Response After Non-Final
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 08/25/2026.
Claims 1-21 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-21 are rejected.
Claims 1-6 and 17-20 are currently amended.
Claim 21 is new.
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments filed August 25, 2026 have been fully considered
and are respectfully found persuasive in part and unpersuasive in part.
The applicant argues the following:
[1] Title and claim objections have been addressed and should be withdrawn.
[2] Prior art of record fails to teach the newly admitted limitations.
Regarding [1], the examiner respectfully agrees and the title and claim objections raised in the most recent office action are hereby withdrawn.
Regarding [2], the examiner respectfully disagrees because the prior art of record teaches a first dielectric film that is completely exposed (Nagatomo) and the prior art of record in combination teaches a second dielectric film on a first dielectric film, moreover, the original disclosure does not recite exposure of the claimed first dielectric film. First, the original specification does not disclose exposure of any portion of the first dielectric film. Second, Nagatomo in combination with Mimura teaches a projecting portion is in a region overlapping the at least one pair of electrodes in plan view, on a surface of the second dielectric film on a side opposite to a side of the first dielectric film. Third, “on a surface of the second dielectric film on a side opposite to a side of the first dielectric film” is broad claim language. Any surface of the second dielectric film and any surface of the first dielectric film read on this broad claim language. It is not a claimed limitation that the projecting portion comprises the second dielectric film material only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first
paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification fails to provide an enabling description for a “at least a portion of the third surface is exposed from the first dielectric film” as recited in Claim 1. The specification discloses a “second dielectric film” on the “first dielectric film.” The specification does not disclose exposure of any portion of the “first dielectric film.” The examiner assumes that this claim limitations is distinct from the original content in the specification, and is therefore, new.
Dependent claims 2-20 inherit the deficiencies of independent claim
1, and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Nagatomo et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20220216843; hereinafter “Nagatomo”) in view of Mimura (U.S. Publication No. 20200036361; hereinafter “Mimura”).
Regarding claim 1, Nagatomo teaches an acoustic wave device, comprising: a piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2) made of one of lithium niobate (Figs. 11/13/21, 2; [0039]) and lithium tantalate (Figs. 11/13/21, 2; [0039]), and including a main surface (Figs. 11/13/21, main surface of 2); at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4) on the main surface (Figs. 11/13/21, main surface of 2) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2); and a first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]) on the main surface (Figs. 11/13/21, main surface of 2) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2); wherein a ratio d/p (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]) is equal to or less than about 0.5 (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract] – “…a thickness of the piezoelectric layer is d and a distance between centers of the first and second electrodes is p, d/p is less than or equal to about 0.5.”), when a thickness (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2) is d (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]) and a center-to-center distance (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]) between adjacent (Figs. 11/13/21) ones of the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4) to each other is p (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]); the first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]) includes a first surface (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, first surface of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, first surface of 10; [0099]) and a second surface (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, second surface of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, second surface of 10; [0099]) facing each other (Figs. 11/13/21) in a thickness direction (Figs. 11/13/21, thickness direction of 10; [0099]), the second surface (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, second surface of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, second surface of 10; [0099]) is a surface (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, second surface of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, second surface of 10; [0099]) on a side (Figs. 11/13/21, side of 2) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2); the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4) each include (Figs. 11/13/21) a third surface (Figs. 11/13/21, third surface of 3-4) and a fourth surface (Figs. 11/13/21, fourth surface of 3-4) facing each other (Figs. 11/13/21) in the thickness direction (Figs. 11/13/21, thickness direction of 10; [0099]), the fourth surface (Figs. 11/13/21, fourth surface of 3-4) is a surface (Figs. 11/13/21, fourth surface of 3-4) on a side (Figs. 11/13/21, side of 2) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2); the first surface (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, first surface of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, first surface of 10; [0099]) of the first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]) is at a same height (Figs. 11/13/21) or higher (Figs. 11/13/21) than the third surface (Figs. 11/13/21, third surface of 3-4) of the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4); and at least a portion of the third surface (Figs. 11/13/21, third surface of 3-4) is exposed (Figs. 11/13/21) from the first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]). Nagatomo does not teach a second dielectric film is on the first surface of the first dielectric film.
