Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments, the previous rejections are withdrawn. New rejections are set forth herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-10 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (GB 799536 A) in view of Franz (DE 10242937a1)
Regarding claim 16, Wilson discloses (Fig. 1-3) a rotary brush assembly (Pg. 1, lines 11-12) comprising: a support drum (The four segments [1] and the end plates [5, 6]) rotatable about an axis (See annotated Fig. 1 below; Pg. 2, lines 31-34; Pg. 1, lines 40-41; The square aperture [2] is intended to receive a drive shaft) and having an outer surface centered on the axis (Annotated Fig. 1); a brush band (11) wrapped helically around the drum (Fig. 1; Pg. 1, lines 34-38) at an angle to the axis (Annotated Fig. 1) and secured to the surface of drum (Pg. 2, lines 60-64; The brush band is fixed by anchorages [12, 13]); and an array of bristles (9) fixed in (they are fixed in the space inside a turn of the brush band) and projecting radially from the brush band (Pg. 2, lines 70-75), each bristle being formed by one leg of a U-shaped strand having two legs each forming a respective bristle and a bight extending between radial inner ends of the respective bristles and lying between the brush band and the outer surface (Pg. 2, lines 70-75).
Annotated Figure 1 (Wilson)
However, Wilson fails to explicitly disclose the measure of the angle of the brush band wrapped helically around the drum.
Nevertheless, Wilson shows in the drawings wherein the measure of the angle is within the range of 60° to 90° (See annotated Fig. 1).
Accordingly, because Wilson fails to disclose a specific measure for the angle, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to try setting the angle to between 60° and 90°, as shown in the drawings of Wilson, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Wilson fails to explicitly disclose the bristles each extending from the respective inner end radially outward through a respective hole in the band.
Franz teaches a rotary brush, wherein the bristles (Item 40) each extending from the respective inner end radially outward through a respective hole (Item 58) in the band (Item 50; Figures 3a and 3c). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting of Wilson to include the through holes as taught by Franz. Such a modification is discussed in Paragraphs 2-7 as being a known method for suitably holding the bristles in place without the bristles slipping and becoming uneven (Franz Paragraph 7 specifically).
Regarding claim 2, Wilson in view of Franz disclose the brush assembly according to claim 16. Wilson further discloses wherein a longitudinal extension of the brush band and the axis of the support drum form an acute angle of 60° to less than 90° (See “Angle” in annotated Fig. 1) for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 3, Wilson in view of Franz disclose the brush assembly according to claim 16. Wilson further discloses wherein the brush band is wound in more than one turn about the axis of the support drum (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Wilson in view of Franz disclose the brush assembly according to claim 3. Wilson further discloses wherein the brush band is wound around the support drum in a helix (Fig. 1; Pg. 1, lines 34-38) centered on the axis.
Regarding claim 5, Wilson in view of Franz disclose the brush assembly according to claim 4. Wilson further discloses wherein the brush band is wound at a uniform angle helically around the axis of the support drum with bristles of the array extending generally radially of the axis (Fig. 1; Pg. 2, lines 59-60, in order for the helical groove to have “substantially equally spaced turns”, the turns of the helical groove must be at uniform angle, wherein the brush band is wound in the grooves; Pg. 2, lines 73-75, the bristles are held in a position of “approximately radial projection”).
Regarding claim 6, Wilson in view of Franz disclose the brush assembly according to claim 4. Wilson further discloses wherein the support drum is formed with a radially outwardly open groove (10) holding the brush band (Fig. 1; Pg. 2, lines 60-62).
Regarding claim 7, Wilson in view of Franz disclose the brush assembly according to claim 6. Wilson further discloses wherein the brush band fits snugly without play in the groove (Pg. 2, lines 60-22, the brush band is “wound tightly into this groove”; Pg. 2, lines 71-73, “the bristle bights are drawn tightly into the groove”; the brush band and bristle bights fit snugly within the groove).
Regarding claim 8, Wilson in view of Franz disclose the brush assembly according to claim 6. Wilson further discloses wherein the groove has walls extending radially outward (See the 112(b) rejection of “inward”) from the outer surface of the support drum (Annotated Fig. 1; Pg. 2, lines 55-58).
Regarding claim 9, Wilson in view of Franz disclose the brush assembly according to claim 16. Wilson further discloses wherein the brush band is fixed at least at points to the support drum (the brush band is fixed at the anchorages [12, 13]; Pg. 3, lines 12-14).
Regarding claim 10, Wilson in view of Franz disclose the brush assembly according to claim 9. Wilson further discloses wherein the brush band is mechanically (See the 112(b) rejection of mechanically) and/or adhesively secured to the support drum (The anchorage [12] is a screw and the anchorages [13] are clamping plates retained by screws; Pg. 2, lines 64-69).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (GB 799536 A) in view of Franz (DE 10242937a1) in view of Montabaur (DE 102017110842 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Wilson in view of Franz disclose the brush assembly according to claim 9. Wilson further discloses wherein the brush band is fixed to the support drum (the brush band is fixed at the anchorages [12, 13]; Pg. 3, lines 12-14).
