DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Non-Final Office action is in response to the application filed on 11/25/2025. Claims 1, 11, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Priority
Application 18/101,204 claims priority to KR10-2022-0007976 filed 01/19/2022, and is continuation of PCT/KR2023/000881 filed 01/18/2023.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 11, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: "are transferrable only upon transfer the real asset" should read "are transferrable only upon transfer of the real asset". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-20 are directed to a system, method, or product which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
Claims 1, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites a method, computing device, and non-transitory computer-readable recording medium for managing assets by integrating a non-fungible token to a real asset. For Claims 1 , 11, and 20 the limitations of (Claim 1 being representative):
obtaining a […] token […] asset identifier (ID) of an […] [token] asset linked to a real asset;
mapping the obtained [token] […] asset ID to a wallet ID of a […] wallet that is uniquely generated in a one-to-one manner in association with the real asset; and
registering the mapped […] [token] asset ID and wallet ID on a blockchain and integrating the registered […] [token] asset ID and wallet ID in the real asset, wherein the […] [token] asset is uniquely identifiable in association with the real asset through the registered […] [token] asset ID and the wallet ID that are integrated into the real asset, and
wherein the […] [token] asset ID and the wallet ID are transferrable only upon transfer the real asset associated with the registered […] [token] asset ID and the wallet ID,
The above limitations are reciting a commercial/legal interaction that is claiming management of obtaining, mapping, registering, and transferring assets associated with a token linked to a real asset. More specifically, the claims recite commercial or legal interactions which include agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations. In these claims, the business and legal obligation is the transferring of ownership of an asset. Given that a token symbolizes ownership of an asset with an asset identification and wallet identification, this token is a contract or legal obligation. The fact that the token asset ID and wallet ID is being transferred on a blockchain and using generic computing components, it is still part of the abstract idea because it merely recites a specific format in which the token is to be stored. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas since the claim limitations pertain to (i) commercial/legal interactions; and more specifically sales activities or behaviors; and/or (ii) managing personal behavior/relationships or interactions between people, under certain methods of organizing human activity. See MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)/(Il). Accordingly, Claims 1, 11, and 20 recite an abstract idea. (Step 2A- Prong 1: YES. The claims are abstract).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1, 11, and 20 recites the additional elements of a non-fungible token (NFT) (Claims 1, 11, and 20), virtual wallet (Claims 1, 11, and 20), memory (Claim 11), processor (Claims 11), asset management device (Claim 11), and a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (Claim 20) that implements the identified abstract idea. These additional elements are not described by the applicant and are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., one or more generic computers performing a generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claims 1, 11, and 20 are directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO: the additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application).
Claims 1, 11, and 20 further recite the additional element of a non-fungible token. The additional element of a non-fungible token merely generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) indicates that generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide a practical application. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a non-fungible token (NFT) (Claims 1, 11, and 20), virtual wallet (Claims 1, 11, and 20), memory (Claim 11), processor (Claims 11), asset management device (Claim 11), a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (Claim 20), to perform the noted steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more’). Also, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of a non-fungible token were determined to generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. This has been re-evaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and has also been found insufficient to provide significantly more. MPEP 2106.05(A) indicates that generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use cannot provide significantly more. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not provide significantly more. As such claims 1, 11, and 20 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more).
Dependent Claims 2-10, and 12-19 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea of independent claims 1, 11 and 20 as discussed above. Claim(s) 2, 3, 12, and 13 merely describe(s) how the NFT is obtained. Claim 4, and 14 merely describes the transferring of ownership. Claim 6, and 16 merely describe(s) the integration of the NFT asset ID and wallet ID. Claim 8 merely describe(s) the form of the NFT asset ID and wallet ID. Claim 10, and 19 merely describe(s) the authentication of the NFT asset and real asset. Therefore claims 2-4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, 16, and 19 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
Dependent Claim(s) 5, 7, 9, 15, 17, and 18 recite limitations that further define the abstract idea noted in independent claims 1, 11, and 20. In addition, it recites the additional elements of a video device, audio device, and external device via near field communication. The video device, audio device, and external device via near field communication, are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computing component. Even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, dependent claims 2-10, and 12-19 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andon (US 20200184547 A1), in view of Haruna (WO2021111653A1), and in further view of Chalkley (US 20230088936 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Andon discloses, An asset management method comprising: “Presented herein are cryptographic digital assets for articles of footwear and apparel, methods for provisioning and methods for intermingling such cryptographic digital assets, and decentralized computing systems with attendant blockchain control logic for mining, intermingling, and exchanging blockchain-enabled digital shoes and apparel” (Andon Par. 0007).
obtaining a non-fungible token (NFT) asset identifier (ID) of an NFT asset linked to a real asset; “In a representative example, an authenticated pair of physical shoes are created and assigned a Unique Product Identifier (UPID). Upon purchase by a consumer, the UPID is used to unlock a cryptographic digital asset—a “CryptoKick”—composed of a collectible digital shoe and a unique non-fungible token (NFT) operating on a blockchain-based distributed computing platform” (Andon Par. 0041).
mapping the obtained NFT asset ID to a wallet ID of a virtual wallet that is uniquely generated in a one-to-one manner in association with the real asset; and “In general, before a consumer can unlock or acquire a CryptoKick, they may first be required to procure a blockchain locker address (e.g., an Ethereum hardware wallet). This blockchain locker may be used to store the private key belonging to the CryptoKick's NFT and, optionally, may be linked to a personal user account that is registered with the original manufacturer of the physical shoes (e.g., a NIKEPLUS® account profile)” (Andon Par. 0042). “Clause 42: The method of any of clauses 28-41, wherein the unique owner ID code is linked with a cryptocurrency wallet registered with the distributed blockchain ledger” (Andon Par. 0163). "The unique owner ID code may be linked with a cryptocurrency wallet that registered with the distributed blockchain ledger" (Andon Par. 0019).
