DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Amendment filed on July 23, 2026 in which claims 1-14 are pending in the application. Claim 1 is the independent claim.
Response to Amendment
This Final Office Action is in response to the applicant’s remarks and arguments filed on July 23, 2026.
Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1-14 remain pending in the application. No claims are cancelled or new. Claims 2-14 filed on October 16, 2025 are being considered on the merits along with amended claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 6-12, filed March 11, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103.
In the Claim Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) section on page 6, the Attorney respectfully submitted that the rejection has been addressed and all pending claims are now definite and clear.
The Examiner respectfully agrees with the Attorney. The Examiner has withdrawn the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112.
In the Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 section on pages 6-14, the Attorney respectfully submitted that the combination of elements set forth in amended claim 1 is not disclosed or suggested by the references relied on by the Examiner.
The Examiner respectfully agrees with the Attorney. The Examiner has withdrawn the previous rejection of claim 1 via Duffy in view of Fang. The amendments to independent claim 1 overcame the previous rejection submitted by the Examiner, but the amended portions of the claim are disclosed in art previously cited by the Examiner for dependent claim rejections in Gilboa (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0011445).
The Examiner appreciates the descriptions by the Applicant of the overcoming of the previous rejections, but with a new rejection to independent claim 1, independent claim 1 remains rejected in this Final Rejection.
In the Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 section on page 14, the Attorney submits that since claim 1 is allowable following amendment, claims 2-14 which depend on independent claim 1 are also allowable.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Attorney that the prior art fails to teach the claimed limitations in amended claims 2-14. The rejections for claims 2-14 appear below under Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103 Section of the Final Rejection Office Action. As such, claims 1-14 remain rejected in this Final Rejection by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0050111) in view of Gilboa (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0011445) and Fang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0085388) – hereinafter “Fang”.
Regarding independent claim 1, Duffy discloses:
A virtual processing device, for controlling a displaying of a first operating interface of a first guest virtual machine … the virtual processing device comprising: (Abstract “Described herein is a method and apparatus for generating and managing multiple desktops. The desktops can be tied to virtual software environments, remote desktops, separate user account desktops, shared desktops, full screen applications or similar sources. The desktops are managed through a desktop management interface that displays a scale image of each current desktop.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the desktop management interface controls desktops from a plurality of sources including virtual software environments.
a display and desktop generation unit, for operating based on a role of a display server of the first guest virtual machine, receiving a graphic application and generating a virtual desktop creation command, the virtual desktop creation command is used to create a first virtual desktop to display the first operating interface with full-screen; ([0020-0021] “The remote virtual machine interacts with the virtual desktop module 111 and/or the remote desktop module 113. In addition, virtual machines 107 can support multiple desktops. These virtual machine desktops can be separately managed or the management can be integrated with the desktop manager and included in the user interface 109. The desktop manager 105 can also include a user interface component 109. The user interface component 109 provides a graphical user interface for selection and viewing of the available desktops. In one embodiment, the graphical user interface provided by the component 109 is a panel composed of individual scaled representations of each available desktop. In other embodiments, any graphical representation or organization of the available desktops can be graphically presented to allow selection of a user desired desktop. The user interface component 109 can also generate interactive queries during source initialization that allows a user to select to create a new desktop or add the source to an existing desktop. Source initialization can be application start-up, remote desktop or application synchronization, virtual machine start-up or similar source initialization activities.” and [0004] “Virtualization software provides desktop switching functionality. The main purpose of the virtualization software is to provide access to one software environment or platform in another software environment or platform. The virtualization software allows for the virtualized software environment or platform to be displayed full screen. Examples of this software include Parallels.TM. Workstation, by Parallels, Inc. of Switzerland and VMware.TM. Fusion by VMware, Inc. of Palo Alto, Calif.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the user interface component allows users to submit virtual desktop creation commands to create a virtual desktop that can be displayed in full screen.
a window management unit, for executing a communication procedure with the display and desktop generation unit, setting a display position at which the first operating interface is displayed on the first virtual desktop, according to the graphic application; and ([0027] “The representations of each desktop can be any size or shape. The scaling can minimize and simplify the available desktops using any type of scaling or simplifying algorithms. The representations can be periodically updated thumbnail images or full motion video that is continuously updated. In another embodiment, any set of the desktops can also be represented as an icon or similar graphical representation. The icon can be static or animated and include symbols or text that provide descriptive information about the related desktop.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the desktop can be any size or shape and thus can be set to a specific display position and thus a plurality of interfaces can be set to display.
