DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egli (US Pub No 2013/0221132 A1) in view of Giannazzo (US Pub No 2021/0086204 A1) and further in view of Knight (US Pub No 2019/0344290 A1). All citations to Egli unless otherwise specified.
Re claim 1, Egli shows a nozzle body (Figs. 1, 2 & 13-15) comprising:
at least two hollow-cone nozzle geometries (17),
wherein the nozzle body comprises an injection molded (paragraph 0045) or a 3D printed plastic material (paragraph 0045),
wherein each of the at least two hollow-cone nozzle geometries (17) comprises a nozzle bore (18) and a swirl chamber (15’), and
wherein the swirl chamber (15’) of at least one of the two hollow-cone nozzle geometries has a hollow-cone nozzle geometry and is connected to a swirl channel (13).
Egli does not teach a thermoplastic material or the swirl chamber of at least one of the two hollow-cone nozzle geometries has an asymmetrical nozzle geometry that is not rotationally symmetrical.
However, Giannazzo disclose a nozzle body that comprises an injection molded (paragraph 0022) or a 3D printed (paragraph 0022) thermoplastic material (paragraph 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a thermoplastic material as taught by Giannazzo, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Further, no criticality is apparent for the claimed material.
Further, Knight discloses an injection molded nozzle body including a swirl chamber with an asymmetrical nozzle geometry that is not rotationally symmetrical (paragraphs 0043 and 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to make the swirl chamber of Egli with an asymmetrical nozzle geometry that is not rotationally symmetrical as taught by Knight to make a sprayer that is easier to manufacture and use (Knight – paragraph 0030).
Re claims 3 & 4, Egli as modified by Giannazzo and Knight disclose a nozzle bore of the at least one asymmetrical hollow-cone nozzle geometries geometry has a longitudinal axis oriented at an angle that is greater than or equal to 50[Symbol font/0xB0] and less than or equal to 88° to a nozzle outlet surface (paragraph 0019 - “the longitudinal axis and the longitudinal chamber axis either run coaxially or enclose an angle of at most 15°, preferably at most 10°, particularly at most 5°, in relation to one another” — this is an angle range of 5°-15° between the axis 32 and the axis 21 as shown in figure 1 meaning this is the angle with the vertical, to which the other side of the angle would be with the horizontal and would range 75°-85° with the horizontal, or in keeping with the claimed language, a nozzle outlet surface).
Re claim 7, Egli as modified by Giannazzo and Knight show the at least two hollow-cone nozzle geometries (17) are arranged symmetrically with one another (Fig. 13).
Re claim 8, Egli is modified by Giannazzo and Knight disclose the injection molded or a 3D printed thermoplastic material comprises a material having at least one principal component from the group PMMA, POM, PP (Giannazzo – paragraph 0040), PE (Giannazzo – paragraph 0040), ABS (Giannazzo – paragraph 0040), COC, PA (Giannazzo – paragraph 0040), PC, PBT, PEEK, PEL, PET (Giannazzo – paragraph 0040), and/or PPE.
Re claim 9, Egli as modified by Giannazzo and Knight show the at least two hollow-cone nozzle geometries (17) are at least partially produced by a laser processing.
As to the recited process of “laser processing” such is a product-by-process recitation. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or an obvious variant from a product in the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (See MPEP 2113). Further, it is well known in the art to use “laser processing” given the versatility and speed with which the processing can be employed.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egli (US Pub No 2013/0221132 A1) in view of Giannazzo (US Pub No 2021/0086204 A1) in view of Knight (US Pub No 2019/0344290 A1) and further in view of Hartranft et al. (US Pub No 2020/0139385 A1).
Re claims 5 & 6, Egli as modified by Giannazzo and Knight disclose all aspects of the claimed invention but do not teach the nozzle bores of each of the at least two hollow-cone nozzle geometries have a diameter that is:
less than or equal to 200 µm.
However, Hartranft et al. disclose each nozzle bore has a diameter that is:
less than or equal to 200 um (equivalent to 0.00787402 inches - paragraph 0022 - “the plurality of exit outlets have a throat diameter between about 0.005” and 0.010”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the nozzle bore in Egli as modified by Giannazzo and Knight have a diameter less than or equal to 200 µm as taught by Hartranft et al. to reduce the presence of the residual fluid film directly on or around the exit outlet (paragraph 0022).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
STEVEN MICHAEL CERNOCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752