DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 10/14/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant also elected the active to be mycophenolic acid.
Status of Application
Applicant has elected Group II in response to restriction requirement and elected the species mycophenolic acid as the active for the examination.
Due to restriction, based on election of Group II and the active to be mycophenolic acid (nonelected species are betamethasone, and the combination of betamethasone with mycophenolic acid), claims 13-25, 27-28 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 10-29 are pending.
Claims 10-12, 26, 29 are present for examination at this time.
Priority
This application is a continuation-in-part of the prior application 17/582627 and a continuation-in-part of 17/418813, and adds disclosure not presented in the prior application. The instant claims 11-12 are directed to the claimed method which is administered for up to 4 weeks (claim 11) and up to 2 weeks (claim 12) which is supported by the instant disclosure but not supported in the disclosure of the prior application wherein the instant claims are given the priority date of 01/23/2023 which is the filing date of the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/01/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12, 26, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donnenfeld (Focus on Complications and Complexity: Dry Eye After LASIK) in view of Chong et al. (WO 2010/004435).
Rejection:
Donnenfeld teaches that essentially all patients have dry eye at least transiently after LASIK, and that dry eye is the most common complication of LASIK surgery and ophthalmologist should take steps to minimize dry eye and employ postoperative therapeutic interventions (postoperative treatments from eye surgery, First paragraph and Conclusion).
Donnenfeld does not expressly teach the topical administration of a composition containing 0.01% to 0.05% w/w betamethasone sodium phosphate, 0.05% to 0.50% w/w mycophenolic acid, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier; but does establish that dry eye is the most common complication of LASIK surgery and ophthalmologists should take steps to minimize dry eye and employ postoperative treatments.
Chong et al. teaches treating dry eye (keratoconjunctivitis sicca) with topical administration of an ophthalmic solution containing sodium mycophenolic acid (claim 1, 20-22, 27, [49]). The sodium mycophenolic acid is from about 0.1-about 4%w/v including about 0.05-about3%w/v (claim 3-4). The solutio is applied at doses sufficient to provide a therapeutic benefit including 1-8 times/day, or applied every two day, once every four days, or once a week as needed to treat the ocular disorder [9, 56]. Chong et al. also demonstrates administering the composition for 14 days ([105-107], see full document specifically areas cited).
Wherein it would be it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat the dry eye from LASIK with a dry eye formulation with betamethasone like betamethasone sodium phosphate as suggested by Chong et al. and produce the claimed invention; as it is it prima facie obvious to treat the dry eye from LASIK with a known formulation with an immunosuppressant like mycophenolic acid as presented with Chong et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. While Chong et al. does not teach the exact claimed values for the mycophenolic acid, it is embraced by the taught range wherein it is prima facie obvious to optimize within the taught range and arrive at the claimed values as a means of attaining the desired therapeutic profile with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed range.
Claims 10-12, 26, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peyman (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2005/0063997).
Rejection:
Peyman teaches treating a patient following cataract surgery to aid in post-surgical recovery and prevent capsular opacification with an ocular composition containing mycophenolic acid and/or macrolide antibiotic (abstract, [14, 38]). The amount of mycophenolic acid is about 0.5-about 10%, can be applied one to several time per day ([23], see full document specifically areas cited).
While Peyman does not teach the exact claimed values, they do overlap (a (i.e. about 0.5 embraces values like 0.3%) wherein even a slight overlap in ranges establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. Additionally a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close as the proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties MPEP 2144.05 (I). It is also prima facie obvious to treat the eye post-surgery for as long as needed to attain the desired therapeutic profile (i.e. prevent capsular opacification post-surgery) with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed time period.
Double Patenting
Claims 10-12, 26, 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9-14, 26-28 of copending Application No. 17582627 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of the copending claims fall within the breath of the instant claims as written; and it would be prima facie obvious to administer the composition until the condition is resolved absent evidence of criticality for the claimed time period.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 10-12, 26, 29 are rejected.
/GIGI G HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613