a display and desktop management unit, allocating in the host kernel layer of a host operating system, and for setting a display number and a desktop number related to the first guest virtual machine according to the virtual desktop creation command, the desktop number corresponds to the first virtual desktop, ([0029] “Similarly, multiple-screens including multiple monitors and combinations with televisions or other display devices can be managed or assigned through the desktop management interface. Each desktop can be assigned to a specific output display by any type of selection mechanism such as a drop down menu, hot keys or similar interface and/or selection mechanism. Output display selections can be displayed by numbers or similar descriptors through the desktop management interface.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the desktop management interface can assign numbers to the multiple display/desktops.
wherein, the first guest virtual machine concurrently operates with the host operating system, the host operating system has a host operating interface displayed on a default desktop, and the first operating interface and the host operating interface are switched to display on at least one displayer … (Fig. 3 and [0026] “FIG. 3 is a diagram of one embodiment of a desktop management interface. This illustration is an example of a desktop environment 301. The desktop environment 301 includes a user selection interface 305 in a panel format. The panel includes six separate desktops 303A-F. Each desktop in the example has a different source. The desktop panels 303A-F illustrate the scaled representations of each of the desktops that are available through the user interface.” and [0028] “Panel 303A is a scaled representation of the currently selected desktop 301. The currently selected desktop can be highlighted, differently colored or saturated, or similarly distinguished from the other panels. Other panels illustrate a full screen application 303B, 303F (a video game and video playback application, respectively), desktops from a virtual machines 303C, a desktop from a shared application 303D, and a desktop from a remote computer 303E. Each panel may be marked with a symbol or text that describes or indicates the source of a desktop. For example, a desktop for a virtual machine can be marked with a `V` or `VM` while a desktop for a remote machine or application can be marked with an `R` or `Remote.`”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the virtual machine desktop and other desktops operate concurrently and can be moved around to a plurality of desktop panels/displays.
Duffy does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the first guest virtual machine serves as a second operating system which is different from a host operating system …
wherein the first virtual desktop is allocated on a first external displayer, and the default desktop is allocated on a default displayer, the first operating interface of the first guest virtual machine and the host operating interface of the host operating system are dynamically switched to display on the first external displayer and the default displayer.
However, Gilboa discloses:
… wherein the first guest virtual machine serves as a second operating system which is different from a host operating system … ([0051] “Virtual machines 210, 212 can be, for example, hardware emulation, full virtualization, para-virtualization, and operating system-level virtualization virtual machines. Each virtual machine 210, 212 includes a guest operating system (guest OS) 216, 218 that hosts one or more applications 252, 254 within the virtual machine. The guest OSes 216, 218 running on the virtual machines 210, 212 can be of the same or different types (e.g., two guest OSes may both be Windows operating systems, or one may be a Windows operating system and the other a Linux operating system). Moreover, the guest OSes 216, 218 and the host OS may share the same operating system type, or the host OS may be a different type of OS than one or more guest OSes 216, 218. For example, a guest OS may be a Windows operating system from Microsoft and a host OS may be a Linux operating system available from Red Hat.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the guest OS (Windows) and the host OS (Linux) can be different.
Both Duffy and Gilboa are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the virtual machine operating system desktop art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duffy's virtual machine operating system desktop because Gilboa's virtual machine operating system desktop is based upon being a different desktop operating system to allow the combination of multiple operating systems on the same device.
Motivation comes from Gilboa's invention to improve virtual machine operating system desktop art based upon allowing a plurality of operating systems, specifically different operating systems on virtual machines from the host’s operating system to allow different tasks to be performed on different operating systems as necessary as taught by Gilboa [0028] and [0051].
