DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In the Preliminary Amendment dated April 11, 2023, claims 5, 7, 8, 10, 12-15, 19-27, 29-48, 53, 56-59, 63-68 and 71 were cancelled without prejudice. Claims 49-52, 54, 55, and 60-62 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/12/2025.
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, 16-18, 28, 69, and 70 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
The Amendments under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 05/29/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of independent claims 1, 69, and 70 based upon the current rejection teaching all aspects of the amended claim, as set forth in the last Office action because:
Freeman teaches the support garment, Simpson teaches a mesh interface, and Donat teaches the interface configured to be disposed externally to the patient's skin.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the current rejection fails to disclose or suggest a mesh interface for use with a support garment of a wearable cardiac therapeutic device, the mesh interface comprising: a first side comprising hydrophobic dielectric fiber(s) proximate to one or more electrically conductive fluid deployment openings on a therapy electrode; a second side comprising hydrophilic dielectric fiber(s) proximate to a patient's skin; and conductive fiber(s) and/or conductive particles configured to be interspersed with the hydrophobic dielectric fiber(s) and with the hydrophilic dielectric fiber(s), such that the conductive fiber(s) and/or conductive particles conduct therapeutic electrical current from the therapy electrode to the patient's skin, "wherein the mesh interface is configured to be disposed externally to the patient's skin”. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Freeman teaches a support garment for a wearable medical device that comprises a skin interface that secures sensors with an inner fabric of the garment and held against the patient’s skin ([0152]).
Simpson teaches a matrix of mesh fibers that allows for transport of fluid through the pores ([16]) which could be seen as a mesh interface.
Donat teaches a hydrophobic layer that allows for two-way transfer of vapor ([0032]) and hydrophilic fiber(s) proximate to the patient's skin ([0024]). Donat also teaches wherein the interface is configured to be disposed externally to the patient's skin ([0024] the garment 102 may include a basal layer 106 in direct contact with the skin surface 104).
Therefore, Freeman in combination with Simpson and Donat teaches wherein the mesh interface is configured to be disposed externally to the patient's skin.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Freeman is teaching a mesh interface that allows fluid flow between the fibers ([30]) in a similar way the current applicant has the mesh interface configured to facilitate transfer of electrically conductive fluid from one or more electrically conductive fluid reservoirs disposed on the therapy electrode through the one or more electrically conductive fluid deployment openings of the therapy electrode and towards the patient's skin.
Further, Donat also teaches an interface that allows for vapor transfer between the material ([0024]).
In response to applicant's argument that Simpson and Donat are nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Simpson and Donat are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor by addressing the mesh interface that allows for fluid transfer and is proximate to a patient's skin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 16-18, 28, 69, and 70 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman (US 20190298987 A1) in view of Simpson (US 8060174 B2) and Donat (US 20170367917 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Freeman teaches mesh interface for use with a support garment of a wearable cardiac therapeutic device (Fig 1; garment 110), the mesh interface comprising: a first side comprising fiber(s) proximate to one or more electrically conductive fluid deployment openings on a therapy electrode ([0164] the gel deployment pack, including the one or more gel reservoirs and associated gel deployment circuitry, and the therapy electrode can be integrated into a therapy electrode assembly that can be removed and replaced as a single unit either after use, or if damaged or broken) ([0177] The sensing electrodes 112 can monitor, for example, a patient's ECG information. For example, the sensing electrodes 112 can include conductive electrodes with stored gel deployment (e.g., metallic electrodes with stored conductive gel configured to be dispersed in the electrode-skin interface when needed)); a second side comprising fiber(s) proximate to the patient's skin; and conductive fiber(s) and/or conductive particles configured to be interspersed with the hydrophobic dielectric fiber(s) and with the hydrophilic dielectric fiber(s) ([0188] the