DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to applicant’s amendment of claim 1 and the addition of claims 9-11. Currently claims 1-11 are pending with claims 6-8 withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by XIA et al. (CN 111762768 A, machine translation provided for citation).
With regards to claim 1, XIA teaches a composite particle comprising a positive electrode active material particle (lithium manganate particle of spinel structure, discussed as a positive electrode material on page 6) and a coating film (“uniformly coated with NaLiPO4 layer”) as discussed in Embodiment 1 on page 7 of the translation provided. XIA teaches that the coating includes a phosphorous compound with lithium and sodium.
With regards to claim 2, XIA teaches that compound NaLiPO4 which has a ratio of 1 for the elements of sodium and phosphorous (Embodiment 1).
With regards to claim 3, XIA teaches the particle is “uniformly coated” (Embodiment 1).
With regards to claim 11, XIA teaches that the particle is lithium manganate (Embodiment 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIA et al. (CN 111762768 A, machine translation provided for citation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2020/0259128).
With regards to claims 4 and 5, XIA teaches a lithium manganate positive electrode active material, but does not explicitly teach use in a sulfide solid electrolyte battery.
In a similar field of endeavor, TANAKA teaches an all-solid state battery stack comprising a sulfide solid electrolyte (¶ 0120) used in conjunction with a spinel type lithium manganate positive electrode active material (¶ 0112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the lithium manganate positive electrode active material of XIA in a sulfide electrolyte all-solid state battery as taught by TANAKA as both relate to lithium ion positive electrode active materials comprising spinel lithium manganate presenting a reasonable expectation of success, and doing so combines a known prior art active material in a known battery arrangement yielding predictable results and a simple combination of known prior art elements for their intended purpose.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 9-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743