DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 01/02/26. Claim(s) 1, 7, 9-10, and 15 have been amended, no new claims have been added, and claims 4-5 and 12-13 have been cancelled. Thus, claims 1-3, 6-11, and 14-18 are presently pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6-11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the user" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the user" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency of a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, and 14-18 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marton (9968513) in view of Solana (2022/0015984) and Owusu (2020/0375841).
With respect to claim 1, Marton discloses a vibrator device (120, fig 5) for a massage assembly (see col. 3, lines 45-49), comprising a housing (150, fig 5); at least one motor (330, fig 8) disposed in the housing (see fig 9) and a shaft (340, fig 10) extending from the motor (see figs 10 and 12 and col. 5, lines 44-47) comprising one or more weights (eccentric mass; 350, fig 12) disposed within the housing (see location in fig 10), the motor is mechanically coupled to the massage assembly (see col. 4, lines 8-17), the motor is configured to induce vibratory amplitude to vibrate the massage assembly (see col. 6, lines 58-67), and a power source (320, fig 8) positioned within the housing, the power source is electrically connected to power the motor (see col. 1, lines 54-60); the power source comprises a battery assembly (battery cells 320, fig 8 and see col. 5, lines 7-20), but lacks the battery assembly having a lithium polymer battery.
However, Solana teaches a vibrating massage roller (10, fig 1) with a battery assembly (83, fig 14) having a lithium polymer battery (see [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the battery assembly of Marton with a lithium polymer battery as taught by Solana so as to replace one known battery type with another known battery to provide a rechargeable power source.
Further, the modified Marton shows a recharging port (404, fig 8) to charge the battery assembly (see col. 7, lines 11-19), but lacks the port being a USB port.
However, Owusu teaches a vibrating massage roller (100, fig 1) with USB charging port (28, fig 2B) to recharge a battery (see [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charging port of Marton to be a USB port as taught by Owusu so as to provide a known charging port to allow for providing electrical power from an external electrical source.
With respect to claims 2 and 10, the modified Marton shows a switch (power switch; 408, fig 5 of Marton) configured to enable a user to turn on and turn off the vibrator device (see col. 7, lines 19-24 of Marton).
With respect to claims 3 and 11, the modified Marton shows the housing comprises at least two sections (156/158, fig 5 of Marton), the two sections are joined together via one or more fasteners (176, fig 5; see col. 4, lines 32-33 and 40-41 of Marton).
With respect to claim 6, the modified Marton shows the massage assembly includes a foam roller (110, fig 1; see col. 3, lines 50-54 of Marton).
With respect to claims 7 and 15, the modified Marton shows the motor is configured to operate at different speeds with respective to different frequencies (see col. 8, lines 11-21 of Marton).
With respect to claims 8 and 16, the modified Marton shows a level indicator (410 and 438, fig configured to display a power level of the battery (see col. 7, lines 25-28 of Marton) and a speed of the vibrator device (see col. 7, lines 40-42 and 51-54 of Marton).
With respect to claim 9, Marton discloses a massage assembly (100, fig 1), comprising a body (110, fig 3) having a cavity (bore; 140, fig 3) and an opening (see opening of 140 in fig 3 and bore has opening to insert 120; col. 4, lines 8-11) to access the cavity, and a vibrator device (120, fig 1) received within the cavity and mechanically coupled to the massage assembly (see col. 4, lines 8-17), the device comprises a housing (150, fig 5) having at least one motor (330, fig 8), a shaft (340, fig 10) having one or more weights (eccentric mass; 350, fig 12) extends from the motor (see figs 10 and 12 and col. 5, lines 44-47), and a power source (320, fig 8) electrically connected to the motor to supply power to the motor (see col. 1, lines 54-60), the motor is configured to induce vibratory amplitude to vibrate the massage assembly (see col. 6, lines 58-67) ); the power source comprises a battery assembly (battery cells 320, fig 8 and see col. 5, lines 7-20), but lacks the battery assembly having a lithium polymer battery.
However, Solana teaches a vibrating massage roller (10, fig 1) with a battery assembly (83, fig 14) having a lithium polymer battery (see [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the battery assembly of Marton with a lithium polymer battery as taught by Solana so as to replace one known battery type with another known battery to provide a rechargeable power source.
Further, the modified Marton shows a recharging port (404, fig 8) to charge the battery assembly (see col. 7, lines 11-19), but lacks the port being a USB port.
However, Owusu teaches a vibrating massage roller (100, fig 1) with USB charging port (28, fig 2B) to recharge a battery (see [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charging port of Marton to be a USB port as taught by Owusu so as to provide a known charging port to allow for providing electrical power from an external electrical source.
With respect to claim 14, the modified Marton shows the massage assembly is a foam roller (the body 110, fig 1 is a foam roller; see col. 3, lines 50-54 of Marton).
With respect to claim 17, the modified Marton shows the body is made of foam material (see col. 3, lines 50-54 of Marton).
With respect to claim 18, the modified Marton shows a sleeve (142, fig 3 of Marton) fixed within the cavity (see fig 3 of Marton), the sleeve is shaped to contour the shape of the cavity and receives the vibrating device therein (see col. 4, lines 8-25 of Marton).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/02/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pg..
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELSEY E BALLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TU A VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785