DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-11 and 21-23 are pending. Claims 12-20 are canceled. Claims 21-23 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 and 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the Webster reference applied in the prior rejection of record for the teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Will et al. (US 2022/0332427 A1), hereafter referred to as “Will,” in view of Webster, III et al. (US 2014/0202577 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Will teaches a micro-chiller assembly (1), comprising: a housing (6, 11, insulating walls 6 connected to 11, see Figures 1, 3 and 4); an interior compartment (internal area of 2 that is then surrounded by 6, paragraph [0042]) with a plurality of sides within the housing (body of elements 6, paragraph [0042]); a micro-chiller unit (5, 8, 9); and a duct (10, having portions 12 and 13); wherein the micro-chiller unit (5, 8, 9) is mounted to a side of the interior compartment (internal area of 2); wherein the duct (10 portions 12, 13 connecting 2 to 11 and vents 18 and 19 for drawing in and exhausting air) is coupled on one end to the micro-chiller unit (5, 8, 9, see Figure 3, duct 10 has ends 12 and 13 coupled to the housing body and micro-chiller unit) and coupled on another end (10 has portions 12, 13 that connect to 18, 19) to an exterior vent (18 or 19) configured in the housing (see Figure 4, paragraph [0042]) to draw in outside air for channeling to the micro-chiller unit (5, 8, 9) via the duct (10 having portions 12, 13) enabling uniform distribution of airflow (functional limitation of 10, portions 12, 13).
Will fails to teach that the duct is a ringed duct with the irregular topology with irregular topology enabling uniform distribution of airflow.
Webster teaches a ringed duct (10) with an irregular topology (see Figure 2, paragraph [0066]) with irregular topology enabling uniform distribution of airflow (functional limitation, paragraph [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the duct is a ringed duct with the irregular topology with irregular topology enabling uniform distribution of airflow to the structure of Will as taught by Webster in order to advantageously provide pressure retention in the HVAC system (see Webster, paragraph [0065]).
Regarding Claim 21: Will teaches wherein the housing (6, 11) comprises a front, a rear, a top, and a bottom, and the exterior vent (19) is disposed on the front of the housing (see Figures 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 22: Will teaches wherein the plurality of sides of the interior compartment (2) include a rear side (see Figures 3-4, embodiment), and the micro-chiller unit (5,8,9).
Will fails to teach that the micro-chiller unit is coupled to the rear side of the interior compartment between the rear side and the rear of the housing.
However, Will teaches the recited structure (see Figures 3 and 4). Thus, rearrangements of parts and changing the positioning the structure is not inventive and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Therefore, absent evidence of criticality, the positioning of the duct relative to the housing and the micro-chiller unit is mere design choice and rearrangement of parts. MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. and C; 2144.04 VI A. and C.
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Will et al. (US 2022/0332427 A1), hereafter referred to as “Will,” in view of Webster, III et al. (US 2014/0202577 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hershberger et al. (US 2009/0000309 A1), hereafter referred to as “Hershberger.”
Regarding Claim 2: Will modified supra fails to teach wherein the micro-chiller unit further comprises: a radially configured heat sink that receives the outside air and radially repels hotter air from the interior compartment to one or more exterior vents configured with the housing.
Hershberger teaches a radially configured heat sink (100, 136, Figure 1) that receives outside air and radially repels hotter air (functional limitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the micro-chiller unit further comprises: a radially configured heat sink that receives the outside air and radially repels hotter air from the interior compartment to one or more exterior vents configured with the housing to the structure of Will modified supra as taught by Hershberger in order to advantageously provide heat dissipation from conduits (see Hershberger, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding Claim 3: Will teaches wherein the micro-chiller unit (1, 5, 8, 9) further comprises: a set of thermo-electric elements (5) is configured to apply conductive cooling to the side of the interior compartment (2) on which the micro-chiller unit (1, 5, 8, 9) is mounted (see Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 4: Will modified supra fails to teach wherein the micro-chiller unit further comprises: a set of blocks on which the set of thermo-electric elements are mounted and are attached to a plate composed of a conductive material that forms the side of the interior compartment wherein the set of thermo-electric elements that is configured apply conductive cooling to the plate that cools the interior compartment.
