DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magri et al (WO 2022/053133 A1) in view of Aguren (US Pub. No. 2012/0020672 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Magri et al teaches an optical time domain reflectometer (OTDR) system comprising a modified bidirectionally optical subassembly (BOSA), wherein the modified BOSA comprises a directional element configured to permit transmitting a measurement signal and receiving a reflected version of the measurement signal at a substantially identical wavelength, the OTDR is formed as a single pluggable module (page 1, lines 21-23; “OTDR integrated in pluggable optical transceivers: modified transceivers (e.g., small form-factor pluggable (SFP)) are provided where the OTDR function/processing is embedded in these highly specialized OTDR transceivers.”; page 11, lines 23-26, optical transceiver 14 is configured to: transmit a measurement signal at a first wavelength… and receive a reflected version of the measurement signal at the first wavelength…”; page 11, lines 3-9; “…passive routing device 16 includes two arrayed waveguides and a circulator, as described herein, although other optical components that perform the specific functions of passive routing device 16 described herein may be used.”).
Magri et al teaches the OTDR is formed as a single pluggable module and differs from the claimed invention in that Magri et al does not specifically teach the OTDR is formed as a single pluggable module that integrates the modified BOSA, a driver circuit, a transimpedance amplifier, and a processor element. However, it is well known that pluggable module integrates the modified BOSA, a driver circuit, a transimpedance amplifier, and a processor element. Aguren teaches optical transceiver having OTDR mode in a pluggable module (Aguren: para [0032]; “…the transceiver 100 is an SFP-type transceiver, that is, is in conformity with the requirements set out by the SFF committee in various documents for SFP, SFP+, SFF or similar transceivers (example SFF specification documents: INF-8074i, SFF-8431). In alternative embodiments, any other suitable type of optical transceiver can be employed, for example other transceivers with relatively small form factors such as XFP type transceivers and others. In some embodiments, the transceiver 100 is configured to be removably hot pluggable into connection with a host device circuit.”; para [0031]; “…the electronic circuitry 600 receives host device electrical control signals which are processed through a transmitter electrical signal processing channel including an equalizer 610 and a light source driver 611, for example a laser driver, to cause the laser 325 to transmit optical signals through the transmission channel 121. The electronic circuitry 600 also receives electrical signals from the photodetector 345 which, in the communications mode, are processed through a receiver electrical signal processing channel including a transimpedance amplifier (TIA) 620 and a limiter 621 for output to the host device. The electronic circuitry 600 comprises control logic 630 including OTDR control logic 631. The control logic 630 can communicate with control logic 630 of another transceiver 100 at an opposite end of an external optical fiber connected to the transmitter channel 121 using a modulator 613 and demodulator 623.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the optical module of Magri et al to integrate the OTDR as a single pluggable module that include the modified BOSA, a driver circuit, a transimpedance amplifier, and a processor element in order to provide smaller size, lower power consumption, reduced heat generation, increased reliability, and lower cost compared to discrete components. Furthermore, integrating circuities provides greater durability due to fewer connections, more energy-efficient, and can be mass-produced at a lower cost, leading to more affordable and smaller electronic devices.
Magri et al teaches modified transceiver in the form of small form-factor pluggable (SFP) which inherently comprise transmitter and a separate receiver to transmit and receive the measurement signal (Magri et al.: page 1, lines 21-23; “…modified transceivers (e.g., small form-factor pluggable (SFP)) are provided where the OTDR function/processing is embedded in these highly specialized OTDR transceivers; page 11, lines 23-26, optical transceiver 14 is configured to: transmit a measurement signal at a first wavelength… and receive a reflected version of the measurement signal at the first wavelength…”).
Furthermore, in view of the combination, Aguren also teaches transceiver within the modified BOSA comprises an optical transmitter configured for transmitting the measurement signal (Aguren: para [0019]; “The transmitter arrangement 120 includes a transmitter channel … includes a light source and optics arrangement 125 for generating optical signals …. The light source conveniently comprises a laser, for example a semiconductor laser diode (325, FIG. 3) such as a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL), and the optics conveniently comprises one or more lenses (326, FIG. 3).”) and a separate optical receiver configured for receiving the reflected version of the measurement signal at the substantially identical wavelength (Aguren: para [0020]; “The receiver arrangement 140 includes a receiver channel … includes a photodetector and optics arrangement 145 for receiving optical signals from the receiver channel 141 and converting the optical signals to electrical signals. The photodetector (345, FIG. 3) conveniently comprises an avalanche diode configured to operate close to avalanche mode, although for some embodiments alternative photodetectors may be appropriate, for example a p-i-n diode photodetector. The receiver optics conveniently comprises one or more lenses (346, FIG. 3). The laser diode 325 and photodetector 345 are operable to respectively generate and detect optical signals having mutually similar wavelength, for example in the region of 850 nm or any other suitable wavelength.”).