However, Wilson fails to disclose wherein the brush band is a plastic textile strip.
Nevertheless, Montabaur teaches (Fig. 1-3) a brush assembly (3) with a rotatable support (11), a brush band (4), and an array of bristles (5). Montabaur further teaches a stop (8) that engages the array of bristles as they rotate to elastically deflect the bristles and build up stored kinetic energy that is released after the bristles pass the stop and spring back to their original position (Para. 0022, lines 1-8) creating a large impact on a surface of a workpiece. Montabaur also teaches wherein the brush band is made of a plastic textile fabric (Para. 0036, line 1; Para. 0023, lines 1-2) such that the brush band is elastic and is able to deform, build kinetic-energy, and spring back to its original shape as the bristles pass the stop, thereby aiding the bristles in creating a large impact on the surface of the workpiece (Para. 0022, lines 1-8; Para. 0035, lines 1-5).
Accordingly, because Montabaur and Wilson both pertain to the art of brushes, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the brush assembly of Wilson to construct the brush band as a plastic textile strip and provide a stop, as taught by Montabaur, as the combination would facilitate elastic deformation of the bristles and brush band, thereby storing and releasing kinetic energy to create an impact on the surface of a workpiece in an attempt to improve a brushing or cleaning effect.
Regarding claim 12, Wilson in view of Franz disclose the brush assembly according to claim 2.
However, Wilson fails to disclose a stop that engages the bristle array when rotating about the axis.
Nevertheless, Montabaur teaches (Fig. 1-3) a brush assembly (3) with a rotatable support (11), a brush band (4), and an array of bristles (5). Montabaur further teaches a stop (8) that engages the array of bristles as they rotate to elastically deflect the bristles and build up stored kinetic energy that is released after the bristles pass the stop and spring back to their original position creating a large impact on a surface of a workpiece (Para. 0022, lines 1-8).
Accordingly, because Montabaur and Wilson both pertain to the art of brushes, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the brush assembly of Wilson to provide a stop, as taught by Montabaur, as it would facilitate elastic deformation of the bristles, thereby storing and releasing kinetic energy to create an impact on the surface of a workpiece in an attempt to improve a brushing or cleaning effect.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (GB 799536 A) in view of Franz (DE 10242937a1) in view of Raymakers et al. (WO 2010151117 A1), hereinafter Raymakers.
Regarding claim 13, Wilson in view of Franz disclose the brush assembly according to claim 16. Wilson also discloses wherein the brush assembly has a square-section axial aperture (2) for attaching to a drive shaft of a rotary brush tool (Pg. 1, lines 27-30; In particular, the rotary brush tool is a “sweeper collector”).
However, Wilson fails to disclose the structure of the rotary brush tool. Specifically, Wilson fails to disclose a housing and a drive.
Nevertheless, Raymakers teaches (Fig. 1) a rotary brush tool (1) comprising a brush (9) with an array of bristles (13) forming a helix. The rotary brush tool has a housing (3 and 15) wherein a portion of the housing provides a handle (3) that supports a motor/battery (5), and wherein another portion of the housing provides a protective cap (15) to prevent debris from being flung in all directions (Pg. 9, lines 29-31).
Accordingly, because Wilson suggests that the brush assembly should be attached to a drive shaft of a rotary brush tool, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to attach the brush assembly of Wilson to a motor, as taught by Raymakers, to achieve the predictable result of driving the brush assembly. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a housing, as taught by Raymakers, to support the motor and act as a protective cap that could prevent debris from being flung in all directions and help maintain a clean workspace.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (GB 799536 A) in view of Franz (DE 10242937a1) in view of Goff (US 20160220086 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Wilson in view of Franz disclose the brush assembly according to claim 16, where the bristles of the array extend obliquely to the axis of the support drum (See annotated Fig. 1).
However, Wilson fails to explicitly disclose a method of working a surface of a workpiece where the bristles of the array engage the surface at successively offset locations.
Nevertheless, Goff teaches it is well-known to use a brush assembly (42) similar to Wilson (See Fig. 1b-2) to work the surface of a workpiece by engaging the surface with the brush assembly. Specifically, in Para. 0004, Golf teaches that “the large rotating brushes of the floor maintenance machine directly contact the floor surface” to loosen debris and clean the dirty floor).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the brush assembly of Wilson to engage a surface, as taught by Goff, to achieve the predictable result of cleaning (or working) the surface, wherein the bristles of the array will inherently engage the surface at successively offset locations because of the helix-shaped pattern of the bristle array (the offset locations correspond to where each turn of the bristle array contacts the surface; See MPEP § 2122 Requirements of Rejection Based on Inherency; Burden of Proof).
Regarding claim 15, Wilson in view of Franz disclose the brush assembly according to claim 14. The brush assembly of Wilson that the individual “impingement zones” of each turn of the array of bristles overlap at the edges, because the helix is continuous and therefore the paths of bristles at corresponding ends of adjacent turns will overlap. Further any deflection of the bristles while in contact with the workpiece would cause further displacement and overlap at the edges. Therefore, the combination of Wilson and Goff disclose the limitations for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/17/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16 under Wilson have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Franz.
Conclusion
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723