DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed on 06/03/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-28 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the 112(b) rejections previously applied in the Non-Final Office Action dated 02/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5914455 (Jain hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Jain teaches an air purification process and device to conduct the process that discloses an atmospheric water extraction unit (Figure 1, units A and B per Column 5 Lines 12-32); and a direct air capture unit positioned downstream of and in communication with the atmospheric water extraction unit (Units C and D in Figure 1 with Column 5 Line 54 through Column 6 Line 36), wherein the apparatus is capable of reversibly operating in (i) adsorption mode to adsorb water and CO2 from an incoming air stream (Column 4 Lines 25-55 with Claim 8) and (ii) regeneration mode to release adsorbed water and CO2 (Column 4 Lines 25-55 with Claim 8), wherein the atmospheric water extraction unit comprises a first desiccant bed comprising a sorbent that adsorbs water from an incoming air stream during adsorption mode and releases water during regeneration mode (Column 5 Lines 12-22), and wherein the direct air capture unit comprises a first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed comprising a sorbent that adsorbs CO2 from an air stream during adsorption mode and releases CO2 upon contact with water vapor during regeneration mode (Column 6 Lines 4-25).
Regarding claim 2, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 1 where Jain would further disclose that the atmospheric water extraction unit further comprises a second desiccant bed, the second desiccant bed comprising a sorbent that adsorbs water from an incoming air stream during adsorption mode and releases water during regeneration mode (Unit B per Column 4 Lines 25-55 and Claim 8); and the direct air capture unit further comprises a second moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed, the second moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed comprising a sorbent that adsorbs CO2 from an air stream adsorption mode and releases CO2 upon contact with water vapor during regeneration mode (Unit D per Column 5 Lines 12-22), wherein the apparatus is configured such that the first desiccant bed and the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed form a first train and the second desiccant bed and the second moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed form a second train that is separate from the first train (Evident From Figure 1), wherein the first and second trains are capable of reversibly operating in (i) adsorption mode to adsorb water and CO2 from an incoming air stream and (ii) regeneration mode to release adsorbed water and C02 (Column 4 Lines 25-55 with Claim 8), wherein the first and second trains are configured such that the first train operates in adsorption mode when the second train operates in regeneration mode and the second train operates in adsorption mode when the first train operates in regeneration mode (Column 4 Lines 25-55 with Claim 8).
Regarding claim 4, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 2 where Jain would further disclose that the atmospheric water extraction unit and the direct air capture unit are configured such that water adsorbed by the first desiccant bed during adsorption mode is released and contacts the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed during regeneration mode to release adsorbed CO2 (Column 7 Line 65 through Column 8 Line 20).
Regarding claim 5, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 1 where Jain would further disclose that the first and second trains are configured such that water adsorbed by the first or second desiccant bed during adsorption mode is released and contacts the first or second moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed during regeneration mode to release adsorbed CO2 (Column 7 Line 65 through Column 8 Line 20).
Regarding claim 18, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 2 where Jain would further disclose that the first and second trains are sealed from each other (Valves shown in Figure 1 of Jain).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5914455 (Jain) in view of US 2008/0202339 (Nalette hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 2 but are silent with respect that the first desiccant bed is thermally coupled to the second desiccant bed.
However, Nalette teaches air purification system that discloses a first desiccant bed (Figure 1, bed 12), a second desiccant bed (Figure 1, bed 14), and that the first desiccant bed is thermally coupled to the second desiccant bed (Figure 1 with ¶ 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first desiccant bed and the second desiccant bed of Jain with the thermal connection of Nalette to increase the performance of the CO2 system per Nalette ¶ 7.
Regarding claim 19, Jain’s modified teachings are described above in claim 3 where the combination of Jain and Nalette would further disclose that at least one heat transfer pipe thermally couples the first desiccant bed to the second desiccant bed (¶ 7 of Nalette).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5914455 (Jain) in view of US 2019/0208714 (Johansen hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect to a first recovery desiccant bed arranged downstream of and in communication with the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed.
However, Johansen teaches air handling system that discloses a first recovery desiccant bed arranged downstream of and in communication with the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed (Figure 1 with 135/164 and ¶ 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sorbent bed of Jain with the additional recovery desiccant bed of Johansen to ensure that the moisture is fully removed to the required levels.
Regarding claim 7, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 2 but are silent with respect to a first recovery desiccant bed arranged downstream of and in communication with the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed and a second recovery desiccant bed arranged downstream of and in communication with the second moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed.
