DETAILED ACTION
2. The amendment filed on August 08, 2025, has been received and made of record. In response to Non-Final Office Action mailed on May 08, 2025, applicant maintained claims 1-20 of which claims 1, 11, and 17 are independent claims. NO claim has been cancelled and/or added as new claim after the Non-Final Office Action. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending for consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(IDS) submitted was filed along with the mailing date of the application amendment on August 08, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed on August 08, 2025 in “REMARKS” regarding independent claims 1, 11 and 17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s arguments, “In other words, the entire shield 107 can be secured to the helmet 101 or can be removed therefrom. While the combiner unit 41 is also attached to the helmet, as shown in FIG. 3 of Yamada, reproduced below, there is no discussion, teaching or suggestion of “at least a portion of a lens of the mixed reality device exposed through the inner frame and the outer frame” as recited, in part, by claim 1. The only way to expose the combiner unit 41 of Yamada is via removal of the shield 107, but this would not be “trough” the shield 107”, examiner would like to mention that claim language is analyzed with broadest reasonable interpretation without bringing supporting language in the claim.
Fig.3
As shown in fig.3 above, opening 103 covered by transparent sheet of shield 107. One of ordinary skill could see the combiner 41 through the opening 103(highlighted in yellow color) of the shield 107. Therefore, at least a portion of a lens of the mixed reality device exposed through the inner frame(111) and the outer frame (border of the visor 107 highlighted in red color). Regarding releasable visor, YAMADA discloses in Para-10 “the shield of such a helmet can be generally detachably attached to the helmet body, and is exchangeable to a shield having a different light transmittance for visual recognizability depending on brightness of external environments during driving of a motorcycle”. Therefore, the arguments regarding the non-teaching of releasable visor is not correct.
Regarding applicant’s argument that single component can not be used to teach or suggest multiple components. The examiner does not agree. First, claim does not recite that the outer frame and visor are two different parts of the surgical helmet. Secondly, visor could not be an only transparent cover. It should have border frame to hold the visor with helmet body. The Examiner interpreted the border frame as outer frame as shown in fig.3(shaded red color) of transparent shield 107.
Because of the above-mentioned reason, the office respectfully maintains the rejection of claims 1, 11 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 with YAMADA et al.(US 2021/0307442 A1) and Bojarski et al.(US 11,857,378 B1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
87. Claims 1, 4-11, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YAMADA et al.(US 2021/0307442 A1)(herein after YAMADA) in view of Bojarski et al.(US 11,857,378 B1)(herein after Bojarski).
Regarding claim 11, YAMADA teaches a [surgical] helmet assembly(helmet 101, fig.1, Para-96) securable to a mixed reality device(head-up display device, Para-2; virtual image, Para-17, 37, 49, 95, 130, 142), the assembly comprising:
an inner frame(liner 111, mouse cover 115, figs.3-5, Para-97) securable to the mixed reality device(HUD device 3, figs.1-3);
an outer frame(shield 107, figs.3-5, Para-98) releasably securable to the inner frame(111, 115)(Para-99);
a visor(shield 107, figs.3-5, Para-98) releasably securable to the inner frame(111/115)(Para-99), at least a portion of a lens (combiner unit 41, fig.3, Para-95) of the mixed reality device (HUD 3) exposed through the visor(107) and the outer frame(107, figs.3-5); and
a [surgical] hood(helmet body 105) connected to the visor(107) and configured to cover at least a portion of a head of a user and to enclose at least a portion of the mixed reality device(obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the helmet covers portion or whole head of the user).
Nevertheless, YAMADA is not found to teach expressly the helmet assembly is a surgical helmet and is secured to a mixed reality device(YAMADA only teaches a head-up display HUD and helmet).
However, Bojarski teaches a device for performing a surgical step or surgical procedure with visual guidance using a head mounted display having a helmet(figs.4A-4C and related text) and is secured to mixed reality device(mixed reality environment using HMD device) (Col-19, Line-55 to Col-20, Line-3).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified YAMADA with the teaching of Bojarski to include the feature in order to provide a head-mounted display device having lower sensitivity to ambient light variations and noise, high accuracy, large projector depth of field, enhanced ability to scan shiny and translucent surfaces, and ability to scan without targets and photogrammetric systems.
Regarding claim 15, YAMADA as modified by Bojarski teaches the assembly of claim 11, wherein the lens(combiner unit 41, fig.3, Para-95, YAMADA) of the mixed reality device is exposed to an environment through the inner frame(111, 115, figs.3-5, YAMADA) and the outer frame(107, figs.3-5, YAMADA).