registering the mapped NFT asset ID and wallet ID on a blockchain, “This blockchain locker may be used to store the private key belonging to the CryptoKick's NFT and, optionally, may be linked to a personal user account that is registered with the original manufacturer of the physical shoes (e.g., a NIKEPLUS® account profile).” (Andon Par. 0041-0042).
and integrating the registered NFT asset ID and wallet ID in the real asset, "a visual or electronic tag (RFID or NFC) hidden in the physical shoe" (Andon Par. 0043). "As noted above, FIG. 7 schematically illustrates a method of acquiring a digital collectable or attribute pack that may be linked or coordinated with the sale of a physical product. Namely, as shown in FIG. 7, the user 11 brings a device (i.e., smart phone device 40) in proximity to a physical product 200 that includes an identifier (UPID), such as a QR Code, barcode, digital image, RFID tag, NFC tag, BLUETOOTH id, registry entry in an embedded processor, or some other machine readable code. This code may then be recognized by the phone 40 either optically, via radio frequency communication, magnetic properties, or via wired data communication. Following the identification/recognition of the UPID, the phone 40 may initiate the transfer and/or original provisioning of a digital asset 202 linked with that product 200 to the user's locker 204 that is in communication with a blockchain service/network 60. In an extension of this concept, the transfer of the digital asset 202 may be further secured using a PIN, cryptographic key, access code, or the like that may be provided, for example, on a receipt following the user's purchase of the product 200" (Andon Par. 0100).
wherein the NFT asset is uniquely identifiable in association with the real asset through the registered NFT asset ID that are integrated into the real asset. “In a representative example, an authenticated pair of physical shoes are created and assigned a Unique Product Identifier (UPID). Upon purchase by a consumer, the UPID is used to unlock a cryptographic digital asset—a “CryptoKick”—composed of a collectible digital shoe and a unique non-fungible token (NFT) operating on a blockchain-based distributed computing platform” (Andon Par. 0041). “Upon determining that the user 11 has acquired a digital blockchain locker (Block 103=YES), or after linking the user's blockchain locker to their personal user account (Block 107), the method 100 continues to input/output block 109 to enable or “unlock” a cryptographic digital asset associated with the footwear 10 transacted at process block 101. As indicated above, after purchasing the footwear 10, the CryptoKick Physical ID or a universally recognized UPID product code may be used to retrieve a collectible CryptoKick, which is generally composed of a collectible digital shoe 44 and a unique NFT that is identified by an encrypted token key 46. A salesperson at a POS terminal or the user 11 employing their smartphone 40 may scan the UPID or UPC on the shoe 10 or a box storing therein the shoe 10. Alternatively, the user 11 may be prompted to carry out a “treasure hunt” using a digital camera on their smartphone to scan various UPIDs throughout a brick-and-mortar store until they scan one that is linked to a KickID. Enabling a cryptographic digital asset may be automatic, random, systematic, prize based, or any logically appropriate manner” (Andon Par. 0077). See also Andon Par. 0043
Andon discloses obtaining a non-fungible token (NFT) asset identifier (ID) of an NFT asset linked to a real asset, mapping the obtained NFT asset ID to a wallet ID that is uniquely generated in a one-to-one manner in association with the real asset, and registering the mapped NFT asset ID and wallet ID on a blockchain, wherein the NFT asset is uniquely identifiable in association with the real asset through the registered NFT asset ID that are integrated into the real asset. Andon fails to disclose the wallet ID being integrated into the real asset. Haruna, however, does disclose,
and the wallet ID [integrated into the real asset] “In this embodiment, the URL may include, in addition to the NFT_ID, an address of the NFT 70 on the Ethereum, an ID of the NFT, and a secret key of an Ethereum address to be a payment source for a fee (Gas on the Ethereum) for calling the smart contract 20” (Haruna Par. 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of managing an object associated with an NFT of Andon with a wallet ID being integrated into the object of Haruna to determine when the ownership of an asset has changed, and when a fee needs to occur (Haruna Par. 0026, 0055, 0071).
The combination of Andon and Haruna disclose obtaining an NFT asset associated with a real asset that is registered on a blockchain. The combination of Andon and Haruna fails to disclose wherein the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID are transferrable only upon transfer of the real asset associated with the registered NFT asset ID and the wallet ID. Chalkley, however, does disclose,
wherein the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID are transferrable only upon transfer the real asset associated with the registered NFT asset ID and the wallet ID . "A request to transfer ownership of the physical item and the NFT of the combined listing to a user account is received (block 706). In accordance with the principles discussed herein, the request accepts the option to store the physical item in the physical storage vault. By way of example, the user of client device 106 or 108 selects via the user interface to initiate an ownership transfer of the physical item 304 and the NFT 302 of the combined listing 306 to a corresponding user account, and the user also selects via the user interface the option to store the physical item 304 in the physical storage vault 140. In other words, the user accepts the option to store the physical item 304 in the physical storage vault 140. Based on this user input, the client device 106 or 108 (e.g., via the application 142 or 148) generates transfer request 308, which digitally persists the selected request to transfer ownership of the physical item 304 and the NFT 302 of the combined listing 306 to the user account" (Chalkley Par. 0111). ""the nodes 112 determines whether the transfer of the NFT 302 to the user account is valid, e.g., using a consensus mechanism. If the nodes 112 determine that the transfer to the user account is a valid transaction, the nodes 112 commit the valid transfer to the blockchain 116. To do so, the nodes 112 may cause the public wallet addresses of the parties to the transaction (including the public address of the digital wallet 146) to be digitally recorded in the NFT 302's data on the blockchain 116" (Chalkley Par. 0075). "The fingerprint capture system 130 generates a fingerprint 206 of the physical item 204. The fingerprint 206 is unique to the physical item 204 and may be used to uniquely identify the physical item 204 from other physical items, including from another specimen of the same item (e.g., two luxury watches of the same brand, make, model, etc.)" (Chalkley Par. 0049). "FIG. 2 depicts an example 200 of a system to fingerprint physical items to mint NFTs. The illustrated example 200 includes from FIG. 1 the fingerprint capture system 130, the authentication service system 132, the minting system 128, and the listing platform 134. The illustrated example 200 also includes the blockchain 116" (Chalkley Par. 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of managing an object associated with an NFT of Andon and Haruna with the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID only transferred with the real asset of Chalkley to verify whether a physical item corresponds to an authentic physical item (Chalkley Par. 0039).
