DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a Final Office Action in response to the communication filed on 08/20/2026. Claims 1—20 are currently pending.
Priority
The Applicant’s claim for benefit of US Provisional Patent Application 63/302,322 filed on 01/24/2022 has been received and acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement received 10/19/2023 and 02/23/2026 have been reviewed and considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's statement filed 08/20/2026 with respect to the drawing objections related to FIGs. 5—9 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While the Response indicates the inclusion of amended figures, the provided documents do not appear to include the amended figures. Accordingly, the drawing objection for FIGs. 5—9 is maintained as provided below.
Applicant's amendments filed 08/20/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 3, 9, and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 3, 9, and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 08/20/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1—20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1—20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained as modified below in view of the provided amendments.
The Response at pages 10 and 11 merely asserts without evidence that multiple limitations, which are directed to abstract ideas, are not in fact directed to abstract ideas because the limitations cannot practically be performed in the human mind. The Response further asserts, without evidence, that the claims are not directed to (e.g., do not recite) mathematical concepts. Examiner notes that the claims are directed to receiving data, processing data, generating additional data, and using at least one of the recited groups of data to create a reservoir model. As claimed, each of these limitations is an abstract idea directed to either a mental process, a mathematical concept, or combinations thereof. For example, a human mind is capable of receiving dynamic and static data from a database if the data is presented on a screen. A human mind, with or without the benefit of a mathematical concept, is capable of processing data and generating locational data including generating polygons around wells based on a centroid of the well. A human mind is further capable of identifying wellbores associated with the polygons (e.g., a human mind can both group objects into a created group and identify any objects in the created group). A human mind, with or without the benefit of a mathematical concept, is capable of generating a reservoir model. Moreover, the reservoir model itself is directed to an abstract idea insofar as it is a conceptual representation (e.g., a mathematical representation) of a physical object or process. Accordingly, the mere assertion that the claims do not recite abstract ideas, and more specifically, that the claims do not recite any mental processes and or mathematical concepts, is not persuasive.
The Response at page 11 further asserts that the claims provide for a practical application insofar as “determining, from the model, one or more specific field development operations to be performed on the physical reservoir-a well drilling location, an injection rate for one or more wells, or an operational constraint for one or more wells,” constitutes an action taken based on the reservoir model. The Response makes similar arguments at page 13 where it states “[d]etermining a well drilling location, an injection rate, or an operational constraint for specific wells directly based on the generated reservoir model is precisely such a meaningful application.” However, merely making a determination from the model does not require that any action is actually taken. Moreover, making a determination from a model (e.g., using the model to generate an output) is directed to an abstract idea rather than an additional element constituting a practical application. Accordingly, the assertion that the above identified limitation requires more than merely generating an output from a model is not persuasive, because that is infact the extent of what is recited.
The Response at page 11 asserts that the claims are directed to a practical application insofar as the claims “integrate the purported exception into a practical application by reflecting an improvement to reservoir modeling technology,” to which the Examiner does not agree. Along the same line, the Response further states “[a] claim integrates an exception into a practical application when it reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field.” However, the improvement as provided by the claims, and as identified in the Response (e.g., an improvement to “to reservoir modeling technology”) is infact an improvement to an abstract idea rather than an improvement a technology or technical field as required for this argument to be successful under MPEP 2106.05(a). For example, the MPEP states “[n]otably, the court did not distinguish between the types of technology when determining the invention improved technology. However, it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology.” (MPEP 2106.05(a), Section II). As discussed above, a reservoir model is itself an abstract idea such that an improvement to a reservoir model is an improvement to an abstract idea. Moreover, the limitations directed to the alleged improvements as recited on page 12 of the Response are the limitations identified as abstract ideas. Accordingly, the Response is not persuasive in showing that the claims are directed to an improvement in a technical field or technology which would successfully provide for a practical application of the identified judicial exceptions.
The Response at page 13 states “even if the claims were viewed as directed to an abstract idea not integrated into a practical application, the ordered combination supplies an inventive concept.” The Response at page 13 and 14 further states “[t]he ordered combination here: receiving static and dynamic data from a spatio- temporal database; processing that data to identify centroids of wells; generating a plurality of polygons from those centroids with each polygon corresponding to a respective well; determining that one or more polygons are adjacent to a polygon corresponding to a focal well; identifying one or more offset wells from the adjacent polygons; generating a reservoir model from the polygons and the static and dynamic data of the focal well and offset wells; and determining, based on that reservoir model, one or more field development operations for the reservoir, comprising at least one of a well drilling location, an injection rate for one or more wells, or an operational constraint for the one or more wells, is not well-understood, routine, or conventional.” The foregoing argument is moot insofar as, the recited limitations are abstract ideas whereas, the analysis related to whether limitations are directed to well-understood, routine, and conventional activity is only relevant for additional elements. Whether or not one or more abstract ideas constitute well-understood, routine, and/or conventional activity has no bearing on patent eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101. Stated another way, the claims can recite one or more novel abstract ideas and still not constitute patent eligible subject matter. For example, the MPEP states “[a]s made clear by the courts, the ‘’novelty’ of any element or steps in a process, or even of the process itself, is of no relevance in determining whether the subject matter of a claim falls within the § 101 categories of possibly patentable subject matter.’ Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1315, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (quoting Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. at 188–89, 209 USPQ at 9). See also Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1151, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (‘a claim for a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea. The search for a § 101 inventive concept is thus distinct from demonstrating § 102 novelty.’).” (MPEP 2106.05, Eligibility Step 2B). Accordingly, the above provided arguments are not persuasive in showing the claims overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101.
The Response at page 14 states “[t]he Office's treatment of the machine-learning training limitations as high-level ‘apply it’ recitations that ‘do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea’ (Office Action, p. 10) cannot be reconciled with the recognition in MPEP § 2106.05(a) that improvements to computer performance based on adjustments to machine-learning model parameters can show an improvement in computer functionality,” to which the Examiner does not agree. Examiner notes that while training a machine learning model constitutes an additional element, it is not an improvement in the performance of a computer. For example, while computers are used to generate machine learning models, generating the machine learning model does not improve the computer itself. Moreover, generically recited machine learning training steps (e.g., which do not provide for specific details related to the training beyond the use of a specific dataset) are appropriately classified as additional elements which cannot provide for a practical application of the identified judicial exceptions because generically training a machine learning model, as described above and in the claims, is equivalent to reciting “apply it.”