In addition, Fang discloses:
wherein the first virtual desktop is allocated on a first external displayer, and the default desktop is allocated on a default displayer, the first operating interface of the first guest virtual machine and the host operating interface of the host operating system are dynamically switched to display on the first external displayer and the default displayer. ([0098] “FIG. 18 depicts an example implementation 1800 of virtual desktops using a plurality of display devices. In this example, a plurality of display devices 1802, 1804 are employed by the operating system 110 of FIG. 1 to display a user interface. Each of the display devices 1802, 1804 has its own corresponding set of virtual desktops 116 that operate largely independent of other display devices. Accordingly, a user may have a different number of virtual desktops 116 on different display devices and may independently switch virtual desktops 116 on one display device 1802 without affecting another display device 1804 and vice versa.” and [0110] “Access to the plurality of virtual desktops is managed by the single operating system that is navigable by a user to interact with associated collections of windows corresponding to the applications by switching between the plurality of virtual desktops (block 2314). The switch may be performed responsive to a variety of different user input, such as a key combination, gesture, trackpad gesture, spoken utterance, selection of a button in a user interface, and so forth.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional monitor allows the virtual desktops to be distributed across the monitors in a plurality of ways such that desktops can be switched between monitors. A display can switch between virtual desktops on a display device and may also switch virtual desktops across display devices based on different user input specifications.
Duffy, Gilboa, and Fang are in the same field of endeavor as they are all in the virtual machine operating system desktop art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duffy's and Gilboa’s virtual machine operating system desktop because Fang’s virtual machine operating system desktop is based upon being able to switch virtual desktops and host desktop across display devices.
Motivation comes from Fang’s invention to improve virtual machine operating system desktop art based upon allowing switching virtual desktops and host desktop across display devices to continue to give users the setup they prefer across a growing number of applications, devices, and displays as taught by Fang [0001] and [0110].
Regarding claim 2, Duffy discloses the virtual processing device of claim 1, wherein the first guest virtual machine concurrently operates with the host operating system on a computing device, when the first operating interface and the host operating interface are switched to display on the at least one displayer, the computing device needs not to reboot. (Fig. 1, Virtual Machine 107 running on Computer System 101 and [0020] “A virtual machine 107 can be another source for desktops for the desktop manager 105. A virtual desktop module 111 interacts with the virtual machine 107 to gather data necessary for display of the virtual machine 107 in a windowed desktop or a separate desktop provided by the desktop manager 105. A virtual machine 107 executes a non-native platform on the computer system such as an operating system that is designed for another type of hardware architecture.” and [0036] “The currently displayed desktop is then switched to the selected desktop and the desktop management interface is updated to reflect the change (block 605). The desktop management interface may also be redrawn on the now currently displayed desktop. In another embodiment, the desktop management interface is persistent across all or some of the desktops. In a further embodiment, for certain desktop types the desktop management interface can be hidden and exposed by a mouse over, hot key or similar input. After the source has been switched for the currently displayed desktop, an overlay is generated and displayed providing meta-data information about the new current desktop. The overlay can be a textual or graphical overlay providing information such as a description, title or similar information that identifies the desktop or source associated with the desktop to facilitate the user verification that the correct desktop has been selected.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the VM operates with the desktop manager and the selected desktop and the currently displayed desktop are switched. As it is obvious that the source does not disclose rebooting following the switching of operating interfaces, it is obvious that there is no need to reboot following the switching of operating interfaces.
Regarding claim 9, Duffy discloses the virtual processing device of claim 1, wherein a host desktop environment of the host operating system assigns the display number and the desktop number to the first guest virtual machine, and the display and desktop management unit transmits the display number and the desktop number to a guest desktop environment of the first guest virtual machine. ([0028] “Panel 303A is a scaled representation of the currently selected desktop 301. The currently selected desktop can be highlighted, differently colored or saturated, or similarly distinguished from the other panels. Other panels illustrate a full screen application 303B, 303F (a video game and video playback application, respectively), desktops from a virtual machines 303C, a desktop from a shared application 303D, and a desktop from a remote computer 303E. Each panel may be marked with a symbol or text that describes or indicates the source of a desktop. For example, a desktop for a virtual machine can be marked with a `V` or `VM` while a desktop for a remote machine or application can be marked with an `R` or `Remote.`” and [0029] “Similarly, multiple-screens including multiple monitors and combinations with televisions or other display devices can be managed or assigned through the desktop management interface. Each desktop can be assigned to a specific output display by any type of selection mechanism such as a drop down menu, hot keys or similar interface and/or selection mechanism. Output display selections can be displayed by numbers or similar descriptors through the desktop management interface.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the desktop management interface can assign numbers to the multiple display/desktops and can display this number on a plurality of desktops including the virtual machine’s desktop environment.