Mimura, however, does teach a second dielectric film (Fig. 2, 9; [0073]) is on the first surface (Fig. 2, first surface of 8; [0073]) of the first dielectric film (Fig. 2, 8; [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Nagatomo to include the second dielectric film of Mimura because it would lower the absolute value of a temperature coefficient of frequency and improve the frequency-temperature characteristics as well as protecting the surfaces of the plurality of IDT electrodes thereby improving frequency and adjustment and reducing the likelihood of IDT damage (Mimura [0072]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 2, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 1, wherein a projecting portion (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, portion of 22 projecting above electrodes 3-4; [0075]; Fig. 21, portion of 10 projecting above electrodes 3-4; [0099]) is in a region (Figs. 11/13/21, region overlapping 3-4) overlapping the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4) in plan view (Figs. 11/13/21), on a surface (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, surface of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, surface of 10; [0099]) on a side opposite (Figs. 11/13/21) to a side (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, side of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, side of 10; [0099]) of the first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]). Nagatomo does not teach the second dielectric film.
Mimura, however, does teach the second dielectric film (Fig. 2, 9; [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Nagatomo to include the second dielectric film of Mimura because it would lower the absolute value of a temperature coefficient of frequency and improve the frequency-temperature characteristics as well as protecting the surfaces of the plurality of IDT electrodes thereby improving frequency and adjustment and reducing the likelihood of IDT damage (Mimura [0072]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 3, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 2, wherein a thickness (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, thickness of portion of 22 projecting above electrodes 3-4; [0075]; Fig. 21, thickness of portion of 10 projecting above electrodes 3-4; [0099]) of the projecting portion (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, portion of 22 projecting above electrodes 3-4; [0075]; Fig. 21, portion of 10 projecting above electrodes 3-4; [0099]) is about 0.6 times or less (Figs. 11/13/21) than a thickness (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, thickness of portion of 22 projecting above electrodes 3-4; [0075]; Fig. 21, thickness of portion of 10 projecting above electrodes 3-4; [0099]) of the first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]) from the main surface (Figs. 11/13/21, main surface of 2) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2) to the third surface (Figs. 11/13/21, third surface of 3-4) of the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4). Nagatomo does not teach the second dielectric film.
Mimura, however, does teach the second dielectric film (Fig. 2, 9; [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Nagatomo to include the second dielectric film of Mimura because it would lower the absolute value of a temperature coefficient of frequency and improve the frequency-temperature characteristics as well as protecting the surfaces of the plurality of IDT electrodes thereby improving frequency and adjustment and reducing the likelihood of IDT damage (Mimura [0072]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 4, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 3, wherein the thickness (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, thickness of portion of 22 projecting above electrodes 3-4; [0075]; Fig. 21, thickness of portion of 10 projecting above electrodes 3-4; [0099]) of the projecting portion (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, portion of 22 projecting above electrodes 3-4; [0075]; Fig. 21, portion of 10 projecting above electrodes 3-4; [0099]) is about 0.15 times or less than the thickness (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, thickness of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, thickness of 10; [0099]) of the first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]) from the main surface (Figs. 11/13/21, main surface of 2) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2) to the third surface (Figs. 11/13/21, third surface of 3-4) of the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4). Nagatomo does not teach the second dielectric film.
Mimura, however, does teach the second dielectric film (Fig. 2, 9; [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Nagatomo to include the second dielectric film of Mimura because it would lower the absolute value of a temperature coefficient of frequency and improve the frequency-temperature characteristics as well as protecting the surfaces of the plurality of IDT electrodes thereby improving frequency and adjustment and reducing the likelihood of IDT damage (Mimura [0072]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 5, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 1, wherein a density (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, density of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, density of 10; [0099]) of the first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]) is about 0.6 times or greater (Figs. 11/13/21) than a density (Figs. 11/13/21, density of 3-4) of the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4).
Regarding claim 6, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 1, wherein a ratio p/d (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]) is equal to or greater than 6 (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 7, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 1, wherein the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4) include Al (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4; [0044]); and the first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]) includes at least one material among silicon oxide (Figs. 11/13/21; [0075]), silicon nitride, and aluminum nitride.