For the foregoing reasons, the arguments set forth with respect to the rejection of claims 1—20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained as modified below in view of the provided amendments.
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 08/20/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1—20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive in part. The provided amendments necessitate new grounds for rejection of claims 1—20 as provided below; however, the modified rejection utilizes the same prior art as previously cited.
The Response at page 15 states “Benhallam does not identify centroids of wells and it does not disclose ‘generating a plurality of polygons based on the centroids of the wells, each polygon corresponding to a respective one of the wells’,” to which the Examiner does not agree. To start, the term ”centroids of wells” is not defined or described in the claims in any manner which distinguishes the centroid of the well from the center of the well (e.g., or the center of a portion of the well) which is indistinguishable from a well location for a vertical well. For example, para. [0071] of the instant application states “the polygon generating procedure 606 can convert the well location data 610 into polygon centroid data 612, such that the well location data is converted into center points for to-be-formed polygons.” Furthermore, Benhallam at para. [0082] discloses generating a no-go area consisting of a 40-acre spacing around any existing well. As depicted in FIG. 10, the no-go spacing area is analyzed according to a reservoir grid such that the space generates a polygon rather than a circle. Moreover, the generated polygon is directly (e.g., one-to-one) correlated to the well from which it is mapped. Accordingly, Benhallam does teach the limitation generating a plurality of polygons based on the centroids of the wells, each polygon corresponding to a respective one of the wells.
The Response at page 15 further states “Benhallam likewise does not disclose ‘determining that one or more polygons of the plurality of polygons are adjacent to a polygon corresponding to a focal well of the wells,” to which the Examiner does not agree. Referring again to FIG. 10, Examiner notes that any potential new well (e.g., focal well) will have to be located in the “negative” space formed from the area which is not in the no-go space (e.g., this negative space also forms a polygon as depicted in FIG. 10). Accordingly, the negative space is the polygon which corresponds to the focal well (e.g., a potential new well as currently mapped). Additionally, the “negative” space in which a new well may be placed is directly adjacent to the no-go space generated by the 40-acre spacings from the already existing wells. Accordingly, Benhallam does teach the limitation determining that one or more polygons of the plurality of polygons are adjacent to a polygon corresponding to a focal well of the wells.
The Response at page 15 further states “Benhallam likewise does not disclose… ‘identifying, for the focal well, one or more offset wells corresponding to the one or more adjacent polygons’,” to which the Examiner does not agree. As addressed above, there is a direct, one-to-one correlation between the 40-acre polygons surrounding each historical well and the historical wells themselves. The negative space in which the new well may be placed (e.g., polygon corresponding to the new well) is adjacent to the no-go areas which are directly (e.g., one-to-one) correlated to the wells which from the no-go area is formed. More specifically, identifying the no-go area implicitly identifies the wells associated with the no-go area.
For the above provided reasons, the arguments set forth in the Response are not persuasive in showing that Benhallam does not anticipate the amended claim limitations. Accordingly, claim 1—20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 to Benhallam as provided below.
Drawings
Figures 5—9 are objected to for including excessive shading in some portions of the drawings while lacking clear/crisp lines in other portions of the drawings. The current rendering of FIGs. 5—9 is borderline illegible to fully illegible in some sections due to the shading a lack of clear lines. The manner in which the figures will render in publication will likely compound the legibility/clarity issue currently present in FIGs. 5—9. As such, new corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application due to the above mentioned legibility issue. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1—20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 of the USPTO’s eligibility analysis entails considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Claims 1, 10, and 18 are directed to a method (process), a system (machine or manufacture), and a system (machine or manufacture), respectively. As such, the claims are directed to statutory categories of invention.
If the claim recites a statutory category of invention, the claim requires further analysis in Step 2A. Step 2A of the 2019 Revised Patent SUBJECT Matter Eligibility Guidance is a two-prong inquiry. In Prong One, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception
Claim 1 recites the following abstract ideas:
“receiving static data of a reservoir from [a specific data source]” (e.g., a mental process);
“receiving dynamic data of the reservoir from [a specific data source]” (e.g., a mental process);
“processing the static data and the dynamic data to identify centroids of wells in the reservoir” (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept);
“generating a plurality of polygons based on the centroids of the wells, each polygon corresponding to a respective one of the wells” (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept);
“determining that one or more polygons of the plurality of polygons are adjacent to a polygon corresponding to a focal well of the wells” (e.g., a mental process);
“identifying, for the focal well, one or more offset wells corresponding to the one or more adjacent polygons” (e.g., a mental process);
“generating a reservoir model based on [a specific data set] wherein the reservoir model includes reservoir performance, field development, production metrics, and operation metrics” (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept); and
“determining, based on the reservoir model, one or more field development operations for the reservoir, the one or more field operations comprising at least one of a well drilling location, an injection rate for one or more wells of the wells, or an operational constraint for the one or more wells” (e.g., mental process).
Similar to claim 1, claim 10 recites the following abstract ideas:
“receive static data of a reservoir…” (e.g., a mental process);
“receive dynamic data of the reservoir…” (e.g., a mental process);
“process the static data and the dynamic data to identify centroids of wells in the reservoir” (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept);
“generate a plurality of polygons based on the centroids of the wells, each polygon corresponding to a respective one of the wells” (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept);
“determine that one or more polygons of the plurality of polygons are adjacent to a polygon corresponding to a focal well of the wells” (e.g., a mental process);
“identify, for the focal well, one or more offset wells corresponding to the one or more adjacent polygons” (e.g., a mental process);
“generate a reservoir model based on [specific data]” (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept); and
“determine, based on the reservoir model, one or more field development operations for the reservoir, the one or more field operations comprising at least one of a well drilling location, an injection rate for one or more wells of the wells, or an operational constraint for the one or more wells” (e.g., mental process).