therapy electrodes 114 and the sensing electrodes 112 are formed partially or wholly of the warp and weft of the garment 110, including or spanning portions of conductive fabric forming one or more panels or swaths of the garment 110) ([0198] the therapy electrodes 114 and/or the sensing electrodes 112 are formed of the warp and weft of the fabric. In certain implementations, the therapy electrodes 114 and the sensing electrodes 112 are formed from conductive fabric that is interwoven with non-conductive fibers of the fabric), such that the conductive fiber(s) and/or conductive particles conduct therapeutic electrical current from the therapy electrode to the patient's skin ([0198] the therapy electrodes 114 and/or the sensing electrodes 112 are formed of the warp and weft of the fabric. In certain implementations, the therapy electrodes 114 and the sensing electrodes 112 are formed from conductive fabric that is interwoven with non-conductive fibers of the fabric) ([0205] one or more of the links 424 may be integrated into the garment 110. In some examples, one or more of the links 424 may be disposed between two layers of fabric of the garment 110. For example, the links 424 may be constructed from conductive thread, stranded wires, insulated cables (e.g., cables with a single wire, multiple wires, or stranded wires), and/or fiber optical cables integrated into the garment 110. In these examples, the garment 110 may be configured to receive each of the modules (e.g., the therapy electrodes 114, the sensing electrodes 112, the one or more capacitors 403, the therapy delivery circuit 202, the processor 218, and the network interface 206) and operably couple the modules to the links 424 integrated into the garment 110 when the modules are attached to the garment 110), wherein the mesh interface is configured to facilitate transfer of electrically conductive fluid from one or more electrically conductive fluid reservoirs disposed on the therapy electrode through the one or more electrically conductive fluid deployment openings of the therapy electrode and towards the patient's skin ([0177] The sensing electrodes 112 can monitor, for example, a patient's ECG information. For example, the sensing electrodes 112 can include conductive electrodes with stored gel deployment (e.g., metallic electrodes with stored conductive gel configured to be dispersed in the electrode-skin interface when needed)).
Freeman fails to fully teach a mesh interface for use with a support garment; a first side comprising hydrophobic dielectric fiber(s); a second side comprising hydrophilic dielectric fiber(s) proximate to the patient's skin, wherein the interface is configured to be disposed externally to the patient's skin.
However, Simpson teaches a mesh interface for use with a support garment ([16] In an embodiment of the first aspect, the matrix is a substantially solid material and the passageways comprise pores within the substantially solid material. The matrix can be a mesh of fibers. The fibers can comprise an electrically non-conductive material or an electrically conductive material. The fibers can further comprise a membrane coating the fibers); comprising dielectric fiber(s) ([16] In an embodiment of the first aspect, the matrix is a substantially solid material and the passageways comprise pores within the substantially solid material. The matrix can be a mesh of fibers. The fibers can comprise an electrically non-conductive material or an electrically conductive material. The fibers can further comprise a membrane coating the fibers). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Freeman to include a mesh interface for use with a support garment; comprising dielectric fiber(s). Doing so allows an interface to support fibers and fluid transfers within the garment while limiting electrical interference.
Further, Donat teaches a first side comprising hydrophobic fiber(s) ([0032] The garment 102 may further include a hydrophobic layer 112 positioned (e.g., displaced and/or superimposed) on top of and in direct contact with an outer surface of the reflective layer 110); a second side comprising hydrophilic fiber(s) proximate to the patient's skin ([0024] the garment 102 may include a basal layer 106 in direct contact with the skin surface 104. The basal layer 106 may include a hydrophilic material capable of fluid adsorption), wherein the interface is configured to be disposed externally to the patient's skin ([0024] the garment 102 may include a basal layer 106 in direct contact with the skin surface 104). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Freeman to include a first side comprising hydrophobic fiber(s), a second side comprising hydrophilic fiber(s) proximate to the patient's skin, wherein the interface is configured to be disposed externally to the patient's skin. Doing so promotes fluid transfer from the hydrophobic fibers to the hydrophobic fibers.