Regarding claim 10, Duffy discloses the virtual processing device of claim 9, wherein the first virtual desktop and the default desktop are allocated on a default displayer, the first operating interface and the host operating interface are switched to display on the default displayer according to the display number and the desktop number. ([0029] “Similarly, multiple-screens including multiple monitors and combinations with televisions or other display devices can be managed or assigned through the desktop management interface. Each desktop can be assigned to a specific output display by any type of selection mechanism such as a drop down menu, hot keys or similar interface and/or selection mechanism. Output display selections can be displayed by numbers or similar descriptors through the desktop management interface.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the plurality of desktops such as the virtual desktop and default desktop can be assigned to specific output displays and can thus be switched to display on different monitors/display devices.
Regarding claim 11, Duffy discloses the virtual processing device of claim 9, wherein the switching of displaying on the first external displayer and the default displayer for the first operating interface and the host operating interface are performed according to the display number and the desktop number. ([0029] “Similarly, multiple-screens including multiple monitors and combinations with televisions or other display devices can be managed or assigned through the desktop management interface. Each desktop can be assigned to a specific output display by any type of selection mechanism such as a drop down menu, hot keys or similar interface and/or selection mechanism. Output display selections can be displayed by numbers or similar descriptors through the desktop management interface.” and [0036] “The currently displayed desktop is then switched to the selected desktop and the desktop management interface is updated to reflect the change (block 605). The desktop management interface may also be redrawn on the now currently displayed desktop. In another embodiment, the desktop management interface is persistent across all or some of the desktops. In a further embodiment, for certain desktop types the desktop management interface can be hidden and exposed by a mouse over, hot key or similar input. After the source has been switched for the currently displayed desktop, an overlay is generated and displayed providing meta-data information about the new current desktop. The overlay can be a textual or graphical overlay providing information such as a description, title or similar information that identifies the desktop or source associated with the desktop to facilitate the user verification that the correct desktop has been selected.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the multiple monitors are managed by the desktop management interface which assigns specific desktops to the monitors such as the virtual desktop and default desktop. The desktops can be switched, such as the virtual desktop and default desktop, so the desktops can be displayed on the correct monitor with description including display/desktop number so the user can verify the desktops are correctly displayed.
Regarding claim 12, Duffy discloses the virtual processing device of claim 9, wherein the host desktop environment further creates a second virtual desktop for a second guest virtual machine, and the second guest virtual machine has a second operating interface displayed on the second virtual desktop with full-screen. ([0020-0021] “The remote virtual machine interacts with the virtual desktop module 111 and/or the remote desktop module 113. In addition, virtual machines 107 can support multiple desktops. These virtual machine desktops can be separately managed or the management can be integrated with the desktop manager and included in the user interface 109. The desktop manager 105 can also include a user interface component 109. The user interface component 109 provides a graphical user interface for selection and viewing of the available desktops. In one embodiment, the graphical user interface provided by the component 109 is a panel composed of individual scaled representations of each available desktop. In other embodiments, any graphical representation or organization of the available desktops can be graphically presented to allow selection of a user desired desktop. The user interface component 109 can also generate interactive queries during source initialization that allows a user to select to create a new desktop or add the source to an existing desktop. Source initialization can be application start-up, remote desktop or application synchronization, virtual machine start-up or similar source initialization activities.” and [0004] “Virtualization software provides desktop switching functionality. The main purpose of the virtualization software is to provide access to one software environment or platform in another software environment or platform. The virtualization software allows for the virtualized software environment or platform to be displayed full screen. Examples of this software include Parallels.TM. Workstation, by Parallels, Inc. of Switzerland and VMware.TM. Fusion by VMware, Inc. of Palo Alto, Calif.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the user interface component allows users to submit virtual desktop creation commands to create a virtual desktop that can be displayed in full screen.
