DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (WO 2019-174012 A1, see also the previously provided English translation), and further in view of Zimmerman et al. (US PGPub 2018/0151910 A1), Kato (US PGPub 2015/0147659 A1), Kang (US PGPub 2019/0319228 A1) and Ishikura et al. (JPH 07142039 A, see also the previously provided English translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Yu discloses in Fig. 7 a battery comprising:
an electrode assembly (103), the electrode assembly (103) including at least unit cell portion, an anode current collector portion (1032), and a cathode current collector portion (1031) (Fig. 1, [0038]); and
a case (101, 102) accommodating the electrode assembly (103), the case (101, 102) including a first case (102) and a second case (101) insulated from each other, the anode current collector portion (1032) contacting the first case (102), and the cathode current collector portion (1031) contacting the second case (101) ([0048]-[0049], [0038]).
However, Yu does not disclose wherein the battery is an all solid secondary battery
Zimmerman teaches an all solid secondary battery that has increased energy, decreased impedance, improved safety, and voltage flexibility ([0163], [0166]).
Specifically, Zimmerman teaches in Fig. 1 the all solid state battery comprising an electrode assembly (10) including at least one unit cell portion (30a, 20a, 40a, 50b, 30b, 20b, 40b), an anode current collector portion (60b, 30d, 50b), and a cathode current collector portion (60a, 40c, 50c) ([0165], see annotated Fig. 1 provided below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the electrode assembly taught by Zimmerman as the electrode assembly of Yu in order to form an all solid secondary battery that has increased energy, decreased impedance, improved safety, and voltage flexibility.
Modified Yu further discloses:
wherein the anode current collector portion (60b, 30d, 50b of Zimmerman) includes an anode current collector (60b of Zimmerman), an anode layer (30d of Zimmerman), and a first electrolyte film (50b of Zimmerman) that are sequentially stacked ([0166] and Fig. 1 of Zimmerman provided above), the anode current collector (60b of Zimmerman, corresponding to 1032 of Yu) being in direct contact with the first case (102 of Yu) (Figs. 1, 7 and [0048]-[0049], [0038] of Yu),
wherein the cathode current collector portion (60a, 40c, 50c of Zimmerman) includes a cathode current collector (60a of Zimmerman), a cathode layer (40c of Zimmerman), and a second electrolyte film (50c of Zimmerman) that are sequentially stacked ([0166] and Fig. 1 of Zimmerman provided above), the cathode current collector (60a of Zimmerman, corresponding to 1031 of Yu) being in direct contact with the second case (101 of Yu) (Figs. 1, 7 and [0048]-[0049], [0038] of Yu),
However, modified Yu does not disclose third electrolytes film between the at least one unit cell portion and each of the cathode and anode current collector portions.
Kato teaches in Fig. 1 an all solid secondary battery comprising an electrolyte film (3) comprising a first solid electrolyte layer (3a) and a second solid electrolyte layer (3b) ([0068], [0031]-[0033]). With this configuration, even if a pinhole is supposedly formed to each of the first solid electrolyte layer (3a) and the second solid electrolyte layer (3b), there is very little possibility that the pinholes are connected in the thickness direction of the electrolyte film (3), thereby inhibiting a short circuit ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form third electrolyte films on the first and second electrolyte films of modified Yu, as taught by Kato, such that the third electrolyte films are between the at least one unit cell portion of modified Yu and each of the cathode and anode current collector portions of modified Yu, in order to inhibit a short circuit.
Modified Yu further discloses wherein sidewalls of the case (101, 102 of Yu) are flat along entire lengths thereof (Fig. 7 of Yu).
However, modified Yu does not disclose wherein an additional case accommodating an additional electrode assembly is electrically connected to the case, the additional case and the additional electrode assembly having same structures as the case and the electrode assembly, respectively, facing sidewalls of the case and the additional case being flat along entire lengths thereof, and the facing sidewalls being even and in direct electrical contact with each other along entire lengths thereof without an additional electrical connection portion therebetween.
