DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on January 23, 2023 was received and considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “themosetting” should be replaced with - -thermosetting- - to correct the typographical error.
A period should be inserted at the end of the claim for grammatical clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 18 is of improper dependent form as no claim number is recited. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-11, 14, 16, and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2422959 A1 (Meggiolan et al., hereinafter "Meggiolan").
Regarding Claim 1, Meggiolan discloses (Para. [0001]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) a rim (39) for a vehicle wheel, comprising: a spoke bed wall (spoke seat 4) having: a radially outboard surface (surface of spoke seat 4 contacting insert 15); a radially inboard surface (inboard surface of spoke seat 4 contacting mold elements 1,2); and a spoke hole (11) extending therethrough between said outboard surface and said inboard surface and configured to receive a spoke of the vehicle wheel; a pre-formed insert (15) having: a radially outward surface (18); a radially inward surface (17); and an insert opening (16) extending therethrough between said outward surface and said inward surface and configured to receive said spoke; an adhesive (adhesive may be glue or material for co-molding) to provide an adhesive joinder at an adhesive interface (adhesive between radially inward surface 17 of insert 15 and outboard surface of spoke seat 4) between said insert (15) and said outboard surface (surface of spoke seat 4 contacting insert 15); wherein said insert opening (16) has a radially outboard first entrance (entrance of opening 16 adjacent surface 18) having a first perimeter edge (edge of counterbore of opening 16); wherein said insert opening (16) laterally overlaps said spoke hole (11); wherein at least one of said first perimeter edge, said outward surface, and said insert opening is configured to provide a bearing surface to brace said spoke (perimeter edge of opening 16 and opening 16 are configured to provide a bearing surface to brace spoke).
Regarding Claim 2, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0013]-[0050], [0091]-[0131], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) said adhesive interface (adhesive between radially inward surface 17 of insert 15 and outboard surface of spoke seat 4) is configured such that spoke tension force of said spoke serves to compress said adhesive at said adhesive interface (the force acting on the insert 15 would cause compression of the adhesive at the adhesive interface).
Regarding Claim 6, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0003]-[0005], [0091]-[0098], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) said spoke has threadable engagement interface with said insert (hole 16 of insert 15 may be threaded to receive threaded spoke).
Regarding Claim 7, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0003]-[0005], [0091]-[0098], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) said insert (15) is configured to brace a singular spoke (spoke braced at hole 16).
Regarding Claim 8, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0091]-[0098], [0130], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) said inward surface has an inward surface contour (radially inward surface 17 has a concave shape matching the inside of the rim); said outboard surface has an outboard surface contour (outboard surface of rim has concave shape contacting insert 15); said adhesive joinder includes a bondline thickness (glue or adhesive material would have an inherent thickness); said inward surface contour is generally matched to said outboard surface contour including said bondline thickness therebetween (Para. [0091]-[0098], [0130], [0162]-[0173]).
Regarding Claim 9, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0091]-[0146], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) including a mechanical retaining engagement (collar) between said insert (15) and said rim (39).
Regarding Claim 10, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0013]-[0050], [0091]-[0131], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) including a first bearing interface between said inward surface and said outboard surface (radially inward surface 17 of insert 15 bears against radially outer surface of rim 39) and a second bearing interface between said spoke and said insert (spoke bears against insert 15 at hole 16 and surface 18), wherein the area of said first bearing interface is greater than the area of said second bearing interface (interface between insert 15 and rim 39 has greater area than interface between insert 15 and spoke).
Regarding Claim 11, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0013]-[0050], [0096]-[0131]; Figs. 1-22) said adhesive (adhesive as polymeric material of thermosetting or thermoplastic type) has a flowable and softened state and a hardened state having greater hardness than said softened state; wherein said softened state corresponds to the application of said adhesive at said adhesive interface (polymeric material is applied at the interface between insert 15 and seat 4 of rim 39) and said hardened state corresponds to said adhesive joinder (polymeric material hardens and rim 39 is complete with insert attached).
Regarding Claim 14, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0013]-[0050], [0096]-[0131]; Figs. 1-22) said adhesive is a thermosetting adhesive (adhesive as polymeric material of thermosetting type).
