DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species D in the reply filed on 1/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that no serious search burden exists on the Examiner to search and examine species A-G. Applicant further argues that searching would involve a similar search strategy because the species include common elements of a fluid transfer device for use with a peripheral intravenous catheter. This argument is not found persuasive because although the species may include common elements, each specie has mutually exclusive characteristics that would necessitate a different field of search therefore resulting in a serious search burden. For example, species D requires a spring-biased pin coupled to the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock, while species E instead requires a cantilever slider member coupled to a proximal portion of the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock. The spring-biased pin of species D is not required by species E, and the cantilever slider member of species E is not required by species D. Therefore, even though both species may require a fluid transfer device, each specie has mutually exclusive characteristics that would necessitate a different field of search therefore resulting in a serious search burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5-6, 9-10, 13-16, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/15/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/1/2023 and 11/7/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1-2 recites “A fluid transfer device for use with a peripheral intravenous catheter (PIVC) comprising:”. Examiner suggests replacing “comprising:” with “, the fluid transfer device comprising:” to put the claim in clearer form and make clear that the components listed are of the fluid transfer device.
Claim 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 recites “(PIVC)comprising:”. Examiner suggests adding a space between “(PIVC)” and “comprising:”.
Line 1-2 recites “A fluid transfer device for use with a peripheral intravenous catheter (PIVC)comprising:”. Examiner suggests replacing “comprising:” with “, the fluid transfer device comprising:” to put the claim in clearer form and make clear that the components listed are of the fluid transfer device.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “an actuator member movable relative to the introducer body, wherein the actuator member is configured to feed the flow tube through the introducer body and the lever lock” in claim 11
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-12, and 17-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1,
Line 9-10 recites “indwelling catheters of the PIVC”. The PIVC is a single catheter as claimed in line 1-2. It is unclear how a single catheter can comprise multiple indwelling catheters. It is unclear by stating “indwelling catheters of the PIVC” if the single PIVC is required to comprise multiple indwelling catheters. For examination purposes Examiner construes the fluid transfer device to be for use with peripheral intravenous catheters (PIVCs) and the indwelling catheters to be of the PIVCs. Examiner suggests replacing “a peripheral intravenous catheter (PIVC)” in line 1-2 of claim 1 with “peripheral intravenous catheters (PIVCs)” AND replacing “of the PIVC” in line 10 with “of the PIVCs”. Examiner notes “the PIVC” in claim 3 should be amended accordingly to state “the PIVCs”.
Line 8-10 recites “an effective length of the lever lock relative to the distal end of the introducer body is adjustable in order to accommodate use of the fluid transfer device with indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths”. The PIVC is not positively required by line 1-2. It is unclear if line 8-10 positively requires the PIVC due to the phrase “in order to accommodate use of the fluid transfer device with indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths”. For examination purposes Examiner construes the PIVC and the indwelling catheters to not be positively required by the claim. Examiner suggests replacing “an effective length of the lever lock relative to the distal end of the introducer body is adjustable in order to accommodate use of the fluid transfer device with indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths” in line 8-10 of claim 1 with “an effective length of the lever lock relative to the distal end of the introducer body is adjustable to enable the fluid transfer device to be configured for use with indwelling catheters of the PIVCs having various lengths”.
Examiner notes claims 2-4, 7-8, and 11-12 are similarly rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
In regard to claim 8,
Line 2-3 recites “the spring-biased pin of the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock”. Claim 8 depends on claim 7. Claim 7 recites “further comprising a spring-biased pin coupled to the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock”. Claim 7 claims the spring-biased pin as a separate structure that is coupled to the elongated coupler portion, while claim 8 refers to the spring-biased pin as a structure of the elongated coupler portion. It is unclear if the spring-biased pin is of the elongated coupler portion as required in claim 8, or a separate structure coupled to the elongated coupler portion as required in claim 7. For examination purposes Examiner construes the spring-biased pin to be coupled to the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock. Examiner suggests replacing “the spring-biased pin of the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock” in line 2-3 of claim 8 with “the spring-biased pin coupled to the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock”.