Kang teaches a battery module that increases the degree of freedom when a plurality of secondary batteries are coupled to each other ([0008]).
Specifically, Kang teaches wherein a plurality of batteries (100) may be connected together in series in order to achieve a required voltage and/or parallel in order to achieve a required charge/discharge voltage ([0004], [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a battery module comprising the battery of modified Yu and an additional battery, as taught by Kang, such that the additional battery comprise an additional case accommodating an additional electrode assembly that is electrically connected to the case, the additional case and the additional electrode assembly having the same structure as the case of modified Yu and the electrode assembly of modified Yu, in order to achieve a required voltage and/or a required charge/discharge voltage.
Kang further teaches in Figs. 1-8 wherein sidewalls of the secondary batteries (100) are flat along entire lengths thereof, and the facing sidewalls being even and in direct contact with each other along entire lengths thereof ([0044], [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the battery module of modified Yu by directly contacting facing sidewalls of the case of modified Yu and the additional case of modified Yu along entire lengths thereof, and the facing sidewalls are even and in direct contact with each other along entire lengths thereof, as further taught by Kang, in order to form a battery module that increases the degree of freedom when a plurality of secondary batteries are coupled to each other.
The Examiner notes wherein the first case (102 of Yu) of the case (101, 102 Yu) and of the additional case (101, 102 of Yu) function as negative terminals and the second case (101 of Yu) of the case (101, 102 Yu) and of the additional case (101, 102 of Yu) function as positive terminals ([0038] of Yu) and therefore the facing sidewalls of modified Yu achieve direct electrical contact with each other along entire lengths thereof without an additional electrical portion therebetween.
Assuming arguendo, Ishikura teaches in Figs. 1-5 a battery module comprising a plurality of secondary batteries (B, B) each comprising a case (1) including a first case (2) and a second case (3) insulated from each other, wherein the first case (2) has a first polarity (e.g. positive terminals 141, 142, 153) and the second case (3) has a second polarity (e.g. negative terminals 151, 143, 152), and wherein facing sidewalls of the cases (1) are in direct electrical contact with each other along entire lengths thereof without an additional electrical connection portion therebetween in order to connect the plurality of secondary batteries (B, B) in series or parallel to form the battery module ([0014], [0016]-[0017], [0021]-[0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the facing sidewalls of modified Yu to be in direct electrical contact with each other along entire lengths thereof without an additional electrical connection portion therebetween, as taught by Ishikura, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that doing so would successfully form the battery module desired by modified Yu.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses an insulator (104 of Yu) between the first case (102 of Yu) and the second case (101 of Yu) (Fig. 7 and [0048] of Yu).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the third electrolyte (e.g. 3a or 3b of Kato) is in direct contact with each of the first and second electrolyte films (50b or 50c of Zimmerman, corresponding to 3a or 3b of Kato) (Fig. 1 and [0031]-[0034] of Kato).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the at least one unit cell portion (30a, 20a, 40a, 50b, 30b, 20b, 40b of Zimmerman) is arranged between the anode current collector portion (60b, 30d, 50b of Zimmerman) and the cathode current collector portion (60a, 40c, 50c of Zimmerman) ([0165], see annotated Fig. 1 of Zimmerman provided above).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the at least one unit cell portion (30a, 20a, 40a, 50b, 30b, 20b, 40b of Zimmerman) includes:
a cathode layer (40a of Zimmerman) and an anode layer (30a of Zimmerman) respectively arranged on opposite sides of a bipolar plate (20a of Zimmerman), and
the third electrolyte films (3a or 3b of Kato) are respectively arranged on each of an outer side of the anode layer (30a of Zimmerman) of the at least one unit cell portion (30a, 20a, 40a, 50b, 30b, 20b, 40b of Zimmerman) and an outer side of the cathode layer (40a of Zimmerman) of the at least one unit cell portion (30a, 20a, 40a, 50b, 30b, 20b, 40b of Zimmerman) (Fig. 1 of Zimmerman and Fig. 1, [0031]-[0034] of Kato).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (WO 2019-174012 A1, see also the provided EPO machine generated English translation) in view of Zimmerman et al. (US PGPub 2018/0151910 A1), Kato (US PGPub 2015/0147659 A1), Kang (US PGPub 2019/0319228 A1) and Ishikura et al. (JPH 07142039 A, see also the previously provided English translation), as applied to Claim 2 above, with evidence provided by Towler et al. (US PGPub 2007/0104999 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the insulator (104 of Yu) includes an elastic material, such as polypropylene (PP) or polyethylene (PE).