Similar to claim 1, claim 18 recites the following abstract ideas:
“receive static data of a reservoir…” (e.g., a mental process);
“receive dynamic data of the reservoir…” (e.g., a mental process);
“process the static data and the dynamic data to identify centroids of wells in the reservoir” (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept);
“generate a plurality of polygons based on the centroids of the wells, each polygon corresponding to a respective one of the wells” (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept);
“determine that one or more polygons of the plurality of polygons are adjacent to a polygon corresponding to a focal well of the wells” (e.g., a mental process);
“identify, for the focal well, one or more offset wells corresponding to the one or more adjacent polygons” (e.g., a mental process);
“generate a reservoir model based on [specific data]” (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept); and
“determine, based on the reservoir model, one or more field development operations for the reservoir, the one or more field operations comprising at least one of a well drilling location, an injection rate for one or more wells of the wells, or an operational constraint for the one or more wells” (e.g., mental process).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the above identified limitations are directed to processes which are either performable in a human mind and/or are directed to a mathematical concept. For example, a human mind is capable of receiving dynamic and static data from a database if the data is presented on a screen. A human mind, with or without the benefit of a mathematical concept, is capable of processing and generating locational data including generating polygons around wells based on a centroid of the well. A human mind is further capable of identifying wellbores associated with the polygons (e.g., a human mind can both group objects into a created group and identify any objects in the created group). A human mind, with or without the benefit of a mathematical concept, is capable of generating a reservoir model, where a reservoir model also constitutes an abstract idea. Finally, a human mind is capable of making a determination or selection based on a model or the output of a model. Limiting the model by solution type (e.g., “reservoir performance, field development…”) constitutes a mental process and/or mathematical concept and therefore is also directed to an abstract idea. Furthermore, the action of “determining… one or more field development operations for the reservoir,” is merely directed to generating a plan and does not actually recite that an operation is performed or adjusted. Examiner submits that nothing in the claim element precludes the aforementioned steps from practically being performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper, with or without a mathematical concept.
The MPEP states the following regarding mental processes:
“[t]he courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’… Accordingly, the ‘mental processes’ abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. A discussion of concepts performed in the human mind, as well as concepts that cannot practically be performed in the human mind and thus are not ‘mental processes’, is provided below with respect to point A.” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), Section III).
The MPEP states the following regarding mathematical calculations:
“[a] claim that recites a mathematical calculation, when the claim is given its broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, will be considered as falling within the ‘mathematical concepts’ grouping. A mathematical calculation is a mathematical operation (such as multiplication) or an act of calculating using mathematical methods to determine a variable or number, e.g., performing an arithmetic operation such as exponentiation. There is no particular word or set of words that indicates a claim recites a mathematical calculation. That is, a claim does not have to recite the word ‘calculating’ in order to be considered a mathematical calculation. For example, a step of ‘determining’ a variable or number using mathematical methods or ‘performing’ a mathematical operation may also be considered mathematical calculations when the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification encompasses a mathematical calculation.” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), Section I, Subsection C).
Accordingly, the above identified limitations are directed to abstract ideas such that claims 1, 19, and 20 recite abstract ideas.
If the claim recites a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea enumerated in Section I of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon), the claim requires further analysis in Prong Two. In Prong Two, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
Claim 1 recites the additional elements of:
“a spatio-temporal database” (e.g., reciting a specific data set used to perform an abstract idea is equivalent to extra-solution activity); and
“at least one of the polygons, the static data, or the dynamic data of the focal well and of the one or more offset wells, wherein the reservoir model includes reservoir performance, field development, production metrics, and operation metrics” (e.g., reciting a specific data set used to perform an abstract idea is equivalent to extra-solution activity)
Claim 10 recites the additional elements of:
“non-transitory computer readable media” (e.g., merely using a computer to perform the method is equivalent to reciting “apply it”);
“a spatio-temporal database” (e.g., reciting a specific data set used to perform an abstract idea is equivalent to extra-solution activity); and
“at least one of the polygons, the static data, or the dynamic data of the focal well and of the one or more offset wells, wherein the reservoir model includes reservoir performance, field development, production metrics, and operation metrics” (e.g., reciting a specific data set used to perform an abstract idea is equivalent to extra-solution activity).
Claim 18 recites the additional elements of:
“a storage… a processor” (e.g., mere recitation of a generic computer to perform the method is equivalent to reciting “apply it”);
“a spatio-temporal database” (e.g., reciting a specific data set used to perform an abstract idea is equivalent to extra-solution activity); and
“at least one of the polygons, the static data, or the dynamic data of the focal well and of the one or more offset wells, wherein the reservoir model includes reservoir performance, field development, production metrics, and operation metrics” (e.g., reciting a specific data set used to perform an abstract idea is equivalent to extra-solution activity).
The above identified limitations constitute additional elements. However, for the reasons identified above and further discussed below, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As such, the above identified additional elements do not integrate the above identified judicial exceptions into a practical application.
If the additional elements do not integrate the exception into a practical application, then the claim is directed to the recited judicial exception, and requires further analysis under Step 2B to determine whether they provide an inventive concept (i.e., whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself).
As identified above, claims 1, 10 and 18 recite the additional elements of “a spatio-temporal database,” and “at least one of the polygons, the static data, or the dynamic data of the focal well and of the one or more offset well.” These limitations merely specify the data set/data type/content used to perform the identified abstract ideas where such limitations constitute court-identified insignificant extra-solution activity as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(g). For example, the MPEP states “[b]elow are examples of activities that the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity: Selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated: i. Limiting a database index to XML tags, Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indem. Co., 850 F.3d at 1328-29, 121 USPQ2d at 1937;… iii. Selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016).” (MPEP 2106.05(g), Section 3). As such, limitations directed to specific data bases and data sets used to perform an abstract idea amount to insignificant extra-solution activity and cannot provide for a practical application of the above identified judicial exceptions.
