DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed March 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pages 6-7 that Kareco (US 20170248449 A1; Kareco, K. et al.; cited in prior PTO-892, hereinafter “Kareco”) does not disclose that the fluid in said hollow bore does not contact said mount. Examiner respectfully disagrees, and would draw Applicant’s attention to Kareco para. [0094] (cited in part on page 7 para. 1 of applicants “Remarks”): “[0094] Referring now to FIG. 20, an alternative embodiment is provided. In FIG. 20, a cross-sectional view of a modular sensor system 2101 is shown. The modular sensor system 2101 includes a cap 2102 and a base 2103. As shown in FIG. 20, the cap 2102 and base 2103 are attached to one another, can be removably or permanently attached in any manner, such as described above. In FIG. 20, the base 2103 is shown attached to a manifold 2105. Both manifold 2105 and base 2103 have passageways extending therethrough which align to allow fluid to flow through both manifold 2105 and base 2103 in a straight or substantially straight flowpath 2120.”
For clarity of the record, Kareco Fig. 20 [Image 0] has been provided below. As referenced in the Non-Final Rejection of December 30, 2025, Kareco discloses a mount, [cap, 2102 in the embodiment of Fig. 20] a hollow bore [flowpath 2120], a fitment [base, 2103 in the embodiment of Fig. 20]. As described in para. [0094], the flowpath 2120 allows the fluid to flow through the manifold 2105 and base 2103, while the cap 2012 and base 2103 are made to be removably attached. With the combination of para. [0094] and Fig. 20, Examiner reads that Kareco states that the fluid flows in the flowpath 2120 such that only the base 2103 and manifold 2105 are in direct contact with the fluid. Further evidence for this reading is that para. [0094] states that the cap can be permanently removed from the embodiment of Fig. 20, meaning that the cap 2120 is not necessary for the fluid to flow through the flowpath 2120.
Image 0 - Kareco, Fig. 20
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., "that the mount can be constructed of less expensive, non-medical-grade materials" [page 7 para. 2 of "Remarks"]) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Further, Applicant argues that Kareco does not teach the “self-alignment mechanism” (not described as a “mechanism” in the claims of the instant application, but rather a feature of the base with the fitment and mount with the fitment, respectively) recited in claims 1 and further defined in dependent claims 6-10, (and now included in new claims 13 and 17), as Applicant states that Kareco only teaches that the screws 508 attach the base 502 to the adapter 507. While Examiner agrees that screws 508 attach the base 502 [read as “fitment” for the instant application] to the adapter 507, Examiner respectfully disagrees that Kareco does not teach the mating of the “fitment” to the “base” and the “fitment” to the “mount” of the instant application, and would draw Applicant’s attention to Fig. 6 of Kareco, Image 1 of the Non-Final Rejection of December 30, 2025 [included below as Image 1], and the rejections of at least claims 1 and 6-10 under 35 U.S.C. §102 of the Non-Final Rejection of December 30, 2025 of December 30, 2025.
Image 1 – Kareco, Fig. 6, Annotated
As stated in the Non-Final Rejection of December 30, 2025, Kareco discloses that the fitment [base, 502 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 6] has a pillar [outlined region 1 in Image 1] and the mount [cap, 506 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 6] has a recess [outlined region 2 in Image 1] with a hole in both the pillar and recess such that at least one threaded screw [screw 503] can pass through and align the holes of the fitment and mount [shown in Image 1].
For at least these reasons, Examiner respectfully disagrees that Kareco does not disclose the limitations recited in the amended claims of the instant application, as seen in the rejection(s) below. Further, Examiner respectfully disagrees that Kareco does not disclose the limitations recited in the newly added claims of the instant application, as seen in the rejection(s) below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kareco.
