Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-17 and 19) in the reply filed on 09/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 18 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/30/2025.
Response to Amendment
Applicant filed a new claim listing on 09/30/2025. The claim preamble was changed from “a cordless coffee making device” to “a battery powered coffee making device” without the appropriate markings indicated in MPEP 714.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 19 recite, in relevant part, a first connector that is “complementary to a second connector of a battery configured for selectively powering a plurality of implements, wherein each implement of the plurality of implements comprises a first connector” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if the claim requires a single first connector or multiple first connectors. The confusion is further compounded by the limitation of “the first connector is configured for selectively engaging the second connector….” If multiple first connectors are intended, it is unclear which of the first connectors are being referenced here. Turning to the specification for guidance on claim construction, paragraph 0023 identifies first connector 64 attached to housing 12 and complementary to second connector 66 of battery 68 that is configured to selectively power a plurality of implements, “wherein each implement comprises a first connector 64.” Based on the direction from the specification it is not clear in what way each implement comprises the same first connector attached to the housing. Additionally, paragraph 0005 describes “plurality of implements” being “blowers, drills, saws, trimmers, fans, and the like.” As best understood, the battery of the claimed invention is a power tool battery that is able to power various power tools. Under this understanding, the various power tools having the same first connector (as identified in the specification) makes little sense as these are distinct structures unconnected from one another. Based on the lack of clarity, it is unclear as to the intended meaning and scope of the claim language.
Claims 2-17 inherit the above deficiency as a result of their dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (US 10925428) in view of Leung (US 2011/0217437)
Regarding claim 1, Kondo teaches a battery powered coffee making device (Title; “Electrical Device For Making Beverages Using Power Tool Battery”) (Figures 1-17; coffee maker 10) comprising:
a housing (defined by the walls of main body 20 and battery compartment 40.) defining an interior space (Figs. 13-15 show an interior defined by the outer walls of main body 20 with Figures 1-3 and 9-10 showing an interior of compartment 40) (In combination, the interior space is defined by both interiors);
Figure 13 (annotated to show brewing compartment)
a plurality of walls attached to the housing defining a reservoir (22W), a brewing compartment (Indicated by the above annotated box. Brewing compartment defined as brew basket holder 22f, which receives brew basket 21, and the region below 22f that receives carafe 35), and a power compartment (40) within the interior space;
a first cutout positioned in the housing and opening into the reservoir (Fig. 1, 2, 3, 9-10, and 13-15; the reservoir 22W is a cutout in the main body 20 and includes an opening covered by lid 23), wherein the reservoir is configured for addition of water (22W is described as a water reservoir);
a pipe attached to and extending between a bottom of the reservoir and an upper end of the brewing compartment (Figs. 11 and 13-15; pipe 52 connected to a bottom of reservoir 22W via check valve 53 and extending to an upper end of 22f);
a heater (54) positioned
a switch attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the heater (Figs. 16-17; start/stop switch 72 for turning the heaters 54 on and off; 12:1-11) (See also, 11:59-67 which describes switch 65 for PWM control of heaters 54);
an opening positioned in the housing and opening into the brewing compartment (22f is a holder for brew basket 21. When brew basket 21 is removed, an opening is defined allowing brew basket 21 to be inserted into the brewing compartment 22f. Similarly, carafe 35 is placed in an opening below the brew basket to receive the brewed beverage. The aforementioned openings define openings in the housing);
a basket (21) selectively attachable to the upper end of the brewing compartment, such that the basket is positioned for receiving hot water from the pipe (as described above), wherein the basket is configured for insertion of a filter and coffee grounds (7:15-24; filter F and loose coffee grounds);
a carafe (carafe 35) selectively positionable in the brewing compartment below the basket (21);
a second cutout positioned in the housing and opening into the power compartment (Figures 1-3 and 9-10 show power compartment defining a recess, closeable by cover 45, in the housing.); and
a first connector attached to the housing, positioned in the power compartment (taken as battery mount parts 41, or 42, which include positive terminal 41p and negative terminal 41n, or 42p and 42n), and operationally engaged to the switch (Figs. 16-17; switch 72 and 65), the first connector being complementary to a second connector of a battery (B1 or B2, which necessarily include corresponding electrical terminals for coupling to the positive and negative terminals of 41 and 42) configured for selectively powering a plurality of implements (8:6-15 and 39-45 describe batteries B1 and B2 as power tool batteries) (2:19-21 describes a plurality of tools that can use the battery), wherein each implement of the plurality of implements comprises a first connector [Note: the plurality of implements are claimed functionally rather than structurally. That is, the claimed coffee maker is not claimed as comprising the plurality of implements or their respective connectors. The batteries B1 and B2, being power tool batteries that are designed for powering various battery powered tools, necessarily requires the power terminals of the batteries to couple with corresponding terminals of the power tools.], wherein the first connector is configured for selectively engaging the second connector for operationally engaging the battery to the switch (as described above, terminals 41p/n and 42p/n engage with corresponding positive and negative terminals of the battery to provide the required current to power the coffee machine. Figures 16-17 illustrate circuit diagram showing the switch 72 and 65, along with heater 54 electrically coupled to the aforementioned terminals), wherein the switch is configured for being switched for actuating the heater for heating the water (as described above), such that hot water flows through the pipe (50) into the basket (21), wherein the carafe (35) is configured for receiving coffee from the basket (21).
