CTNF 18/099,429 CTNF 85390 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions The restriction requirement of 01/26/2026 is withdrawn. Claims 1-15 are currently pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 5, 6, 11-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grot et al (US 6,063,516) in view of Perry et al (WO 2007/078292) . Regarding claim 1, Grot teaches a fuel cell system for a vehicle (col 1, lines 15-25) including a method and system for monitoring and controlling CO concentration in the reformate fuel stream (col 1, lines 10-15). Figure 1 depicts a stack of fuel cells 4 including a cathode flow channel 16 for flowing air to the cathode 12 and an anode flow channel 14 for flowing hydrogen fuel to the anode 10 (col 6, 60-col 7, line 20). The system includes a sensitive, rapid response CO sensor which senses CO concentration in the reformat fuel stream and when the presence of excess CO in the hydrogen feed stream is detected, efforts are made to reduce the concentration col 7, lines 20-65). Current and voltage outputs are also monitored and compared to reference standards to determine the CO concentration in the reformate (col 5, lines 5-15). When the CO concentration has been determined, a determination can be made as to what adjustments to the system area required, such as injecting O 2 until the CO content falls within acceptable limits (col 5, lines 45-50). Grot does not explicitly teach the connection line, as claimed. Perry teaches a system to prevent deterioration of the anode of a fuel cell (abstract and pg 1, lines 1-6). Figure 1 shows a fuel cell 9 including a stack 11 of fuel cells, each of the fuel cells 11 including an anode flow field 13, through which the fuel reactant gas flows and a cathode flow field 14, through which the oxidant reactant gas flows. The outlet 23 of the anode flow field is connected by a conduit to a recycle drive 25. The air line 31 is shown to be connected to the outlet of the anode 23. (pg 3, lines 4-15 and figure 1). This is considered to be the instantly claimed connection line. The recycle loop allows for an advantageous introduction of an air bleed in a simple manner (pg 1, lines 20-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the recycle loop of Perry with the system of Grot in order to provide a simplified air bleed which is taught as desirable by Grot to reduce CO concentration. Regarding claim 5, Grot teaches monitoring the anode hydrogen concentration via sensors (col 7, lines 20-30). Regarding claim 6, Grot teaches monitoring the anode hydrogen concentration via sensors which can be indicative of poisoning (col 7, lines 20-60). Regarding claim 11, Grot teaches voltage being monitored as a basis to show poisoning of the anode (col 6, lines 5-15). Regarding claim 12, Grot teaches voltage being monitored as a basis to show poisoning of the anode (col 6, lines 5-15) when compared to reference standards (col 5, lines 1-10). Regarding claim 13, Grot teaches supplying oxygen until the measured CO concentration is within an acceptable range (col 7, lines 60-67). Regarding claim 15, Grot teaches a fuel cell system for a vehicle (col 1, lines 15-25) including a method and system for monitoring and controlling CO concentration in the reformate fuel stream (col 1, lines 10-15). Figure 1 depicts a stack of fuel cells 4 including a cathode flow channel 16 for flowing air to the cathode 12 and an anode flow channel 14 for flowing hydrogen fuel to the anode 10 (col 6, 60-col 7, line 20). The system includes a sensitive, rapid response CO sensor which senses CO concentration in the reformat fuel stream and when the presence of excess CO in the hydrogen feed stream is detected, efforts are made to reduce the concentration col 7, lines 20-65). Current and voltage outputs are also monitored and compared to reference standards to determine the CO concentration in the reformate (col 5, lines 5-15). When the CO concentration has been determined, a determination can be made as to what adjustments to the system area required, such as injecting O 2 until the CO content falls within acceptable limits (col 5, lines 45-50). Grot does not explicitly teach the connection line, as claimed. Perry teaches a system to prevent deterioration of the anode of a fuel cell (abstract and pg 1, lines 1-6). Figure 1 shows a fuel cell 9 including a stack 11 of fuel cells, each of the fuel cells 11 including an anode flow field 13, through which the fuel reactant gas flows and a cathode flow field 14, through which the oxidant reactant gas flows. The outlet 23 of the anode flow field is connected by a conduit to a recycle drive 25. The air line 31 is shown to be connected to the outlet of the anode 23. (pg 3, lines 4-15 and figure 1). This is considered to be the instantly claimed connection line. The recycle loop allows for an advantageous introduction of an air bleed in a simple manner (pg 1, lines 20-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the recycle loop of Perry with the system of Grot in order to provide a simplified air bleed which is taught as desirable by Grot to reduce CO concentration . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Grot and Perry, as discussed above, are considered to be the closest prior art. Neither explicitly teaches the configurations as claimed in instant claimed 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 14. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SARAH A SLIFKA whose telephone number is (571)270-5838. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5:30pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Curtis Mayes can be reached at 571-272-1234. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SARAH A. SLIFKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759 June 11, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/099,429 Page 2 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/099,429 Page 3 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/099,429 Page 4 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/099,429 Page 5 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/099,429 Page 6 Art Unit: 1759 Application/Control Number: 18/099,429 Page 7 Art Unit: 1759