Regrading claim 2, Freeman teaches wherein the hydrophobic dielectric fiber(s) are configured to facilitate movement of and/or pull the electrically conductive fluid from the one or more electrically conductive fluid deployment openings of the therapy electrode.
However, Donat teaches mesh interface according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the hydrophobic dielectric fiber(s) are configured to facilitate movement of and/or pull the electrically conductive fluid from the one or more electrically conductive fluid deployment openings of the therapy electrode ([0032] The garment 102 may further include a hydrophobic layer 112 positioned (e.g., displaced and/or superimposed) on top of and in direct contact with an outer surface of the reflective layer 110. The hydrophobic layer 112 may allow for one-way or two-way escape of vapor and/or moisture emitted from the skin surface 104 to the ambient environment) ([0035] Additionally, when the garment 102 is worn in warm conditions, the outermost hydrophobic layer 112 may be opened (e.g., vented) in both directions so that vapor and/or moisture may pass therethrough (e.g., either from the skin surface 104 to the ambient environment and/or from the ambient environment to the skin surface 104). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Freeman to include wherein the hydrophobic dielectric fiber(s) are configured to facilitate movement of and/or pull the electrically conductive fluid from the one or more electrically conductive fluid deployment openings of the therapy electrode. Doing so uses the hydrophobic properties to transfer fluid.
Regrading claim 3, Freeman teaches the mesh interface according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the hydrophilic dielectric fiber(s) are configured to facilitate movement of and/or push the electrically conductive fluid towards the patient's skin.
However, Donat teaches wherein the hydrophilic dielectric fiber(s) are configured to facilitate movement of and/or push the electrically conductive fluid towards the patient's skin ([0024] In some embodiments, the garment 102 may include a basal layer 106 in direct contact with the skin surface 104. The basal layer 106 may include a hydrophilic material capable of fluid adsorption). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Freeman to include wherein the hydrophilic dielectric fiber(s) are configured to facilitate movement of and/or push the electrically conductive fluid towards the patient's skin. Doing so uses the hydrophilic properties to transfer fluid.
Regrading claim 9, Freeman teaches the mesh interface according to any of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the hydrophilic dielectric fiber(s) are selected from the group consisting of cotton, wool, linen, acetate, cellulosic, rayon, hydrophilic nylon, polyester and combinations thereof.
However, Donat teaches wherein the hydrophilic dielectric fiber(s) are selected from the group consisting of cotton, wool, linen, acetate, cellulosic, rayon, hydrophilic nylon, polyester and combinations thereof ([0024] With respect to materials, the basal layer 106 may be manufactured from a woven fabric, a nonwoven fabric or porous matrix (e.g., sponge) of hydrophilic material, and/or the like. For example, the basal layer 106 may include animal wools, cellulosic fibers such as cotton, bamboo, hemp, soy, silk, and/or other natural fiber derivatives, semisynthetic fibers such as rayon, modal, lyocell, and synthetic fabrics such as polyester, acrylonitrile, polylactide, polyethylene polypropylene, and activated carbon fiber fabric, and/or natural and synthetic sponge materials). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Freeman to include wherein the hydrophilic dielectric fiber(s) are selected from the group consisting of cotton, wool, linen, acetate, cellulosic, rayon, hydrophilic nylon, polyester and combinations thereof. Doing so allows for a fiber to have hydrophilic properties that would attract the fluid.
Regrading claim 16, Freeman teaches the mesh interface according to any of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the conductive fiber(s) and/or conductive particles are configured to form a plurality of conductive pathways extending from the first side of the mesh interface to the second side of the mesh interface.
