DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 01/23/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 15-24 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0013142 A1) in view of Yoon et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2018/0047494 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kim et all, hereinafter referred to as “Kim,” teaches a coil component 100 (FIGs. 1-2), comprising:
a body 1;
a supporting member 12 disposed within the body;
a coil portion 131 including a first coil pattern (spiral pattern) disposed on one surface (upper surface) of the supporting member, a via first pad 131a connected to the first coil pattern, a second coil portion132 including a second coil pattern (spiral pattern) disposed on a second surface (lower surface) of the supporting member opposing the first surface in a thickness direction (T axis direction) of the body, a second via pad 132a connected to the second coil pattern, and a via 14 connected to the first via pad and the second via pad to each other; and
an external electrode 21 and or 22 disposed on the body and connected to the coil portion,
wherein the via includes a plurality of side surfaces (surfaces 14a-14d, annotated FIG. 2, and “at least one side a via electrode” para. [0032]), one or more of the side surfaces 14c and or 14d is covered by the supporting member, and at least a portion of two or more of the side surfaces (portions of surfaces 14a, 14c and any or all side surfaces 14e-14f, annotated FIG. 1, as disclosed in para. [0032]) is non-covered by the supporting member (paras. [0022], [0028] and [0032]).
Kim does not expressly teach in the thickness direction, the first via pad, the via, and the second via pad overlap with each other.
Yoon et al., hereinafter referred to as “Yoon,” teaches a coil component 100 (FIG. 1), wherein
in the thickness direction (T axis direction), the first via pad 121a (annotated FIG. 1), the via 125, and the second via pad 122a overlap with each other (para. [0034]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the via pads and the via connection as taught by Yoon to the coil component of Kim to improve the mechanical connection stability between the coil portion and the second coil portion.
With respect to claim 2, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 1,
wherein, among the plurality of side surfaces of the via, the two or more of the side surfaces of the via not covered by the supporting member include first and second side surfaces (e.g. surfaces 14e and 14f, annotated FIG. 1), and
wherein the first and second side surfaces meet to share a corner (ridge between surfaces 14e and 14f) (Kim, para. [0032]).
With respect to claim 3, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 2, wherein the first and second side surfaces meet vertically (Kim, para. [0032]).
With respect to claim 4, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 2, wherein each of the first and second side surfaces are planar (Kim, para. [0032]).
With respect to claim 5, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 2, wherein each of the first and second side surfaces are cut-surfaces (Kim, paras. [0029] and [0032]).
With respect to claim 6, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein one 14e or 14f (annotated FIG. 1) of the two or more of the side surfaces of the via, non-covered by the supporting member, among the plurality of side surfaces of the via, is coplanar with one side surface of the supporting member (Kim, para. [0032]).
With respect to claim 7, Kim teaches the coil component of claim 6, wherein the one of the two or more of the side surfaces of the via, non-covered by the supporting member, among the plurality of side surfaces, is coplanar with one side surface of the first via pad and one side surface of the second via pad (Kim, para. [0032]).
With respect to claim 8, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 1,
wherein, among the plurality of side surfaces of the via, the two or more of the side surfaces of the via non-covered by the supporting member include first and second side surfaces 14e and 14g, and
wherein the first and second side surfaces are spaced apart from each other (Kim, para. [0032]).
With respect to claim 15, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 1,
wherein the body includes a core H penetrating the supporting member, and
wherein the first and second coil patterns have a spiral shape including at least one turn around the core (Kim, para. [0030]).
With respect to claim 16, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 15, wherein the first via pad extends from the first coil pattern and protrudes toward the core, and the second via pad extends from the second coil pattern and protrudes toward the core (Kim, para. [0029]).
With respect to claim 17, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein a line width of the first via pad is greater than a line width of the first coil pattern, and a line width of the second via pad is grater than a line width of the second coil pattern (Kim, para. [0029]).
With respect to claim 18, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 2, further comprising:
an insulating film 14 integrally covering the coil portion and the supporting member (Kim, para. [0045]).
With respect to claim 19, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 18, wherein the first and second side surfaces are in contact with the insulating film (Kim, para. [0045]).
With respect to claim 20, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the via pad and the via are integrated with each other (Kim, para. [0032]).
With respect to claim 21, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein a distance (distance in W axis direction), in a width direction (W axis direction) of the body, between a curved surface (curve surface 14d) of the via and one side surface of the first via pad is different from a distance (distance in L axis direction), in a length direction of the body, between the curved surface of the via and another side surface of the first via pad (Kim, para. [0029]).