Regarding Claim 11,
Andon discloses, An asset management device comprising: “Presented herein are cryptographic digital assets for articles of footwear and apparel, methods for provisioning and methods for intermingling such cryptographic digital assets, and decentralized computing systems with attendant blockchain control logic for mining, intermingling, and exchanging blockchain-enabled digital shoes and apparel” (Andon Par. 0007).
a memory storing one or more instructions; (Andon Par. 0024).
and a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to: (Andon Par. 0072)
obtain a non-fungible token (NFT) asset identifier (ID) of an NFT asset linked to a real asset, “In a representative example, an authenticated pair of physical shoes are created and assigned a Unique Product Identifier (UPID). Upon purchase by a consumer, the UPID is used to unlock a cryptographic digital asset—a “CryptoKick”—composed of a collectible digital shoe and a unique non-fungible token (NFT) operating on a blockchain-based distributed computing platform” (Andon Par. 0041).
map the obtained NFT asset ID to a wallet ID of a virtual wallet that is uniquely generated in a one-to-one manner in association with the real asset, “In general, before a consumer can unlock or acquire a CryptoKick, they may first be required to procure a blockchain locker address (e.g., an Ethereum hardware wallet). This blockchain locker may be used to store the private key belonging to the CryptoKick's NFT and, optionally, may be linked to a personal user account that is registered with the original manufacturer of the physical shoes (e.g., a NIKEPLUS® account profile)” (Andon Par. 0042). “Clause 42: The method of any of clauses 28-41, wherein the unique owner ID code is linked with a cryptocurrency wallet registered with the distributed blockchain ledger” (Andon Par. 0163).
register the mapped NFT asset ID and wallet ID on a blockchain, and “This blockchain locker may be used to store the private key belonging to the CryptoKick's NFT and, optionally, may be linked to a personal user account that is registered with the original manufacturer of the physical shoes (e.g., a NIKEPLUS® account profile).” (Andon Par. 0041-0042).
and integrating the registered NFT asset ID and wallet ID in the real asset, "a visual or electronic tag (RFID or NFC) hidden in the physical shoe" (Andon Par. 0043). "As noted above, FIG. 7 schematically illustrates a method of acquiring a digital collectable or attribute pack that may be linked or coordinated with the sale of a physical product. Namely, as shown in FIG. 7, the user 11 brings a device (i.e., smart phone device 40) in proximity to a physical product 200 that includes an identifier (UPID), such as a QR Code, barcode, digital image, RFID tag, NFC tag, BLUETOOTH id, registry entry in an embedded processor, or some other machine readable code. This code may then be recognized by the phone 40 either optically, via radio frequency communication, magnetic properties, or via wired data communication. Following the identification/recognition of the UPID, the phone 40 may initiate the transfer and/or original provisioning of a digital asset 202 linked with that product 200 to the user's locker 204 that is in communication with a blockchain service/network 60. In an extension of this concept, the transfer of the digital asset 202 may be further secured using a PIN, cryptographic key, access code, or the like that may be provided, for example, on a receipt following the user's purchase of the product 200" (Andon Par. 0100).
control the NFT asset to be uniquely identifiable in association with the real asset through the registered NFT asset ID that are integrated into the real asset. “In a representative example, an authenticated pair of physical shoes are created and assigned a Unique Product Identifier (UPID). Upon purchase by a consumer, the UPID is used to unlock a cryptographic digital asset—a “CryptoKick”—composed of a collectible digital shoe and a unique non-fungible token (NFT) operating on a blockchain-based distributed computing platform” (Andon Par. 0041). “Upon determining that the user 11 has acquired a digital blockchain locker (Block 103=YES), or after linking the user's blockchain locker to their personal user account (Block 107), the method 100 continues to input/output block 109 to enable or “unlock” a cryptographic digital asset associated with the footwear 10 transacted at process block 101. As indicated above, after purchasing the footwear 10, the CryptoKick Physical ID or a universally recognized UPID product code may be used to retrieve a collectible CryptoKick, which is generally composed of a collectible digital shoe 44 and a unique NFT that is identified by an encrypted token key 46. A salesperson at a POS terminal or the user 11 employing their smartphone 40 may scan the UPID or UPC on the shoe 10 or a box storing therein the shoe 10. Alternatively, the user 11 may be prompted to carry out a “treasure hunt” using a digital camera on their smartphone to scan various UPIDs throughout a brick-and-mortar store until they scan one that is linked to a KickID. Enabling a cryptographic digital asset may be automatic, random, systematic, prize based, or any logically appropriate manner” (Andon Par. 0077). See also Andon Par. 0043
Andon discloses obtaining a non-fungible token (NFT) asset identifier (ID) of an NFT asset linked to a real asset, mapping the obtained NFT asset ID to a wallet ID that is uniquely generated in a one-to-one manner in association with the real asset, and registering the mapped NFT asset ID and wallet ID on a blockchain, wherein the NFT asset is uniquely identifiable in association with the real asset through the registered NFT asset ID that are integrated into the real asset. Andon fails to disclose the wallet ID being integrated into the real asset, and allowing verification of the NFT asset and the virtual wallet through transfer of the virtual wallet and the NFT asset. Haruna, however, does disclose,
and the wallet ID [integrated into the real asset] “In this embodiment, the URL may include, in addition to the NFT_ID, an address of the NFT 70 on the Ethereum, an ID of the NFT, and a secret key of an Ethereum address to be a payment source for a fee (Gas on the Ethereum) for calling the smart contract 20” (Haruna Par. 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of managing an object associated with an NFT of Andon with a wallet ID being integrated into the object of Haruna to determine when the ownership of an asset has changed, and when a fee needs to occur (Haruna Par. 0026, 0055, 0071).