However, Simpson teaches wherein the conductive fiber(s) and/or conductive particles are configured to form a plurality of conductive pathways extending from the first side of the mesh interface to the second side of the mesh interface ([34] However, in some alternative embodiments, the biocompatible matrix comprises electrically conductive materials, for example, that function as a working electrode, without a requirement for a non-conductive material within the matrix. Passageways (e.g., interconnected pores or cavities) can be formed within the matrix or designed into the matrix to provide openings for FBR tissue in-growth near to the working electrode and provide analyte access to the working electrode) ((107) As depicted in FIGS. 6B and C, where a pore 114 extends through one of the conductive layers 100, 102, or 104, an interface point 116 is formed between the inside surface of the pore 114 and the electrode 100, 102, or 104. Thus, electrochemical reactions between agents in the pores 114 are possible at interface points 116. In general, it is advantageous to have a substantial number of pores 114 that extend from one of the surfaces of the biointerface 90 to at least the working electrode 100). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Freeman to include wherein the conductive fiber(s) and/or conductive particles are configured to form a plurality of conductive pathways extending from the first side of the mesh interface to the second side of the mesh interface. Doing so allows for conductivity to be transferred from one side to the other for electrical communication.
Regrading claim 17, Freeman teaches the mesh interface according to any of claim 1, the mesh interface being configured to facilitate transfer of the electrically conductive fluid from the at least one therapy electrode to the patient's skin via the opening(s) ([0177] The sensing electrodes 112 can monitor, for example, a patient's ECG information. For example, the sensing electrodes 112 can include conductive electrodes with stored gel deployment (e.g., metallic electrodes with stored conductive gel configured to be dispersed in the electrode-skin interface when needed)). Freeman fails to teach wherein the mesh interface further comprises opening(s) extending through the mesh interface from the first side to the second side.
However, Simpson teaches wherein the mesh interface further comprises opening(s) extending through the mesh interface from the first side to the second side ([107] In general, it is advantageous to have a substantial number of pores 114 that extend from one of the surfaces of the biointerface 90 to at least the working electrode 100). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Freeman to include wherein the mesh interface further comprises opening(s) extending through the mesh interface from the first side to the second side. Doing so allows for transport holes in the mesh for passage of fluids.
Regrading claim 18, Freeman teaches the mesh interface according to claim 17, wherein at least a portion of the opening(s) are aligned with respective electrically conductive fluid deployment opening(s) on the therapy electrode to facilitate transfer of the electrically conductive fluid from the at least one therapy electrode to the patient's skin via the opening(s) ([0177] The sensing electrodes 112 can monitor, for example, a patient's ECG information. For example, the sensing electrodes 112 can include conductive electrodes with stored gel deployment (e.g., metallic electrodes with stored conductive gel configured to be dispersed in the electrode-skin interface when needed)).
Regrading claim 28, Freeman teaches a support garment of a wearable cardiac therapeutic device, the support garment comprising the mesh interface according to claim 1 (Fig 1; garment 110).
Regrading claim 69, Freeman teaches a support garment of a wearable cardiac therapeutic device (Fig 1; garment 110), the mesh interface comprising: a first side comprising fiber(s) proximate to one or more conductive fluid deployment openings on a therapy electrode ([0164] the gel deployment pack, including the one or more gel reservoirs and associated gel deployment circuitry, and the therapy electrode can be integrated into a therapy electrode assembly that can be removed and replaced as a single unit either after use, or if damaged or broken) ([0177] The sensing electrodes 112 can monitor, for example, a patient's ECG information. For example, the sensing electrodes 112 can include conductive electrodes with stored gel deployment (e.g., metallic electrodes with stored conductive gel configured to be dispersed in the electrode-skin interface when needed)); a second side comprising fiber(s) proximate to the patient's skin; and conductive fiber(s) and/or conductive particles