necessary electrical connectivity between the PPG sensor and the electronics module 1110 are added during the manufacturing step (e.g., as wires or as 3D printable conductive material). In other embodiments, the PPG sensor is in wireless communication with the electronics module 1110 (e.g., Bluetooth, proprietary protocol, etc.).”, [0117]), wherein the PPG sensor is attached to the intraoral sensing interface ([0059] including “mounted on the sleep monitoring device 1100 facing the palate of the wearer, such that the PPG sensor is in contact or close proximity with one or more blood vessels of the wearer.”, [0117]), and wherein the PPG sensor is used to detect cardiac functionality of the person ([0059] including “The PPG sensor can be used to measure . . . heart rate”, [0117]);
couple a breathing sensor ([0060] including “a pressure transducer or a pressure switch . . . to measure variations in intraoral air pressure to indicate respiratory frequency”, [0118] see also [0108]) to the wireless transmitting device ([0060] including “necessary electrical connectivity between the pressure transducer or a pressure switch and the electronics module 1110 are added during the manufacturing step (e.g., as wires or as 3D printable conductive material). In other embodiments, the pressure transducer or a pressure switch is in wireless communication with the electronics module 1110 (e.g., Bluetooth, proprietary protocol, etc.).”, [0118]), wherein the breathing sensor is attached to the intraoral sensing interface ([0060] including “integrated in the electronics module 1110 or mounted on or integrated within (a non-airtight compartment of) the sleep monitoring device 1100”, [0118]), and wherein the breathing sensor is used to detect pulmonary functionality of the person ([0060] including “a pressure transducer or a pressure switch . . . to measure variations in intraoral air pressure to indicate respiratory frequency”, [0118]);
couple an inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor ([0063] including “accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors”, [0121] see also [0108]; discloses accelerometer and gyroscope) to the wireless transmitting device ([0054], [0063] including “necessary electrical connectivity between the one or more accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors and the electronics module 1110 are added during the manufacturing step (e.g., as wires or as 3D printable conductive material). In other embodiments, the one or more accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors is in wireless communication with the electronics module 1110 (e.g., Bluetooth, proprietary protocol, etc.).”, [0121]), wherein the IMU sensor is attached to the intraoral sensing interface ([0063] including “accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors integrated in the electronics module 1110 or mounted on or integrated within the sleep monitoring device 1100.”, [0121]), and wherein the IMU sensor is used to detect three-dimensional motion of the person ([0063] including “The one or more accelerometer and/or gyroscope sensors can be used to measure head movements and body vibrations of the wearer.”, [0121]);
couple a temperature sensor ([0061] including “temperature sensor”, [0119] see also [0108]) to the wireless transmitting device ([0061] including “necessary electrical connectivity between the temperature sensor and the electronics module 1110 are added during the manufacturing step (e.g., as wires or as 3D printable conductive material). In other embodiments, the temperature sensor is in wireless communication with the electronics module 1110 (e.g., Bluetooth, proprietary protocol, etc.).”, [0119]), wherein the temperature sensor is attached to the intraoral sensing interface ([0061] including “integrated in the electronics module 1110 or mounted on or integrated within the sleep monitoring device 1100”, [0119]), and wherein the temperature sensor is used to detect intraoral body temperature of the person ([0061] including “measure variations in user's temperature”, [0119] see also [0108]); and
provide health data about the person to a receiving device ([0054], [0136] including “The WAN interface could be based on Ethernet or other wireline protocol or could be a wireless interface (e.g., 3G, WiMax, 4G/LTE, 5G, cellular network, etc.). Skilled persons will readily understand that the connection is a logical connection and that different network nodes (e.g., routers, switches, etc.) may be present thereon . . . The dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 may then exchange data (e.g., send and receive instructions) with the remote part. The remote part may be provided as a smartphone, a smart tablet, a portable or fixed computer or the likes. In addition, the remote part may further allow the dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 to communicate with the processing agent therethrough.” See also [0059], [0071], [0108]; data is sent to remote device such as heart rate, temperature readings etc.), based on data from one or more of the PPG sensor, the breathing sensor, the IMU sensor, and the temperature sensor, wherein the health data is provided using the wireless connectivity ([0054] including “The sleep monitoring device 1100 may be used as a diagnostic aid in the context of different illnesses (apnea, cardiovascular monitoring, etc.).”, [0136] including “The WAN interface could be based on Ethernet or other wireline protocol or could be a wireless interface (e.g., 3G, WiMax, 4G/LTE, 5G, cellular network, etc.). Skilled persons will readily understand that the connection is a logical connection and that different network nodes (e.g., routers, switches, etc.) may be present thereon . . . The dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 may then exchange data (e.g., send and receive instructions) with the remote part. The remote part may be provided as a smartphone, a smart tablet, a portable or fixed computer or the likes. In addition, the remote part may further allow the dynamic mandibular adjustment device 2100 to communicate with the processing agent therethrough.” See also [0059], [0071], [0108]; health data is wirelessly sent from the intraoral device to external/remote device based on data from one or more of the claimed sensors).
An interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose the wireless transmitting device is embedded in the intraoral sensing interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor (diagnostic medical systems), Yoon teaches the wireless transmitting device is embedded in the intraoral sensing interface ([0019] including “an intelligent mouthguard 100 including sensors, a battery, charging and wireless electronics circuitry. The intelligent mouthguard system comprises a printed circuit board 103 embedded in a mouthguard 100 and a software application that enables low-energy wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth®, WiFi, WLAN, etc.) between the electronics in the mouthguard 100 and an external hub or server.”, Figs. 1A-1B). Yoon also discloses PPG sensing ([0019], [0026]), temperature sensing ([0019], [0025]) and inertial sensing in 3D ([0019], [0024]) and transmitting wirelessly the health data information based on the sensors to a remote device with processing using software from memory ([0017], [0019] including “low-energy wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth®, WiFi, WLAN, etc.) between the electronics in the mouthguard 100 and an external hub or server . . . configured to communicate with each of the sensors and to communicate various information to the external hub or server.”, [0021]-[0022], [0036]-[0037] including “The image shows example of an interface of the system application that is implemented on the smartphone.”, Fig. 1C).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include transmitting device embedded in the intraoral sensing interface for transferring data from the sensors as recited by Yoon because embedding the transmitter in the substrate provides a protective coating ([0023]).
An interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose wherein the PPG sensor is located in an anchored position on the intraoral sensing interface adjacent to a specific tooth of the person.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic method), Lath teaches wherein the PPG sensor is located in an anchored position on the intraoral sensing interface adjacent to a specific tooth of the person ([0027] including “a photoplethysmograph (PPG) heart rate monitoring device may be utilized to measure the heart rate of the user. In some embodiments, the heart rate monitoring device may be disposed within the mouth guard 10 at a location adjacent an artery in the face and/or gums for measurements”, [0031] including “, the posterior portion 38 faces the rear of the mouth (e.g., near the molars),”, [0039], [0044] including “the heart rate monitoring device 78 may be located in the . . . posterior portion 38 of the base member 14.”, Fig. 14 see also [0022], [0041], Fig. 3; when the device is integrated into at a specific location it is adjacent the specific tooth which is relative to that position).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include more specifically PPG in an anchored position adjacent to the upper molars of the user as recited by Lath because it is merely combining prior art elements (the PPG sensor recited by Las with the more particular positioning as recited Lath) according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Las in view of Yoon in further view of Lath in further view of US 20130131465 Yoshiro Yamamoto et al. (hereinafter Yam).
Regarding Claim 3, an interpretation of Las further discloses wherein the four-sensor functionality of the person is used to determine activity performance ([0037] including “physical trainers or the wearer in other contexts such as tracking of the wearer's health and performance indicators in multiple contexts, including during sports sessions” see also [0059]-[0063] various sensors and functionality measured, [0117]-[0121] various sensors and functionality measured, [0142);
An interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose weighting the data from one or more of the sensors to enable differentiated health functionality monitoring.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic methods), Yam teaches weighting the data from one or more of the sensors to enable differentiated health functionality monitoring ([0134]-[0136], [0200]-[0202], Figs. 3-4; depending on desired index to be determined it sets weights, including what measures are included in the determination, based on importance/influence on the determination).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include differing weightings to enable differentiated health functionality as taught by Yam because the use of a plurality of relevant data derives a measurement having higher accuracy ([0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Las in view of Yoon in further view of Lath in further view of Yam in further view of US 20130041590 to Burich et al. (hereinafter Bur).