Regarding claim 13, Duffy discloses the virtual processing device of claim 12, wherein the first virtual desktop, the second virtual desktop and the default desktop are allocated on a default displayer, the first operating interface, the second operating interface and the host operating interface are switched to display on the default displayer according to the display number and the desktop number. (Fig. 3 and [0026] “FIG. 3 is a diagram of one embodiment of a desktop management interface. This illustration is an example of a desktop environment 301. The desktop environment 301 includes a user selection interface 305 in a panel format. The panel includes six separate desktops 303A-F. Each desktop in the example has a different source. The desktop panels 303A-F illustrate the scaled representations of each of the desktops that are available through the user interface.” and [0029] “Similarly, multiple-screens including multiple monitors and combinations with televisions or other display devices can be managed or assigned through the desktop management interface. Each desktop can be assigned to a specific output display by any type of selection mechanism such as a drop down menu, hot keys or similar interface and/or selection mechanism. Output display selections can be displayed by numbers or similar descriptors through the desktop management interface.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the plurality of desktops such as the multiple virtual desktops and default desktop can be assigned to specific output displays and can thus be switched to display on different monitors/display devices.
Regarding claim 14, Duffy discloses the virtual processing device of claim 12, wherein the first virtual desktop is allocated on a first external displayer, the second virtual desktop is allocated on a second external displayer, and the default desktop is allocated on a default displayer… ([0029] “Similarly, multiple-screens including multiple monitors and combinations with televisions or other display devices can be managed or assigned through the desktop management interface. Each desktop can be assigned to a specific output display by any type of selection mechanism such as a drop down menu, hot keys or similar interface and/or selection mechanism. Output display selections can be displayed by numbers or similar descriptors through the desktop management interface.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the multiple monitors are managed by the desktop management interface which assigns specific desktops to the monitors such as the virtual desktops to external displays and default desktop to the default display.
[and] the first operating interface, the second operating interface and the host operating interface are switched to display on the first external displayer, the second external displayer and the default displayer according to the display number and the desktop number. ([0029] “Similarly, multiple-screens including multiple monitors and combinations with televisions or other display devices can be managed or assigned through the desktop management interface. Each desktop can be assigned to a specific output display by any type of selection mechanism such as a drop down menu, hot keys or similar interface and/or selection mechanism. Output display selections can be displayed by numbers or similar descriptors through the desktop management interface.” and [0036] “The currently displayed desktop is then switched to the selected desktop and the desktop management interface is updated to reflect the change (block 605). The desktop management interface may also be redrawn on the now currently displayed desktop. In another embodiment, the desktop management interface is persistent across all or some of the desktops. In a further embodiment, for certain desktop types the desktop management interface can be hidden and exposed by a mouse over, hot key or similar input. After the source has been switched for the currently displayed desktop, an overlay is generated and displayed providing meta-data information about the new current desktop. The overlay can be a textual or graphical overlay providing information such as a description, title or similar information that identifies the desktop or source associated with the desktop to facilitate the user verification that the correct desktop has been selected.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the multiple monitors are managed by the desktop management interface which assigns specific desktops to the monitors such as the virtual desktops and default desktop. The desktops can be switched, such as the virtual desktops and default desktop, so the desktops can be displayed on the correct monitor with description including display/desktop numbers so the user can verify the plurality of desktops are correctly displayed.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0050111), in view of Gilboa (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0011445) and Fang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0085388) – hereinafter “Fang”, further in view of Pinto et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,740,507) – hereinafter “Pinto”.
Regarding claim 3, Duffy discloses the virtual processing device of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
a map-able application unit, for mapping the graphic application to a virtual device application;
wherein, the virtual device application is used to execute a virtual device of the first guest virtual machine to draw and display the first operating interface on the first virtual desktop.
However, Pinto discloses:
a map-able application unit, for mapping the graphic application to a virtual device application; (Fig. 2B, Window Management Service 206 and Col. 16, Lines 14-24 “Referring now to FIG. 2B, a block diagram depicts one embodiment of a system for mapping the display of one or more resources 204 of the mobile computing device 102 on one or more display devices 201 and/or 202. In various embodiments, the window management service 206 manages a virtual screen space 210. The virtual screen space 210 may map to the native display 201 and one or more external display devices 202. The window management service 206 may position output data associated with the user interfaces of one or more resources 204 on the virtual screen space 210 to specify where each user interface will be displayed.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the mapping of virtual screen space to displays allows the window management service to position applications/data to specify where each user interface will be displayed.