In regard to claims 1-2 and 4-11, Kareco discloses:
{claim 1} a pressure gauge [modular sensor system - abstract describes including a pressure sensor] comprising: a fitment [base], the fitment comprising: a hollow bore therethrough [straight flowpath 2120]; a first connector in-line with said hollow bore for allowing fluid to enter said hollow bore [formed by recesses 2104c and 2104d]; a second connector in-line with said hollow bore for allowing fluid to exit said hollow bore [formed by recesses 2104a and 2104b]; and an access [hole in base 3, shown in Fig. 3] having an axis oriented perpendicularly to a centerline axis of said hollow bore {combining the straight flowpath 2120 with recesses 2104a-2104d of base embodiment 2103 with the embodiment 1 shown in Fig. 3 (as described in paras. [0094]-[0098] where a combination of embodiments is acceptable), the access would be positioned with a centerline axis perpendicular to straight flowpath 2120}; pressure sensing electronics [pressure sensor, abstract], said pressure sensing electronics including: a pressure sensor {para. [0070]} positioned in said access and recessed from said hollow bore [described in paras. [0067]-[0072], shown in embodiment 701 where the electronics including a sensor reside in base 703 as described in para. [0076]}; and a connector pin {leads of portion 735, described in paras. [0066] and [0076]} for electrically connecting said pressure sensor to an external electrical device {described in paras. [0066]-[0067]}; a mount [cap], said mount including: a socket for physically connecting said pressure gauge to said external electrical device {para. [0076] describes portion 735 as adapted to receive a plug connector - ergo portion 735 with the passthrough of the cap 702 shown in Fig. 7 is a socket]; and a base [flanges for receiving screws, best shown in Fig. 3 and 5], attached to said socket; wherein, said base is attached to said fitment by at least one thread forming screw [screws 7a, 503, 508, etc.]; and wherein, as said base is attached to said fitment by said at least one thread forming screw [best shown in Fig. 3 and 5], said base self-aligns with said fitment such that said socket extends outwardly from said base [best shown in Fig. 3 and 5]; wherein fluid in said hollow bore does not contact said mount {shown in Fig. 20, described in para. [0094]; the fluid flows in the flowpath 2120 such that only the base 2103 and manifold 2105 are in direct contact with the fluid};
{claim 2} that the fitment is constructed of a different material from said mount {para. [0067] describes an embodiment where the cap can be made of "acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) or a polycarbonate (PC), or similar materials" and that the base can be made of polyetheretherketone (“PEEK”)};
{claim 4} a circuit board supporting said pressure sensing electronics [shown in Fig. 7];
{claim 5} that said circuit board is held in place in a chamber in said fitment from pressure applied by said base when said base is attached to said fitment [PCB 706, shown in Fig. 9];
{claim 6} that said fitment further comprises a pillar extending therefrom [Image 1, outlined area 1], said pillar including a hole therethrough [shown in Image 1, hole contains a screw];
{claim 7} that said mount further comprises a recess extending thereinto [Image 1, outlined area 2], said recess including a hole in a wall thereof [shown in Image 1, hole contains a screw];
{claim 8} that said pillar mates with said recess [shown in Image 1];
{claim 9} that at least one thread forming screw passes through said hole in said pillar and said hole in said wall of said recess [shown in Image 1];
{claim 10} that said pillar mating with said recess serves to self-align said mount with said fitment [shown in Image 1]; and
{claim 11} that said fitment further comprises a second pillar extending therefrom, said second pillar also including a hole therethrough; said mount further comprises a second recess extending thereinto, said second recess also including a hole in a wall thereof; and a second of said at least one thread forming screw passes through said hole in said second pillar and said hole in said wall of said second recess [Image 1 shows a both of a pair of pillars and recesses - to make viewing easier, only one of each has been outlined].
In regard to claims 13 and 15-16, Kareco discloses:
{claim 13} a housing for a pressure gauge [modular sensor system - abstract describes including a pressure sensor, structure for housing described throughout], the housing comprising: a fitment [base], the fitment comprising: a body structure [shown throughout]; a hollow bore extending through said body structure [straight flowpath 2120]; a first connector attached to said body structure and in-line with said hollow bore for allowing fluid to enter said hollow bore [formed by recesses 2104c and 2104d]; a second connector attached to said body structure and in-line with said hollow bore for allowing fluid to exit said hollow bore [formed by recesses 2104a and 2104b]; and an access in said body structure [hole in base 3, shown in Fig. 3], said access having an axis oriented perpendicularly to a centerline axis of said hollow bore and being in fluid communication with said hollow bore {combining the straight flowpath 2120 with recesses 2104a-2104d of base embodiment 2103 with the embodiment 1 shown in Fig. 3 (as described in para. [0094]-[0098] where a combination of embodiments is acceptable), the access would be positioned with a centerline axis perpendicular to straight flowpath 2120}; a mount [cap], the mount comprising: a base [flanges for receiving screws, best shown in Fig. 3 and 5-6]; and a socket attached to said base {para. [0076] describes portion 735 as adapted to receive a plug connector - ergo portion 735 with the passthrough of the cap 702 shown in Fig. 7 is a socket}; wherein said mount does not include any portion of said hollow bore therethrough such that fluid in said hollow bore does not contact said mount {shown in Fig. 20, described in para. [0094]; the fluid flows in the flowpath 2120 such that only the base 2103 and manifold 2105 are in direct contact with the fluid, para. [0094] describes that the cap is removable from the base}; and wherein said base is attached to said fitment by at least one thread forming screw such that said mount self-aligns with said fitment [screws 7a, 503, 508, etc.], wherein said fitment further comprises at least one pillar extending therefrom [Image 1, outlined area 1], said pillar including a hole therethrough [shown in Image 1, hole contains a screw]; wherein said mount further comprises at least one recess extending thereinto [Image 1, outlined area 2], said recess including a hole in a wall thereof [shown in Image 1, hole contains a screw]; and wherein said at least one pillar mates with said at least one recess [shown in Image 1] and said at least one thread forming screw passes through said hole in said at least one pillar and said hole in said wall of said at least one recess [screw 503 passes through said holes, shown in Image 1];
{claim 15} that said fitment further comprises a depression surrounding said access [hole in base 3 has a depression, shown in Fig. 3], said depression configured to hold a seal [element 19/o-ring seal 504 aligns with the depression]; and
{claim 16} that said mount is 3D printed {para. [0071] describes 3D printing a cap}.
