DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOURHIS et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2021/0120750 A1), hereinafter referred to as BOURHIS et al ‘750, in view of KUJAK et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2019/0161659 A1), hereinafter referred to as KUJAK et al ‘659.
Regarding claim 28, BOURHIS et al ‘750 disclose a system (10) comprising: a captured carbon dioxide input coupled to receive captured carbon dioxide from a direct air capture system; and means for using the direct air captured carbon dioxide as a refrigerant to provide heating {see ¶¶ [0002-0003], [0010], [0032], [0054-0055] and [0128]}.
However, BOURHIS et al ‘750 fail to disclose the limitations of the direct air captured carbon dioxide having a global warming potential of one over 100 years.
KUJAK et al ‘659 teach: the concept of carbon dioxide having a global warming potential of one over 100 years {see ¶ [0023]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify BOURHIS et al ‘750 in view of KUJAK et al ‘659 to include the use of the direct air captured carbon dioxide having a global warming potential of one over 100 years, in order to facilitate utilization of environmentally friendly refrigerant {KUJAK et al ‘659 – ¶ [0023]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the BOURHIS et al ‘750 in view of KUJAK et al ‘659 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 28.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of BOURHIS et al ‘750 and KUJAK et al ‘659 disclose and teach the system of claim 28, BOURHIS et al ‘750 disclose wherein the means is a heat pump apparatus {see ¶ [0009]}.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of BOURHIS et al ‘750 and KUJAK et al ‘659 disclose and teach the system of claim 28, BOURHIS et al ‘750 disclose wherein a purity level of the captured carbon dioxide is between a range selected from the group consisting of: 91 % and 100%, 95% and 100%, and 99% and 100% {see ¶ [0107]}.
Regarding claim 31, BOURHIS et al ‘750 disclose a system comprising: a direct air capture system {see ¶¶ [0002-0003], [0010], [0032], [0054-0055] and [0128]}; a multistage compression system that transforms carbon dioxide gas into sub and supercritical carbon dioxide fluid {see Table 1: ¶¶ [0003], [0097], [0111] and [0156]}; and a refrigerant system using the direct air captured carbon dioxide as a refrigerant {see Table 1: ¶¶ [0009] and [0156]}.
However, BOURHIS et al ‘750 fail to disclose the limitations of the direct air captured carbon dioxide having a global warming potential of one over 100 years.
KUJAK et al ‘659 teach: the concept of carbon dioxide having a global warming potential of one over 100 years {see ¶ [0023]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify BOURHIS et al ‘750 in view of KUJAK et al ‘659 to include the use of the direct air captured carbon dioxide having a global warming potential of one over 100 years, in order to facilitate utilization of environmentally friendly refrigerant {KUJAK et al ‘659 – ¶ [0023]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the BOURHIS et al ‘750 in view of KUJAK et al ‘659 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 31.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of BOURHIS et al ‘750 and KUJAK et al ‘659 disclose and teach the system of claim 31, BOURHIS et al ‘750 disclose wherein carbon dioxide is compressed in multiple stages to serve varied temperature requirements throughout mobile and commercial low global warming refrigeration applications {see Table 1: ¶¶ [0009] and [0156]}.
Regarding claim 33, the combination of BOURHIS et al ‘750 and KUJAK et al ‘659 disclose and teach the system of claim 31, BOURHIS et al ‘750 disclose wherein additional multi- ejector system designs are employed to control coolant flow, optimize efficiency, and relieve the load on the main compressor, thus allowing the system to operate in extreme weather conditions {see ¶¶ [0093] and [0113], [0016]; wherein controller constitutes multi- ejector system designs are employed to control coolant flow}.
Regarding claim 34, BOURHIS et al ‘750 disclose a system (10) comprising: a direct air capture system; a multistage compression system that transforms carbon dioxide gas into sub and supercritical carbon dioxide fluid; and a heat pump using direct air captured carbon dioxide as a refrigerant {see Table 1: ¶¶ [0003], [0010], [0032], [0094], [0097], [0111] and [0156]}. However, BOURHIS et al ‘750 fail to disclose the limitations of the direct air captured carbon dioxide having a global warming potential of one over 100 years.
KUJAK et al ‘659 teach: the concept of carbon dioxide having a global warming potential of one over 100 years {see ¶ [0023]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify BOURHIS et al ‘750 in view of KUJAK et al ‘659 to include the use of the direct air captured carbon dioxide having a global warming potential of one over 100 years, in order to facilitate utilization of environmentally friendly refrigerant {KUJAK et al ‘659 – ¶ [0023]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the BOURHIS et al ‘750 in view of KUJAK et al ‘659 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 34.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments, see pages 4-9, filed on 03/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 28-34 under 35 USC § 102(b) have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as detailed above.
Conclusion
3. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
03/21/2026