DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications: RCE filed on 11/19/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent.
The previous rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC § 103 have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose et al. (US2017/0272412) in view of Aoki et al. (US2017/0185638), and Muller et al. (“A Framework for Consensual and Online Privacy Preserving Record Linkage in Real-Time”).
In regards to claim 1, Rose et al. substantially discloses a method in which a first computing hardware performs operations comprising:
Instructing second computing hardware to evaluate a data transfer risk between a first data asset and a second data asset, wherein the second computing hardware evaluates the data transfer risk by:
Generating a first data inventory that defines a first set of data attributes for the first data asset (Rose et al. para[0109], define data attribute (location) of first data asset (server 305));
Generating a second data inventory that defines a second set of data attributes for the second data asset, wherein the second set of data attributes comprises a data transfer record indicating a transfer of data between the first data asset and a second data asset (Rose et al. para[0113], defined location property of second data server 310);
Rose et al. does not explicitly disclose analyzing a data model comprising the first data inventory and the second data inventory to identify the transfer of the data:
Identifying, based on a type for the data indicated in the data transfer record, the data transfer risk by using a set of data transfer rules applicable to the transfer of the data; and
Generating, based on the data transfer risk, a risk rating for the transfer of the data from the first data asset to the second data asset.
However Aoki discloses analyzing a data model comprising the first data inventory and the second data inventory to identify the transfer of the data:
Identifying, based on a type for the data indicated in the data transfer record, the data transfer risk by using a set of data transfer rules applicable to the transfer of the data (Aoki et al. para[0085], identified types of data being requested by entities, para[0086] applies rules based on type of data); and
Generating, based on the data transfer risk, a risk rating for the transfer of the data from the first data asset to the second data asset (Aoki et al para[0031], provide assessment of risk, privacy, and/or levels of trust).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined security method of Rose et al. with the personal information control method of Aoki et al. in order to track and manage how user information is distributed (Aoki et al. para[0003]).
Rose et al. does not explicitly disclose performing an action to address the data transfer risk, wherein the action comprises at least one of (i) generating a secure link between the first data asset and the second data asset for executing the transfer of the data over the secure link, (ii) terminating the transfer of the data from the first data asset to the second data asset in response to determining that the risk rating satisfies a risk threshold, or (iii) having the data involved in the transfer encrypted.
However Muller et al. discloses performing an action to address the data transfer risk, wherein the action comprises at least one of (i) generating a secure link between the first data asset and the second data asset for executing the transfer of the data over the secure link, (ii) terminating the transfer of the data from the first data asset to the second data asset in response to determining that the risk rating satisfies a risk threshold, or (iii) having the data involved in the transfer encrypted (Muller et al. pg2594 section III.A para2, encodes data to prevent access by unauthorized third parties).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the security method of Rose et al. with the privacy framework of Muller et al. in order to allow cross-organizational data exchange while observing privacy regulations (Muller et al. pg2591 section I para5).
In regards to claim 2, Rose et al. as modified by Aoki et al., and Muller et al. discloses the method of Claim 1 further comprising, generating the secure link or having the data involved in the transfer encrypted in response to determining that the risk rating satisfies the risk threshold (Muller et al. pg2595 section III.C para2-3, encrypts the data records to be transferred and terminates (excludes) transfer of some data sets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the security method of Rose et al. with the privacy framework of Muller et al. in order to allow cross-organizational data exchange while observing privacy regulations (Muller et al. pg2591 section I para5).
In regards to claim 3, Rose et al. as modified by Aoki et al., and Muller et al. discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein performing the action to address the data transfer risk comprises two or more of generating the secure link between the first data asset and the second data asset, terminating the transfer of the data, or having the data involved in the transfer encrypted (Muller et al. pg2595 section III.C para2-3, encrypts the data records to be transferred and terminates (excludes) transfer of some data sets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the security method of Rose et al. with the privacy framework of Muller et al. in order to allow cross-organizational data exchange while observing privacy regulations (Muller et al. pg2591 section I para5).
In regards to claim 4, Rose et al. as modified by Aoki et al., and Muller et al. discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein performing the action to address the data transfer risk further comprises:
generating, for providing to a computing device associated with the transfer, a notification indicating a heightened risk for the transfer in response to determining that the risk rating satisfies the risk threshold (Aoki et al. para[0132] ln1-4, alerts and notifications are sent based on certain access thresholds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined security method of Rose et al. with the personal information control method of Aoki et al. in order to track and manage how user information is distributed (Aoki et al. para[0003] ln1-9).
In regards to claim 5, Rose et al. as modified by Aoki et al., and Muller et al. discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the set of data transfer rules comprise at least one of:(a) rules associated with at least one encryption level, (b) rules associated with at least one storage time limitation, or (c) rules associated with at least one access restriction (Aoki et al. para[0023] ln1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined security method of Rose et al. with the personal information control method of Aoki et al. in order to track and manage how user information is distributed (Aoki et al. para[0003]).
In regards to claim 6, Rose et al. as modified by Aoki et al., and Muller et al. discloses the method of Claim 1, the data model comprises indications of data assets that collect data and one or more data types of data collected by each of the data assets (Aoki et al. para[0080], the PIP may collect, scrape, and/or retrieve the user’s data from various websites or web servers, possibly to display identifications of the websites or web servers to users.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined security method of Rose et al. with the personal information control method of Aoki et al. in order to track and manage how user information is distributed (Aoki et al. para[0003]).
In regards to claim 7, Rose et al.as modified by Aoki et al., and Muller et al. discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the set of data transfer rules comprises at least one of: a privacy law framework applicable to at least one of a first location associated with the first data asset or a second location associated with the second data asset, or an entity framework applicable to at least one of a first entity associated with the first data asset or a second entity associated with the second data asset (Aoki et al. para[0132] ln4-8, rules for alerts if an entity from another country or region is requesting information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined security method of Rose et al. with the personal information control method of Aoki et al. in order to track and manage how user information is distributed (Aoki et al. para[0003]).
Claims 8-14 recite substantially similar limitations to claims 1-7. Thus claims 8-14 are rejected along the same rationale as claims 1-7.
Claims 15-20 recite substantially similar limitations to claims 1-5 and 7. Thus claims 15-20 are rejected along the same rationale as claims 1-5 and 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply the current rejection.
Conclusion
/N.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141