Claim 10 recites the additional element of “non-transitory computer readable media” which is equivalent to a limitation stating that the judicial exception is applied using generic computing components. The recitation of generic computing components which are merely used to apply the judicial exception cannot provide for a practical application of the judicial exceptions. Moreover, such limitations are equivalent to reciting “apply it,” as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f) which states “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.” (MPEP 2106.05(f)), Section 2). As such, limitations directed to the inclusion of generic computing components does not show integration of the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 18 recites the additional elements of “a storage… a processor” which is equivalent to a limitation stating that the identified judicial exceptions of claim 18 are applied using generic computing components. The recitation of generic computing components which are merely used to apply the judicial exception cannot provide for a practical application of the judicial exceptions. Moreover, such limitations are equivalent to reciting “apply it,” as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f) which states “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.” (MPEP 2106.05(f)), Section 2). As such, limitations directed to the inclusion of generic computing components does not show integration of the judicial exception into a practical application.
As discussed above, claims 1, 10, and 18 do not currently recite a practical application. However, even if the claims were amended to recite a practical application generated from the reservoir model, it would not succeed in properly integrating all of the identified abstract ideas as currently drafted. For example, as currently drafted, the reservoir model is only required to include one of: “the plurality of polygons”; “the static data”; or “the dynamic data.” Accordingly, the reservoir model is not currently claimed in a manner that requires the inclusion of all of the features identified as abstract ideas. Moreover, proper integration of the abstract idea(s) into a practical application requires that all of the identified abstract ideas are integrated into the practical application (e.g., not merely one abstract idea selected from a group of abstract ideas).
Thus, even when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea.
Claims 2, 11, and 19 recite the limitation “inputting the static data and the dynamic data into a machine learning model,” which is directed to the mathematical concept of supplying an input to a model to generate an output and therefore directed to an abstract idea. Since claims 2, 11, and 19 do not recite any additional elements which integrate the identified abstract ideas of claims 1 and 2 into a practical application, claim 2 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 3, 4, 12, 13, and 20 are directed to training a machine learning model using generically recited datasets. Examiner notes that training a machine learning model constitutes an additional element; however, the limitations directed to the training are recited at such a high level of generality such that the limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Moreover, generically recited machine learning training steps amount to mere instructions to apply the judicial exception. To this end the MPEP states “examiners may consider the following: (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words ‘apply it'. See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016);… In contrast, claiming a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Electric Power, 830 F.3d at 1356, 119 USPQ2d at 1743.” (MPEP 2106.05(f), Section 1). While the limitations of claims 3, 4, 12, 13, and 20 are directed to additional elements (e.g., training a machine learning model), the additional elements do not provide for a practical application of the judicial exception because a generically recited step of training a machine learning model which is merely limited by a specific dataset is too generic to provide for a practical application.
The limitations of claims 5—9 and 14—17 are directed to further defining the type of data included in a dataset, where the dataset is either provided as input to the model or is used to generate the model. For example, the claims recite the following limitations, or limitations substantially similar thereto, directed to the data: “wherein the spatio-temporal database associates the static data and the dynamic data with a point in time”; “the spatio-temporal database includes data of the reservoir from a plurality of points in time”; “the spatio-temporal database includes a simulation grid and a polygon grid”; “wherein the static data and dynamic data include both field data and data obtained in a simulation of the reservoir”; and “the static data and the dynamic data respectively are consecutive data to historical static data and historical dynamic data.”
Limitations which further define a dataset, where the dataset is used to perform an abstract idea, constitutes court-identified insignificant extra-solution activity as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(g). For example, the MPEP states “[b]elow are examples of activities that the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity: Selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated: i. Limiting a database index to XML tags, Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indem. Co., 850 F.3d at 1328-29, 121 USPQ2d at 1937;… iii. Selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016).” (MPEP 2106.05(g), Section 3). As such, limitations which further define the dataset used to perform the abstract idea cannot provide for a practical application of the above identified judicial exceptions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1—20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Published US Patent Application to Benhallam et al., hereinafter “Benhallam,” (US 20190325331 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Benhallam discloses [a] method for reservoir modeling, the method comprising:
receiving static data of a reservoir (para. [0051], “[t]he communications module 104 may receive data from a hydrocarbon extraction site 130 (e.g. from sensors running within or around the wells 131). The data may include petrophysical data 135, geological data 136, engineering data 137 or other data related to the production of hydrocarbons at the site 130.”; para. [0118], “the data accessing module 107 may access petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, and/or engineering data 137 related to the hydrocarbon extraction site 130. This data may be received directly from the site, or may be retrieved from a data store such as data store 140.”; See FIG. 1 which shows how multiple data sources connect to the workflow/model; static data also includes well locations, spacing parameters, a geologic model, log properties, and geological attributes as listed in FIG. 9) from a spatio-temporal database (data store 140 includes petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, engineering data 137, historical completion data 141, and/or neighboring production data 142; See FIG. 1);
receiving dynamic data of the reservoir (para. [0051], “[t]he communications module 104 may receive data from a hydrocarbon extraction site 130 (e.g. from sensors running within or around the wells 131). The data may include petrophysical data 135, geological data 136, engineering data 137 or other data related to the production of hydrocarbons at the site 130.”; para. [0118], “the data accessing module 107 may access petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, and/or engineering data 137 related to the hydrocarbon extraction site 130. This data may be received directly from the site, or may be retrieved from a data store such as data store 140.”; See FIG. 1 which shows how multiple data sources connect to the workflow/model; dynamic data includes neighboring production data 142) from the spatio-temporal database (data store 140 includes petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, engineering data 137, historical completion data 141, and/or neighboring production data 142; See FIG. 1);