Regarding Claim 16, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0013]-[0050], [0091]-[0131], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) said adhesive joinder (adhesive joining insert 15 and rim 39) is a structural joinder that serves to permanently connect said insert (15) to said spoke bed (4).
Regarding Claim 18, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0013]-[0050], [0091]-[0146], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) said pre-formed insert (15) includes said insert opening (16) irrespective of said adhesive joinder (adhesive joining insert 15 and rim 39).
Regarding Claim 19, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0013]-[0050], [0091]-[0146], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) said rim is a preformed element (rim 39 may be already molded or extruded when insert 15 is brought into position) and said adhesive joinder is between said pre-formed rim (39) and said insert (insert 15 may be joined to pre-formed rim by gluing).
Regarding Claim 20, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0013]-[0050], [0091]-[0146], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) said rim (39) is formed against said insert (15) with said adhesive joinder therebetween (adhesive joining insert 15 and rim 39).
Regarding Claim 21, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0058]-[0110], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) said rim (39) includes a radial axis (rim 39 is symmetrical, radial axis is axis of symmetry) and said spoke includes a longitudinal axis (axis X; axis Y of hole 16) wherein and said bearing surface (perimeter edge of hole 16 and hole 16 are configured to provide a bearing surface to brace spoke) is skewed to be asymmetrical about said radial axis (the axis Y of hole 16 may have a camber angle, resulting in an asymmetrical bearing surface at the hole).
Regarding Claim 22, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claims 1 and 21, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0058]-[0110], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) said bearing surface (perimeter edge of opening 16 and opening 16 are configured to provide a bearing surface to brace spoke) is aligned to be generally orthogonal to said longitudinal axis (bearing surface of perimeter of hole 16 at surface 18 is perpendicular to axis Y).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meggiolan.
Regarding Claim 17, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0043]-[0050], [0091]-[0098], [0120]-[0130], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) a bondline thickness at said adhesive interface (glue or adhesive material would have an inherent thickness; amassment of material at edges 21 has thickness).
Meggiolan does not explicitly disclose said bondline thickness is variable.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rim disclosed by Meggiolan to have a variable bondline thickness, dependent upon the geometry of the rim and insert, in order to provide an effective bond between the components.
Regarding Claim 23, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above.
Meggiolan does not explicitly disclose said insert has greater rigidity than spoke bed at said adhesive interface.
However, Meggiolan teaches (Para. [0013]-[0050], [0060]-[0082], [0091]-[0146], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) the insert (15) may be made of thermoplastic or thermosetting polymeric materials reinforced by fiber or of metallic material, and the rim (39) may be made may be made of thermoplastic or thermosetting polymeric materials reinforced by fiber or of metallic material; one material would have greater stiffness, or rigidity, than the other.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rim disclosed by Meggiolan to have an insert with greater rigidity than the spoke bed in order to provide reinforcement at the spoke attachment portion, allowing for a more cost effective rim.
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meggiolan in view of FR 2843915 A1 (Heine).
Regarding Claim 3, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0058]-[0110], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) said bearing surface (hole 16 and perimeter edge of hole 16 are configured to provide a bearing surface to brace spoke) of said insert (15) includes said first perimeter edge (perimeter edge of hole 16).
Meggiolan does not explicitly disclose said spoke has a laterally overhanging overlie engagement interface between a bearing surface of said spoke and said first perimeter edge.
However, Heine teaches (Para. [0005]-[0010] of translation; Figs. 1A-6) a rim (J) with an insert (reinforcement 2) including an opening (opening of hollow cylinder 1-1, 1-3) configured to receive a spoke (nut 1 of spoke), the opening having a first perimeter edge (surface SC), said spoke has a laterally overhanging overlie engagement interface (the nut 1 of the spoke has a laterally overhanging overlie engagement interface with the reinforcement 2, as shown in Figs. 3-6) between a bearing surface (surface SE) of said spoke and said first perimeter edge (SC).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rim disclosed by Meggiolan to include a laterally overhanging overlie engagement interface between the spoke and insert, such as taught by Heine, in order to provide support for the spoke and ensure the distribution of tensile stresses exerted on the rim.
Regarding Claim 5, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above.