Regarding claim 16, YAMADA as modified by Bojarski teaches the assembly of claim 11,
a cooling system(air duct 200, figs.11A-11E, 11H-11J, and related texts, Bojarski) connected to the inner frame and connectable to the mixed reality device(HMD), and locatable within the surgical hood(figs.4A-4C, Bojarski), the cooling system operable to deliver conditioned air to the inner frame, the mixed reality device, and the surgical hood(Col-62, Lines 12—66, Bojarski)(for motivation see the rejection of claim 11).
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 11, since both claims 11 and 17 recite identical claim limitations with broader claim limitations in claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, YAMADA as modified by Bojarski teaches the assembly of claim 17, further comprising:
a pillar(holding member 40 or magnetic connector 45, figs.3A-3B, 5A-6C) at least partially insertable into a portion of the mixed reality device and engageable with the inner frame to secure the inner frame to mixed reality device(Col-58, Line 53-61, Bojarski)(for motivation see the rejection of claim 11).
Regarding claim 19, YAMADA as modified by Bojarski teaches the assembly of claim 18, wherein the inner frame includes a top cover engageable with a top portion of the mixed reality device, the pillar securable to the inner frame to secure the inner frame to the mixed reality device(Col-58, Line 53-65; Col-60, Lines 18-34, Bojarski).
Claim 20 is rejected for the same re4ason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 16, since both claims 16 and 20 recite almost identical claim limitations.
Claim 1 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 11, since claims 1 and 11 recite identical claim limitations with broader claim limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, YAMADA as modified by Bojarski teaches the assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a visor(shield 107, figs.3-5, YAMADA; transparent portion 80, figs.4A-4C, Bojarski) secured to an outer portion of the outer frame and to the surgical hood(figs.3-5, YAMADA; figs.4A-4C, Bojarski).
Regarding claim 5, YAMADA as modified by Bojarski teaches the assembly of claim 4, wherein an outer surface of the lens is exposed to an environment(figs.3-5, YAMADA; figs.4A-4C, Bojarski).
Claim 6 is rejected for the same re4ason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 18, since both claims 6 and 18 recite almost identical claim limitations.
Claim 7 is rejected for the same re4ason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 19, since both claims 7 and 19 recite almost identical claim limitations.
Regarding claim 8, YAMADA as modified by Bojarski teaches the assembly of claim 7, wherein the outer frame includes a visor connected to the hood, the visor securable to the inner frame to secure the hood and the visor to the inner frame(Col-58, Line 53-65; Col-60, Lines 18-34, Bojarski)(for motivation see the rejection of clam 11).
Claim 9 is rejected for the same re4ason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 15, since both claims 9 and 15 recite almost identical claim limitations.
Claim 10 is rejected for the same re4ason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 20, since both claims 10 and 20 recite almost identical claim limitations.
9. Claims 2, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YAMADA et al.(US 2021/0307442 A1) in view of Bojarski et al.(US 11,857,378 B1) and further in view of CHEN et al.(US 2019/0212772 A1)(herein after CHEN).
Regarding claim 12, YAMADA as modified by Bojarski is not found to teach expressly the helmet assembly of claim 11, wherein the inner frame includes a first arm and a second arm each laterally extending from the inner frame, and wherein the outer frame includes a third arm and a fourth arm extending from the outer frame, the first arm securable to the third arm and the second arm securable to the fourth arm to secure the inner frame to the outer frame.
However, CHEN teaches a head-mounted display, wherein the inner frame(portion 120, fig.2) includes a first arm(pivotal portion 110, fig.2) and a second arm(120, fig.1) each laterally extending from the inner frame(figs.1&2), and wherein the outer frame(210, figs.1&2) includes a third arm(330, fig.2) and a fourth arm(430, fig.2, CHEN) extending from the outer frame, the first arm securable to the third arm and the second arm securable to the fourth arm to secure the inner frame to the outer frame(figs.1&2).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified YAMADA further with the teaching of CHEN to include the feature in order to provide a head-mounted display that prevents the glasses from falling and damage due to collision to the display, but also reduces the chances of injury to the user's face skin.
Claim 2 is rejected for the same re4ason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 12, since both claims 2 and 12 recite almost identical claim limitations
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 3, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 3 and 13: None of the cited prior arts, on record, taken alone or in combination, provides a reasonable motivation to fairly teach or suggest the applicant’s claimed invention, “the assembly of claim 2(12), further comprising: a gasket engageable with the inner frame and the outer frame to form a seal between the inner frame to the outer frame when the first and second arms are secured to the third and fourth arms.
Claim 14 is also objected to because of its dependency on the objected base claim.
Conclusion
12. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner Nate
13. The Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references, as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact
/MD SAIFUL A SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619