Regarding claim 2, wherein said OTDR comprises a single module, said single module being in a pluggable form factor (Magri et al.: page 1, lines 21-23; “…modified transceivers (e.g., small form-factor pluggable (SFP)) are provided where the OTDR function/processing is embedded in these highly specialized OTDR transceivers.”).
Regarding claim 3, wherein said OTDR comprises a single output port coupled to a fibre link to be tested (Magri et al.: page 1, lines 6-7; “…find the fault location of an optical fiber.”).
Regarding claim 4, wherein said OTDR comprises an MSA interface (small form-factor pluggable (SFP)) is considered a multi-source agreement (MSA) interface).
Regarding claim 5, wherein said pluggable form factor may be a QSFP format, a QSFP28 format, or an SFP format, or an OSFP format (Magri et al.: page 1, lines 21-23; “…modified transceivers (e.g., small form-factor pluggable (SFP)) are provided where the OTDR function/processing is embedded in these highly specialized OTDR transceivers.”).
Regarding claim 6, wherein said modified BOSA comprises an optical circulator function or a coupler, and/or an optical bandpass function (Magri et al.: page 11, lines 6-9; “…passive routing device 16 includes two arrayed waveguides and a circulator, as described herein, although other optical components that perform the specific functions of passive routing device 16 described herein may be used.”).
Regarding claim 8, wherein said optical transmitter is a laser and/or said optical receiver is a photo diode (Magri et al.: page 11, lines 17-20; “Optical transceiver 14 is configured to convert an electrical signal such as a data signal to an optical signal for transmission, and is also configured to convert a received optical signal to an electrical signal such as a linear electrical photo-detected signal.”).
Regarding claim 9, wherein said single module is coupled to a host card for data analysis (Magri et al.: page 5, lines 7-9; “A measurement characteristic associated with the reflected version of the measurement signal is determined at the host device.”).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magri et al (WO 2022/053133 A1) in view of Aguren (US Pub. No. 2012/0020672 A1) and further in view of Ahadian et al (US Pub. No. 2013/0208264 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Magri et al as modified by Aguren et al teaches wherein said OTDR comprises electrical process and control circuitry (page 9, lines 12-21; “…the hardware 20 of the host device 12 further includes processing circuitry 24. The processing circuitry 24 may include a processor 26 and a memory 28. …, the processing circuitry 24 may comprise integrated circuitry for processing and/or control, e.g., one or more processors and/or processor cores and/or FPGAs (Field Programmable Gate Array) and/or ASICs (Application Specific Integrated Circuitry) adapted to execute instructions. Processing circuitry 24 may include and/or provide analog-to-digital converter module(s)/functions, digital signal processing module(s)/functions, logic module(s)/functions, clock data recovery module(s)/functions as described herein.”) and differs from the claimed invention in that the combination does not specifically teach OTDR comprises electrical process and control circuitry for analyzing the operation of a laser driver circuit and an output electrical voltage from a transimpedance amplifier and generating therefrom an OTDR trace as an output. Ahadian et al teaches integrated OTDR comprising electrical process and control circuitry for analyzing the operation of a laser driver circuit and an output electrical voltage from a transimpedance amplifier and generating therefrom an OTDR trace as an output (para [0036]; “The measurement can be started when a Start signal (for example, from an external source) is received by the OTDR timing generation circuit 308. The signal P from the OTDR timing circuitry 308 passes through the MUX 305 to the laser driver 306 which drives a laser (for, example, a VCSEL) or photoemitter 320, to generate light into the fiber 101. Light travels down the optical fiber 101 and after reflecting off a discontinuity or disruption 350 in the fiber, some light returns and illuminates the photodiode 322 attached to an amplifying device (shown here, using the example of a transimpedance amplifier (TIA)) 301. The amplifier or TIA 301 outputs a voltage proportional to the light intensity striking the photodiode 322 to the track and hold (T/H) circuits 302, one of which holds the signal at a time determined by the H0 signal and the other holds the signal at time determined by the H1 signal. …. The ADC 310 can be incorporated within a processor or MCU 312. The microcontroller 312 then typically further processes and possibly stores the value for later retrieval, depending on the OTDR sampling mode. The same measurement can be repeated many times at the same settings for H0 and H1, so averaging of the signal can be used to increase the signal to noise ratio.”). Since there are various circuit arrangement to measure, analyze and trace OTDR signal, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical circuity of Magri et al by trying a different circuity as taught by Ahadian et al to obtain a predictable measurement, analysis and OTDR trace with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sandstrom (US Patent No. 9,143,228 B2) is cited to show embedded ODTR in an SPF device comprising optical transmitter and optical receiver.
DALZID E. SINGH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2635
/DALZID E SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635