processing the static data and the dynamic data to identify centroids of wells in the reservoir (identifying a wellhead location of a well is equivalent to identifying the centroid of a well; as described below, the wellhead location is used to identify the “no-go” areas with respect to new well placement);
generating a plurality of polygons based on the centroids of the wells, each polygon corresponding to a respective one of the wells (para. [0082], “[t]he spacing analysis module 901 aims at identifying surface areas that would not be fit for placing new wells because they do not respect the field spacing constraints (which may be user-provided). This is done by creating a spacing grid that differentiates no-go areas from open-access areas. The no-go areas can be identified using one of two methods (as shown in FIG. 10): in the well-head based method (1001), spacing is measured from the well head locations. For example, a 40-acres spacing parameter in this case means any area within 40-acres of an existing well head location is considered a no-go area.”; “create spacing grid using input locations and spacing parameter” as stated in FIG. 9 under the “process” associated with spacing; As depicted in FIG. 10, the spacing around the wellheads is a polygon. More specifically, because the reservoir is modeled as a grid, each grid block is either completely in or completely out of the identified spacing area for each wellhead location such that the boundary identified around each well forms a polygon);
determining that one or more polygons of the plurality of polygons are adjacent to a polygon corresponding to a focal well of the wells (as depicted in FIG. 10, open access areas are any area that does not overlap with the above identified no-go 40-acre spacing areas; the open access area is the polygonal shape which is adjacent to the polygons identified as no-go areas; the open access area is where a focal well can be placed; the spacing for all wells, whether new or already existing is user-provided and in this specific example, is a 40-acre spacing);
identifying, for the focal well, one or more offset wells corresponding to the one or more adjacent polygons (as described above in para. [0082], the 40-acre spacing is inherently associated with a single well such that identifying a specific 40-acre spacing location is equivalent to identifying the well associated with the spacing location; the specific well and the spacing around the well form a direct one to one correlation);
generating a reservoir model (workflow 900, as depicted in FIG. 9, generates a reservoir model including at least geological properties, production data, and an estimated production forecast, which is used to assess drilling locations as described in para. [0081]) based on at least one of the polygons (above described spacing grid is generated in spacing analysis 901), the static data (the above recited static data overlaps with the data recited in FIG. 9 for workflow 900), or the dynamic data (the above recited dynamic data overlaps with the data recited in FIG. 9 for workflow 900) of the focal well (new well location being analyzed) and of the one or more offset wells (existing wells), wherein the reservoir model includes reservoir performance (drainage analysis 902; geologic risk assessment 905 which includes petrophysical and fluid saturation considerations) , field development (well locations and spacing grid as identified in spacing analysis 901 of FIG. 9), production metrics (production rate forecasting 904), and operation metrics (engineering properties as identified under production rate forecast 904 in FIG. 9): and
determining, based on the reservoir model, one or more field development operations for the reservoir, the one or more field operations comprising at least one of a well drilling location (para. [0081], “the workflow 900 for identifying new vertical drill locations shares many modules in common with the pay-behind pipe workflow, and adds additional steps to address more specific challenges with new drill opportunities (FIG. 9).”), an injection rate for one or more wells of the wells, or an operational constraint for the one or more wells. Examiner notes that method 1200, as depicted in FIG. 12 performs a substantially similar process as method 900 where both methods follow the outline provided in FIG. 1.
Regarding claim 2, Benhallam discloses wherein processing the static data and the dynamic data includes inputting the static data (geological data listed in log-based attributes and geo-engineering attributes as described in Table 3 of para. [0098]) and the dynamic data (production-related attributes listed in geo-engineering attributes and the target attributes) into a machine learning model (para. [0098], “Artificial Neural Networks (ANN's) are used to develop a model that relates the production performance to a series of data attributes including petrophysical interpretations, geological properties, and various engineering attributes. The training set used to train the model include past completion intervals, and the training attributes are derived or calculated specifically over these intervals. Once the model is trained, the testing dataset is collected by deriving the testing attributes specifically over the target uncontacted pay intervals.”).
Regarding claim 3, Benhallam discloses training a machine learning model based on historical static data and historical dynamic data, wherein the historical static data and the historical dynamic data are static and dynamic reservoir data associated with one or more prior time-steps preceding the received static and dynamic data (Benhallam in FIG. 1 explicitly distinguishes between historical data stored in a data store 140 along with data actively being gathered from a hydrocarbon extraction site 130, it is implicitly understood that the historical data stored in data store 140 predates the data being gathered at the hydrocarbon extraction site 130. Moreover, any time-series data can have an arbitrary datum applied to it).
Regarding claim 4, Benhallam discloses training a machine learning model (para. [0098], “Artificial Neural Networks (ANN's) are used to develop a model that relates the production performance to a series of data attributes including petrophysical interpretations, geological properties, and various engineering attributes. The training set used to train the model include past completion intervals, and the training attributes are derived or calculated specifically over these intervals.”) based on the static data (geological data listed in log-based attributes and geo-engineering attributes as described in Table 3 of para. [0098]) and the dynamic data (production-related attributes listed in geo-engineering attributes and the target attributes). As depicted in FIG. 1, machine learning algorithms 113 are used with the forecasting modules 112 (e.g., production rate forecast 904) which generate the predicted production results 114 including the initial production estimate 115 and ultimate recovery estimate 116.
Regarding claim 5, Benhallam discloses wherein the static data and the dynamic data are stored in the spatio-temporal database (as noted in claim 1, data store 140 includes petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, engineering data 137, historical completion data 141, and/or production data 142. These datasets constitute both static data and dynamic data as discussed in claim 1), and wherein the spatio-temporal database associates the static data and the dynamic data with a point in time (production data 142, which is implicitly understood to be time-series data, is associated with both 1.) a point in time and 2.) the well from which is was produced. Likewise, any geological data/static data collected from the well is associated with the well. Furthermore, the geological data is associated with a point in time by way of the mutual association between the well and the production data. Additionally, the geological data is implicitly associated with the point in time at which it is collected).
Regarding claim 6, Benhallam discloses wherein the spatio-temporal database includes data of the reservoir from a plurality of points in time (As noted in claim 1, data store 140 includes petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, engineering data 137, historical completion data 141, and/or historical production data 142. The production data includes production rates which constitute reservoir data associated with points in time.).