configured to be interspersed with the hydrophobic fiber(s) and the hydrophilic fiber(s) ([0188] the therapy electrodes 114 and the sensing electrodes 112 are formed partially or wholly of the warp and weft of the garment 110, including or spanning portions of conductive fabric forming one or more panels or swaths of the garment 110) ([0198] the therapy electrodes 114 and/or the sensing electrodes 112 are formed of the warp and weft of the fabric. In certain implementations, the therapy electrodes 114 and the sensing electrodes 112 are formed from conductive fabric that is interwoven with non-conductive fibers of the fabric) such that the conductive fiber(s) and/or conductive particles conduct therapeutic electrical current from the therapy electrode to the patient's skin ([0198] the therapy electrodes 114 and/or the sensing electrodes 112 are formed of the warp and weft of the fabric. In certain implementations, the therapy electrodes 114 and the sensing electrodes 112 are formed from conductive fabric that is interwoven with non-conductive fibers of the fabric) ([0205] one or more of the links 424 may be integrated into the garment 110. In some examples, one or more of the links 424 may be disposed between two layers of fabric of the garment 110. For example, the links 424 may be constructed from conductive thread, stranded wires, insulated cables (e.g., cables with a single wire, multiple wires, or stranded wires), and/or fiber optical cables integrated into the garment 110. In these examples, the garment 110 may be configured to receive each of the modules (e.g., the therapy electrodes 114, the sensing electrodes 112, the one or more capacitors 403, the therapy delivery circuit 202, the processor 218, and the network interface 206) and operably couple the modules to the links 424 integrated into the garment 110 when the modules are attached to the garment 110), wherein the mesh interface is configured to facilitate transfer of electrically conductive fluid from one or more electrically conductive fluid reservoirs disposed on the therapy electrode through the one or more electrically conductive fluid deployment openings of the therapy electrode and towards the patient's skin ([0177] The sensing electrodes 112 can monitor, for example, a patient's ECG information. For example, the sensing electrodes 112 can include conductive electrodes with stored gel deployment (e.g., metallic electrodes with stored conductive gel configured to be dispersed in the electrode-skin interface when needed)). Freeman fails to teach a mesh interface; hydrophilic and hydrophobic fibers, wherein the interface is configured to be disposed externally to the patient's skin.
However, Simpson teaches a mesh interface for use with a support garment ([16] In an embodiment of the first aspect, the matrix is a substantially solid material and the passageways comprise pores within the substantially solid material. The matrix can be a mesh of fibers. The fibers can comprise an electrically non-conductive material or an electrically conductive material. The fibers can further comprise a membrane coating the fibers); comprising dielectric fiber(s) ([16] In an embodiment of the first aspect, the matrix is a substantially solid material and the passageways comprise pores within the substantially solid material. The matrix can be a mesh of fibers. The fibers can comprise an electrically non-conductive material or an electrically conductive material. The fibers can further comprise a membrane coating the fibers). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Freeman to include a mesh interface for use with a support garment. Doing so allows an interface to support fibers and fluid transfers within the garment.
Further, Donat teaches a first side comprising hydrophobic fiber(s) ([0032] The garment 102 may further include a hydrophobic layer 112 positioned (e.g., displaced and/or superimposed) on top of and in direct contact with an outer surface of the reflective layer 110); a second side comprising hydrophilic fiber(s) proximate to the patient's skin ([0024] the garment 102 may include a basal layer 106 in direct contact with the skin surface 104. The basal layer 106 may include a hydrophilic material capable of fluid adsorption), wherein the interface is configured to be disposed externally to the patient's skin ([0024] the garment 102 may include a basal layer 106 in direct contact with the skin surface 104). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Freeman to include a first side comprising hydrophobic fiber(s), a second side comprising hydrophilic fiber(s) proximate to the patient's skin, wherein the interface is configured to be disposed externally to the patient's skin. Doing so promotes fluid transfer from the hydrophobic fibers to the hydrophobic fibers.