The combination of Andon and Haruna disclose obtaining an NFT asset associated with a real asset that is registered on a blockchain. The combination of Andon and Haruna fails to disclose wherein the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID are transferrable only upon transfer of the real asset associated with the registered NFT asset ID and the wallet ID. Chalkley, however, does disclose,
wherein the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID are transferrable only upon transfer the real asset associated with the registered NFT asset ID and the wallet ID "A request to transfer ownership of the physical item and the NFT of the combined listing to a user account is received (block 706). In accordance with the principles discussed herein, the request accepts the option to store the physical item in the physical storage vault. By way of example, the user of client device 106 or 108 selects via the user interface to initiate an ownership transfer of the physical item 304 and the NFT 302 of the combined listing 306 to a corresponding user account, and the user also selects via the user interface the option to store the physical item 304 in the physical storage vault 140. In other words, the user accepts the option to store the physical item 304 in the physical storage vault 140. Based on this user input, the client device 106 or 108 (e.g., via the application 142 or 148) generates transfer request 308, which digitally persists the selected request to transfer ownership of the physical item 304 and the NFT 302 of the combined listing 306 to the user account" (Chalkley Par. 0111). ""the nodes 112 determines whether the transfer of the NFT 302 to the user account is valid, e.g., using a consensus mechanism. If the nodes 112 determine that the transfer to the user account is a valid transaction, the nodes 112 commit the valid transfer to the blockchain 116. To do so, the nodes 112 may cause the public wallet addresses of the parties to the transaction (including the public address of the digital wallet 146) to be digitally recorded in the NFT 302's data on the blockchain 116" (Chalkley Par. 0075). "The fingerprint capture system 130 generates a fingerprint 206 of the physical item 204. The fingerprint 206 is unique to the physical item 204 and may be used to uniquely identify the physical item 204 from other physical items, including from another specimen of the same item (e.g., two luxury watches of the same brand, make, model, etc.)" (Chalkley Par. 0049). "FIG. 2 depicts an example 200 of a system to fingerprint physical items to mint NFTs. The illustrated example 200 includes from FIG. 1 the fingerprint capture system 130, the authentication service system 132, the minting system 128, and the listing platform 134. The illustrated example 200 also includes the blockchain 116" (Chalkley Par. 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of managing an object associated with an NFT of Andon and Haruna with the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID only transferred with the real asset of Chalkley to verify whether a physical item corresponds to an authentic physical item (Chalkley Par. 0039).
Regarding Claim 2 and Claim 12,
The combination of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley disclose the method of claim 1, and asset management device of claim 11, as shown above. Andon, further discloses, wherein the obtaining of the NFT asset ID comprises: generating a digital asset corresponding to the real asset; and obtaining the NFT asset ID by minting the digital asset as an NFT. “In a representative example, an authenticated pair of physical shoes are created and assigned a Unique Product Identifier (UPID). Upon purchase by a consumer, the UPID is used to unlock a cryptographic digital asset—a “CryptoKick”—composed of a collectible digital shoe and a unique non-fungible token (NFT) operating on a blockchain-based distributed computing platform. In general, before a consumer can unlock or acquire a CryptoKick, they may first be required to procure a blockchain locker address (e.g., an Ethereum hardware wallet). This blockchain locker may be used to store the private key belonging to the CryptoKick's NFT and, optionally, may be linked to a personal user account that is registered with the original manufacturer of the physical shoes (e.g., a NIKEPLUS® account profile)” (Andon Par. 0041-0042).
Regarding Claim 3 and Claim 13,
The combination of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley disclose the method of claim 1, and asset management device of claim 11, as shown above. Andon, further discloses, wherein the obtaining of the NFT asset ID comprises: determining the real asset as an asset to be linked to the NFT asset; and integrating the NFT asset ID into the determined real asset. “It is envisioned that there are several ways in which a user may be enabled to unlock a CryptoKick. As a first example, upon scanning the shoe's UPC or UPID at a point-of-sale (POS) terminal during first purchase or directly associated with the product, a unique crypto-token and corresponding private key (“KickID”) are automatically generated and assigned to the user's blockchain locker (see FIG. 7). In a second example, a KickID is provided to the user via a printed or digital receipt, a visual or electronic tag (RFID or NFC) hidden in the physical shoe, a pop-up message or email sent to a personal user account, a push notification or text message sent to a smartphone, or some other record; the consumer uses the KickID to link the CryptoKick to their digital blockchain locker. Another example may require the user to assemble the KickID in part via a physical code or UPID associated with the shoe (on the box, on a hang tag, under a label, on an insole, etc.), and in part via a transaction authentication code (i.e., to prevent consumers from collecting a CryptoKick when they merely try on a pair of shoes). Another example may require the user to “hunt” for CryptoKicks in a brick-and-mortar store by using a photographic “snap” or augmented reality (“AR”) function on a handheld personal computing device. For this method, a KickID may be provided via the validated transaction, however, the user must separately find a hidden CryptoKick in AR hidden within the store or local area before the digital asset can be transferred to their locker (i.e., the cryptographic key and the virtual object must both be separately acquired before the transfer occurs). In this example, obtaining the cryptographic key may enable the AR engine associated with a user device to initiate a game where the CryptoKick/virtual object associated with that key is locally hidden and available for the user to locate” (Andon Par. 0043).