Regarding claim 9, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 1, further comprising a support (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 7-8) directly or indirectly located on (Fig. 11) a side (Figs. 11/13/21, side of 2 opposite main surface of 2) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2) opposite (Fig. 11) to a side (Figs. 11/13/21, main surface of 2) on which (Figs. 11/13/21) the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4) are provided (Figs. 11/13/21).
Regarding claim 10, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 9, wherein an air gap (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 9) that the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2) faces (Fig. 11) is on the side (Figs. 11/13/21, side of 2 opposite main surface of 2) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2) opposite (Fig. 11) to the side (Figs. 11/13/21, main surface of 2) on which (Figs. 11/13/21) the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4) are provided (Figs. 11/13/21).
Regarding claim 11, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 1, further comprising an acoustic multilayer film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 13, 42) laminated (Fig. 13) on a side (Figs. 11/13/21, side of 2 opposite main surface of 2) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2) opposite (Figs. 11/13/21) to a side (Figs. 11/13/21, main surface of 2) on which (Figs. 11/13/21) the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4) are provided (Figs. 11/13/21); wherein the acoustic multilayer film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 13, 42) has a laminated structure (Fig. 13; [0077]) of a low acoustic impedance layer (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 13, 42a/c/e) relatively low (Fig. 13; [0077]) in acoustic impedance (Fig. 13; [0077]) and high acoustic impedance layer (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 13, 42b/d) relatively high (Fig. 13; [0077]) in acoustic impedance (Fig. 13; [0077]).
Regarding claim 12, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 1, wherein Euler angles (φ, θ, ψ) (Figs. 11/13/21; [Claim 18]) of lithium niobate (Figs. 11/13/21; [Claim 18]) or lithium tantalate (Figs. 11/13/21; [Claim 18]) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2) are within ranges (Figs. 11/13/21; [Claim 18]) of a formula (1) (Figs. 11/13/21; [Claim 18]), formula (2) (Figs. 11/13/21; [Claim 18]), or formula (3) (Figs. 11/13/21; [Claim 18]):
(0° ± 10°, 0° to 20°, ψ) Formula (1) (Figs. 11/13/21; [Claim 18])
(0° ± 10°, 20° to 80°, 0° to 60° (1 – (θ – 50)2/900)1/2) or
(0° ± 10°, 20° to 80°, [180° – 60° (1 – (θ -50)2/900)1/2] to 180°) Formula (2) (Figs. 11/13/21; [Claim 18])
(0° ± 10°, [180° – 30° (1 – (ψ – 90)2/8100)1/2] to 180°, ψ) Formula (3) (Figs. 11/13/21; [Claim 18]).
Regarding claim 13, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 1, wherein a bulk wave (Figs. 11/13/21; [0006]; [0012]-[0013]; [0037]; [0045]-[0046]; [0049]; [0062]; [0076]-[0077]; [0081]; [Claim 1]) in a thickness shear primary mode (Figs. 11/13/21; [0006]; [0012]-[0013]; [0037]; [0045]-[0046]; [0049]; [0062]; [0076]-[0077]; [0081]; [Claim 1]) is utilized as a main wave (Figs. 11/13/21; [0006]; [0012]-[0013]; [0037]; [0045]-[0046]; [0049]; [0062]; [0076]-[0077]; [0081]; [Claim 1]).
Regarding claim 14, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 1, wherein a thickness (Figs. 11/13/21, thickness of 3-4 fingers) of each electrode finger (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4 fingers) of the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4) and a thickness (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, thickness of portion of 22 projecting above electrodes 3-4; [0075]; Fig. 21, thickness of portion of 10 projecting above electrodes 3-4; [0099]) of the first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]) are the same (Figs. 11/13/21).
Regarding claim 15, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 9, wherein the support (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 7-8) includes a silicon substrate (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 7-8; [0043]).
Regarding claim 16, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 9, wherein the support (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 7-8) includes a cavity portion (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 9) or an air gap (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 9).