Regrading claim 70, Freeman teaches a support garment of a wearable cardiac therapeutic device (Fig 1; garment 110), the mesh interface comprising: a first side comprising fiber(s) proximate to one or more conductive fluid deployment openings on a therapy electrode ([0164] the gel deployment pack, including the one or more gel reservoirs and associated gel deployment circuitry, and the therapy electrode can be integrated into a therapy electrode assembly that can be removed and replaced as a single unit either after use, or if damaged or broken) ([0177] The sensing electrodes 112 can monitor, for example, a patient's ECG information. For example, the sensing electrodes 112 can include conductive electrodes with stored gel deployment (e.g., metallic electrodes with stored conductive gel configured to be dispersed in the electrode-skin interface when needed)); and conductive fiber(s) and/or conductive particles configured to be interspersed with the fiber(s) of the first side and the fiber(s) of the second side ([0188] the therapy electrodes 114 and the sensing electrodes 112 are formed partially or wholly of the warp and weft of the garment 110, including or spanning portions of conductive fabric forming one or more panels or swaths of the garment 110) ([0198] the therapy electrodes 114 and/or the sensing electrodes 112 are formed of the warp and weft of the fabric. In certain implementations, the therapy electrodes 114 and the sensing electrodes 112 are formed from conductive fabric that is interwoven with non-conductive fibers of the fabric) such that the conductive fiber(s) and/or conductive particles conduct therapeutic electrical current from the therapy electrode to the patient's skin ([0198] the therapy electrodes 114 and/or the sensing electrodes 112 are formed of the warp and weft of the fabric. In certain implementations, the therapy electrodes 114 and the sensing electrodes 112 are formed from conductive fabric that is interwoven with non-conductive fibers of the fabric) ([0205] one or more of the links 424 may be integrated into the garment 110. In some examples, one or more of the links 424 may be disposed between two layers of fabric of the garment 110. For example, the links 424 may be constructed from conductive thread, stranded wires, insulated cables (e.g., cables with a single wire, multiple wires, or stranded wires), and/or fiber optical cables integrated into the garment 110. In these examples, the garment 110 may be configured to receive each of the modules (e.g., the therapy electrodes 114, the sensing electrodes 112, the one or more capacitors 403, the therapy delivery circuit 202, the processor 218, and the network interface 206) and operably couple the modules to the links 424 integrated into the garment 110 when the modules are attached to the garment 110), wherein the mesh interface is configured to facilitate transfer of electrically conductive fluid from one or more electrically conductive fluid reservoirs disposed on the therapy electrode through the one or more electrically conductive fluid deployment openings of the therapy electrode and towards the patient's skin ([0177] The sensing electrodes 112 can monitor, for example, a patient's ECG information. For example, the sensing electrodes 112 can include conductive electrodes with stored gel deployment (e.g., metallic electrodes with stored conductive gel configured to be dispersed in the electrode-skin interface when needed)). Freeman fails to teach a mesh interface; wherein the fiber(s) of the second side are more hydrophilic than the fibers of the first side, wherein the interface is configured to be disposed externally to the patient's skin.
However, Simpson teaches a mesh interface for use with a support garment ([16] In an embodiment of the first aspect, the matrix is a substantially solid material and the passageways comprise pores within the substantially solid material. The matrix can be a mesh of fibers. The fibers can comprise an electrically non-conductive material or an electrically conductive material. The fibers can further comprise a membrane coating the fibers). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Freeman to include a mesh interface for use with a support garment. Doing so allows an interface to support fibers and fluid transfers within the garment.