The Examiner notes that polypropylene (PP) and polyethylene (PE) are deformable, as evidenced by [0043] of Towler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize polypropylene or polyethylene as the insulator of modified Yu, as disclosed by modified Yu, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the insulator desired by modified Yu.
The Examiner notes that the limitation “the insulator being deformable in accordance with changes in volumes of the electrode assembly and the case” is intended use and therefore is not given patentable weight aside from the structure required to perform such function.
Thus, because modified Yu discloses wherein the insulator is deformable, as evidenced by [0043] of Towler, such reads on the limitation “the insulator being deformable in accordance with changes in volumes of the electrode assembly and the case”.
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (WO 2019-174012 A1, see also the previously provided English translation), and further in view of Zimmerman et al. (US PGPub 2018/0151910 A1), Kang (US PGPub 2019/0319228 A1), and Ishikura et al. (JPH 07142039 A, see also the previously provided English translation).
Regarding Claim 14, Yu discloses in Fig. 7 a battery module (battery pack) ([0012], [0056]) comprising,
a plurality of batteries, each of the plurality of batteries including an electrode assembly (103), the electrode assembly (103) including at least unit cell portion, an anode current collector portion (1032), and a cathode current collector portion (1031) (Fig. 1, [0012], [0038], [0056]); and
a plurality of cases (101, 102), each of the plurality of cases (101, 102) accommodating one of the plurality of batteries, each of the plurality of cases (101, 102) including a first case (102) and a second case (101) insulated from each other, the anode current collector portion (1032) of the one of the plurality of batteries contacting the first case (102), and the cathode current collector portion (1031) of the one of the plurality of batteries contacting the second case (101) ([0048]-[0049], [0038], [0056]).
However, Yu does not disclose wherein the batteries are all solid secondary batteries.
Zimmerman teaches an all solid secondary battery that has increased energy, decreased impedance, improved safety, and voltage flexibility ([0163], [0166]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the batteries of Yu to be all solid secondary batteries, as taught by Zimmerman, in order to form an all solid secondary battery module that has increased energy, decreased impedance, improved safety, and voltage flexibility.
Modified Yu further discloses wherein facing sidewalls of adjacent cases (101, 102 of Yu) in the plurality of cases (101, 102 of Yu) are flat along entire lengths thereof (Fig. 7 of Yu).
However, modified Yu does not disclose the facing sidewalls being even and in direct electrical contact with each other along entire lengths thereof without an additional electrical connection portion therebetween.
Kang teaches a battery module that increases the degree of freedom when a plurality of secondary batteries are coupled to each other ([0008]).
Specifically, Kang teaches wherein a plurality of batteries (100) may be connected together in series in order to achieve a required voltage and/or parallel in order to achieve a required charge/discharge voltage ([0004], [0041]).
Kang further teaches in Figs. 1-8 wherein sidewalls of the secondary batteries (100) are flat along entire lengths thereof, and the facing sidewalls being even and in direct contact with each other along entire lengths thereof ([0044], [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the all solid secondary battery module of modified Yu by directly contacting facing sidewalls of adjacent cases in the plurality of cases of modified Yu along entire lengths thereof, and the facing sidewalls are even and in direct contact with each other along entire lengths thereof, as taught by Kang, in order to form a battery module that increases the degree of freedom when a plurality of secondary batteries are coupled to each other.