Regarding Claim 4 and Claim 14,
The combination of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley disclose the method of claim 1, and asset management device of claim 11, as shown above. Haruna, further discloses, wherein ownership of the NFT asset is transferred by transferring the real asset offline. “The owner of the NFT 70 is changed on the Ethereum with change, of the owner (possessor) of the card 40, caused by buying and selling of the card 40. The management server 10 executes a process necessary for, on the Ethereum, changing the owner of the NFT 70 with the change of the owner of the card 40. In contrast to the above, the card 40 may be bought and sold in order to change the owner of the NFT 70 (in order to buy and sell the NFT 70)” (Haruna Par. 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of managing an object associated with an NFT of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley with the ownership of the NFT asset being transferred by transferring the real asset offline of Haruna so the new owner is in possession of the real asset and the owner is on record (Haruna Par. 0023).
Regarding Claim 6 and Claim 16,
The combination of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley disclose the method of claim 1, and asset management device of claim 11, as shown above. Andon, further discloses, wherein the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID are integrated into the real asset by using at least one of a hardware-based method and a software-based method. “It is envisioned that there are several ways in which a user may be enabled to unlock a CryptoKick. As a first example, upon scanning the shoe's UPC or UPID at a point-of-sale (POS) terminal during first purchase or directly associated with the product, a unique crypto-token and corresponding private key (“KickID”) are automatically generated and assigned to the user's blockchain locker (see FIG. 7). In a second example, a KickID is provided to the user via a printed or digital receipt, a visual or electronic tag (RFID or NFC) hidden in the physical shoe, a pop-up message or email sent to a personal user account, a push notification or text message sent to a smartphone, or some other record; the consumer uses the KickID to link the CryptoKick to their digital blockchain locker. Another example may require the user to assemble the KickID in part via a physical code or UPID associated with the shoe (on the box, on a hang tag, under a label, on an insole, etc.), and in part via a transaction authentication code (i.e., to prevent consumers from collecting a CryptoKick when they merely try on a pair of shoes). Another example may require the user to “hunt” for CryptoKicks in a brick-and-mortar store by using a photographic “snap” or augmented reality (“AR”) function on a handheld personal computing device. For this method, a KickID may be provided via the validated transaction, however, the user must separately find a hidden CryptoKick in AR hidden within the store or local area before the digital asset can be transferred to their locker (i.e., the cryptographic key and the virtual object must both be separately acquired before the transfer occurs). In this example, obtaining the cryptographic key may enable the AR engine associated with a user device to initiate a game where the CryptoKick/virtual object associated with that key is locally hidden and available for the user to locate” (Andon Par. 0043).
Regarding Claim 7 and Claim 17,
The combination of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley disclose the method of claim 6, and asset management device of claim 16, as shown above. Andon, further discloses, wherein the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID are integrated into the real asset by using the software-based method so that at least one of the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID is recognizable by an external device via near field communication (NFC). “It is envisioned that there are several ways in which a user may be enabled to unlock a CryptoKick. As a first example, upon scanning the shoe's UPC or UPID at a point-of-sale (POS) terminal during first purchase or directly associated with the product, a unique crypto-token and corresponding private key (“KickID”) are automatically generated and assigned to the user's blockchain locker (see FIG. 7). In a second example, a KickID is provided to the user via a printed or digital receipt, a visual or electronic tag (RFID or NFC) hidden in the physical shoe, a pop-up message or email sent to a personal user account, a push notification or text message sent to a smartphone, or some other record; the consumer uses the KickID to link the CryptoKick to their digital blockchain locker. Another example may require the user to assemble the KickID in part via a physical code or UPID associated with the shoe (on the box, on a hang tag, under a label, on an insole, etc.), and in part via a transaction authentication code (i.e., to prevent consumers from collecting a CryptoKick when they merely try on a pair of shoes)” (Andon Par. 0043).
Regarding Claim 8,
The combination of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley disclose the method of claim 1, as shown above. Andon, further discloses, wherein the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID are integrated into the real asset in a form of a bar code. “As noted above, FIG. 7 schematically illustrates a method of acquiring a digital collectable or attribute pack that may be linked or coordinated with the sale of a physical product. Namely, as shown in FIG. 7, the user 11 brings a device (i.e., smart phone device 40) in proximity to a physical product 200 that includes an identifier (UPID), such as a QR Code, barcode, digital image, RFID tag, NFC tag, BLUETOOTH id, registry entry in an embedded processor, or some other machine readable code. This code may then be recognized by the phone 40 either optically, via radio frequency communication, magnetic properties, or via wired data communication. Following the identification/recognition of the UPID, the phone 40 may initiate the transfer and/or original provisioning of a digital asset 202 linked with that product 200 to the user's locker 204 that is in communication with a blockchain service/network 60. In an extension of this concept, the transfer of the digital asset 202 may be further secured using a PIN, cryptographic key, access code, or the like that may be provided, for example, on a receipt following the user's purchase of the product 200” (Andon Par. 0100).
