DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I, FIGs. 1-5, claims 1-10 and 23-27 in the reply filed on 12/18/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 11-22 and 28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/20/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 01/20/2023 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, it’s not clear if “the coil pattern” in lines 4 and 6 each refers to the first coil pattern, the second coil pattern or the coil portion.
Claim 10 is rejected as being dependent on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tajima et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,847,307 B1).
With respect to claim 1, Tajima et al., hereinafter referred to as “Tajima,” teaches a coil component 1B (FIG. 7) comprising:
a body 10 having one surface 17 and the other surface 18 opposing each other in one direction (vertical direction as seen in FIG. 7);
a coil portion 20 (see FIG. 2 for illustration) disposed in the body, the coil portion including a lead-out portion 31; and
an external electrode 30B disposed on the one surface of the body to be connected to the lead-out portion,
wherein an outermost surface 30B1 (annotated FIG. 7) of the external electrode is disposed of inwards than the one surface of the body (col. 2, line 54-60 and col. 9, lines 53-67).
With respect to claim 2, Tajima teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein
the body has a plurality of side surfaces (surface 15 and 16 and front and back surfaces) connecting the one surface and the other surface, and
the external electrode is spaced apart from the plurality of side surfaces (col. 3, lines 13-15 and 41-47).
With respect to claim 3, Tajima teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the external electrode includes a first metal layer 321 connected to the lead-out portion, and a second metal layer 322 covering the first metal layer (col. 4, lines 57-61).
With respect to claim 6, Tajima teaches the coil component of claim 3, wherein
the first metal layer includes nickel (Ni), and the second metal layer includes tin (Sn) (col. 4, line 65 to col. 5, line 4).
With respect to claim 7, Tajima teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein
the coil portion further includes a coil pattern 21 having a plurality of turns, and
a central axis (A direction as shown in FIG. 2) of each turn of the coil pattern is perpendicular to the one direction (col. 3, lines 62-64 and col. 4, lines 11 and 12).
With respect to claim 23, Tajima teaches a coil component 1 (FIG. 7) comprising:
a body 10;
a coil portion 20 (see FIG. 2 for illustration) disposed in the body and including a lead-out portion 31; and
an external electrode 30B connected to the lead-out portion,
wherein opposing ends 30aa and 30ab (annotated FIG. 1 for illustration) of the external electrode are embedded with respect to an outer surface 15 of the coil component (col. 2, lines 54-60, col. 9, lines 53-67).
With respect to claim 27, Tajima teaches the coil component of claim 23, wherein a magnetic material and a resin of the body provide the outer surface of the coil component (col. 3, lines 6-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 8-10, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima, as applied to claims 3 and 23 above, in view of Lim et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0035404 A1).
With respect to claims 4 and 25, Tajima teaches the coil component of claims 3 and 23, respectively. Tajima does not expressly teach a surface roughness of a surface of the lead-out portion in contact with the first metal layer is different from a surface roughness of the outermost surface of the external electrode.
Lim et al., hereinafter referred to as “Lim,” teaches a coil component 1000 (FIGs. 1-10), wherein a surface roughness of a surface (surface in contact with metal layer 410) of the lead-out portion 232 in contact with the first metal layer 410 is different from a surface roughness of the outermost surface (outer surface of electrode 400) of the external electrode (col. 15, lines 36-41). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the surface roughness as taught by Lim to the coil component of Tajima to improve cohesion force between the lead-out portion and the metal layer (col. 15, lines 36-41).
With respect to claims 5 and 26, Tajima in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claims 4 and 25, respectively, wherein the surface roughness of the surface of the lead-out portion in contact with the first metal layer is greater than the surface roughness of the outermost surface of the external electrode (Lim, col. 15, lines 36-41).
With respect to claim 8, Tajima teaches the coil component of claim 1. Tajima does not expressly teach
a substrate disposed in the body to support the coil portion,
wherein the coil portion further includes:
first and second coil patterns respectively disposed on one surface and the other surface of the substrate; and
a via passing through the substrate to connect inner ends of the first and second coil patterns to each other.
Lim teaches a coil component 1000 (FIGs. 1-10) comprising:
a substrate IL disposed in the body 100 to support the coil portion 200,
wherein the coil portion further includes:
first and second coil patterns 212 and 211 respectively disposed on one surface and the other surface of the substrate; and
a via 221 passing through the substrate to connect inner ends of the first and second coil patterns to each other (col. 4, lines 10-26, col. 6, lines 47-49 and 59-64).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the substrate and via connection as taught by Lim to the coil component of Tajima to improve mechanical stability of the coil portion and to increase inductance.
With respect to claim 9, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Tajima in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 8, wherein the lead-out portion 242 and 232 includes:
a lead-out pattern 242 disposed on the one surface of the substrate to be connected to the coil pattern; and
a sub-lead-out pattern disposed on the other surface of the substrate to be spaced apart from the coil pattern (Lim, col. 6, lines 64 to col. 7, line 2).
With respect to claim 10, Tajima in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 9, further comprising:
a sub-via 223 passing through the substrate to connect the lead-out pattern and the sub-lead-out pattern to each other (Lim, col. 7, lines 5-13).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima, as applied to claim 23 above, in view of Suzuki (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2018/0286568 A1).
With respect to claim 24, Tajima teaches the coil component of claim 23, wherein
the body has a plurality of surfaces 13-18 (annotated FIG. 1 above) (col. 3, lines 14-21). Tajima does not expressly teach the external electrode is disposed on or in only one of the plurality of surfaces.
Suzuki teaches a coil component 10 (Fig. 3), wherein the external electrode 20A or 20B is disposed on or in only one of the plurality of surfaces (surface 7a) (para. [0028]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrode in only one surface as taught by Suzuki to the coil component of Tajima to facilitate manufacturing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837