The Examiner notes wherein the first case (102 of Yu) of the case (101, 102 Yu) and of the additional case (101, 102 of Yu) function as negative terminals and the second case (101 of Yu) of the case (101, 102 Yu) and of the additional case (101, 102 of Yu) function as positive terminals ([0038] of Yu) and therefore the facing sidewalls of modified Yu achieve direct electrical contact with each other along entire lengths thereof without an additional electrical portion therebetween.
Assuming arguendo, Ishikura teaches in Figs. 1-5 a battery module comprising a plurality of secondary batteries (B, B) each comprising a case (1) including a first case (2) and a second case (3) insulated from each other, wherein the first case (2) has a first polarity (e.g. positive terminals 141, 142, 153) and the second case (3) has a second polarity (e.g. negative terminals 151, 143, 152), and wherein facing sidewalls of the cases (1) are in direct electrical contact with each other along entire lengths thereof without an additional electrical connection portion therebetween in order to connect the plurality of secondary batteries (B, B) in series or parallel to form the battery module ([0014], [0016]-[0017], [0021]-[0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the facing sidewalls of modified Yu to be in direct electrical contact with each other along entire lengths thereof without an additional electrical connection portion therebetween, as taught by Ishikura, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that doing so would successfully form the battery module desired by modified Yu.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a first case (102 of Yu) of a first secondary battery of the plurality of secondary batteries is arranged to contact a second case (101 of Yu) of a second secondary battery of the plurality of secondary batteries, the first case (102 of Yu) and the second case (101 of Yu) having different polarities (Fig. 4, [0014], [0016]-[0017], [0021] of Ishikura or Fig. 5, [0055]-[0056] of Kang, e.g. connected in series).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Yu does not disclose wherein an insulator is arranged on one side of the first case of the first secondary battery and another side of the second case of the second secondary battery.
Ishikura further teaches in an additional exemplary embodiment wherein an insulator (23) may be arranged on one side of the first case (2) of the first secondary battery and another side of the second case (3) of the second secondary battery in order to prevent short circuiting (Fig. 18, [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange an insulator on one side of the first case of the first secondary battery of modified Yu and another side of the second case of the second secondary battery of modified Yu, as taught by Ishikura, in order to prevent short circuiting.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Yu further discloses wherein a first case (102 of Yu) of a first secondary battery of the plurality of secondary batteries is arranged to contact a second case (101 of Yu) of a second secondary battery of the plurality of secondary batteries, the first case (102 of Yu) and the second case (101 of Yu) having same polarities (Fig. 5, [0014], [0016]-[0017], [0022] or Ishikura or Fig. 8, [0057]-[0058] of Kang, e.g. connected in parallel).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Yu further discloses wherein an insulator (104 of Yu) is arranged between the first case (102 of Yu) of the first secondary battery of the plurality of secondary batteries and a second case (101 of Yu) of the first secondary battery of the plurality of secondary batteries (Fig. 7 and [0048] of Yu).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended Claims 1 and 14, the Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach or suggest an all solid secondary battery in which the facing sidewalls are flat and even and in direct electrical contact with each other along entire lengths thereof without an additional electrical connection portion therebetween.
The Applicant argues that the entire connection structure of Ishikura relies on the interlocking physical protrusions to establish a connection. Accordingly, even if one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to modify the device of Yu based on the teachings of Ishikura, such would fail to correspond with the claimed invention because the interlocking physical protrusions (which render the surfaces no longer flat and even) are required in Ishikura in order to establish the electrical connection.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that, while the cases of Ishikura are not flat and even along entire lengths thereof ([0001]-[0002], e.g. see protrusions and recesses that make the battery module highly vibration-resistant and less susceptible to poor contact), such is not required in order to electrically connect the plurality of secondary batteries together in series or parallel to form a battery module.