wherein, the virtual device application is used to execute a virtual device of the first guest virtual machine to draw and display the first operating interface on the first virtual desktop. (Fig. 2B, Virtual Graphics Driver 208 and Col. 16, Lines 32-47 “The window management service 206 communicates with the virtual graphics driver 208 to transmit output data associated with user interfaces of resources 204 to the native display 201 and one or more external display devices 202. In some embodiments, the window management service 206 may transmit output data and associated coordinates from the virtual screen space 210 to the virtual graphics driver 208. In various embodiments, the virtual graphics driver 208 stores the output data in a virtual screen frame buffer. In many embodiments, the virtual graphics driver 208 transmits the entries in the virtual screen frame buffer to the native display 201 and external display devices 202. In many embodiments, the virtual graphics driver 208 transmits an entry in the virtual screen frame buffer to a native display 201 or an external display device 202 based on the position of the entry in the frame buffer.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the virtual graphics driver transmits application data to display an interface to the display devices.
Both Duffy and Pinto are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the virtual machine operating system desktop art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duffy's virtual machine operating system desktop because Pinto's virtual machine operating system desktop is based upon a window management service mapping the operating system’s display to the display device of the user.
Motivation comes from Pinto's invention to improve virtual machine operating system desktop based upon a window management service mapping the operating system’s display to the display device of the user to allow a plurality of operating systems work on different displays like desktop displays or tablet computer touch screen displays as taught by Pinto Col. 1, Lines 24-34 and Col. 16, Lines 32-47.
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0050111), in view of Gilboa (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0011445) and Fang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0085388) – hereinafter “Fang”, further in view of Pinto et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,740,507) – hereinafter “Pinto” and Kaminski et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0161619) – hereinafter “Kaminski”.
Regarding claim 4, Duffy discloses the virtual processing device of claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the graphic application, which is mapped, is sent to a device driver of the host operating system through the virtual device, and the device driver enables an access privilege of the virtual device.
However, Pinto discloses:
wherein the graphic application, which is mapped, is sent to a device driver of the host operating system through the virtual device… (Fig. 2B, Virtual Graphics Driver 208 and Col. 16, Lines 32-47 “The window management service 206 communicates with the virtual graphics driver 208 to transmit output data associated with user interfaces of resources 204 to the native display 201 and one or more external display devices 202. In some embodiments, the window management service 206 may transmit output data and associated coordinates from the virtual screen space 210 to the virtual graphics driver 208. In various embodiments, the virtual graphics driver 208 stores the output data in a virtual screen frame buffer. In many embodiments, the virtual graphics driver 208 transmits the entries in the virtual screen frame buffer to the native display 201 and external display devices 202. In many embodiments, the virtual graphics driver 208 transmits an entry in the virtual screen frame buffer to a native display 201 or an external display device 202 based on the position of the entry in the frame buffer.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the application data is sent to the virtual graphics driver and further communicated to the display devices.
Both Duffy and Pinto are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the virtual memory art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duffy's virtual memory because Pinto's virtual memory is based upon mapping the native display in virtual memory with a virtual graphics driver.
Motivation comes from Pinto's invention to improve virtual memory based upon a window management service mapping the operating system’s display to the native display device of the user using virtual memory of a virtual graphics driver to allow a plurality of operating systems work on different displays like desktop displays or tablet computer touch screen displays as taught by Pinto Col. 1, Lines 24-34 and Col. 16, Lines 32-47.
In addition, Kaminski discloses:
… and the device driver enables an access privilege of the virtual device. ([0117] “If it is determined (at step 442A) that the page fault was caused by the missing page table entry (i.e., the page table did not have the specific page table entry), at step 442B the driver must determine if the accelerator device should be allowed to access the specific virtual memory with desired access privileges. In other words, at step 442B, the driver determines whether the accelerator device has the permission to access (read/write/execute) the memory location at the specified virtual memory address.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the driver determines that the accelerator device is permitted to access the virtual device’s memory location.
Duffy, Pinto, and Kaminski are in the same field of endeavor as they are all in the virtual memory art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duffy's and Pinto’s virtual memory because Kaminski’s virtual memory is based upon only allowing access to virtual memory if the proper access privileges are verified.