Regarding claim 7, Benhallam discloses wherein the spatio-temporal database includes a simulation grid (para. [0035], “[t]he computer system accesses geological, petrophysical or engineering data related to a hydrocarbon extraction site, and analyzes the accessed data to identify well placement grid cells in the hydrocarbon extraction site that are fit for placing new wells according to well placement constraints.”) and a polygon grid (the polygon grid is developed from the spacing analysis 901), wherein the simulation grid is associated with the static and dynamic data (as identified in claim 1, the static and dynamic data includes the geological, petrophysical, and engineering data. As identified above in para. [0035], this data is modeled in a grid in order to generate a geo-reservoir model which is used to identify new drilling locations), and wherein the polygon grid is associated with at least one of drainage areas or irrigation areas of the reservoir (The polygon spacing of the wells as described above in claim 1 is generally associated with a drainage area insofar as spacing the wells out according to the 40-acre spacing creates an area which each well will preferentially drain. See also para. [0123] which discusses well placement in view of spacing and drainage).
Regarding claim 8, Benhallam discloses wherein the static data and dynamic data include both field data (para. [0058], “well surveys, well logs, well formation tops, completion and perforation data, production data, fluid contacts data, static geologic models”) and data obtained in a simulation of the reservoir (para. [0057], “[t]he platform implements inter-disciplinary field data including well surveys, well logs, well formation tops, completion and perforation data, production data, fluid contacts data, static geologic models, simulation models, and other types of data.”).
Regarding claim 9, Benhallam discloses wherein the static data and the dynamic data are historical static data (historical completion data 141) and historical dynamic data (neighborhood production data 142).
Regarding claim 10, Benhallam discloses [o]ne or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions, the instructions, when executed by a computing system (para. [0050], “[t]he computer architecture 100 includes a computer system 101. The computer system 101 includes at least one processor 102 and at least some system memory 103. The computer system 101 may be any type of local or distributed computer system, including a cloud computer system. The computer system 101 includes modules for performing a variety of different functions. The program modules may be hardware-based, software-based, or a combination thereof. Each program module uses computing hardware and/or software to perform functions including those defined herein below.”), causing the computing system to:
receive static data of a reservoir (para. [0051], “[t]he communications module 104 may receive data from a hydrocarbon extraction site 130 (e.g. from sensors running within or around the wells 131). The data may include petrophysical data 135, geological data 136, engineering data 137 or other data related to the production of hydrocarbons at the site 130.”; para. [0118], “the data accessing module 107 may access petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, and/or engineering data 137 related to the hydrocarbon extraction site 130. This data may be received directly from the site, or may be retrieved from a data store such as data store 140.”; See FIG. 1 which shows how multiple data sources connect to the workflow/model; static data also includes well locations, spacing parameters, a geologic model, log properties, and geological attributes as listed in FIG. 9) from a spatio-temporal database (data store 140 includes petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, engineering data 137, historical completion data 141, and/or neighboring production data 142; See FIG. 1) ;
receive dynamic data of the reservoir (para. [0051], “[t]he communications module 104 may receive data from a hydrocarbon extraction site 130 (e.g. from sensors running within or around the wells 131). The data may include petrophysical data 135, geological data 136, engineering data 137 or other data related to the production of hydrocarbons at the site 130.”; para. [0118], “the data accessing module 107 may access petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, and/or engineering data 137 related to the hydrocarbon extraction site 130. This data may be received directly from the site, or may be retrieved from a data store such as data store 140.”; See FIG. 1 which shows how multiple data sources connect to the workflow/model; dynamic data includes neighboring production data 142) from the spatio-temporal database (data store 140 includes petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, engineering data 137, historical completion data 141, and/or neighboring production data 142; See FIG. 1);
process the static data and the dynamic data to identify centroids of wells in the reservoir (identifying a wellhead location of a well is equivalent to identifying the centroid of a well; as described below, the wellhead location is used to identify and establish “no-go” areas with respect to new well placement);
generate a plurality of polygons based on the centroids of the wells in the reservoir, each polygon corresponding to a respective one of the wells (para. [0082], “[t]he spacing analysis module 901 aims at identifying surface areas that would not be fit for placing new wells because they do not respect the field spacing constraints (which may be user-provided). This is done by creating a spacing grid that differentiates no-go areas from open-access areas. The no-go areas can be identified using one of two methods (as shown in FIG. 10): in the well-head based method (1001), spacing is measured from the well head locations. For example, a 40-acres spacing parameter in this case means any area within 40-acres of an existing well head location is considered a no-go area.”; “create spacing grid using input locations and spacing parameter” as stated in FIG. 9 under the “process” associated with spacing; As depicted in FIG. 10, the spacing around the wellheads is a polygon. More specifically, because the reservoir is modeled as a grid, each grid block is either completely in or completely out of the identified spacing area for each wellhead location such that the boundary identified around each well forms a polygon);
determine that one or more polygons of the plurality of polygons are adjacent to a polygon corresponding to a focal well of the wells (as depicted in FIG. 10, open access areas are any area that does not overlap with the above identified no-go 40-acre spacing areas; the open access area is the polygonal shape which is adjacent to the polygons identified as no-go areas; the open access area is where a focal well can be placed; the spacing for all wells, whether new or already existing is user-provided and in this specific example, is a 40-acre spacing);
identify, for the focal well, one or more offset wells corresponding to the one or more adjacent polygons (as described above in para. [0082], the 40-acre spacing is inherently associated with a single well such that identifying a specific 40-acre spacing location is equivalent to identifying the well associated with the spacing location; the specific well and the spacing around the well form a direct one to one correlation);
generate a reservoir model (workflow 900, as depicted in FIG. 9, generates a reservoir model including at least geological properties, production data, and an estimated production forecast, which is used to assess drilling locations as described in para. [0081]) based on at least one of the polygons (above described spacing grid is generated in spacing analysis 901), the static data (the above recited static data overlaps with the data recited in FIG. 9 for workflow 900), or the dynamic data (the above recited dynamic data overlaps with the data recited in FIG. 9 for workflow 900) of the focal well (new well location being analyzed) and of the one or more offset wells (existing wells), wherein the reservoir model includes reservoir performance (drainage analysis 902; geologic risk assessment 905 which includes petrophysical and fluid saturation considerations) , field development (well locations and spacing grid as identified in spacing analysis 901 of FIG. 9), production metrics (production rate forecasting 904), and operation metrics (engineering properties as identified under production rate forecast 904 in FIG. 9); and
determine, based on the reservoir model, one or more field development operations for the reservoir, the one or more field operations comprising at least one of a well drilling location (para. [0081], “the workflow 900 for identifying new vertical drill locations shares many modules in common with the pay-behind pipe workflow, and adds additional steps to address more specific challenges with new drill opportunities (FIG. 9).”), an injection rate for one or more wells of the wells, or an operational constraint for the one or more wells. Examiner notes that method 1200, as depicted in FIG. 12 performs a substantially similar process as method 900 where both methods follow the outline provided in FIG. 1.