However, Johansen teaches air handling system that discloses a first recovery desiccant bed arranged downstream of and in communication with the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed (Figure 1 with 135/164 and ¶ 40). The resultant combination would duplicate the recovery desiccant bed to apply a second recovery desiccant bed to the second moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed of Jain.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sorbent bed of Jain with the additional recovery desiccant bed of Johansen to ensure that the moisture is fully removed to the required levels.
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5914455 (Jain) in view of US 2018/0171604 (Kim hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 1 where Jain would further disclose that the first desiccant bed adsorbs water from an air stream at a first pressure and releases water when subjected to a second pressure wherein the second pressure is lower than the first pressure (The feed into 2 is at a compressed air pressure [read first pressure] and the regen is done at atmospheric pressure [read second pressure]).
Jain is silent with respect that the first desiccant bed comprises a nanostructured porous material.
However, Kim teaches an atmospheric water harvester that discloses a first desiccant bed comprises a nanostructured porous material (¶ 88 disclosing the use of MOF-801).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the desiccant bed of Jain with the nanostructured porous structure of Kim to assist in capturing water vapor.
Regarding claim 9, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 2 where Jain would further disclose that the first and second desiccant beds adsorbs water from an air stream at a first pressure and releases water when subjected to a second pressure wherein the second pressure is lower than the first pressure (The feed into 2 is at a compressed air pressure [read first pressure] and the regen is done at atmospheric pressure [read second pressure]).
Jain is silent with respect that the first and second desiccant beds comprise a nanostructured porous material that adsorbs water from an air stream.
However, Kim teaches an atmospheric water harvester that discloses a first desiccant bed comprises a nanostructured porous material (¶ 88 disclosing the use of MOF-801). The resultant combination between Jain and Kim would apply the nanostructured porous material of Kim to both desiccant beds of Jain.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the desiccant bed of Jain with the nanostructured porous structure of Kim to assist in capturing water vapor.
Regarding claim 10, Jain’s modified teachings are described above in claim 8 where the combination of Jain and Kim would further disclose that the nanostructured porous material comprises a metal-organic framework material (MOF-801 of Kim ¶ 88).
Regarding claim 11, Jain’s modified teachings are described above in claim 10 where the combination of Jain and Kim would further disclose that the metal-organic framework material is selected from the group consisting of Fe-MIL-100, MOF-303, MOF-801, MOF-841, and combinations thereof (MOF-801 of Kim ¶ 88).
Regarding claim 12, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 6 where Jain would further disclose that the first recovery desiccant bed adsorbs water from an air stream at a first pressure and releases water when subjected to a second pressure wherein the second pressure is lower than the first pressure (The feed into 2 is at a compressed air pressure [read first pressure] and the regen is done at atmospheric pressure [read second pressure]).
Jain is silent with respect that the first desiccant bed comprises a nanostructured porous material.
However, Kim teaches an atmospheric water harvester that discloses a first desiccant bed comprises a nanostructured porous material (¶ 88 disclosing the use of MOF-801).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the desiccant bed of Jain with the nanostructured porous structure of Kim to assist in capturing water vapor.
Regarding claim 13, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 7 where Jain would further disclose that the first and second desiccant beds adsorbs water from an air stream at a first pressure and releases water when subjected to a second pressure wherein the second pressure is lower than the first pressure (The feed into 2 is at a compressed air pressure [read first pressure] and the regen is done at atmospheric pressure [read second pressure]).
Jain is silent with respect that the first and second desiccant beds comprise a nanostructured porous material that adsorbs water from an air stream.
However, Kim teaches an atmospheric water harvester that discloses a first desiccant bed comprises a nanostructured porous material (¶ 88 disclosing the use of MOF-801). The resultant combination between Jain and Kim would apply the nanostructured porous material of Kim to both desiccant beds of Jain.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the desiccant bed of Jain with the nanostructured porous structure of Kim to assist in capturing water vapor.
Regarding claim 14, Jain’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 where the combination of Jain and Kim would further disclose that the nanostructured porous material comprises a metal-organic framework material (MOF-801 of Kim ¶ 88).
Regarding claim 15, Jain’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 where the combination of Jain and Kim would further disclose that the metal-organic framework material is selected from the group consisting of Fe-MIL-100, MOF-303, MOF-801, MOF-841, and combinations thereof (MOF-801 of Kim ¶ 88).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5914455 (Jain) in view of US 2015/004084 (Goldberg hereinafter).
Regarding claim 16, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed comprises a porous carbon material that is functionalized with quaternary ammonium groups.
However, Goldberg teaches a system for capturing carbon dioxide that discloses a first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed comprises a porous carbon material that is functionalized with quaternary ammonium groups (¶ 13 and 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sorbent beds of Jain with the teachings of Goldberg to increase the moisture and CO2 capture rate.
