DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 3-4 are amended.
Claims 1-4 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 and similarly 3 recite(s) “a method for analyzing states of battery packs in a battery cluster” and “performing data cleaning on the acquired cell voltages to remove duplicates and abnormal data, correct errors, and provide data consistency before calculating voltage statistics; calculating a voltage standard score of each cell based on the cell voltages after data cleaning; calculating a mean value and a standard deviation of said voltage standard score; for each battery pack, plotting scattered points based on the mean value and the standard deviation, and performing closed curve fitting to the scattered points to obtain a closed curve; and analyzing the state of the battery pack based on the closed curve; wherein said calculating the voltage standard score of each cell based on the cell voltage after data cleaning comprises: calculating the mean or median value µc and the standard deviation σc of the cell voltage after data cleaning within the preset time; and calculating the voltage standard score Si = (Vi-µc)/σc of each cell, where Vi represents the voltage value of the i-th cell in the battery pack; wherein for each battery pack, said plotting the scatter points based on the mean value and the standard deviation comprises: establishing a coordinate system with the mean value and the standard deviation as horizontal and vertical coordinates, respectively; and based on the mean value and the standard deviation of the voltage standard score of each cell in the battery pack, plotting the scatter points corresponding to the cells one by one in the coordinate system to obtain a distribution of the scatter points, which is used to determine the state of said battery pack; wherein said performing the closed curve fitting on the scattered points comprises: performing the closed curve fitting to the scattered points based on the smallest circumscribed circle; performing the closed curve fitting to the scattered points based on the smallest circumscribed rectangle; or performing the closed curve fitting to described scatter point based on the smallest circumscribed polygon; wherein said analyzing the state of the battery pack comprise: setting a threshold, and when the closed curve exceeds the threshold, it is determined that the corresponding battery pack is abnormal” are directed to mathematical concepts, mental processes, and/or organizing human activity. Examiner notes that the equations are said mathematical concepts, the determination steps could be mathematical concepts and/or mental processes under their BRI, and the curve fitting and plotting the scatter points under their BRI fall under organizing human activity.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because “battery packs in a battery cluster” are considered to be generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The elements of “acquiring cell voltages of each battery pack in the battery cluster within a preset time;” are considered to be data gathering steps required to use the correlation do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity. The elements of “an acquisition module, a cleaning module, a first calculation module, a second calculation module, a fitting module and an analysis module” are considered to be generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because “battery packs in a battery cluster” are considered to be merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself per MPEP 2106.05(h) and are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d) (see prior art of record). The elements of “acquiring cell voltages of each battery pack in the battery cluster within a preset time;” are considered to be adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception per MPEP 2106.05(g) and are well-understood, routine, conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d)(see prior art). The elements of “an acquisition module, a cleaning module, a first calculation module, a second calculation module, a fitting module and an analysis module” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d).
Claim 2 is not integrated into a practical application or not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because are considered to be data outputting steps required to use the correlation do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity and are considered to be adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception per MPEP 2106.05(g) and are well-understood, routine, conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d)(see prior art of record).
Claim 4 is not integrated into a practical application or not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because “the terminal device for analyzing states of battery packs in a battery cluster, comprising: a processor, and a memory, wherein said memory is used to store computer programs; and wherein said processor is used to execute the computer program stored in the memory, so that a terminal device executes the method for battery pack state analysis in the battery cluster according to claim 1” are considered to be generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer and are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20220077514 A1) in view of HOU (CN 111679215 A) and in further view of Yamauchi (US 20140152261 A1).
In claim 1, Kim discloses a method for analyzing states of battery packs in a battery cluster (see abstract “Battery cells” Fig. 1, see 1 and 10), comprising: acquiring cell voltages of each battery pack in the battery cluster within a preset time (Par. 213 “voltage of each battery cell are received”, “stored for the predetermined time”); performing data cleaning on the acquired cell voltages (Par. 108); calculating a voltage standard score of each cell based on the cell voltages after data cleaning (Par. 260, 279, 281-283); calculating a mean value and a standard deviation of said voltage standard score (Par. 240, 275); for each battery pack, plotting scattered points based on the mean value and the standard deviation (Fig. 7, Par. 213, 223) and performing closed curve fitting to the scattered points to obtain a closed curve (Fig. 8A-F, Par. 232-235); and analyzing the state of the battery pack based on the closed curve (Par. 235); wherein said calculating the voltage standard score of each cell based on the cell voltage after data cleaning comprises: calculating the mean or median value µc and the standard deviation σc of the cell voltage after data cleaning within the preset time (Par. 240, 275); and calculating the voltage standard score Si = (Vi-µc)/σc of each cell, where Vi represents the voltage value of the i-th cell in the battery pack (Par. 240, 275); wherein for each battery pack, said plotting the scatter points based on the mean value and the standard deviation comprises: establishing a coordinate system with the mean value and the standard deviation as horizontal and vertical coordinates, respectively (Fig. 8A-F); and based on the mean value and the standard deviation of the voltage standard score of each cell in the battery pack, plotting the scatter points corresponding to the cells one by one in the coordinate system (Fig. 7, Par. 213, 223) to obtain a distribution of the scatter points (Par. 242-243 “ Z-score is a value indicating distribution of voltage data of battery cells”), which is used to determine the state of said battery pack (Par. 255 “recognize the abnormal state of the battery cell” which is based on the Z-score Par. 250, 243); wherein said analyzing the state of the battery pack comprise: setting a threshold (Par. 288 “reference risk”), and when the closed curve exceeds the threshold, it is determined that the corresponding battery pack is abnormal (Par. 288).