Regarding Claim 9 and Claim 18,
The combination of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley disclose the method of claim 1, and asset management device of claim 11, as shown above. Andon, further discloses, further comprising: transmitting, to an external device, a request to generate the wallet ID in association with the real asset; “Receiving a request from a user device associated with the retail purchaser to transfer the non-fungable token associated with the first physical retail product to a digital locker associated with the retail purchaser or user device, wherein the request includes a code included in or derived from the machine readable identification code associated with the first physical retail product. Clause 9: The method of clause 8, further comprising initiating a request to the immutable database or blockchain to transfer the non-fungable token associated with the first physical retail product to the digital locker associated with the retail purchaser” (Andon Par. 0129-0130).
and receiving, in response to the request, the wallet ID that is uniquely generated in the one-to-one manner in association with the real asset. “Method 100 continues to decision block 103 to determine if the user 11 has procured a cryptocurrency wallet or other similarly suitable digital blockchain locker that is operable, for example, to upload and maintain location and retrieval information for digital assets that are encrypted and stored in a decentralized manner. A cryptocurrency wallet typically stores public and private key pairs, but does not store the cryptocurrency itself; the cryptocurrency is decentrally stored and maintained in a publicly available blockchain ledger. With the stored keys, the owner may digitally sign a transaction and write it to the blockchain ledger. A platform-dictated smart contract associated with the locker may facilitate transfer of stored assets and create a verifiable audit trail of the same. If the user 11 has not already acquired a digital blockchain locker (Block 103=NO), the method 100 continues to predefined process block 105 to set up a blockchain locker. By way of non-limiting example, user 11 may be prompted to visit or may be automatically routed to any of an assortment of publicly available websites that offer a hardware wallet for cold storage of cryptocurrency and digital assets, such an ERC20-compatible Ethereum wallet provided by MyEtherWallet” (Andon Par. 0075).
Regarding Claim 10 and Claim 19,
The combination of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley disclose the method of claim 1, and asset management device of claim 11, as shown above. Andon, further discloses, wherein authenticity of at least one of the NFT asset and the real asset is verified by using the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID integrated into the real asset. “In a footwear context, each unique token may be directly linked to a single CryptoKick object, which may be embodied as a virtual reproduction or digital-art version of a sneaker. In one embodiment, the token may include a 64-bit alphanumeric code that is sectioned into individual code segments. One or more or all of the code segments of the alphanumeric code may express data indicative of attributes of the collectible digital shoe. For instance, a series of code segments may provide digital shoe attributes, such as Style, Materials, Family, Heat, Colorway, Future Attributes, Make, Model, Pattern Scheme, Image Background, etc. Each subset of a code may generally function as a genotype that produces a visual phenotype expression to the user. In some embodiments, an originally created CryptoKick may include cryptographic token data that is representative of attributes from a companion physical shoe. During the creation of a CryptoKick, a smart contract may be generated to authenticate ownership and to track future transaction of the CryptoKick. Digital shoe attributes may also be linked to a bill of materials. In a representative example, an authenticated pair of physical shoes are created and assigned a Unique Product Identifier (UPID). Upon purchase by a consumer, the UPID is used to unlock a cryptographic digital asset—a “CryptoKick”—composed of a collectible digital shoe and a unique non-fungible token (NFT) operating on a blockchain-based distributed computing platform” (Andon Par. 0040-0041).
Claim(s) 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andon (US 20200184547 A1), in view of Haruna (US 20220198447 A1), in view of Chalkley (US 20230088936 A1), in view of Ravi (Display NFT Art Today with These Innovative New Methods!).
Regarding Claim 5 and Claim 15,
The combination of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley disclose the method of claim 1, and asset management device of claim 11, as shown above. The combination of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley fail to disclose wherein the NFT asset is associated with at least one of a video device and an audio device included in or related to the real asset to provide a certain service. Ravi, however, does disclose, wherein the NFT asset is associated with at least one of a video device and an audio device included in or related to the real asset to provide a certain service. “Digital photo and video frames are another great means to display NFT art on your walls, These come ln different types sizes, shapes, and prices -- there's one for everyone! The simplest option is to right-click and save your NFT and then display them on digital frames”. “Infinite Objects, meanwhile, focuses on "video prints" and prints any NFT the user wants .as long as the user has the video. However, once printed, there is no way to change it or even pause or rewind the video that is on loop forever. The only way to stop the video is by placing it back in its original box or emptying the battery” (Ravi Page 3 Par. 0001-0002, Page 5 Par. 0001 & 0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of managing an object associated with an NFT of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley with the NFT asset being associated with at least one of a video device and an audio device included in or related to the real asset to provide a certain service of Ravi since not all NFTs come with physical copies it provides the option to display them in a home or gallery or the rights to print them and create a physical derivative (Ravi Page 2, Par. 0002).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andon (US 20200184547 A1), in view of Haruna (WO2021111653A1), and in further view of Chalkley (US 20230088936 A1), and in further view of Nieto (US 11487850 B1).