Kondo teaches substantially the claimed invention including the heater (54) heating water flowing through the pipe (50). It is understood that such heater of Kondo defines a continuous flow heater. Kondo does not explicitly describe the heater being an in-line heater.
Leung relates to a coffee maker (para. 0001) and teaches the coffee maker having a water reservoir (2), a heater (3), a pipe (4), a brew basket (6), and a carafe (8) disposed below the brew basket. Leung teaches the heater being an in-line water heater (para. 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo with Leung, by substituting the heater of Kondo, with the in-line heater of Leung for in doing so would amount to the mere use of an alternative heater for heating water flowing through a pipe that is known in the art.
Furthermore, using the in-line heater would amount to a simple substitution of art recognized heaters performing the same function of heating water flowing through a pipe and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. (See MPEP 2144.06-II).
Regarding claim 2, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1.
While Kondo teaches the brew basket being received within a portion of the brewing compartment, Kondo is silent on a pair of rails attached to the upper end of the brewing compartment, such that the pair of rails are positioned for selective insertion of a rim of the basket for removably attaching the basket to the upper end of the brewing compartment.
Figure 2 of Leung (annotated)
Leung teaches a pair of rails attached to the upper end of a brewing compartment, such that the pair of rails are positioned for selective insertion of a rim of the basket for removably attaching the basket to the upper end of the brewing compartment (see above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo with Leung, by adding to the brew basket and replacing the manner in which the brew basket is received within the compartment of Kondo, with the pair of rails attached to the upper end of a brewing compartment, such that the pair of rails are positioned for selective insertion of a rim of the basket for removably attaching the basket to the upper end of the brewing compartment of Leung, for in doing so would provide an alternative mechanical means for receiving and retaining the brew basket within the compartment that is known in the art.
Regarding claim 17, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, including wherein the housing is substantially impermeable to water (Kondo teaches that the coffee maker is intended to be operated at construction site; See 1:45-58 and 2:16-28. As such, it is implicitly disclosed that the coffee maker is impermeable to water in order for the coffee maker to function as intended. Specifically, if the coffee maker were made out of a material permeable to water, for instance cardboard, then it would not function as intended.)
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (US 10925428) in view of Leung (US 2011/0217437) and in further view of Goto (US 2013/0187461).
Regarding claim 3, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, including a first panel (Kondo, panel 23) hingedly attached to the housing and being positioned for selectively closing the first cutout; and a second panel (Kondo, panel 45) attached to the housing and being positioned for selectively closing the second cutout.
Kondo teaches panel 45 being slidable rather than hinged..
Goto relates to a battery powered coffee maker (para. 0005) and teaches using a hinged cover for selectively opening/closing a battery compartment (Figs. 1-3; cover 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo, as modified by Leung, with Goto, by substituting the slidable cover of Kondo, with the hinged cover of Goto, for in doing so would amount to the mere use of an alternative cover that is known in the art.
Furthermore, using the hinged cover would amount to a simple substitution of art recognized covers performing the same function of selectively opening/closing a battery compartment and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. (See MPEP 2144.06-II).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (US 10925428) in view of Leung (US 2011/0217437) and in further view of Pinheiro (US 2009/0084270), Sherer (US 5369255), and Van Dyke (US2009/0114641).
Regarding claim 4, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, except for the plurality of walls defining a cord compartment within the interior space; a third cutout positioned in the housing and opening into the cord compartment; a power cord positioned in and selectively extensible from the cord compartment, the power cord being operationally engaged to the first connector, wherein the power cord is configured for selectively engaging the first connector to a source of electrical current for charging the battery; a third panel hingedly attached to the housing and being positioned for selectively closing the third cutout.