In regard to claim 11,
Claim limitation “an actuator member movable relative to the introducer body, wherein the actuator member is configured to feed the flow tube through the introducer body and the lever lock” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Paragraph [0051] of the disclosure states that any suitable actuator mechanism may be utilized. No specific structure of the actuator member is described and it is unclear the corresponding structure of the actuator member in the embodiment of shown in figure 4A and 4B. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
In regard to claim 17,
Line 9-10 recites “indwelling catheters of the PIVC”. The PIVC is a single catheter as claimed in line 1-2. It is unclear how a single catheter can comprise multiple indwelling catheters. It is unclear by stating “indwelling catheters of the PIVC” if the single PIVC is required to comprise multiple indwelling catheters. For examination purposes Examiner construes the fluid transfer device to be for use with peripheral intravenous catheters (PIVCs) and the indwelling catheters to be of the PIVCs. Examiner suggests replacing “a peripheral intravenous catheter (PIVC)” in line 1-2 of claim 17 with “peripheral intravenous catheters (PIVCs)” AND replacing “of the PIVC” in line 10 with “of the PIVCs”. Examiner notes “the PIVC” in claim 18 should be amended accordingly to state “the PIVCs”.
Line 7-10 recites “wherein the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock is telescopically slidable within at least a distal portion of the introducer body in order to accommodate use of the fluid transfer device with indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths”. The PIVC is not positively required by line 1-2. It is unclear if line 7-10 positively requires the PIVC due to the phrase “in order to accommodate use of the fluid transfer device with indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths”. For examination purposes Examiner construes the PIVC and the indwelling catheters to not be positively required by the claim. Examiner suggests replacing “wherein the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock is telescopically slidable within at least a distal portion of the introducer body in order to accommodate use of the fluid transfer device with indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths” in line 7-10 of claim 17 with “wherein the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock is telescopically slidable within at least a distal portion of the introducer body to enable the fluid transfer device to be configured for use with indwelling catheters of the PIVCs having various lengths”.
Examiner notes claims 18-19 are similarly rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 17.
In regard to claim 19,
Line 3-4 recites “the spring-biased pin of the elongated coupler portion”. Line 1-2 recites “further comprising a spring-biased pin coupled to the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock”. Line 1-2 claims the spring-biased pin as a separate structure that is coupled to the elongated coupler portion, while line 3-4 refers to the spring-biased pin as a structure of the elongated coupler portion. It is unclear if the spring-biased pin is of the elongated coupler portion as required in line 3-4, or a separate structure coupled to the elongated coupler portion as required in line 1-2. For examination purposes Examiner construes the spring-biased pin to be coupled to the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock. Examiner suggests replacing “the spring-biased pin of the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock” in line 3-4 of claim 19 with “the spring-biased pin coupled to the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11-12, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Devgon (U.S. PG publication 20170216564).
In regard to claim 1,
Devgon discloses a fluid transfer device (figure 4 and 5, item 200) for use with a peripheral intravenous catheter (PIVC) (Examiner notes “for use with a peripheral intravenous catheter (PIVC)” is a functional limitation. The fluid transfer device is fully capable of the recited function due to its structure as supported by paragraph [0001], [0057], and [0078]. The PIVC is not positively required) comprising:
an introducer body (figure 5, item 210, 265, and 269) having a proximal end (end formed by item 269) and a distal end (distal most end of item 216);
a flow tube (figure 5, item 260) at least partially housed within the introducer body (see figure 5, paragraph [0060]), wherein the flow tube is configured to be selectively extendable from the introducer body (paragraph [0060] and [0072]); and
a lever lock (figure 4 and 5, item 240) coupled to the distal end of the introducer body (see figure 4; paragraph [0073]), wherein the lever lock includes a lumen configured to allow the flow tube to pass therethrough (paragraph [0073] and [0079]; Examiner notes “configured to allow the flow tube to pass therethrough” is a functional limitation. The lumen is fully capable of the recited function due to its structure), and wherein an effective length of the lever lock relative to the distal end of the introducer body is adjustable in order to accommodate use of the fluid transfer device with indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths (As noted above, the PIVC is not positively required and therefore indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths are not positively required. The lever lock is attached to the distal end of the introducer body via a threaded connection as disclosed in paragraph [0073]. Therefore, an effective length of the lever lock relative to the distal end of the introducer body is adjustable via the threaded connection in order to accommodate use of the fluid transfer device with indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths).
In regard to claim 2,
Devgon discloses the fluid transfer device of claim 1, wherein the lever lock comprises an elongated coupler portion (figure 5, item 241), a pair of deflectable arms (figure 5, item 243 and 250; paragraph [0078]), and a blunt cannula (figure 5, item 242).
In regard to claim 3,
Devgon discloses the fluid transfer device of claim 2, wherein the pair of deflectable arms are configured to releasably couple the lever lock to a hub of a catheter adapter of the PIVC (Examiner notes “configured to releasably couple the lever lock to a hub of a catheter adapter of the PIVC” is a functional limitation. The hub of a catheter adapter of the PIVC is not positively required. The pair of deflectable arms are fully capable of the recited function due to their structure and as supported by paragraph [0078]).