Regarding Claim 20,
Andon discloses, A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program to perform an asset management method comprising: “Presented herein are cryptographic digital assets for articles of footwear and apparel, methods for provisioning and methods for intermingling such cryptographic digital assets, and decentralized computing systems with attendant blockchain control logic for mining, intermingling, and exchanging blockchain-enabled digital shoes and apparel” (Andon Par. 0007).
obtaining a non-fungible token (NFT) asset identifier (ID) of an NFT asset linked to a real asset; “In a representative example, an authenticated pair of physical shoes are created and assigned a Unique Product Identifier (UPID). Upon purchase by a consumer, the UPID is used to unlock a cryptographic digital asset—a “CryptoKick”—composed of a collectible digital shoe and a unique non-fungible token (NFT) operating on a blockchain-based distributed computing platform” (Andon Par. 0041).
map the obtained NFT asset ID to a wallet ID of a virtual wallet that is uniquely generated in a one-to-one manner in association with the real asset; and “In general, before a consumer can unlock or acquire a CryptoKick, they may first be required to procure a blockchain locker address (e.g., an Ethereum hardware wallet). This blockchain locker may be used to store the private key belonging to the CryptoKick's NFT and, optionally, may be linked to a personal user account that is registered with the original manufacturer of the physical shoes (e.g., a NIKEPLUS® account profile)” (Andon Par. 0042). “Clause 42: The method of any of clauses 28-41, wherein the unique owner ID code is linked with a cryptocurrency wallet registered with the distributed blockchain ledger” (Andon Par. 0163). "The unique owner ID code may be linked with a cryptocurrency wallet that registered with the distributed blockchain ledger" (Andon Par. 0019).
registering the mapped NFT asset ID and wallet ID on a blockchain, “This blockchain locker may be used to store the private key belonging to the CryptoKick's NFT and, optionally, may be linked to a personal user account that is registered with the original manufacturer of the physical shoes (e.g., a NIKEPLUS® account profile).” (Andon Par. 0041-0042).
and integrating the registered NFT asset ID and wallet ID in the real asset, "a visual or electronic tag (RFID or NFC) hidden in the physical shoe" (Andon Par. 0043). "As noted above, FIG. 7 schematically illustrates a method of acquiring a digital collectable or attribute pack that may be linked or coordinated with the sale of a physical product. Namely, as shown in FIG. 7, the user 11 brings a device (i.e., smart phone device 40) in proximity to a physical product 200 that includes an identifier (UPID), such as a QR Code, barcode, digital image, RFID tag, NFC tag, BLUETOOTH id, registry entry in an embedded processor, or some other machine readable code. This code may then be recognized by the phone 40 either optically, via radio frequency communication, magnetic properties, or via wired data communication. Following the identification/recognition of the UPID, the phone 40 may initiate the transfer and/or original provisioning of a digital asset 202 linked with that product 200 to the user's locker 204 that is in communication with a blockchain service/network 60. In an extension of this concept, the transfer of the digital asset 202 may be further secured using a PIN, cryptographic key, access code, or the like that may be provided, for example, on a receipt following the user's purchase of the product 200" (Andon Par. 0100).
wherein the NFT asset is uniquely identifiable in association with the real asset through the registered NFT asset ID that are integrated into the real asset. “In a representative example, an authenticated pair of physical shoes are created and assigned a Unique Product Identifier (UPID). Upon purchase by a consumer, the UPID is used to unlock a cryptographic digital asset—a “CryptoKick”—composed of a collectible digital shoe and a unique non-fungible token (NFT) operating on a blockchain-based distributed computing platform” (Andon Par. 0041). [0077] “Upon determining that the user 11 has acquired a digital blockchain locker (Block 103=YES), or after linking the user's blockchain locker to their personal user account (Block 107), the method 100 continues to input/output block 109 to enable or “unlock” a cryptographic digital asset associated with the footwear 10 transacted at process block 101. As indicated above, after purchasing the footwear 10, the CryptoKick Physical ID or a universally recognized UPID product code may be used to retrieve a collectible CryptoKick, which is generally composed of a collectible digital shoe 44 and a unique NFT that is identified by an encrypted token key 46. A salesperson at a POS terminal or the user 11 employing their smartphone 40 may scan the UPID or UPC on the shoe 10 or a box storing therein the shoe 10. Alternatively, the user 11 may be prompted to carry out a “treasure hunt” using a digital camera on their smartphone to scan various UPIDs throughout a brick-and-mortar store until they scan one that is linked to a KickID. Enabling a cryptographic digital asset may be automatic, random, systematic, prize based, or any logically appropriate manner” (Andon Par. 0077). See also Andon Par. 0043
Andon discloses obtaining a non-fungible token (NFT) asset identifier (ID) of an NFT asset linked to a real asset, mapping the obtained NFT asset ID to a wallet ID that is uniquely generated in a one-to-one manner in association with the real asset, and registering the mapped NFT asset ID and wallet ID on a blockchain, wherein the NFT asset is uniquely identifiable in association with the real asset through the registered NFT asset ID that are integrated into the real asset. Andon fails to disclose the wallet ID being integrated into the real asset, and allowing verification of the NFT asset and the virtual wallet through transfer of the virtual wallet and the NFT asset together with the real asset. Haruna, however, does disclose,
and the wallet ID [integrated into the real asset] “In this embodiment, the URL may include, in addition to the NFT_ID, an address of the NFT 70 on the Ethereum, an ID of the NFT, and a secret key of an Ethereum address to be a payment source for a fee (Gas on the Ethereum) for calling the smart contract 20” (Haruna Par. 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of managing an object associated with an NFT of Andon with a wallet ID being integrated into the object of Haruna to determine when the ownership of an asset has changed, and when a fee needs to occur (Haruna Par. 0026, 0055, 0071).