Pinheiro relates to an electrically and battery powered coffee maker (para. 0006) and teaches the coffee maker being powered by both batteries (battery compartment 140) and an electrical power cord (145).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo, as modified by Leung, with Pinheiro, by adding to the coffee maker of Kondo, with the power cord of Pinheiro, for in doing so would provide a conventional power source which would increase the versatility of the coffee maker by allowing the coffee maker to use standard wall outlet when available and battery power when such an outlet is not available.
The combination of Kondo, Leung, and Pinheiro teaches substantially the claimed invention including powering the coffee maker using a power cord and batteries. Such combination is silent on the plurality of walls defining a cord compartment within the interior space; a third cutout positioned in the housing and opening into the cord compartment; the power cord positioned in and selectively extensible from the cord compartment, the power cord being operationally engaged to the first connector, wherein the power cord is configured for selectively engaging the first connector to a source of electrical current for charging the battery; a third panel hingedly attached to the housing and being positioned for selectively closing the third cutout.
Sherer relates to a portable cooking/warming device (Fig. 1; abstract) and is concerned with powering such device using a power cord and batteries (Fig. 3; power cord 74 and batteries 82).
Sherer teaches a plurality of walls defining a cord compartment (76) within the interior space; a third cutout positioned in the housing and opening into the cord compartment (Fig. 3; cord compartment includes an opening and defines a cutout in the side of the housing); the power cord (74) positioned in and selectively extensible from the cord compartment (76), and a third panel hingedly attached to the housing and being positioned for selectively closing the third cutout (Figure 3 shows a door attached to the housing on one end. This implies that such a door is hinged in order to selectively open/close the compartment 76).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo, as modified by Leung and Pinheiro, with Sherer, by adding to the housing of Kondo, with the cord compartment and hinged panel arrangement of Sherer, for in doing so would provide a compartment for storing the power cord when not in use.
The above combination teaches substantially the claimed invention including powering the coffee maker using a power cord and batteries with the plurality of walls defining a cord compartment within the interior space, a third cutout positioned in the housing and opening into the cord compartment, the power cord positioned in and selectively extensible from the cord compartment, and a third panel hingedly attached to the housing and being positioned for selectively closing the third cutout.
The combination is silent on the power cord being operationally engaged to the first connector, wherein the power cord is configured for selectively engaging the first connector to a source of electrical current for charging the battery.
However, Kondo teaches its batteries being power tool batteries, which are known in the art to be rechargeable. Still further, Pinheiro teaches using lithium batteries (para. 0012), which are known in the art as rechargeable batteries.
Van Dyke relates to a portable oven (para. 0007) that is intended to be used in construction sites and that is powered by either a power cord (Fig. 4; 54) or a battery (50). Van Dyke teaches that its battery (50) is a rechargeable battery that is provided for powering the oven when no external power source is available (para. 0025) and the power cord (54) being operationally engaged to a connector (44), wherein the power cord (54) is configured for selectively engaging the connector (44) to a source of electrical current for charging the battery (50) (para. 0025; rechargeable battery is recharged using the power cord when the battery is coupled to port 44 and the power cord is connected to a suitable external power source).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo, as modified by Leung, Pinheiro, and Sherer, with Van Dyke, by adding to the electrical circuit of Kondo, being modified to power the coffee maker using either a power cord and a battery, with the power cord being operationally engaged to the first connector, wherein the power cord is configured for selectively engaging the first connector to a source of electrical current for charging the battery taught by Van Dyke, for in doing so would provide a means for recharging the battery without requiring an external battery charger.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (US 10925428) in view of Leung (US 2011/0217437) and in further view of Garcia (US 2010/0229730).
Regarding claims 5-6, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, except for a heating plate attached to a lower end of the brewing compartment and operationally engaged to the switch, wherein the heating plate is configured for heating the coffee in the carafe (claim 5).
Kondo does teach supporting the carafe on a plate (30) at a lower end of the brewing compartment.
Kondo further teaches, with respect to claim 6, the plurality of walls defining an electronics compartment within the interior space (electrical circuit 60 is housed inside housing 22; 8:1-5), a microprocessor (70) attached to the housing (Figs. 16-17; circuit 60, housed within the housing includes 70. 70, therefore, is, at least partially, attached to the housing), positioned in the electronics compartment, and operationally engaged to the switch (70 is electrically coupled to switches 72 and 65), the first connector (41n/p and 42n/p), the heater (54), such that the microprocessor is enabled for selectively actuating the heater (see Figs. 16-17).