Motivation comes from Kaminski’s invention to improve virtual memory based upon allowing access to virtual memory if the proper access privileges are verified to keep user desktop information secure as taught by Kaminski [0010] and [0117].
Regarding claim 5, Duffy discloses the virtual processing device of claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the device driver is used to provide a graphic processor driver to drive a graphic processor, and the graphic processor is a physical device corresponding to the virtual device, and the graphic processor is used to draw and display the first operating interface.
However, Gilboa discloses:
wherein the device driver is used to provide a graphic processor driver to drive a graphic processor, and the graphic processor is a physical device corresponding to the virtual device, and the graphic processor is used to draw and display the first operating interface. (Fig. 1A and [0028] “The OS 120 further includes multiple device drivers, each of which enables the operating system 120 to communicate with and/or control a particular type of device or devices. The device drivers may include, for example, a keyboard driver 168 for communicating with a keyboard, a display driver 162 for communicating with a graphics device such as a graphics card and a pointing device driver 160 for communicating with a computer mouse, a tablet device, or other pointing device. In one embodiment, each of these device drivers communicates with and/or controls a remote device attached to client 105. In another embodiment, the device drivers include a remote interface driver 145 that enables OS 120 and applications 150 to be displayed on, and controlled by, client 105. The remote interface driver 145 may operate in concert with the keyboard driver 168, pointing device driver 160 and/or display driver 162 to receive cursor messages and keyboard messages from client 105 and to provide graphics messages to client 105.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the display driver communicates with graphics devices to control remote devices and the remote interface driver operates with the display driver to provide graphics to the client.
Both Duffy and Gilboa are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the virtual machine operating system desktop art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duffy's virtual machine operating system desktop because Gilboa's virtual machine operating system desktop is provided by a remote interface driver that enables the operating system to be displayed and controlled by the client.
Motivation comes from Gilboa's invention to improve virtual machine operating system desktop art based upon allowing a plurality of operating systems, specifically different operating systems on virtual machines from the host’s operating system by a remote interface driver that enables the operating system to be displayed and controlled by the client for the client’s ease of use of a multitude of operating systems as taught by Gilboa [0028] and [0051].
Regarding claim 6, Duffy discloses the virtual processing device of claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the virtual device is disposed in a guest kernel layer, and the guest kernel layer is related to the first guest virtual machine.
However, Gilboa discloses:
wherein the virtual device is disposed in a guest kernel layer, and the guest kernel layer is related to the first guest virtual machine. (Fig. 2 and [0048] “In one embodiment, the VMM 214 is run directly on bare platform hardware. In another embodiment, the VMM 214 is run on top of a host OS (e.g., as a kernel module of a host OS). Alternatively, for example, the VMM 214 may be run within, or on top of, another VMM. VMMs 214 may be implemented, for example, in hardware, software, firmware or by a combination of various techniques.” and [0050] “A virtual machine (VM) 210, 212 is a combination of guest software that uses an underlying emulation of a hardware machine (e.g., as provided by a hypervisor). Each VM 210, 212 may function as a self-contained platform, running its own guest operating system (guest OS 216, 218) and guest software applications (processes) 252, 254. Typically, the virtual machine manager (VMM) 214 manages allocation and virtualization of computer resources and performs context switching, as may be necessary, to cycle between various VMs.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the VMM is run as a kernel module of a host OS and the VMs are run using an underlying emulation of hardware machines. Thus, the VM is part of a guest module of the host’s kernel.
Both Duffy and Gilboa are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the virtual machine execution art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duffy's virtual machine execution because Gilboa's virtual machine execution is run by a VMM that runs as a kernel module of a host OS, so the VM is part of a guest module of the host’s kernel.
Motivation comes from Gilboa's invention to improve virtual machine execution art based upon a VMM that runs as a kernel module of a host OS, so the VM is part of a guest module of the host’s kernel such that containment of the virtualization to a guest kernel layer is ensured so it is not interacting with the host kernel layer as taught by Gilboa [0028] and [0048-0051].
Regarding claim 7, Duffy discloses the virtual processing device of claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the device driver and the display and desktop management unit are disposed in a host kernel layer, and the host kernel layer is related to the host operating system.