In regard to claim 4,
Devgon discloses the fluid transfer device of claim 2, wherein at least a portion of the elongated coupler portion is configured to be slidable within at least a distal portion (figure 4, item 212 and 216) of the introducer body (paragraph [0073]; Examiner notes “configured to be slidable within at least a distal portion of the introducer body” is a functional limitation. At least a portion of the elongated coupler portion is fully capable of the recited function due to its structure and threaded engagement with item 216).
In regard to claim 11,
Devgon discloses the fluid transfer device of claim 1, further comprising an actuator member (figure 5, item 270) movable relative to the introducer body (paragraph [0087]), wherein the actuator member is configured to feed the flow tube through the introducer body and the lever lock (paragraph [0060] and [0072]; Examiner notes “configured to feed the flow tube through the introducer body and the lever lock” is a functional limitation. The actuator member is fully capable of the recited function due to its structure as supported by paragraph [0060] and [0072]).
In regard to claim 12,
Devgon discloses the fluid transfer device of claim 1, wherein the proximal end of the introducer body comprises a threaded interface (see figure 4, item 269 wherein threads are present).
In regard to claim 17,
Devgon discloses a fluid transfer device (figure 4 and 5, item 200) for use with a peripheral intravenous catheter (PIVC) (Examiner notes “for use with a peripheral intravenous catheter (PIVC)” is a functional limitation. The fluid transfer device is fully capable of the recited function due to its structure as supported by paragraph [0001], [0057], and [0078]. The PIVC is not positively required) comprising:
an introducer body (figure 5, item 210, 265, and 269) having a proximal end (end formed by item 269) and a distal end (distal most end of item 216);
a flow tube (figure 5, item 260) at least partially housed within the introducer body (see figure 5, paragraph [0060]), wherein the flow tube is configured to be selectively extendable from the introducer body (paragraph [0060] and [0072]); and
a lever lock (figure 4 and 5, item 240) coupled to the distal end of the introducer body (see figure 4; paragraph [0073]), wherein the lever lock comprises an elongated coupler portion (figure 5, item 241), and further wherein the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock is telescopically slidable within at least a distal portion (figure 4, item 216 and 212) of the introducer body in order to accommodate use of the fluid transfer device with indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths (As noted above, the PIVC is not positively required and therefore indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths are not positively required. The elongated coupler portion of the lever lock is attached to the distal portion of the introducer body via a threaded connection as disclosed in paragraph [0073]. Therefore, the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock is telescopically slidable within at least a distal portion of the introducer body via the threaded connection in order to accommodate use of the fluid transfer device with indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths).
In regard to claim 18,
Devgon discloses the fluid transfer device of claim 17, wherein the lever lock further comprises a pair of deflectable arms (figure 5, item 243 and 250; paragraph [0078]) and a blunt cannula (figure 5, item 242), and wherein the pair of deflectable arms are configured to releasably couple the lever lock to a hub of a catheter adapter of the PIVC (Examiner notes “configured to releasably couple the lever lock to a hub of a catheter adapter of the PIVC” is a functional limitation. The hub of a catheter adapter of the PIVC is not positively required. The pair of deflectable arms are fully capable of the recited function due to their structure and as supported by paragraph [0078]).
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Devgon (U.S. PG publication 20180317830). For clarity purposes Devgon (U.S. PG publication 20180317830) will be referred to as Devgon830.
In regard to claim 1,
Devgon830 discloses a fluid transfer device (see all of figure 55) for use with a peripheral intravenous catheter (PIVC) (Examiner notes “for use with a peripheral intravenous catheter (PIVC)” is a functional limitation. The fluid transfer device is fully capable of the recited function due to its structure as supported by paragraph [0008] and [0154]. The PIVC is not positively required) comprising:
an introducer body (figure 54 and 55, item 15160) having a proximal end (end opposite item 15162) and a distal end (figure 54, item 15162);
a flow tube (figure 54 and 55, item 15180; paragraph [0171]) at least partially housed within the introducer body (see figure 54 and 55), wherein the flow tube is configured to be selectively extendable from the introducer body (see figure 54 and [0172]); and
a lever lock (figure 55 and 65, item 15131 and 15150) coupled to the distal end of the introducer body (see figure 55), wherein the lever lock includes a lumen (see figure 55) configured to allow the flow tube to pass therethrough (Examiner notes “configured to allow the flow tube to pass therethrough” is a functional limitation. The lumen is fully capable of the recited function due to its structure), and wherein an effective length of the lever lock relative to the distal end of the introducer body is adjustable in order to accommodate use of the fluid transfer device with indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths (see position of the lever lock in figure 65 compared to figure 55; As noted above, the PIVC is not positively required and therefore indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths are not positively required. The lever lock is movable relative to to the distal end of the introducer body as disclosed in paragraph [0188]-[0189]). Therefore, an effective length of the lever lock relative to the distal end of the introducer body is adjustable via the threaded connection in order to accommodate use of the fluid transfer device with indwelling catheters of the PIVC having various lengths).