Regarding claim 11, Benhallam discloses wherein processing the static data and the dynamic data includes inputting the static data (geological data listed in log-based attributes and geo-engineering attributes as described in Table 3 of para. [0098]) and the dynamic data (production-related attributes listed in geo-engineering attributes and the target attributes) into a machine learning model (para. [0098], “Artificial Neural Networks (ANN's) are used to develop a model that relates the production performance to a series of data attributes including petrophysical interpretations, geological properties, and various engineering attributes. The training set used to train the model include past completion intervals, and the training attributes are derived or calculated specifically over these intervals. Once the model is trained, the testing dataset is collected by deriving the testing attributes specifically over the target uncontacted pay intervals.”).
Regarding claim 12, Benhallam discloses train a machine learning model based on historical static data and historical dynamic data, wherein the historical static data and the historical dynamic data are static and dynamic reservoir data associated with one or more prior time-steps preceding the received static and dynamic data (Benhallam in FIG. 1 explicitly distinguishes between historical data stored in a data store 140 along with data actively being gathered from a hydrocarbon extraction site 130, it is implicitly understood that the historical data stored in data store 140 predates the data being gathered at the hydrocarbon extraction site 130. Moreover, any time-series data can have an arbitrary datum applied to it).
Regarding claim 13, Benhallam discloses wherein the one or more non-transitory computer readable medium further comprises instructions that (para. [0050], “[t]he computer architecture 100 includes a computer system 101. The computer system 101 includes at least one processor 102 and at least some system memory 103. The computer system 101 may be any type of local or distributed computer system, including a cloud computer system. The computer system 101 includes modules for performing a variety of different functions. The program modules may be hardware-based, software-based, or a combination thereof. Each program module uses computing hardware and/or software to perform functions including those defined herein below.”), when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system to (para. [0050], “[e]ach program module uses computing hardware and/or software to perform functions including those defined herein below.”): train a machine learning model (para. [0098], “Artificial Neural Networks (ANN's) are used to develop a model that relates the production performance to a series of data attributes including petrophysical interpretations, geological properties, and various engineering attributes. The training set used to train the model include past completion intervals, and the training attributes are derived or calculated specifically over these intervals.”) based on the static data (geological data listed in log-based attributes and geo-engineering attributes as described in Table 3 of para. [0098]) and the dynamic data (production-related attributes listed in geo-engineering attributes and the target attributes). As depicted in FIG. 1, machine learning algorithms 113 are used with the forecasting modules 112 (e.g., production rate forecast 904) which generate the predicted production results 114 including the initial production estimate 115 and ultimate recovery estimate 116.
Regarding claim 14, Benhallam discloses both the static data and the dynamic data are stored in the spatio-temporal database (as noted in claim 10, data store 140 includes petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, engineering data 137, historical completion data 141, and/or production data 142. These datasets constitute both static data and dynamic data as discussed in claim 10) .
Regarding claim 15, Benhallam discloses the spatio-temporal database includes data of the reservoir from a plurality of points in time (As noted in claim 10, data store 140 includes historical production data 142. The production data includes production rates which constitute reservoir data associated with points in time.).
Regarding claim 16, Benhallam discloses wherein the spatio-temporal database includes a simulation grid (para. [0035], “[t]he computer system accesses geological, petrophysical or engineering data related to a hydrocarbon extraction site, and analyzes the accessed data to identify well placement grid cells in the hydrocarbon extraction site that are fit for placing new wells according to well placement constraints.”) and a polygon grid (the polygon grid is developed from the spacing analysis 901), wherein the simulation grid is associated with the static and dynamic data (as identified in claim 1, the static and dynamic data includes the geological, petrophysical, and engineering data. As identified above in para. [0035], this data is modeled in a grid in order to generate a geo-reservoir model which is used to identify new drilling locations), and wherein the polygon grid is associated with at least one of drainage areas or irrigation areas of the reservoir (The polygon spacing of the wells as described above in claim 1 is generally associated with a drainage area insofar as spacing the wells out according to the 40-acre spacing creates an area which each well will preferentially drain. See also para. [0123] which discusses well placement in view of spacing and drainage).
Regarding claim 17, Benhallam discloses wherein the static data and dynamic data include both field data (para. [0058], “well surveys, well logs, well formation tops, completion and perforation data, production data, fluid contacts data, static geologic models”) and data obtained in a simulation of the reservoir (para. [0057], “[t]he platform implements inter-disciplinary field data including well surveys, well logs, well formation tops, completion and perforation data, production data, fluid contacts data, static geologic models, simulation models, and other types of data.”).