Kim is silent on performing data cleaning on the acquired cell voltages to remove duplicates and abnormal data, correct errors, and provide data consistency before calculating voltage statistics (emphasis added); wherein said performing the closed curve fitting on the scattered points comprises: performing the closed curve fitting to the scattered points based on the smallest circumscribed circle; performing the closed curve fitting to the scattered points based on the smallest circumscribed rectangle; or performing the closed curve fitting to described scatter point based on the smallest circumscribed polygon.
HOU teaches wherein said performing the closed curve fitting on the scattered points comprises: performing the closed curve fitting to the scattered points based on the smallest circumscribed circle; performing the closed curve fitting to the scattered points based on the smallest circumscribed rectangle; or performing the closed curve fitting to described scatter point based on the smallest circumscribed polygon (Page 6 “least squares to fit the curve, extracting the characteristic parameter by the geometric characteristic of the curve” and “circle center of the semicircular fitting”).
Yamauchi teaches performing data cleaning on the acquired cell voltages to remove duplicates and abnormal data, correct errors, and provide data consistency before calculating voltage statistics (Par. 295 and 364 “detected voltage from the voltage for one unit cell to 0V or the voltage for two unit cells, and also return to the original normal voltage for one unit cell is affected by a time constant of an RC filter” and “cell voltage detection, because an accurate detected cell voltage value is necessary, a time constant of the input RC filter is set to be large” Examiner notes that setting the high time constant value filters out, i.e. cleans, the data so that data points that do not meet the time constraints are removed, for example a registered voltage that suddenly drops then returns would not be counted twice, thus removing duplicates and abnormal data, correcting errors, and providing data consistency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before invention was filed that wherein said performing the closed curve fitting on the scattered points comprises: performing the closed curve fitting to the scattered points based on the smallest circumscribed circle; performing the closed curve fitting to the scattered points based on the smallest circumscribed rectangle; or performing the closed curve fitting to described scatter point based on the smallest circumscribed polygon as taught by HOU to the curve fitting of Kim in order to accurately reflect the characteristics of the battery (HOU page 5) thus leading to an improved system. Further it would have been obvious before the invention was filed to performing data cleaning on the acquired cell voltages to remove duplicates and abnormal data, correct errors, and provide data consistency before calculating voltage statistics as taught by Yamauchi in the combination of Kim and HUO in order to accurately detect cell voltage (Yamauchi Par. 364).
In claim 2, Kim discloses issuing an early warning when it is determined that the battery pack is abnormal (Par. 257).
In claim 4, Kim discloses a terminal device (Fig. 1A 1) for analyzing states of battery packs in the battery cluster (see abstract “Battery cells” Fig. 1, see 1 and 10), comprising: a processor (Par. 111 “processor”), and a memory, wherein said memory is used to store computer programs (Par. 111 “memory” “program”); and wherein said processor is used to execute the computer program stored in the memory, so that the terminal device executes the method for battery pack state analysis in the battery cluster according to claim 1 (Par. 111).
In claim 3, Kim discloses a system for analyzing states of battery packs in a battery cluster (see abstract “Battery cells” Fig. 1, see 1 and 10), comprising: an acquisition module, a cleaning module, a first calculation module, a second calculation module, a fitting module and an analysis module (Par. 111 “program”), wherein: the acquisition module is configured to acquire cell voltages of each battery pack in the battery cluster within a preset time (Par. 213 “ voltage of each battery cell are received”, “stored for the predetermined time”); the cleaning module is configured to perform data cleaning on the acquired cell voltages (Par. 108); the first calculation module is configured to calculate a voltage standard score of each cell based on the cell voltages after data cleaning (Par. 260, 279, 281-283); the fitting module is configured to plot scattered points based on the mean value and the standard deviation for each battery pack (Par. 240, 275); for each battery pack, plotting scattered points based on the mean value and the standard deviation (Fig. 7, Par. 213, 223) and perform closed curve fitting to the scattered points to obtain a closed curve (Fig. 8A-F, Par. 232-235); and the analysis module is configured to analyze the state of the battery pack based on the closed curve (Par. 235); wherein said calculating the voltage standard score of each cell based on the cell voltage after data cleaning comprises: calculating the mean or median value µc and the standard deviation σc of the cell voltage after data cleaning within the preset time (Par. 240, 275); and calculating the voltage standard score Si = (Vi-µc)/σc of each cell, where Vi represents the voltage value of the i-th cell in the battery pack (Par. 240, 275); wherein for each battery pack, said plotting the scatter points based on the mean value and the standard deviation comprises: establishing a coordinate system with the mean value and the standard deviation as horizontal and vertical coordinates, respectively (Fig. 8A-F); and based on the mean value and the standard deviation of the voltage standard score of each cell in the battery pack, plotting the scatter points corresponding to the cells one by one in the coordinate system (Fig. 7, Par. 213, 223) to obtain a distribution of the scatter points, which is used to determine the state of said battery pack (Par. 255 “recognize the abnormal state of the battery cell” which is based on the Z-score Par. 250, 243); wherein said analyzing the state of the battery pack comprise: setting a threshold (Par. 288 “reference risk”), and when the closed curve exceeds the threshold, it is determined that the corresponding battery pack is abnormal (Par. 288).