In regard to claims 17-20, Kareco discloses:
{claim 17} a method of assembling a pressure gauge [modular sensor system - abstract describes including a pressure sensor], the method comprising: positioning pressure sensing electronics {pressure sensor, abstract and at least para. [0070]} on a fitment {base, pressure sensor on base described in paras. [0067]-[0072], shown in embodiment 701 where the electronics including a sensor reside in base 703 as described in para. [0076]}, the fitment comprising a hollow bore therethrough [straight flowpath 2120], a first connector in-line with said hollow bore [formed by recesses 2104c and 2104d], a second connector in-line with said hollow bore [formed by recesses 2104a and 2104b], and an access [hole in base 3, shown in Fig. 3] having an axis oriented perpendicularly to a centerline axis of said hollow bore {combining the straight flowpath 2120 with recesses 2104a-2104d of base embodiment 2103 with the embodiment 1 shown in Fig. 3 (as described in para. [0094]-[0098] where a combination of embodiments is acceptable), the access would be positioned with a centerline axis perpendicular to straight flowpath 2120}, wherein said pressure sensing electronics include a pressure sensor [pressure sensor, abstract] positioned in said access {described in paras. [0067]-[0072], shown in embodiment 701 where the electronics including a sensor reside in base 703 as described in para. [0076]}; aligning a mount [cap] with said fitment by mating at least one pillar extending from said fitment {image 1, outlined area 1] with at least one recess in said mount [Image 1, outlined area 2]; and attaching said mount to said fitment with at least one thread forming screw passing through a hole in said at least one pillar and a hole in said at least one recess [screw 503 passes through said holes, shown in Image 1]; wherein fluid in said hollow bore does not contact said mount {shown in Fig. 20, described in para. [0094]; the fluid flows in the flowpath 2120 such that only the base 2103 and manifold 2105 are in direct contact with the fluid, para. [0094] describes that the cap is removable from the base};
{claim 18} positioning a seal in a depression surrounding said access [element 19 in Fig. 3/o-ring seal 504 in Fig. 5] prior to positioning said pressure sensing electronics on said fitment [element 19 would have to be in place on base 3/o-ring seal 504 would have to be in place on base 502 before adding element 17/pressure sensor 501 by nature of their structure, they could not be added before element 17/pressure sensor 501];
{claim 19} that said pressure sensing electronics comprise a circuit board supporting said pressure sensor {circuit board (PCB) 730 described at least in paras. [0075]-[0079]}, and wherein attaching said mount to said fitment sandwiches said circuit board between said mount and said fitment [shown in Fig. 7];
{claim 20} that said fitment is constructed of a different material from said mount {para. [0067] describes an embodiment where the cap can be made of "acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) or a polycarbonate (PC), or similar materials" and that the base can be made of polyetheretherketone (“PEEK”)}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kareco in view of Baba (US 20050109113 A1; Baba; cited in prior PTO-892, hereinafter "Baba").
In regard to claim 12, Kareco teaches a socket with pins [leads] with a five-pin connector [Fig. 1].
Kareco does not teach a socket designed to interface with a four-pin connector.
However, Baba teaches a pressure sensor with a socket designed to interface with a four-pin connector {Fig. 2 shows a connector portion 11 with four terminals 10a, such to interface with a connector as described in para. [0078]}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Baba’s four-pin socket, a well-known engineering practice, with Kareco’s pressure sensor in order to better connect with an external circuit, as described by Baba {para. [0078]}.
5. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kareco in view of Furey (US 10215598 B2; Furey, J. et al.; cited in information disclosure statement filed March 2, 2023 - hereinafter "Furey").
In regard to claim 14, Kareco teaches that the ports for connecting the modular pressure sensor system can be modified to adapt the system to a given fluidics system {para. [0096]}.
Kareco is not explicit that the first and second connectors are barbed hose connectors.
However, utilizing barbed hose connectors with a pressure sensor in a fluid system is a well-known engineering practice, as Furey teaches a pressure sensor for a fluid system with a first and second connector that are barbed hose connectors [shown in Fig. 1, col. 2 lines 45-55].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Furey’s barbed hose connectors as Kareco’s first and second connectors in order to better maintain a coupling between the fitting and process application, as taught by Furey [col. 2 lines 45-55].
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ref U of the attached PTO-892 (publication by Xometry, hereinafter "Ref U") describes the use of 3D-printed materials for manufacturing parts.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL M QUINN/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855