In regard to claim 11,
Devgon830 discloses the fluid transfer device of claim 1, further comprising an actuator member (figure 59, item 15570) movable relative to the introducer body (see position of item 15570 in figure 65 as compared to figure 59), wherein the actuator member is configured to feed the flow tube through the introducer body and the lever lock (paragraph [0181]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, and 7-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devgon830 (U.S. PG publication 20180317830), and further in view of Devgon (U.S. PG publication 20170216564). For clarity purposes Devgon (U.S. PG publication 20180317830) will be referred to as Devgon830.
In regard to claim 2,
Devgon830 discloses the fluid transfer device of claim 1, wherein the lever lock (figure 55 and 65, item 15131 and 15150) comprises an elongated coupler portion (item 15150).
Devgon830 fails to disclose wherein the lever lock comprises a pair of deflectable arms, and a blunt cannula.
Devgon teaches wherein the lever lock (figure 5, item 210 and 240) comprises a pair of deflectable arms (figure 5, item 243 and 250), and a blunt cannula (figure 5, item 242).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Devgon830 to substitute item 240 of Devgon in place of item 15131 of Devgon830, as taught by Devgon, because the substitution is a simple substitution that would yield the same predictable result of enabling attachment to a PIVC (paragraph [0078] of Devgon and paragraph [0154], [0158] and [0008] of Devgon830). Furthermore, Devgon830 discloses modifications can be made to the locking mechanism 15131 (paragraph [0089] and [0158]). Examiner notes item 15150 of Devgon830 would also be modified accordingly to couple to item 240 of Devgon)
In regard to claim 3,
Devgon830 in view of Devgon teaches the fluid transfer device of claim 2, wherein the pair of deflectable arms are configured to releasably couple the lever lock to a hub of a catheter adapter of the PIVC (Examiner notes “configured to releasably couple the lever lock to a hub of a catheter adapter of the PIVC” is a functional limitation. The hub of a catheter adapter of the PIVC is not positively required. The pair of deflectable arms are fully capable of the recited function due to their structure and as supported by paragraph [0078] of Devgon).
In regard to claim 7,
Devgon830 in view of Devgon teaches the fluid transfer device of claim 2, further comprising a spring-biased pin (figure 55, item 15164 of Devgon830; paragraph [0222] of Devgon830) coupled to the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock (see figure 55 of Devgon830).
In regard to claim 8,
Devgon830 in view of Devgon teaches the fluid transfer device of claim 7, wherein the introducer body further comprises at least two openings (first opening which item 15164 of Devgon830 is in on one side of item 15158 of Devgon830 as shown in figure 55 of Devgon830 and second opening which item 15164 of Devgon830 is in on the other side of item 15158 of Devgon830 as shown in figure 63 of Devgon830) formed therein (see figure 55 of Devgon830), and wherein the spring-biased pin of the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock is configured to selectively engage with the at least two openings of the introducer body (see figure 55 and 63 of Devgon830; paragraph [0188] of Devgon830).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regard to claim 19,
The prior art of record does not teach or otherwise render obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in combination with all claim limitations the fluid transfer device of claim 17, further comprising a spring-biased pin coupled to the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock, wherein the introducer body further comprises at least two openings formed therein, and wherein the spring-biased pin of the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock is configured to selectively engage with the at least two openings of the introducer body. Devgon (U.S. PG publication 20170216564) fails to disclose a spring-biased pin coupled to the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock, wherein the introducer body further comprises at least two openings formed therein, and wherein the spring-biased pin of the elongated coupler portion of the lever lock is configured to selectively engage with the at least two openings of the introducer body. No motivation appears to be present to modify Devgon to teach the limitations of claim 19. Additionally, Devgon830 (U.S. PG publication 20180317830) fails to disclose the limitations of claim 17, as the elongated coupler portion (item 15150) of the lever lock (figure 55 and 65, item 15131 and 15150) is not telescopically slidable within at least a distal portion of the introducer body (figure 55 and 65, item 15160). As Devgon830 fails to disclose the limitations of claim 17, Devgon830 fails to disclose the limitations of claim 19 which claim 17 depends on.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRA LALONDE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783