DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the lines are not solid black lines as required by 37 CFR 1.84.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vaccaro et al. US 9419351 (“Vaccaro”).
Regarding claim 12, Vaccaro discloses a signal terminal 1 (see figure 12) for a charging base (i.e. capable of being used in a charging base), comprising:.
a main body (labeled MB below); and
a guide leg 5 extending from an end of the main body and contracting radially inward relative to an outer wall of the main body,
the guide leg adapted to bias (i.e., capable of biasing) a spring sheet of a lead frame and
guide the outer wall of the main body to be inserted into contact with the spring sheet.
Per claim 13, the guide leg extends from a rear end of the main body of each of the signal terminals.
Per claim 14, Vaccaro discloses a second guide leg adapted to bias (i.e., capable of biasing) a respective one of a pair of the spring sheets of the lead frame.
Per claim 15, the pair of guide legs are arranged radially opposite to each other.
Per claim 16, the main body of each signal terminal is substantially cylindrical.
Claim Rejections - and 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 11, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Osawa US 9478921 in view of Vaccaro et al. US 9419351 (“Vaccaro”). Regarding claim 1, Osawa discloses a charging end assembly detachably connectable to a connecting end assembly to form the charging base, including:
a charging end housing 30 defining a plurality of first openings (e.g. at 32B); and
a plurality of signal terminals (31B, i.e., terminals capable of transmitting signals) received in a corresponding one of the plurality of
first openings 32B,
each signal terminal having a main body (labeled MB below) and a wire connecting part (labeled WCP below, note that the terminals are connected to wires, col. 3, lines 15-20).
Osawa does not disclose clearly how the signal terminals 31B are connected to wires at the wire connecting part and does not show in particular guide legs.
Vaccaro discloses terminals (1, see figure 12) for transmitting signals, each signal terminal having: a main body (labeled MB above); and
a guide leg 5 extending from an end of the main body and contracting radially
inward relative to an outer wall of the main body (col. 3, lines 10-15), the guide leg adapted to bias (i.e. capable of biasing) a spring sheet of a lead frame and guide the outer wall of the main body.
It would have been obvious to form the wire connecting portion of the Osawa signal terminals 31B with inwardly tapered guide legs 5 as taught in Vaccaro. The reason for doing so would have been to provide a connection between the wire and terminal that has reduced spurious RF signals or PIM (Vaccaro col. 1, lines 15-45) and improved uniform circumferential contact between the wire and signal terminal as taught in Vaccaro (Vaccaro col. 1, lines 15-45). The substituted components and their functions were known in the art. One with ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ.2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 7, Vaccaro and Osawa do not disclose that the signal terminals are stamped integrated parts. The addition of a method step in a product claim, which product is not patentably distinguishable from the prior art, cannot impart patentability to the old product. In re Pilkington, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969). “If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP section 2113. In this case, the process by which the signal terminal is made, whether by stamping or other process, would have been a matter of engineering design choice.
Per claim 8, the Vaccaro and Osawa terminal main bodies are
substantially cylindrical.
Regarding claim 9, Osawa discloses a connecting end assembly 70 detachably connected to the charging end assembly and including a connecting end housing 71 defining a plurality of second openings 73B receiving respective front ends of each of the plurality of
signal terminals.
Regarding claim 11, Osawa does not explicitly disclose that each of the plurality of signal
terminals is detachably fixed in one of the plurality of first openings, though they appear to be as disclosed in the figures. It would have been obvious to make the terminals detachably as a matter of engineering design choice. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). The reason for doing so would have been to simplify assembly and/or repair of the connector.
Regarding claim 17, Osawa discloses a charging base, comprising:
a charging end assembly including:
a charging end housing 30 defining a plurality of first openings (32B) formed therethrough; and
a plurality of signal terminals (31B, i.e., terminals capable of transmitting signals) arranged within the plurality of first openings,
each signal terminal having a main body (labeled MB above), and
a connecting end 70 assembly detachably connected to the charging end assembly and
including a connecting end 71 housing defining a plurality of second openings 73B, with the charging end assembly connected to the connecting end assembly, the plurality of signal terminals arranged within respective ones of the second openings.
Osawa does not disclose clearly how the signal terminals 31B are connected to wires at the wire connecting part and does not show in particular guide legs.
Vaccaro discloses terminals (1, see figure 12) for transmitting signals, each signal terminal having: a main body (labeled MB above); and
a guide leg 5 extending from an end of the main body and contracting radially
inward relative to an outer wall of the main body (col. 3, lines 10-15), the guide leg adapted to bias (i.e. capable of biasing) a spring sheet of a lead frame and guide the outer wall of the main body.
It would have been obvious to form the wire connecting portion of the Osawa signal terminals 31B with inwardly tapered guide legs 5 as taught in Vaccaro. The reason for doing so would have been to provide a connection between the wire and terminal that has reduced spurious RF signals or PIM (Vaccaro col. 1, lines 15-45) and improved uniform circumferential contact between the wire and signal terminal as taught in Vaccaro (Vaccaro col. 1, lines 15-45). The substituted components and their functions were known in the art. One with ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ.2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 20, Osawa does not explicitly disclose that each of the plurality of signal
terminals is detachably fixed in one of the plurality of first openings, though they appear to be as disclosed in the figures. It would have been obvious to make the terminals detachably as a matter of engineering design choice. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). The reason for doing so would have been to simplify assembly and/or repair of the connector.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 10, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROSS N GUSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834