Kondo is silent on the microprocessor operationally engaged with the heating plate, such that the microprocessor is enabled for selectively actuating the heater and the heating plate.
Kondo is silent on, with further respect to claim 6, a brew timer attached to the housing, positioned in the electronics compartment, and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, such that the microprocessor is enabled for actuating the brew timer for controlling an operational time for the heater and a warming timer attached to the housing, positioned in the electronics compartment, and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, such that the microprocessor is enabled for actuating the warming timer for controlling an operational time for the heating plate.
Garcia relates to a coffee maker (para. 0001) and teaches using a heating plate (313) to maintain the temperature of a brewed liquid inside a carafe (312) (para. 0042).
Garcia teaches a microprocessor (316; para. 0043) operationally engaged with the heating plate (313), such that the microprocessor is enabled for selectively actuating the heater (306; para. 0044 and 0046) and the heating plate (313; para. 0047).
Garcia further teaches a brew timer attached to the housing, positioned in the electronics compartment, and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, such that the microprocessor is enabled for actuating the brew timer for controlling an operational time for the heater (para. 0045-0046; the microprocessor 316 estimates an end of the brew cycle using a timer which estimates the duration of the brew cycle and determine the end of the brew cycle using the timer such that heater 306 is deactivated when the end of the brew cycle is detected) and a warming timer attached to the housing, positioned in the electronics compartment, and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, such that the microprocessor is enabled for actuating the warming timer for controlling an operational time for the heating plate (para. 0046-0047; microprocessor 316 using a TSB timer which counts the time after the end of the brew cycle and is used to deactivate heating plate 313 when a predetermined interval, measured by the TSB timer, has passed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo, as modified by Leung, with Garcia, by adding to the supporting plate and to the switch of Kondo, the heating element for warming the plate taught by Garcia, for in doing so would provide a means to maintain the temperature of the brewed coffee in the carafe for a predetermined period of time, while also providing a means for activating such heating plate when the coffee maker is turned on.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo, as modified by Leung, with Garcia, by adding to the microprocessor control of Kondo, with the brew timer attached to the housing, positioned in the electronics compartment, and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, such that the microprocessor is enabled for actuating the brew timer for controlling an operational time for the heater and the warming timer attached to the housing, positioned in the electronics compartment, and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, such that the microprocessor is enabled for actuating the warming timer for controlling an operational time for the heating plate taught by Garcia, for in doing so would provide a means for controlling the heater and heating plate such that both are activated/deactivated and predetermined intervals thereby preventing overheating and/or unnecessary energy usage.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (US 10925428) in view of Leung (US 2011/0217437), Garcia (US 2010/0229730), and in view of Purgatorio (US 2017/0042372).
Regarding claim 7, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 6, except for a first receiver attached to the housing, positioned in the electronics compartment, and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, the first receiver being configured for receiving radio waves; a control screen attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, such that the control screen is enabled for signaling the microprocessor for setting a reception band for the first receiver; and a speaker attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, wherein the speaker is configured for broadcasting a radio signal received by the first receiver (claim 7).
The primary combination, with respect to claim 8, is also silent on further including a second receiver attached to the housing, positioned in the electronics compartment, and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, the second receiver being configured for pairing with an electronic device of a user, wherein the second receiver is configured for receiving an audio file from the electronic device for broadcast by the speaker.
The primary combination, with respect to claim 9, is also silent on an audio button attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, wherein the audio button is configured for depressing a first time for signaling the microprocessor for powering the first receiver, the second receiver, and the control screen and for depressing a second time for deactuating the first receiver, the second receiver and the control screen.
Purgatorio relates to a beverage system (para. 0002; Fig. 4) and teaches the system including a first receiver (radio reception module 45) attached to the housing (housing of 6), that the control screen is enabled for signaling the microprocessor (10) for setting a reception band for the first receiver; and a speaker (43) attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, wherein the speaker is configured for broadcasting a radio signal received by the first receiver (para. 0066; radio reception module 45 allows for AM/FM radio stations to be played via speaker 43).
