DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because “some of the drawings are unclear; unclear to determine the detail structures of the instant invention”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the seals" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14, 16-17, and 19-20 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukushima et al. (US 9531100).
As per claim 1: Fukushima et al. discloses a charging base 3 (as shown in fig. 11), comprising: a charging end assembly 200 including a charging end housing 210 and a plurality of front power terminals 220, the charging end housing 210 defining a plurality of first holes (not label, see fig. 12B, wherein the terminals 220 are located within) with each of the front power terminals 220 fixedly arranged in one of the plurality of first holes (see fig. 12B); and a connecting end assembly 100 detachably connected to the charging end assembly 200 and including a connecting end housing 110A/B and a plurality of rear power terminals 10, the connecting end housing 110A/B defining a plurality of second holes 115 (see fig. 12B) with each of the rear power terminals 10 arranged in one of the plurality of second holes 115 (as shown in fig. 12B), wherein: with the charging end assembly 200 connected to the connecting end assembly 100, the second holes 115 aligning and communicating with the first holes (as shown in fig. 12B; wherein the 2 terminals are connecting together), and the rear power terminals 10 connecting to the front power terminals 220; and with the charging end assembly 200 removed from the connecting end assembly 100, the front power terminals 220 remaining in the charging end housing 200 and the rear power terminals 10 remaining in the connecting end housing 110A/B.
As per claims 14, and 16-17: Fukushima et al. discloses the charging base 3 (as shown in fig. 11), wherein each of the plurality of front power terminals 220 is detachably fixed in one of the plurality of first holes (not label, see fig. 12B, wherein the terminals 220 are located within); and further comprising a plurality of seals 26 sealing respective power terminals 10 in the second holes 115 in the connecting end housing 100A/B; and wherein the seals include a plurality of sealing sleeves (as shown in figs. 11, 12B) sealing gaps between rear ends of the power terminals 10 and the second holes 115 in the connecting end housing 100A/B.
As per claim 19: Fukushima et al. discloses a charging base 3 (as shown in fig. 11), comprising: a charging end assembly 200, including: a charging end housing 210 defining a plurality of first openings (not label, see fig. 12B, wherein the terminals 220 are located within); and a plurality of front terminals 220 detachably fixed in respective ones of the first openings (wherein the terminals are located within); and a connecting end assembly 100 detachably connected to the charging end assembly 100, including: a connecting end housing 100A/B defining a plurality of second openings 115; and a plurality of rear terminals 10 detachably fixed in respective ones of one of the plurality of second openings 115 (as shown in fig. 12B), the front 220 and rear terminals 10 detachably electrically connected to one another with the connecting end assembly 100 connected to the charging end assembly 200.
As per claim 20: Fukushima et al. discloses the charging base 3 (as shown in fig. 11), wherein each of the plurality of front 220 and rear terminals 10 is detachably fixed in respective first and second openings via a latch (as shown in fig. 12B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, and 15 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukushima et al. (US 9531100) in view of Sarraf et al. (US 10756498).
As per claims 2-3: Fukushima et al. discloses the charging base 3 (as shown in fig. 11), and the front power terminals 220 is connected with the corresponding first hole (not label, see fig. 12B, wherein the terminals 220 are located within). However, Fukushima et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the connection is via a first snap structure; and wherein the first snap structure includes: a concave structure formed around the front power terminal; and a first latch which is arranged on a wall of the first hole in the charging end housing, the first latch snapping in the concave structure to secure the front power terminal in the charging end housing.
Sarraf et al. discloses a power terminal 200 is connected with a hole in a terminal channel 116 with a snap structure (as shown in fig. 5; wherein the latch 162 is latching into the terminal 200); and a concave structure (see fig. 5, wherein is the latch 162 located) formed around the front power terminal 200 (front of the mounting head 220 of the terminal 200); and a first latch 162 which is arranged on a wall of the first hole (as shown in fig. 5), the first latch 162 snapping in the concave structure to secure the front power terminal 200 to the housing to further enhance a secure, stable and reliable structure of the terminals within the housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the Fukushima et al. by having the connection is via a first snap structure; and wherein the first snap structure includes: a concave structure formed around the front power terminal; and a first latch which is arranged on a wall of the first hole in the charging end housing, the first latch snapping in the concave structure to secure the front power terminal in the charging end housing as taught by Sarraf et al. to further enhance a secure, stable and reliable structure of the terminals within the housing. Further, having a snap structure of the power terminals is connected with the corresponding hole within the housing is well known, common knowledge, and commonly used in the art of connector to provide a stability, reliability and securely of the terminals within the housing and to prolong the connector once connected/inserted to the mating connectors.
As per claim 4: Fukushima et al. discloses the charging base 3 (as shown in fig. 11). However, Fukushima et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the first snap structure includes a pair of the first latches which are symmetrically arranged relative to the front power terminal.
On the other hand, Sarraf et al. discloses the snap structure with a latches on the front power terminal. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having a snap structure includes a pair of the first latches can only deal with duplication of parts, because such modification still would not change the function of the power terminal or the connector after all but to further enhance a secure, stable and reliable structure of the terminal within the housing. Since, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the Fukushima et al. by having the first snap structure includes a pair of the first latches which are symmetrically arranged relative to the front power terminal as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a secure, stable and reliable structure of the terminal within the housing.
As per claim 15: Fukushima et al. discloses the charging base 3 (as shown in fig. 11). However, Fukushima et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging end assembly and the connecting end assembly are fixedly connected via a plurality of bolts.
On the other hand, Fukushima et al. mentioned wherein the connector 200 is attached with the inner housing 110B to which the terminals 10 are fixed and mounted to the front housing 110A of the inlet connector 100. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that using plurality of bolts to fixedly connected the charging end assembly and the connecting end assembly can only deal with manufacture desire, because such modification still would not change the function of the charging end assembly and the connecting end assembly after all but to further secure with stable and reliable bolts between two connectors. Since, the examiner takes Official Notice of the equivalence of the connection of the prior art of record and the selection of any of these know equivalents as recited in the instant invention would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the Fukushima et al. by having the charging end assembly and the connecting end assembly are fixedly connected via a plurality of bolts as taught by the instant invention to further secure between connectors, and is within one having ordinary skill in the art to achieve the simple task.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Conclusion
/T.H.N/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831