Meggiolan does not explicitly disclose said spoke has a laterally overhanging overlie engagement interface between a bearing surface of said spoke and said insert that serves as a self-aligning engagement interface, wherein said self-aligning engagement interface is at least one of a swiveling engagement interface and a rocking engagement interface.
However, Heine teaches (Para. [0005]-[0010] of translation; Figs. 1A-6) a rim (J) with an insert (reinforcement 2) including an opening (opening of hollow cylinder 1-1, 1-3) configured to receive a spoke (nut 1 of spoke), said spoke has a laterally overhanging overlie engagement interface (the nut 1 of the spoke has a laterally overhanging overlie engagement interface with the reinforcement 2, as shown in Figs. 3-6) between a bearing surface (surface SE) of said spoke and said insert (2) that serves as a self-aligning engagement interface, wherein said self-aligning engagement interface is at least one of a swiveling engagement interface and a rocking engagement interface (swiveling).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rim disclosed by Meggiolan to include a self-aligning engagement interface between the spoke and insert, such as taught by Heine, in order to provide support and avoid bending stress on the spoke.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meggiolan in view of US 20070063575 A1 (Passarotto et al., hereinafter "Passarotto").
Regarding Claim 4, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above. Meggiolan further discloses (Para. [0058]-[0110], [0162]-[0173]; Figs. 1-22) said bearing surface (hole 16 and surface 18) of said insert (15) includes said first outward surface (outward surface 18 is configured to provide a bearing surface for spoke).
Meggiolan does not explicitly disclose said spoke has a laterally overhanging overlie engagement interface between a bearing surface of said spoke and said outward surface.
However, Passarotto teaches (Para. [0002]-[0118]; Figs. 1-13) a rim (1) with an insert (abutment brass 20) having a bearing surface including a first outward surface (radially outer surface of abutment brass 20 provides a bearing surface for spoke 8) configured to receive a spoke (spoke attachment element 9 of spoke 8), said spoke has a laterally overhanging overlie engagement interface between a bearing surface (bearing surface of end 13 of spoke attachment element 9) of said spoke (8) and said outward surface (radially outer surface of abutment brass 20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rim disclosed by Meggiolan to include a laterally overhanging overlie engagement interface between the spoke and insert, such as taught by Passarotto, in order to provide support for the spoke and ensure the distribution of tensile stresses exerted on the rim.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meggiolan in view of DE 3620097 A1 (hereinafter “’097”).
Regarding Claim 12, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above.
Meggiolan does not disclose said adhesive is a film adhesive.
However, ‘097 teaches (Para. [0001]-[0065] of translation; Figs. 1-6) a wheel (1) with a rim (6) and spokes (10), wherein components may be joined together by adhesive film, hot glue, or a specially thickened adhesive resin (Para. [0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the adhesive disclosed by Meggiolan with a film adhesive, such as taught by ‘097, as an equivalent substitution in order to provide a strong bond between the insert and rim.
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meggiolan in view of US 20100253132 A1 (Schlanger).
Regarding Claim 13, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above.
Meggiolan does not disclose said adhesive is a pressure sensitive adhesive.
However, Schlanger teaches (Para. [0006]-[0070]; Figs. 2a-5d) a rim assembly (39) comprising components (rim shell 34a, 34b and outer rim 32) joined together by a pressure sensitive adhesive (double stick tape 70a, 70b).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the adhesive disclosed by Meggiolan with a pressure sensitive adhesive, such as taught by Schlanger, as an equivalent substitution in order to retain the insert to the rim.
Regarding Claim 15, Meggiolan discloses the rim of claim 1, as discussed above.
Meggiolan does not explicitly disclose said adhesive joinder is a non-structural joinder that serves to retain said insert to said spoke bed.
However, Schlanger teaches (Para. [0006]-[0070]; Figs. 2a-5d) a rim assembly (39) comprising components (rim shell 34a, 34b and outer rim 32) with a non-structural joinder (joining interface 54 may have adhesive utilized to augment the connection, and/or joining interface 54 may be a removable interface) that serves to retain one component (rim shell 34a, 34b) to another (outer rim 32).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rim disclosed by Meggiolan to have a non-structural joinder, such as taught by Schlanger, in order to allow for the disassembly and reassembly of the insert without damage to the rim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references disclose rims provided with inserts at spoke attachment portions for reinforcement.
/E.G.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615