Hershberger teaches a set of blocks (140) on which a set of thermo-electric elements (116) are mounted and are attached to a plate (124) composed of a conductive material (copper, paragraph [0026]) that forms a side (104) of an interior compartment (108) wherein the set of thermo-electric elements (116) that is configured apply conductive cooling to the plate that cools the interior compartment (functional limitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the micro-chiller unit further comprises: a set of blocks on which the set of thermo-electric elements are mounted and are attached to a plate composed of a conductive material that forms the side of the interior compartment wherein the set of thermo-electric elements that is configured apply conductive cooling to the plate that cools the interior compartment to the structure of Will modified supra as taught by Hershberger in order to advantageously provide heat dissipation from conduits (see Hershberger, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding Claim 5: Will further teaches wherein the interior compartment (2) further comprises an insulative layer (5) formed around one or more sides to thermally insulate (functional limitation) the interior compartment (2) from heat seepage through one or more walls of the housing (housing of 1).
Regarding Claim 6: Will modified supra fails to teach wherein the plate is configured to wrap around more than one side of the interior compartment to enable thermal conductive cooling to one or more sides of a plurality of sides of the interior compartment.
Hershberger teaches a plate (124) is configured to wrap around more than one side of a compartment (104) to enable thermal conductive cooling to one or more sides of a plurality of sides of the interior compartment (functional limitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the plate is configured to wrap around more than one side of the interior compartment to enable thermal conductive cooling to one or more sides of a plurality of sides of the interior compartment to the structure of Will modified supra as taught by Hershberger in order to advantageously provide heat dissipation from conduits (see Hershberger, paragraph [0006]).
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Will et al. (US 2022/0332427 A1), hereafter referred to as “Will,” in view of Webster, III et al. (US 2014/0202577 A1), and Hershberger et al. (US 2009/0000309 A1), hereafter referred to as “Hershberger,” as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hoefle et al. (US 2011/0056580 A1), hereafter referred as “Hoefle.”
Regarding Claim 7: Will modified supra fails to teach the ringed duct further comprising: a pair of channels that distributes the outside air uniformly across a set of fins that are arranged within a radially configured heatsink to enable uniform conductive cooling of the plate on at least one side of the interior compartment.
Hoefle teaches a ringed duct (10) further comprising: a pair of channels (52, 54) that distributes outside air (functional limitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the ringed duct further comprising: a pair of channels that distributes the outside air uniformly across a set of fins that are arranged within a radially configured heatsink to enable uniform conductive cooling of the plate on at least one side of the interior compartment to the structure of Will modified supra as taught by Hoefle in order to advantageously provide a plurality ducts that can deliver air into separate areas (see Hoefle, paragraph [0041]).
Regarding Claim 8: Will modified supra teaches wherein the set of blocks (140 of Hershberger) provides a protective layer (140 of Hershberger) between the plate (124 of Hershberger) and the set of thermo-electric elements (5 of Will as taught by 116 of Hershberger) for stresses caused by conductive cooling of the plate (124 of Hershberger).
Regarding Claim 9: Will modified supra teaches wherein the ringed duct (10 of Webster) is configured to evenly distribute air flow across the heatsink (fins of 5 of Will).
Regarding Claim 10: Will modified supra fails to teach further comprising: a power supply coupled to the micro-chiller unit that is configured to apply a polarity in a forward direction to cool the interior compartment, and to apply the polarity in a reverse direction to heat the interior compartment.
Hershberger teaches a power supply (paragraph [0048]) coupled to a micro-chiller unit (100) that is configured to apply a polarity in a forward direction to cool an interior compartment (108), and to apply the polarity in a reverse direction to heat the interior compartment (paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a power supply coupled to the micro-chiller unit that is configured to apply a polarity in a forward direction to cool the interior compartment, and to apply the polarity in a reverse direction to heat the interior compartment to the structure of Will modified supra as taught by Hershberger in order to advantageously provide heat transfer with the interior (see Hershberger, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding Claim 11: Will modified supra fails to teach wherein the plate is configured in a range of 1 to 2 millimeters in thickness.
However, Will modified supra teaches the plate (124 of Hershberger).
Thus, the thickness of the plate is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. Therefore, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide wherein the plate is configured in a range of 1 to 2 millimeters in thickness. Furthermore, the range is recognized by the Examiner to be a very broad range, and a range that would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A and 2144.05 I, II A and B.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form and amended without any patentably significant broadening of the claims and including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Milligan et al. (3,216,205).
/KIRSTIN U OSWALD/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763