Kim is silent on the cleaning module is configured to perform data cleaning of the acquired cell voltages to remove duplicates and abnormal data, correct errors, and provide data consistency before calculating voltage statistics (Emphasis added); wherein said performing the closed curve fitting on the scattered points comprises: performing the closed curve fitting to the scattered points based on the smallest circumscribed circle; performing the closed curve fitting to the scattered points based on the smallest circumscribed rectangle; or performing the closed curve fitting to described scatter point based on the smallest circumscribed polygon.
HOU teaches wherein said performing the closed curve fitting on the scattered points comprises: performing the closed curve fitting to the scattered points based on the smallest circumscribed circle; performing the closed curve fitting to the scattered points based on the smallest circumscribed rectangle; or performing the closed curve fitting to described scatter point based on the smallest circumscribed polygon (Page 6 “least squares to fit the curve, extracting the characteristic parameter by the geometric characteristic of the curve” and “circle center of the semicircular fitting”).
Yamauchi teaches the cleaning module is configured to perform data cleaning of the acquired cell voltages to remove duplicates and abnormal data, correct errors, and provide data consistency before calculating voltage statistics (Par. 295 and 364 “detected voltage from the voltage for one unit cell to 0V or the voltage for two unit cells, and also return to the original normal voltage for one unit cell is affected by a time constant of an RC filter” and “cell voltage detection, because an accurate detected cell voltage value is necessary, a time constant of the input RC filter is set to be large” Examiner notes that setting the high time constant value filters out, i.e. cleans, the data so that data points that do not meet the time constraints are removed, for example a registered voltage that suddenly drops then returns would not be counted twice, thus removing duplicates and abnormal data, correcting errors, and providing data consistency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that wherein said performing the closed curve fitting on the scattered points comprises: performing the closed curve fitting to the scattered points based on the smallest circumscribed circle; performing the closed curve fitting to the scattered points based on the smallest circumscribed rectangle; or performing the closed curve fitting to described scatter point based on the smallest circumscribed polygon as taught by HOU to the curve fitting of Kim in order to accurately reflect the characteristics of the battery (HOU page 5) thus leading to an improved system. Further it would have been obvious before the invention was filed to the cleaning module is configured to perform data cleaning of the acquired cell voltages to remove duplicates and abnormal data, correct errors, and provide data consistency before calculating voltage statistics as taught by Yamauchi in the combination of Kim and HUO in order to accurately detect cell voltage (Yamauchi Par. 364).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s 101 arguments, the examiner respectfully disagrees. While applicant asserts the claims are directed to a “specific, practical application in the technical field of battery cluster monitoring” and improves the functioning of battery management system, no practical application or improvement is recited by or inherent to the claims. The cited “specialized” features which the applicant recites are not specialized as they are generically recited and in the case of the “sensor” not even recited in claim 1. Further a human would be capable of performing the claimed calculations with a pen and paper. The claims do not “inherently require” include “specialized voltage sensors and acquisition circuitry”. Regarding the “modules” applicant’s own specification describes them as “these modules can be implemented in the form of calling software through processing elements”, thus under BRI include software on generic processing elements thus are not “specialized”. The “terminal device”, as cited in the rejection, is generically recited and well known. Further, a geometric model is still abstract regardless of if it is generic or not. The “determining abnormal packs” is also abstract and “issuing an early warning” amounts to data outputting which is not a practical application or significantly more. These do not result in an improvement as no action is taken in result of said warning thus nothing can be improved. Further “hundreds of cells” are not required by the claim. Regarding the case law comparisons, the examiner does not believe the cited cases and their respective situations apply to the claims.
Regarding applicant’s 103 arguments, as cited above the prior art of record discloses the amended claims. Further HOU teaches the cited limitations, In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.J.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857