Regarding claim 17, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 2 but are silent with respect that the first and second moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent beds comprise a porous carbon material that is functionalized with quaternary ammonium groups.
However, Goldberg teaches a system for capturing carbon dioxide that discloses a first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed comprises a porous carbon material that is functionalized with quaternary ammonium groups (¶ 13 and 26). The resultant combination would duplicate the use of a porous carbon material that is functionalized with quaternary ammonium groups taught by Goldberg to each of the first and second sorbent beds of Jain.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sorbent beds of Jain with the teachings of Goldberg to increase the moisture and CO2 capture rate.
Claim 20-23, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5914455 (Jain) in view of US 2021/0146299 (Besarati hereinafter).
Regarding claim 20, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 2 but are silent with respect to a vacuum source alternately in communication with the first desiccant bed and then the second desiccant bed.
However, Besarati teaches an air dehumidification system that discloses a vacuum source alternately in communication with the first desiccant bed and then the second desiccant bed (Vacuum pump 16 in Figure 2 being applied in the alternating manner of Jain when alternating which side is operating).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the desiccant beds of Jain with the teachings of Besarati to assist in vapor removal.
Regarding claim 21, Jain’s modified teachings are described above in claim 20 where the combination of Jain and Besarati would further disclose a CO2 compressor alternately in communication with the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed and then the second moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed (CO2 compressor 17 in Figure 2 being applied in the alternating manner of Jain when alternating which side is operating).
Regarding claim 22, Jain’s teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect to a condenser positioned downstream of and in communication with first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed (Column 5 Lines 12-23).
Jain is silent with respect to a vacuum pump positioned downstream of and in communication with the condenser, and a CO2 compressor positioned downstream of and in communication with the vacuum pump.
However, Besarati teaches an air dehumidification system that discloses a vacuum pump positioned downstream of and in communication with the condenser (Vacuum pump 16 in Figure 2 is in communication with the beds and therefore the condenser of Jain), and a CO2 compressor positioned downstream of and in communication with the vacuum pump (Compressor 17 in Figure 2 of Besarati).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the desiccant beds of Jain with the teachings of Besarati to assist in vapor removal.
Regarding claim 23, Jain teaches a method of operating the apparatus of claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1 above for the structure required) that discloses in (A) adsorption mode to remove water and CO2 from a first air stream and (B) regeneration mode to release adsorbed water and CO2 (Column 5 Lines 12-32 and Column 5 Line 54 through Column 6 Line 36), wherein adsorption mode comprises: (a) contacting the first air stream with the first desiccant bed to reduce the water content of the stream and create a second air stream having a reduced water content relative to the first stream (Column 5 Lines 12-53); (b) contacting the second air stream with the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed to reduce the CO2 content of the stream (Passage of fluid to the “C” and “D” units of Jain) and release water from the first moisture-responsive CO2 bed to create a third stream having a reduced CO2 content relative to the first and second air streams (Column 6 Line 65 through Column 7 Line 12), and a water content that is higher than the water content of the second stream but lower than the water content of the first stream (Interpretation of Column 6 Line 65 through Column 7 Line 12); and (c) exhausting the third stream to ambient atmosphere (Column 6 Line 65 through Column 7 Line 12); and wherein regeneration mode comprises: (a) releasing water adsorbed by the first desiccant bed to create a water vapor stream (Column 6 Line 65 through Column 7 Line 12); (b) contacting the water vapor stream with the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed to release CO2 adsorbed by the first moisture-responsive CO2 bed and to adsorb water from the water vapor stream to create a discharge stream comprising water vapor and CO2 (Column 6 Line 65 through Column 7 Line 12).
Jain is silent with respect to passing the discharge stream through one or more condensers and compressors to create (i) a liquid water condensate discharge and (ii) a CO2 stream.
However, Besarati teaches an air dehumidification system that discloses a discharge stream through one or more condensers and compressors to create (i) a liquid water condensate discharge and (ii) a CO2 stream (Figure 2 with water condensers and CO2 condenser).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the desiccant beds of Jain with the teachings of Besarati to assist in vapor removal.