Purgatorio further teaches the system including a second receiver (38) attached to the housing,
Purgatorio further teaches an audio button (on/off button 48) attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the microprocessor (10), wherein the audio button is configured for depressing a first time for signaling the microprocessor for powering the first receiver (45), the second receiver (38), and the control screen (36, 44, 37) and for depressing a second time for deactuating the first receiver, the second receiver and the control screen (36, 37, 44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo, as modified by Leung and Garcia, with Purgatorio by adding to the processor and electronics compartment of Kondo, with the first and second receiver, control screen, and on/off button arrangement of Purgatorio for in doing so would allow the coffee maker to allow a user to listen to the radio, music, or other audio while using the coffee maker, which would further improve the versatility of the portable, battery powered coffee maker by allowing additional uses.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (US 10925428) in view of Leung (US 2011/0217437), Garcia (US 2010/0229730), and in view of Burrows (US 2006/0102010).
Regarding claims 10-11, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 6, except for a plurality of bulbs attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, such that the microprocessor is enabled for selectively actuating the plurality of bulbs, wherein the plurality of bulbs is configured for illuminating a space proximate to the housing (claim 10) and wherein each bulb of the plurality of bulbs comprises a light emitting diode (claim 11).
Burrows relates to a coffee brewer (para. 0002; Figs. 12-15) and teaches a bulb (LED bulb 84; para. 0055) attached to the housing (as shown in Figures 12-15) and operationally engaged to the microprocessor (control circuit 23), such that the microprocessor is enabled for selectively actuating the LED (para. 0059), wherein the LED is configured for illuminating a space proximate to the housing (para. 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo, as modified above, with Burrows by adding to the processor and the housing of Kondo, with LED light of Burrows, for in doing so would illuminate the visible brewing process, as well as, provide a visible indication that the brew process has been completed (Burrows, para. 0011).
While the embodiment illustrated in Burrows relied upon discloses a single LED, paragraph 0055 states that “[p]ersons skilled in the art will also recognize that a variety of different light sources may be used, including but not limited to incandescent bulbs and the like.” Those of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the scope of Burrows is not limited to a single bulb or LED.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo, as modified above, with Burrows by duplicating the LEDs of modified Kondo for in doing so increase the amount of light and, as a result, further improve visibility during use. Further, increasing the number of LEDs amounts to the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04-VI-B.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (US 10925428) in view of Leung (US 2011/0217437), Garcia (US 2010/0229730), Burrows (US 2006/0102010), and Klein (US2016/0029829)
Regarding claim 12, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 10, except for a light button attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, wherein the light button is configured for depressing a first time for signaling the microprocessor for powering the plurality of bulbs and for depressing a second time for deactuating the plurality of bulbs.
Burrows, as relied upon, further teaches a light button attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, wherein the light button is configured for depressing a first time for signaling the microprocessor for powering the plurality of bulbs (para. 0059; “When the brew cycle is initiated as by depression of the on-off button 22, a control circuit 23 (FIG. 12) energizes the light 84. Upon completion of the brew cycle, as indicated by a cessation of jetted water inflow to the brew basket 112, the control circuit 23 may be adapted to turn the light 84 off thereby indicating brew cycle completion.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo, as modified above, with Burrows by adding to the processor, the housing, and the LEDs of modified Kondo, with the light actuation button of Burrows, for in doing so would provide a manual button for turning the LEDs during brewing.
The combination, as detailed above, teaches substantially the claimed invention including the use of a plurality of LEDs for illuminating a space proximate to the housing and button for actuating the LEDs. The combination is silent on the button being depressed a second time to deactuate the LEDs.
Klein relates to a kitchen appliance in which a light is used to illuminate a space (See Figs. 1-2 and 8). Klein is concerned with providing a means for a user to activate/deactivate the light and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of the same faced by the inventor.
Klein teaches using a light button (48) that a user presses to turn on or off the light, as desired (para. 0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo, as modified above, with Klein by replacing the light button of modified Kondo, with the light button of Klein, for in doing so would provide an improved light button that allows a user to turn on and off the light, as desired.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (US 10925428) in view of Leung (US 2011/0217437), Garcia (US 2010/0229730), and Van Dyke (US2009/0114641).
Regarding claim 13, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 6, except for a plurality of ports attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, wherein each port of the plurality of ports is configured for insertion of a plug of a respective charging cord for powering or charging an auxiliary device of a user.