Regarding Claim 4, an interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose monitoring the activity performance over time.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic methods), Bur teaches monitoring the activity performance over time ([0122] including “performance metrics over time can be generated and maintained” see also [0124], [0302], [0335]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include monitoring the data activity performance data over time as recited by Bur because tracking data provide information to identify over athletes/device users who are at high risk for injury to reduce the risk ([0122]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Las in view of Yoon in further view of Lath in further view of Shibam Debbarma et al., "A Smart Mandibular Device for Intra-oral Electroencephalogram Monitoring," 2021 IEEE Sensors, Sydney, Australia, 2021, pp. 1-4, doi: 10.1109/SENSORS47087.2021.9639704., viewed on 5/2/25. (hereinafter Deb).
Regarding Claim 15, an interpretation of Las in view of Yoon discloses the above in claim 14 including three electrodes attached to an intraoral interface for monitoring EEG (see rejection of claims 7 and 14 above).
An interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose the intraoral contacts comprise a signal contact, a reference contact, and a ground contact.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic devices), Deb teaches intraoral contacts comprise a signal contact, a reference contact, and a ground contact (SECTION II. System Description, Figs. 2, 3a-d; recites three electrodes laid out in Fig. 3a. Furthermore, all three are fed into instrumentation amplifier there is a differential output based on the a “reference” electrode signal and “signal” electrodes signal).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors, including from a plurality of EEG electrodes/probes, and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include the particular electrode layout as recited by Deb is merely combining prior art elements (the electrodes recited by Las with the particular layout as recited Deb) according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 16, an interpretation of Las in view of Yoon discloses the above in claim 14 including three electrodes attached to an intraoral interface for monitoring EEG (see rejection of claims 7 and 14 above).
An interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more sets of tri-electrode intraoral contacts utilize an electrically common ground contact.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic devices), Deb teaches wherein the one or more sets of tri-electrode intraoral contacts utilize an electrically common ground contact (SECTION II. System Description, Figs. 2, 3a-d; one set of contacts utilizing the ground contact).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors, including from a plurality of EEG electrodes/probes, and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include the particular electrode layout as recited by Deb is merely combining prior art elements (the electrodes recited by Las with the particular layout as recited Deb) according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 17, an interpretation of Las in view of Yoon discloses the above in claim 7 including three electrodes attached to an intraoral interface for monitoring EEG (see rejection of claims 7 above).
An interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose wherein the EEG sensor is placed in a contralateral configuration across a person's palate.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic devices), Deb teaches wherein the EEG sensor is placed in a contralateral configuration across a person's palate (SECTION II. System Description, Figs. 2, 3a-d; one contact on either side of the palate).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors, including from a plurality of EEG electrodes/probes, and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include the particular electrode layout as recited by Deb is merely combining prior art elements (the electrodes recited by Las with the particular layout as recited Deb) according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Las in view of Yoon in further view of Lath in further view of US 20190261889 to White (hereinafter White).
Regarding Claim 21, an interpretation of Las in view of Yoon discloses the above in claim 1 including sensing intraoral air pressure (see the rejection of claim 1).
An interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose wherein the breathing sensor comprises a barometric pressure sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic method), White teaches wherein the breathing sensor comprises a barometric pressure sensor ([0019] including “(1) an integrated barometric air pressure sensor, humidity sensor and air temperature sensor (e.g., a Bosch BME);”, [0024] including “air pressure within the mouth may be used to monitor the user's respiration.” See also [0003], [0019], [0043]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors, intraoral air pressure sensor, and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include the intraoral air sensor is a barometric air sensor as recited by White is merely combining prior art elements (the pressure sensors recited by Las with the more particular barometric air pressure sensor as recited White) according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Las in view of Yoon in further view of Lath in further view of US 20040202344 to Anjanappa et al. (hereinafter Anj).
Regarding Claim 23, an interpretation of Las further discloses using microphones for detection of bruxism ([0052] including “Bruxism data from . . . microphone(s).” see also [0065], [0067], [0123]).
An interpretation of Las may not explicitly disclose wherein the microphone is a bone-conduction microphone.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic method), Anj teaches wherein the microphone is a bone-conduction microphone ([0003] including “a tooth bone conduction microphone method and apparatus.”, [0011] fig. 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified gathering data from a plurality of sensors and transmitting the data wirelessly to a processor in second device as recited by Las to include more specifically a bone conduction microphone as recited by Anj because it is compact, simple in design, waterproof and reliable for wearing in the mouth ([0024]-[0026]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10376210 see Figs. 2-3
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James Moss/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/UNSU JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792