With respect to claim 22, Kim teaches a coil component (100 (FIGs. 1-2), comprising:
a body 1 (FIGs. 1-2);
a supporting member 12 disposed within the body;
a coil portion 131 including a coil pattern (spiral pattern) disposed on a first surface (upper surface) of the supporting member, a first via pad 131a connected to the first coil pattern, a second coil portion132 including a second coil pattern (spiral pattern) disposed on a second surface (lower surface) of the supporting member opposing the first surface in a thickness direction (T axis direction) of the body, a second via pad 132a connected to the second coil pattern, and a via 14 connected to the first via pad and the second via pad to each other; and
an external electrode 21 and or 22 disposed on the body and connected to the coil portion,
wherein among the via pad and the supporting member, only the supporting member includes a via hole in which the via is disposed,
the via includes at least one side surface (portions of surfaces 14a, 14c and side surfaces 14e-14g, annotated FIG. 1, as disclosed in para. [0032]) non-covered by the supporting member (paras. [0022], [0028] and [0032]).
Kim does not expressly teach in the thickness direction, the first via pad, the via, and the second via pad overlap with each other.
Yoon teaches a coil component 100 (FIG. 1), wherein
in the thickness direction (T axis direction), the first via pad 121a (annotated FIG. 1), the via 125, and the second via pad 122a overlap with each other (para. [0034]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the via pads and the via connection as taught by Yoon to the coil component of Kim to improve the mechanical connection stability.
With respect to claim 23, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 22, wherein the at least one side surface (any surface 14e-14f), non-covered by the supporting member, among a plurality of side surfaces of the via, is coplanar with one side surface of the supporting member (Kim, para. [0032]).
With respect to claim 24, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 22, wherein the at least one side surface, non-covered by the supporting member, among a plurality of side surfaces of the via, is coplanar with one side surface of the first via pad and one side surface of the second via pad (Kim, para. [0032]).
With respect to claim 27, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 22, further comprising an insulating film 14 covering the coil portion and the supporting member,
wherein the at least one side surface of the via is in contact with the insulating film (Kim, para. [0045]).
Claims 9, 10-14, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yoon, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0286671 A1, hereinafter “Kim’671”).
With respect to claim 9, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 2. Kim in view of Yoon does not expressly teach a side surface covered by the supporting member among the plurality of side surfaces of the via is a curved surface.
Kim’671 teaches a coil component 100 (FIG. 1), wherein a side surface (surface of via 35 in contact with support member 20) covered by the supporting member 20 among the plurality of side surfaces of the via is a curved surface (para. [0040]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the curved surface as taught by Kim’671 to the coil component of Kim in view of Yoon to increase improve reliability (para. [0042]).
With respect to claim 10, Kim in view of Yoon and Kim’671 teaches the coil component of claim 9,
wherein the side surface covered by the supporting member among the plurality of side surfaces of the via includes third and fourth side surfaces 14c and 14d spaced apart from each other, and
wherein the third or fourth side surfaces connecting the first and second side surfaces to each other (Kim, para. [0032]).
With respect to claim 11, Kim in view of Yoon and Kim’671 teaches the coil component of claim 10, wherein a center (middle point) of curvature of the third or fourth side surface (left and right surface in W axis direction) is disposed in an internal side region of the first via pad 121a and or 122a (annotated FIG. 1) and an internal side region of the second via pad (Yoon, para. [0034]).
With respect to claim 12, Kim in view of Yoon and Kim’671 teaches the coil component of claim 9,
wherein, among the plurality of side surfaces of the via, the two or more of the side surfaces non-covered by the supporting member further include a fifth side surface 14g, and
wherein the fifth side surface is spaced apart from the first side surface 14e, and is in contact with the second side surface 14f (Kim, para. [0032]).
With respect to claim 13, Kim in view of Yoon and Kim’671 teaches the coil component of claim 12, wherein the side surface covered by the supporting member among the plurality of side surfaces of the via connects the first and fifth side surfaces to each other (Kim, para. [0032]).
With respect to claim 14, Kim in view of Yoon and Kim’671 teaches the coil component of claim 12, wherein a center (middle point) of curvature of the side surface covered by the supporting member among the plurality of side surfaces of the via is disposed in an external side region of the first via pad and an external side region of the second via pad(Kim’671, para. [0040]).
With respect to claim 25, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 22. Kim in view of Yoon does not expressly teach a side surface covered by the supporting member among a plurality of side surfaces of the via includes a curved surface.
Kim’671 teaches a coil component 100 (FIG. 1), wherein a side surface (surface of via 35 in contact with support member 20) covered by the supporting member 20 among a plurality of side surfaces of the via includes a curved surface (para. [0040]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the curved surface as taught by Kim’671 to the coil component of Kim in view of Yoon to reliability (para. [0042]).
With respect to claim 26, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the coil component of claim 22. Kim in view of Yoon does not expressly teach a center of curvature of the side surface covered by a supporting member among the plurality of side surfaces of the via is disposed in an external side region of the first via pad and an external side region of the second via pad.
Kim’671 teaches a coil component 100 (FIG. 1), wherein a center (middle point) of curvature of the side surface covered by the supporting member among a plurality of side surfaces of the via is disposed in an external side region of the first via pad and an external side region of the second via pad (para. [0040]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the center of the curvature as taught by Kim’671 to the coil component of Kim in view of Yoon to reliability (para. [0042]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837