Response to Amendment
Rejection of Claim(s) 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williamson, IV (US 11,498,077) have been modified in light of applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williamson, IV (US 11,498,077).
Regarding claim 1, Williamson teaches a sectionable cassette comprising a structure (52) having two side walls, a back wall and a front wall defining an upper face at the top of the walls and a lower face at the bottom of the walls. The structure (52) being configured to receive sample identification information (label, refer to Col. 1, Lines 40-45) from an automated cassette printing apparatus; and a closure (12) engageable with the structure (52) above the top of the walls or below the bottom of the walls whereby the structure (52) and closure (12) together or the closure define a sample enclosure having an apertured bottom face and an apertured top face. (Refer to Figure 3D) The depth of the sample enclosure (12) is greater than a depth of the structure (52). (Refer to Figure 3D)
Williamson fails to teach a ratio of the internal length to the internal width of the structure is from 1.0 to 1.6 and a ratio of the width of the sample enclosure to its depth is less than 5:1 and a ratio of the length of the sample enclosure to its depth is less than 6:1.
The Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions and/or proportions and would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Williamson where a ratio of the internal length to the internal width of the structure is from 1.0 to 1.6 and a ratio of the width of the sample enclosure to its depth is less than 5:1 and a ratio of the length of the sample enclosure to its depth is less than 6:1 in order to optimize tissue processing.
Regarding claim 2, the structure (12 and 14) comprising two side walls, a back wall and a front wall defines an open bottom face and an open top face and the closure (16) comprises a box (10) having side walls, a bottom surface comprising apertures (12b) and a lid (18) comprising apertures to cover the top surface which together define a sample compartment (refer to Figure 3B), the closure (16) being dimensioned to fit in register with the walls of the structure (12 and 14) and the closure and structure being securable together. (Refer to Figure 3B)
Regarding claim 3, the structure (12 and 14) comprising two side walls, a back wall and a front wall further comprises an apertured bottom face (12b) and the closure (16) comprises closure walls and a closure lid (18) comprising apertures, the closure being dimensioned to fit in register with the walls of the structure (12 and 14) and the closure (16) and the structure being securable together whereby the walls and bottom face of the structure and the closure walls and closure lid (18) define the sample compartment. (Refer to Figure 3B)
Regarding claim 4, Williamson fails to teach the closure (16) walls and lid (18) are integral. The Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is making a single unit piece would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make integral the closure and the lid in order to eliminate the use of multiple parts and therefore easily replaceable if need to.
Regarding claim 5, the closure (16) walls and lid (18) are separate from the lid and the lid and closure walls are securable together. (Refer to Figure 1A)
Regarding claim 6, the closure lid (18) and closure (16) walls comprise complementary engagement means (36). (Refer to Figure 1A)
Regarding claim 7, the structure (12 and 14) and the closure (16) comprise complementary engagement means (24 and 26).
Regarding claim 8, the complementary engagement means (24 and 26) comprises engagement means located at the front and rear of the cassette. (Refer to Figure 2)
Regarding claim 9, the complementary engagement means comprises a tongue or resilient latch (24 and 26) in the structure or closure and a receiving aperture for the tongue or latch in, respectively, the closure or structure. (Refer to Col. 11, Lines 55-60)
Regarding claim 10, the complementary engagement means (24 and 26) comprises i) a resilient latch in the structure or closure and a receiving aperture for the latch in, respectively, the closure or structure (Refer to Col. 11, Lines 55-60) and ii) a pivotally rotatable hinge mechanism (22a and 22b).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the pivotally rotatable hinge mechanism (22a and 22b) comprises a pin in a plane perpendicular to the walls of the structure and a clasp for engagement with and rotation about the pin. (Refer to Col. 19, Lines 1-10) (Refer to Col. 4, Lines 38-64)
Regarding claim 12, the pin is located in the structure and the clasp is located on the closure. (Refer to Col. 4, Lines 38-64)
Regarding claim 13, Williamson fails to teach the ratio of the width of the enclosure to its depth is less than 3:1 and the ratio of the length of the enclosure to its depth is less than 3:1. The Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions and/or proportions and would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Williamson where the ratio of the width of the enclosure to its depth is less than 3:1 and the ratio of the length of the enclosure to its depth is less than 3:1 in order to optimize the tissue processing device.
Regarding claim 14, Williamson fails to teach the structure and closure have i) a length of 28 to 32 mm and a width of 25 to 28 mm and the sample enclosure has a depth of greater than 5 mm; or ii) a length of 65 to 80mm, and a width of 50 to 55 and the sample enclosure has a depth of greater than 10mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure and closure have i) a length of 28 to 32 mm and a width of 25 to 28 mm and the sample enclosure has a depth of greater than 5 mm; or ii) a length of 65 to 80mm, and a width of 50 to 55 and the sample enclosure has a depth of greater than 10mm in order to obtain an optimal tissue processing device.
Regarding claim 15, providing a histology processing cassette assembly (refer to claim 1 rejection) placing the closure (16) in register with and engaging the structure (12 and 14) to define a sample compartment which contains the sample (Refer to Figure 3B); applying information to the cassette assembly, preferably the structure, especially the front wall of the structure, using automated cassette printing apparatus before or after step ii) (Refer to Col. 1, Lines 41-52); placing the sample in the sample compartment and treating the sample by contacting it with a processing solution(Refer to Col. 1, Lines 41-52); and contacting the sample with molten paraffin and cooling the sample in molten paraffin so the sample is embedded in solidified paraffin for further processing. (Refer to Col. 2, Lines 1-12)
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 7/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue that Williamson does not teach “the structural relationship recited in amended claim 1”, wherein the depth of the sample enclosure is greater than a depth of the structure. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Williamson teaches an embedding mold that is equivalent to the claimed “structure” and a cassette equivalent to the claimed “closure”, wherein the depth of the sample enclosure is greater than a depth of the structure as shown in Figure 3D, also refer to rejection above. Applicants further argue that Williamson does not teach a closure engageable with the structure above the top of the walls or below of the walls. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Williamson teaches in Figure 3D, the closure/cassette is engageable with the structure/embedding mold above the top of the walls or below of the walls.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JYOTI Mutreja/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798