Regarding claim 18, Benhallam discloses [a] system comprising: a storage configured to store instructions (system memory 103 of computer system 101); a processor (processor 102 of computer system 101) configured to execute the instructions and cause the processor to:
receive static data of a reservoir (para. [0051], “[t]he communications module 104 may receive data from a hydrocarbon extraction site 130 (e.g. from sensors running within or around the wells 131). The data may include petrophysical data 135, geological data 136, engineering data 137 or other data related to the production of hydrocarbons at the site 130.”; para. [0118], “the data accessing module 107 may access petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, and/or engineering data 137 related to the hydrocarbon extraction site 130. This data may be received directly from the site, or may be retrieved from a data store such as data store 140.”; See FIG. 1 which shows how multiple data sources connect to the workflow/model; static data also includes well locations, spacing parameters, a geologic model, log properties, and geological attributes as listed in FIG. 9) from a spatio-temporal database (data store 140 includes petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, engineering data 137, historical completion data 141, and/or neighboring production data 142; See FIG. 1) ;
receive dynamic data of the reservoir (para. [0051], “[t]he communications module 104 may receive data from a hydrocarbon extraction site 130 (e.g. from sensors running within or around the wells 131). The data may include petrophysical data 135, geological data 136, engineering data 137 or other data related to the production of hydrocarbons at the site 130.”; para. [0118], “the data accessing module 107 may access petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, and/or engineering data 137 related to the hydrocarbon extraction site 130. This data may be received directly from the site, or may be retrieved from a data store such as data store 140.”; See FIG. 1 which shows how multiple data sources connect to the workflow/model; dynamic data includes neighboring production data 142) from the spatio-temporal database (data store 140 includes petrophysical log data 135, geological log data 136, engineering data 137, historical completion data 141, and/or neighboring production data 142; See FIG. 1);
process the static data and the dynamic data to identify centroids of wells in the reservoir (identifying a wellhead location of a well is equivalent to identifying the centroid of a well; as described below, the wellhead location is used to identify and establish “no-go” areas with respect to new well placement);
generate a plurality of polygons based on the centroids of the wells in the reservoir, each polygon corresponding to a respective one of the wells (para. [0082], “[t]he spacing analysis module 901 aims at identifying surface areas that would not be fit for placing new wells because they do not respect the field spacing constraints (which may be user-provided). This is done by creating a spacing grid that differentiates no-go areas from open-access areas. The no-go areas can be identified using one of two methods (as shown in FIG. 10): in the well-head based method (1001), spacing is measured from the well head locations. For example, a 40-acres spacing parameter in this case means any area within 40-acres of an existing well head location is considered a no-go area.”; “create spacing grid using input locations and spacing parameter” as stated in FIG. 9 under the “process” associated with spacing; As depicted in FIG. 10, the spacing around the wellheads is a polygon. More specifically, because the reservoir is modeled as a grid, each grid block is either completely in or completely out of the identified spacing area for each wellhead location such that the boundary identified around each well forms a polygon);
determine that one or more polygons of the plurality of polygons are adjacent to a polygon corresponding to a focal well of the wells (as depicted in FIG. 10, open access areas are any area that does not overlap with the above identified no-go 40-acre spacing areas; the open access area is the polygonal shape which is adjacent to the polygons identified as no-go areas; the open access area is where a focal well can be placed; the spacing for all wells, whether new or already existing is user-provided and in this specific example, is a 40-acre spacing);
identify, for the focal well, one or more offset wells corresponding to the one or more adjacent polygons (as described above in para. [0082], the 40-acre spacing is inherently associated with a single well such that identifying a specific 40-acre spacing location is equivalent to identifying the well associated with the spacing location; the specific well and the spacing around the well form a direct one to one correlation);
generate a reservoir model (workflow 900, as depicted in FIG. 9, generates a reservoir model including at least geological properties, production data, and an estimated production forecast, which is used to assess drilling locations as described in para. [0081]) based on at least one of the polygons (above described spacing grid is generated in spacing analysis 901), the static data (the above recited static data overlaps with the data recited in FIG. 9 for workflow 900), or the dynamic data (the above recited dynamic data overlaps with the data recited in FIG. 9 for workflow 900) of the focal well (new well location being analyzed) and of the one or more offset wells (existing wells), wherein the reservoir model includes reservoir performance (drainage analysis 902; geologic risk assessment 905 which includes petrophysical and fluid saturation considerations) , field development (well locations and spacing grid as identified in spacing analysis 901 of FIG. 9), production metrics (production rate forecasting 904), and operation metrics (engineering properties as identified under production rate forecast 904 in FIG. 9); and
determine, based on the reservoir model, one or more field development operations for the reservoir, the one or more field operations comprising at least one of a well drilling location (para. [0081], “the workflow 900 for identifying new vertical drill locations shares many modules in common with the pay-behind pipe workflow, and adds additional steps to address more specific challenges with new drill opportunities (FIG. 9).”), an injection rate for one or more wells of the wells, or an operational constraint for the one or more wells. Examiner notes that method 1200, as depicted in FIG. 12 performs a substantially similar process as method 900 where both methods follow the outline provided in FIG. 1.
Regarding claim 19, Benhallam discloses wherein processing the static data and the dynamic data includes inputting the static data (geological data listed in log-based attributes and geo-engineering attributes as described in Table 3 of para. [0098]) and the dynamic data (production-related attributes listed in geo-engineering attributes and the target attributes) into a machine learning model (para. [0098], “Artificial Neural Networks (ANN's) are used to develop a model that relates the production performance to a series of data attributes including petrophysical interpretations, geological properties, and various engineering attributes. The training set used to train the model include past completion intervals, and the training attributes are derived or calculated specifically over these intervals. Once the model is trained, the testing dataset is collected by deriving the testing attributes specifically over the target uncontacted pay intervals.”).
Regarding claim 20, Benhallam discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions and cause the processor to: train a machine learning model (para. [0098], “Artificial Neural Networks (ANN's) are used to develop a model that relates the production performance to a series of data attributes including petrophysical interpretations, geological properties, and various engineering attributes. The training set used to train the model include past completion intervals, and the training attributes are derived or calculated specifically over these intervals.”) based on the static data (geological data listed in log-based attributes and geo-engineering attributes as described in Table 3 of para. [0098]) and the dynamic data (production-related attributes listed in geo-engineering attributes and the target attributes). As depicted in FIG. 1, machine learning algorithms 113 are used with the forecasting modules 112 (e.g., production rate forecast 904) which generate the predicted production results 114 including the initial production estimate 115 and ultimate recovery estimate 116.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/U.L.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676