The combination of Andon and Haruna disclose obtaining an NFT asset associated with a real asset that is registered on a blockchain. The combination of Andon and Haruna fails to disclose wherein the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID are transferrable only upon transfer the real asset associated with the registered NFT asset ID and the wallet ID based on verification of the NFT asset and the virtual wallet through transfer of the virtual wallet and the NFT asset together with the transfer of real asset. Chalkley, however, does disclose,
wherein the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID are transferrable only upon transfer the real asset associated with the registered NFT asset ID and the wallet ID "A request to transfer ownership of the physical item and the NFT of the combined listing to a user account is received (block 706). In accordance with the principles discussed herein, the request accepts the option to store the physical item in the physical storage vault. By way of example, the user of client device 106 or 108 selects via the user interface to initiate an ownership transfer of the physical item 304 and the NFT 302 of the combined listing 306 to a corresponding user account, and the user also selects via the user interface the option to store the physical item 304 in the physical storage vault 140. In other words, the user accepts the option to store the physical item 304 in the physical storage vault 140. Based on this user input, the client device 106 or 108 (e.g., via the application 142 or 148) generates transfer request 308, which digitally persists the selected request to transfer ownership of the physical item 304 and the NFT 302 of the combined listing 306 to the user account" (Chalkley Par. 0111). ""the nodes 112 determines whether the transfer of the NFT 302 to the user account is valid, e.g., using a consensus mechanism. If the nodes 112 determine that the transfer to the user account is a valid transaction, the nodes 112 commit the valid transfer to the blockchain 116. To do so, the nodes 112 may cause the public wallet addresses of the parties to the transaction (including the public address of the digital wallet 146) to be digitally recorded in the NFT 302's data on the blockchain 116" (Chalkley Par. 0075). "The fingerprint capture system 130 generates a fingerprint 206 of the physical item 204. The fingerprint 206 is unique to the physical item 204 and may be used to uniquely identify the physical item 204 from other physical items, including from another specimen of the same item (e.g., two luxury watches of the same brand, make, model, etc.)" (Chalkley Par. 0049). "FIG. 2 depicts an example 200 of a system to fingerprint physical items to mint NFTs. The illustrated example 200 includes from FIG. 1 the fingerprint capture system 130, the authentication service system 132, the minting system 128, and the listing platform 134. The illustrated example 200 also includes the blockchain 116" (Chalkley Par. 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of managing an object associated with an NFT of Andon and Haruna with the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID only transferred with the real asset of Chalkley to verify whether a physical item corresponds to an authentic physical item (Chalkley Par. 0039).
The combination of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley disclose obtaining an NFT asset associated with a real asset that is registered on a blockchain. The combination of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley fail to disclose to thereby allow verification of the NFT asset and the virtual wallet through transfer of the virtual wallet and the NFT asset together with the real asset. Nieto, however, does disclose,
“In 516, digital asset subsystem 235 may communicate with user device 240A whether the operation is permitted to proceed. In an embodiment, the communication may include a notification that the digital asset has been deposited into the digital wallet associated with the user device 240A and ownership of the digital asset by the user device 240A is confirmed. In 518, user device 240A may request additional operations that are now permissioned based on ownership of the digital asset such as transferring ownership of the digital asset to another user device (e.g., via a sale), digitally destroying owned digital assets, digitally holding digital assets, or requesting shipment of the physical product associated with the digital asset” (Nieto Col. 27 Line 66- Col. 28 Line 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the method of managing an object associated with an NFT of Andon, Haruna, and Chalkley with allowing verification of the NFT asset and the virtual wallet through transfer of the virtual wallet and the NFT asset of Nieto to verify the user identity, the user's account information in the digital asset system, digital asset information, and customization preferences (Nieto Col. 28 Lines 51-54).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 101, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claim is not directed to an abstract idea under 2A-Prong One because the recited features are directed to specific technical improvements that enable verification of transfer, and that the claim does not recite any of the judicial exceptions such as mathematical relationships, formulas, or calculations. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted above, other than general recitation of non-fungible tokens, a blockchain, virtual wallet, a memory, a processor, an asset management device, and non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (generic computer elements), the concepts of organizing, linking, and displaying information about different assets, falls within certain method of organizing human activities. While the claim recites digital assets being registered on a blockchain and integrated into a non-fungible token, these merely identify the type of data being processed and the environment in which the abstract idea is implemented. As recited, the claims do not recite any specific improvement to computer technology. The claims simply utilize conventional computing components to obtain, map, register, and transfer assets. As such the claim recites an abstract idea within the group of certain methods of organizing human activities.
Applicant further argues that the claim is integrated into a practical application since the NFT asset ID and the wallet ID are transferrable only upon transfer the real asset associated with the registered NFT asset ID and wallet ID, therefore avoiding additional transaction and doesn’t require technical understanding of blockchain. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims as recited do not recite any specific technical improvement to the computer, non-fungible tokens, virtual wallet, blockchain, or other technology. Further, the additional elements of a memory, a processor, an asset management device, and non-transitory computer-readable recording medium, are merely additional elements representing conventional computer technologies employed to apply the underlying abstract idea. Here, the Applicants argued problem is not a technological problem caused by the hardware processor and computer instructions stored in a memory. The problem of mapping IDs and verifying assets was not a problem caused by the hardware processor that is involved in the process. At best, Applicant’s identified problem is a business problem. Because no technological problem is present, the claims do not provide a practical application. To meet the requirements for patent eligibility, the claim must do more than simply apply this abstract idea using generic technological tools.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Andon discloses “integrating the registered NFT asset ID and wallet ID in the real asset” in paragraph 0043 by using a visual or electronic tag (RFID or NFC) hidden in the physical shoe. The remaining arguments necessitated a new grounds of rejection, and are therefore moot.
Conclusion
/E.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/JESSICA LEMIEUX/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626