However, Gilboa discloses:
wherein the device driver and the display and desktop management unit are disposed in a host kernel layer, and the host kernel layer is related to the host operating system. (Fig. 2 and [0048] “In one embodiment, the VMM 214 is run directly on bare platform hardware. In another embodiment, the VMM 214 is run on top of a host OS (e.g., as a kernel module of a host OS). Alternatively, for example, the VMM 214 may be run within, or on top of, another VMM. VMMs 214 may be implemented, for example, in hardware, software, firmware or by a combination of various techniques.” and [0056] “In one embodiment, a user accesses virtual machine 212 remotely via client 202. Client 202 may be a personal computer (PC), palm-sized computing device, personal digital assistant (PDA), etc. In one embodiment, client 202 is connected with a keyboard 225, a pointing device 224, and a display 226. Display 226 presents graphics data (e.g., image objects) received from a virtual machine 212, as well as graphics data that originates from the client 202. Display 226 can be a display monitor, a window on a monitor screen, or any other entity that can receive graphic input and/or graphic commands.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the VMM is run as a kernel module of a host OS and the VMs are run using an underlying emulation of hardware machines. The client display presents graphics data from VMs and graphics data from the client, which all are handled by the host OS.
Both Duffy and Gilboa are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the virtual machine execution art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duffy's virtual machine execution because Gilboa's virtual machine execution is run by a VMM that runs as a kernel module of a host OS, so the VM is part of a guest module of the host’s kernel that has display management capabilities.
Motivation comes from Gilboa's invention to improve virtual machine execution art based upon a VMM that runs as a kernel module of a host OS, so the VM is part of a guest module of the host’s kernel that has display management capabilities such that containment of the management of displays/desktops to the host kernel layer is ensured so it has the permissions to easily make desktop/display changes as taught by Gilboa [0028] and [0048].
Regarding claim 8, Duffy discloses the virtual processing device of claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the graphic application, which is mapped, is sent to the device driver through a virtual socket.
However, Gilboa discloses:
wherein the graphic application, which is mapped, is sent to the device driver through a virtual socket. ([0078] “Upon receiving the new graphics messages, remote interface application 236 uses the graphics commands/information included therein to update display 230 and/or display 232. In one embodiment, remote interface application 236 includes a client display manager (not shown) that receives graphics commands/information, and determines which display 230, 232 should present this data. In one embodiment, in which the data is received via a dedicated channel (e.g., a socket), the client display manager makes this determination based on the context of the dedicated channel (e.g., using a mapping between the channel ID and the display ID).”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the graphics information used to update displays is received via virtual socket by remote interface application.
Both Duffy and Gilboa are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the virtual machine execution art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duffy's virtual machine execution because Gilboa's virtual machine execution uses a virtual socket for virtual communication of the graphic application to update the display.
Motivation comes from Gilboa's invention to improve virtual machine execution art based upon using a virtual socket for virtual communication of the graphic application to update the display for the VM between physical and virtual components as taught by Gilboa [0028] and [0078].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This prior art includes prior art mentioned in the IDS including Moran et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0346931), Suzuki (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0019371), TW 201229902A1, and TW 201229910A1. Additional prior art includes Zamir et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0227567) and Wong (CN 101228571 A). The prior art is relevant to the claimed invention because they reference running virtual machine desktops across multiple displays similar to the claimed invention. The prior art Ross et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0129728) discloses moving virtual desktops between respective display interfaces based on user instructions. This is similar to the claimed limitation of dynamically switching interfaces. The prior art Tsirkin (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0058838) discloses a guest VM and a host running different operating systems ([0031]) and switching between device formats ([0050]). Finally, the prior art Sobel et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,075,497) discloses a program called VMware Fusion that allows a Mac host to run a Windows guest. It also discloses VMware Workstation which is a similar product for Windows hosts, with a Unity feature that allows applications being run on guests with other operating systems (e.g., Linux) to appear on the Windows host desktop, alongside host applications.
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraphs/sections and line numbers in the references applied and not relied upon to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to the Office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the reference(s) cited or the objections made. A showing of how the amendments avoid such references or objections must also be present. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c).
When responding to this Office action, applicant is advised to provide the line and page numbers in the application and/or reference(s) cited to assist in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2198
/PIERRE VITAL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2198