Specifically, the Examiner notes that the electrical connection of the secondary batteries is achieved due to direct contact between first and second cases of the secondary batteries, which function as electrode terminals. Therefore, the teaching of Ishikura can successfully be applied to the battery module of Yu comprising first and second cases functioning as electrode terminals.
The Applicant further argues that in Kang, the electrical connect between adjacent batteries is explicitly established between two pairs of electrode leads 150, 170 on outer surfaces of the case. The pairs of electrode leads 150, 170 fail to cover the entire surface of the battery cells. In addition, the two pairs of electrode leads 150, 170 would be considered additional electrical portions. The Kang reference fails to teach or suggest an arrangement where the entire surfaces of the cases themselves serve as the sole electrical connection medium such that facing sidewalls are in direct electrical contact with each other along entire lengths thereof without an additional electrical connection portion therebetween.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth in the rejection above, modified Yu discloses wherein the first case (102 of Yu) of the case (101, 102 Yu) and of the additional case (101, 102 of Yu) function as negative terminals and the second case (101 of Yu) of the case (101, 102 Yu) and of the additional case (101, 102 of Yu) function as positive terminals ([0038] of Yu).
Kang teaches in Figs. 1-8 a battery module that increases the degree of freedom when a plurality of secondary batteries are coupled to each other ([0008]), wherein sidewalls of the secondary batteries (100) are flat along entire lengths thereof, and the facing sidewalls being even and in direct contact with each other along entire lengths thereof ([0044], [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the battery module of modified Yu by directly contacting facing sidewalls of the case of modified Yu and the additional case of modified Yu along entire lengths thereof, and the facing sidewalls are even and in direct contact with each other along entire lengths thereof, as further taught by Kang, in order to form a battery module that increases the degree of freedom when a plurality of secondary batteries are coupled to each other.
The Examiner notes wherein the first case (102 of Yu) of the case (101, 102 Yu) and of the additional case (101, 102 of Yu) function as negative terminals and the second case (101 of Yu) of the case (101, 102 Yu) and of the additional case (101, 102 of Yu) function as positive terminals ([0038] of Yu) and therefore the facing sidewalls of modified Yu achieve direct electrical contact with each other along entire lengths thereof without an additional electrical portion therebetween.
In other words, Kang was relied on to teach wherein flat, even sidewalls of adjacent batteries (100) can be put in direct contact with each other in order to form a battery module that increases the degree of freedom when a plurality of secondary batteries are coupled to each other (Figs. 1-8, [0044], [0053]). Because the flat, even sidewalls of modified Yu function as electrode terminals, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to form the battery module of modified Yu by contacting facing sidewalls of the case of modified Yu and the additional case of modified Yu along entire lengths, such that the facing sidewalls are in direct electrical contact with each other along the entire lengths thereof, without needing an additional electrical connection portion (e.g. electrode leads) therebetween.
Assuming arguendo, Ishikura teaches in Figs. 1-5 a battery module comprising a plurality of secondary batteries (B, B) each comprising a case (1) including a first case (2) and a second case (3) insulated from each other, wherein the first case (2) has a first polarity (e.g. positive terminals 141, 142, 153) and the second case (3) has a second polarity (e.g. negative terminals 151, 143, 152), and wherein facing sidewalls of the cases (1) are in direct electrical contact with each other along entire lengths thereof without an additional electrical connection portion therebetween in order to connect the plurality of secondary batteries (B, B) in series or parallel to form the battery module ([0014], [0016]-[0017], [0021]-[0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the facing sidewalls of modified Yu to be in direct electrical contact with each other along entire lengths thereof without an additional electrical connection portion therebetween, as taught by Ishikura, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that doing so would successfully form the battery module desired by modified Yu.
Therefore, the Examiner notes that the claimed electrical connection between the case and the additional case is rendered obvious in light of the combined teachings of Kang and Ishikura.
Thus, the arguments are not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jobson et al. (US PGPub 2022/0263179 A1) teaches in Figs. 2-7 a battery module (12) that connects a plurality of batteries (14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24) together in series and/or in parallel ([0059]).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725