Regarding claim 17, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 1, wherein a ratio p/d (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]) is equal to or greater than 2 (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 18, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 1, wherein a ratio p/d (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]) is equal to or greater than 4 (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 19, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 1, wherein a ratio p/d (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]) is equal to or greater than 5 (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 20, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 1, wherein a ratio p/d (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]) is equal to or greater than 7 (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 21, Nagatomo teaches an acoustic wave device, comprising: a piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2) made of one of lithium niobate (Figs. 11/13/21, 2; [0039]) and lithium tantalate (Figs. 11/13/21, 2; [0039]), and including a main surface (Figs. 11/13/21, main surface of 2); at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4) on the main surface (Figs. 11/13/21, main surface of 2) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2); and a first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]) on the main surface (Figs. 11/13/21, main surface of 2) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2); wherein a ratio d/p (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]) is equal to or less than about 0.5 (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract] – “…a thickness of the piezoelectric layer is d and a distance between centers of the first and second electrodes is p, d/p is less than or equal to about 0.5.”), when a thickness (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2) is d (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]) and a center-to-center distance (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]) between adjacent (Figs. 11/13/21) ones of the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4) to each other is p (Figs. 11/13/21; [Abstract]); the first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]) includes a first surface (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, first surface of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, first surface of 10; [0099]) and a second surface (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, second surface of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, second surface of 10; [0099]) facing each other (Figs. 11/13/21) in a thickness direction (Figs. 11/13/21, thickness direction of 10; [0099]), the second surface (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, second surface of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, second surface of 10; [0099]) is a surface (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, second surface of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, second surface of 10; [0099]) on a side (Figs. 11/13/21, side of 2) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2); the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4) each include (Figs. 11/13/21) a third surface (Figs. 11/13/21, third surface of 3-4) and a fourth surface (Figs. 11/13/21, fourth surface of 3-4) facing each other (Figs. 11/13/21) in the thickness direction (Figs. 11/13/21, thickness direction of 10; [0099]), the fourth surface (Figs. 11/13/21, fourth surface of 3-4) is a surface (Figs. 11/13/21, fourth surface of 3-4) on a side (Figs. 11/13/21, side of 2) of the piezoelectric layer (Figs. 11/13/21, 2); the first surface (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, first surface of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, first surface of 10; [0099]) of the first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]) is at a same height (Figs. 11/13/21) or higher (Figs. 11/13/21) than the third surface (Figs. 11/13/21, third surface of 3-4) of the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4); and a projecting portion (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, projecting portion of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, projecting portion of 10; [0099]) is in a region overlapping (Figs. 11/21) the at least one pair of electrodes (Figs. 11/13/21, 3-4) in plan view (Figs. 11/21), on a side opposite (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, side opposite to a side of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, side opposite to a side of 10; [0099]) to a side (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, side of 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, side of 10; [0099]) of the first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]). Nagatomo does not teach a surface of a second dielectric film and a second dielectric film is on the first surface of the first dielectric film.
Mimura, however, does teach a surface (Fig. 2, a surface of 9; [0073]) of a second dielectric film (Fig. 2, 9; [0073]) and a second dielectric film (Fig. 2, 9; [0073]) is on the first surface (Fig. 2, first surface of 8; [0073]) of the first dielectric film (Fig. 2, 8; [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Nagatomo to include the second dielectric film of Mimura because it would lower the absolute value of a temperature coefficient of frequency and improve the frequency-temperature characteristics as well as protecting the surfaces of the plurality of IDT electrodes thereby improving frequency and adjustment and reducing the likelihood of IDT damage (Mimura [0072]-[0073]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Nagatomo in view of Mimura and further in view of Ito et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20180013400; hereinafter “Ito”).
Regarding claim 8, Nagatomo as modified teaches the acoustic wave device according to Claim 1, wherein the first dielectric film (Figs. 11/13/21; Fig. 11, 22; [0075]; Fig. 21, 10; [0099]) includes at least one material (Figs. 11/13/21). Nagatomo does not teach a dielectric film includes at least on material among tantalum oxide, niobium oxide, and hafnium oxide.
Ito, however, does teach a dielectric film includes at least on material among tantalum oxide ([0041]), niobium oxide ([0041]), and hafnium oxide.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Nagatomo to include the choice of materials used to form a dielectric film of Ito because it would provide a desired acoustic impedance thereby improving control of the film’s acoustic impedance (Ito [0041]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in
this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837
28 October 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837