Van Dyke relates to a portable oven (para. 0007) that is intended to be used in construction sites and that is powered by either a power cord (Fig. 4; 54) or a battery (50). Van Dyke teaches using a plurality of ports (Fig. 1; conventional sockets 13) attached to the housing, wherein each port of the plurality of ports is configured for insertion of a plug of a respective charging cord for powering or charging an auxiliary device of a user (para. 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo, as modified above, with Van Dyke by adding to the housing and the electrical circuit, including the processor, of Kondo, with the plurality of conventional sockets of Van Dyke, for in doing so improve versatility of the device by allowing a user to charge external devices.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (US 10925428) in view of Leung (US 2011/0217437), Garcia (US 2010/0229730), and Van Dyke (US2009/0114641) and Richardson (US2022/0125234).
Regarding claim 14, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 13, except for each port of the plurality of ports comprises a USB port.
However, as detailed above, Van Dyke does teach the plurality of ports being conventional sockets.
Richardson relates to a portable coffee brewing system (Title and Figs. 1-5) and teaches using that a conventional socket (128) includes a USB port (para. 0146).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo, as modified above, with Richardson by replacing the type of sockets of modified Kondo, to be USB sockets as taught by Richardson, for in doing so would amount the mere use of an alternative, well-known, power port. Furthermore, using USB ports would amount to a simple substitution of art recognized power supply socket performing the same function of providing electrical power to a connected device and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. (See MPEP 2144.06-II).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (US 10925428) in view of Leung (US 2011/0217437) and in view of NPL (https://www.amazon.com/CURMIO-Compatible-Carrying-Multiple-Pockets/dp/B0B2RCT5F9/?th=1; Dated 05/31/2022)
Regarding claim 15, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, except for a carrying case comprising: a shell defining an internal space, the shell having an open top; a lid selectively attachable to the shell for closing the open top; and a plurality of divider panels attached to the shell defining a plurality of chambers within the internal space, the plurality of chambers comprising: a first chamber sized for stowage of the housing, a second chamber sized for stowage of a water container, and a third chamber sized for stowage of filters and condiments (claim 15) and a pair of first handles attached singly to opposed ends of the shell; and a second handle attached to the lid (claim 16).
NPL relates to a carrying case for a coffee brewer and teaches the carrying case
NPL Figure 1
NPL Figure 2
comprising: a shell (taken as the exterior surface which defines, at least partially, various divided compartments) defining an internal space, the shell having an open top; a lid selectively attachable to the shell for closing the open top (hinged lid shown above that closes/opens the carrying case); and a plurality of divider panels (surfaces that define, or separate, the various compartments) attached to the shell defining a plurality of chambers within the internal space, the plurality of chambers comprising: a first chamber sized for stowage of the housing, a second chamber sized for stowage of a water container (the chambers are of some size that can contain the coffee machine housing, of some size, and the water container, of some size. The claim language does not define, nor limit, the sizes of the compartments or of the housing and water container. As such, a housing and water container of some size can be made that fits within the compartments or, vice versa. See MPEP 2112 and 2114. Additionally, Figure 1, above, shows the coffee machine residing in a main compartment and a cup that can container water, residing in a side compartment), and a third chamber sized for stowage of filters and condiments (the chambers are of some size that can contain filters and condiments The claim language does not define, nor limit, the sizes of the compartments or of the filter and condiments. As such, a filter and condiments of some size can be made that fits within the compartments or, vice versa. See MPEP 2112 and 2114. Additionally, Figure 1, above shows a front compartment that contains coffee pods. This compartment is of sufficient size to accommodate coffee filters and condiments) and a pair of first handles attached singly to opposed ends of the shell; and a second handle attached to the lid (Figure 2 shows a pair of first handles extending from a back surface and a front surface and above the lid and a second handle attached indirectly to the lid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kondo, as modified by Leung, with NPL by adding to the portable coffee maker of Kondo, to include the carrying case of NPL, for in doing so would provide a means for carrying the coffee machine, along with coffee making ingredients, as well as a means for storing the same when not in use.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (US 10925428) in view of Leung (US 2011/0217437), Goto (US 2013/0187461), Pinheiro (US 2009/0084270), Sherer (US 5369255), Van Dyke (US2009/0114641), Garcia (US 2010/0229730), Purgatorio (US 2017/0042372), Burrows (US 2006/0102010), Klein (US2016/0029829), Richardson (US2022/0125234), and in view of NPL (https://www.amazon.com/CURMIO-Compatible-Carrying-Multiple-Pockets/dp/B0B2RCT5F9/?th=1; Dated 05/31/2022).
Claim 19 is a mirror image of all of the limitations recited in claims 1-17. For the sake of brevity and to aid in compact prosecution by minimizing redundant content, the Examiner formally states that claim 19 is obvious over the prior art relied indicated for substantially the same reasons enumerated above.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761