Regarding claim 25, Jain teaches a method of operating the apparatus of claim 2 (See the rejection of claim 2 above for the structure required) that discloses in (A) adsorption mode to remove water and CO2 from a first air stream and (B) regeneration mode to release adsorbed water and CO2 (Column 5 Lines 12-32 and Column 5 Line 54 through Column 6 Line 36), wherein adsorption mode comprises: (a) contacting the first air stream with the first desiccant bed to reduce the water content of the stream and create a second air stream having a reduced water content relative to the first stream (Column 5 Lines 12-53); (b) contacting the second air stream with the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed to reduce the CO2 content of the stream (Passage of fluid to the “C” and “D” units of Jain) and release water from the first moisture-responsive CO2 bed to create a third stream having a reduced CO2 content relative to the first and second air streams (Column 6 Line 65 through Column 7 Line 12), and a water content that is higher than the water content of the second stream but lower than the water content of the first stream (Interpretation of Column 6 Line 65 through Column 7 Line 12); and (c) exhausting the third stream to ambient atmosphere (Column 6 Line 65 through Column 7 Line 12); and wherein regeneration mode comprises: (a) releasing water adsorbed by the first desiccant bed to create a water vapor stream (Column 6 Line 65 through Column 7 Line 12); (b) contacting the water vapor stream with the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed to release CO2 adsorbed by the first moisture-responsive CO2 bed and to adsorb water from the water vapor stream to create a discharge stream comprising water vapor and CO2 (Column 6 Line 65 through Column 7 Line 12).
Jain is silent with respect to passing the discharge stream through one or more condensers and compressors to create (i) a liquid water condensate discharge and (ii) a CO2 stream.
However, Besarati teaches an air dehumidification system that discloses a discharge stream through one or more condensers and compressors to create (i) a liquid water condensate discharge and (ii) a CO2 stream (Figure 2 with water condensers and CO2 condenser).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the desiccant beds of Jain with the teachings of Besarati to assist in vapor removal.
Regarding claim 26, Jain’s modified teachings are described above in claim 25 where the combination of Jain and Besarati would further disclose that operating the apparatus such that the first train operates in adsorption mode when the second train operates in regeneration mode and the second train operates in adsorption mode when the first train operates in regeneration mode (Jain Column 4 Lines 25-55 with Claim 8).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5914455 (Jain) in view of US 2021/0146299 (Besarati) and further in view of US 2019/0208714 (Johansen).
Regarding claim 24, Jain’s modified teachings are described above in claim 23 but are silent with the apparatus further comprises a first recovery desiccant bed arranged downstream of and in communication with the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed, the method further comprising contacting the third air stream with a recovery desiccant bed to reduce the water content of the third air stream before exhausting it to ambient atmosphere.
However, Johansen teaches air handling system that discloses a first recovery desiccant bed arranged downstream of and in communication with the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed (Figure 1 with 135/164 and ¶ 40). The resultant combination would be such that a first recovery desiccant bed arranged downstream of and in communication with the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed, the method further comprising contacting the third air stream with a recovery desiccant bed to reduce the water content of the third air stream before exhausting it to ambient atmosphere.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sorbent bed of Jain with the additional recovery desiccant bed of Johansen to ensure that the moisture is fully removed to the required levels.
Claims 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5914455 (Jain) in view of US 2021/0146299 (Besarati) and further in view of US 2018/0317527 (Hasselbarth hereinafter).
Regarding claim 27, Jain’s modified teachings are described above in claim 23 but are silent with respect that the first moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed comprises a porous carbon material that is functionalized with quaternary ammonium groups.
However, Hasselbarth teaches an adsorption system that discloses a moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed comprises a porous carbon material that is functionalized with quaternary ammonium groups (¶ 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the adsorption bed of Jain with the teachings of Hasselbarth to neutralize any bacterial in the system.
Regarding claim 28, Jain’s modified teachings are described above in claim 23 but are silent with respect that the first and second moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent beds comprise a porous carbon material that is functionalized with quaternary ammonium groups.
However, Hasselbarth teaches an adsorption system that discloses a moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent bed comprises a porous carbon material that is functionalized with quaternary ammonium groups (¶ 19). The resultant combination would be such that the first and second moisture-responsive CO2 sorbent beds comprise a porous carbon material that is functionalized with quaternary ammonium groups.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the adsorption bed of Jain with the teachings of Hasselbarth to neutralize any bacterial in the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Jain reference (US 5914455) fails to disclose a moisture responsive CO2 sorbent bed however the Examiner is not persuaded. Applicant specifically calls out Column 6 Lines 4-25 of Jain as failing to teach this limitation. However, Jain in Column 6 Lines 9-14 discloses “These adsorbent layers are intended to adsorb any carbon dioxide that passes through the activated alumina layer in vessels A and B and any carbon dioxide and water vapor produced by oxidation of carbon monoxide and hydrogen in optional layers 54a, 54b, 56a and 56b.” This cited section clearly states that water vapor is also adsorbed. Applicant is welcomed to further amend the claims to overcome the rejections set forth above however at this time the proposed argument directed towards the Jain reference is not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762