Further, Donat teaches a first side comprising fiber(s) ([0032] The garment 102 may further include a hydrophobic layer 112 positioned (e.g., displaced and/or superimposed) on top of and in direct contact with an outer surface of the reflective layer 110); a second side comprising fiber(s) proximate to the patient's skin ([0024] the garment 102 may include a basal layer 106 in direct contact with the skin surface 104. The basal layer 106 may include a hydrophilic material capable of fluid adsorption), wherein the fiber(s) of the second side are more hydrophilic than the fibers of the first side ([0032] The garment 102 may further include a hydrophobic layer 112 positioned (e.g., displaced and/or superimposed) on top of and in direct contact with an outer surface of the reflective layer 110) ([0024] the garment 102 may include a basal layer 106 in direct contact with the skin surface 104. The basal layer 106 may include a hydrophilic material capable of fluid adsorption), wherein the interface is configured to be disposed externally to the patient's skin ([0024] the garment 102 may include a basal layer 106 in direct contact with the skin surface 104). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Freeman to include wherein the fiber(s) of the second side are more hydrophilic than the fibers of the first side, wherein the interface is configured to be disposed externally to the patient's skin. Doing so promotes fluid transfer from the hydrophobic fibers to the hydrophobic fibers.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman (US 20190298987 A1) in view of Simpson (US 8060174 B2) and Donat (US 20170367917 A1), further in view of King (US 20200323491 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Freeman teaches the mesh interface according to claim 1, but fails to fully teach wherein the hydrophobic dielectric fiber(s) are selected from the group consisting of polyester, polypropylene, olefin, acrylic, modacrylic, silk, hydrophobic nylon, wool, spandex, bamboo, and combinations thereof.
However, King teaches wherein the hydrophobic dielectric fiber(s) are selected from the group consisting of polyester, polypropylene, olefin, acrylic, modacrylic, silk, hydrophobic nylon, wool, spandex, bamboo, and combinations thereof ([0051] Multiple tests were conducted with a variety of different materials used as the hydrophilic layer, such as non-woven wool batting, dense polyester knit (brand name Axe suede) and superhydrophobic fiber and superhydrophobic yarn (as produced by Technical Absorbents, Grimsby, UK). Framis ‘Portofino’ laminate (polyester jersey +TPU adhesive) and Framis ‘Heavy Dream’ (TPU Cover-Film) was used as a stabilization ‘patch’) ([0051] Other hydrophobic materials, such as those tested, can also be used to form the reservoir but wool has the best characteristics for performance in the garment 100. The wool can be any form including loose fiber, or layers of knitted or woven wool, or felted wool, or non-woven wool batting. While some embodiments are 100% wool, wool blended with other fibers at no less than 70% wool/30% other fibers can also be used). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Freeman to include wherein the hydrophobic dielectric fiber(s) are selected from the group consisting of polyester, polypropylene, olefin, acrylic, modacrylic, silk, hydrophobic nylon, wool, spandex, bamboo, and combinations thereof. Doing so allows the material of the fiber to be hydrophilic and attract the fluid. Doing so allows for the fibers to be hydrophobic in nature and repel the fluid.
Claim(s) 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman (US 20190298987 A1) in view of Simpson (US 8060174 B2) and Donat (US 20170367917 A1), further in view of Bozkurt (US 20170224280 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Freeman teaches the mesh interface according to any of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the hydrophobic dielectric fiber(s) comprise at least one hydrophobic coating and/or at least one hydrophobic impregnant.
However, Bozkurt teaches wherein the hydrophobic dielectric fiber(s) comprise at least one hydrophobic coating and/or at least one hydrophobic impregnant ([0089] The hydrophobic and/or hydrophilic material may be applied to the entirety of the woven wires or a select portion of the woven wires). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Freeman to include wherein the hydrophobic dielectric fiber(s) comprise at least one hydrophobic coating and/or at least one hydrophobic impregnant. Doing so would allow the fluid to be moved away from the hydrophobic fibers.
Regarding claim 11, Freeman teaches the mesh interface according to any of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the hydrophilic dielectric fiber(s) comprise at least one hydrophilic coating and/or at least one hydrophilic impregnate.
However, Bozkurt teaches wherein the hydrophilic dielectric fiber(s) comprise at least one hydrophilic coating and/or at least one hydrophilic impregnate ([0089] The hydrophobic and/or hydrophilic material may be applied to the entirety of the woven wires or a select portion of the woven wires). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Freeman to include wherein the hydrophilic dielectric fiber(s) comprise at least one hydrophilic coating and/or at least one hydrophilic impregnate. Doing so would allow the fluid to be moved towards the hydrophilic fibers.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEIGH LAUREN KERN/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/ADAM Z MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794