DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/1/2025 has been entered. Claims 1,5-9,11 and 41-53 are currently pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the outstanding 112 rejections previously set forth in the final office action mailed 7/1/2025.
Response to Arguments
It is noted that the examiner was previously persuaded (by applicant’s arguments filed 5/12/2025) that Ahern does not disclose the fixed steering angle relative to the vehicle chassis, but upon further inspection of the reference the examiner has found that this was incorrect. Applicant’s arguments “The claimed fixed steering axis is not disclosed by Ahern. Ahern describes a linear steer guide assembly wherein a ball screw and follower linearly displace a steer link connected to a wheel bracket…”, neglected the disclosed and illustrated rotation axis (410) (See “The steering bracket includes a tab and is configured to rotate about a steer axis of rotation” in Paragraph 0025; “Steering bracket 404 includes a tab 408 and is configured to rotate about a steer axis of rotation 410” in Paragraph 0036; etc.) which does not move in any of the Figures (4, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12) and which must be stable in order to allow control of the wheel and its steering via the linear actuator follower, linkage, and tab configuration. The follower’s linear movement does in fact impart a torque on the steering bracket via the tab is linked to (as noted in the arguments by applicant), but this torque then rotates the wheel around its axis 410. If the axis was not geometrically fixed relative to the chassis, then the wheel would not be controllable to steer the vehicle, since no other mounting point between the wheel carrier is illustrated or disclosed, and since the linkage (412 [442 in Figure 4]) between the linearly moving follower (402) is clearly pivotably mounted on both ends to both the follower (402) and the tab (408) of the wheel carrier, given the many illustrations provided in Figures 4-6 and 8-12. Thus, without the axle providing the rotation axis geometrically fixed relative to the chassis, there would be nothing to hold the wheel carrier stable for the follower and linkage to control rotation of the wheel in a stable fashion, because both pivot points of the linkage would freely rotate and the wheel would be free to have its rotation axis translate in every direction with the only minimal control being provided by the length of the linkage restricting how far the wheel could travel from the follower.
Additionally, Ahern does not imply anywhere that the rotation axis (410) may be variably positioned/mounted, and this would not be a trivial element in the invention of Ahern given the structure disclosed and illustrated, particularly the freedom in movement between the follower and linkage and between the linkage and wheel carrier, as well as the very important functioning of the invention to control the relationships of each wheel about its axis of rotation to a center point for rotating the entire vehicle about (illustrated in Figures 9-12, and described in the corresponding sections of the specification). It would, in fact, be unreasonable to assume that Ahern is disclosing a variably positioned (relative to the chassis) axis of rotation for each of the four wheels since Ahern neither describes such a configuration, nor does Ahern illustrate such a configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 11, and 41-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahern et al (US2015/0246684A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ahern teaches a mobile elevated work platform vehicle (Figure 1), comprising: a. a vehicle chassis (102); b. a first independently steerable wheel rotatably coupled to a first fixed steering axis (410 is the axis about which the each wheel rotates) that is geometrically fixed relative to said vehicle chassis (See “The steering bracket includes a tab and is configured to rotate about a steer axis of rotation” in Paragraph 0025; “Steering bracket 404 includes a tab 408 and is configured to rotate about a steer axis of rotation 410” in Paragraph 0036; etc., which does not move in any of the Figures 4, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12); c. a first linear steering actuator (See one of the four linear steer guide assemblies 200, with linear drive device 202, steer motor 414, and gearbox 416) in mechanical communication with said first independently steerable wheel and nested within a first lateral compartment (See various compartments illustrated in Figure 8, including lateral compartments housing the wheels and steering actuators) (Figures 2-6 and 8; Paragraphs 0033-0037); d. a second independently steerable wheel rotatably coupled to a second steering axis (410) that is geometrically fixed relative to said vehicle chassis (See any of the other four wheels 104/105); and e. a second linear steering actuator in mechanical communication with said second independently steerable wheel (See any of the other four wheels 104/105 and their respective actuator arrangement 200/202/414/416) and nested within a second lateral compartment (See various compartments illustrated in Figure 8, including lateral compartments housing the wheels and steering actuators), wherein there is no mechanical steering connection between said first independently steerable wheel and said second independently steerable wheel (as noted in the previously cited sections and general description of the wheels being independently steerable by not having mechanical steering connection to one another).
Regarding claim 5, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches that the vehicle chassis includes a central compartment spanning from the front of the vehicle chassis to the back of the vehicle chassis (See compartment located between all of the wheel compartments in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 6, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches directionally static rear wheels independently mounted at or near a back end of the vehicle chassis, wherein there is no mechanical linkage between the rear wheels (Paragraph 0046 and Figure 8).
Regarding claim 7, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 5 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches that the first steering actuator is nested within said first lateral compartment and is not present in said central compartment (See left fwd steering actuator and wheel, for example, in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 8, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 5 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches that the second steering actuator is nested within a second lateral compartment and is not present in said central compartment (See right fwd steering actuator and wheel, for example, in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 9, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches a controller having a processor for processing data, a memory, and a data storage device for storing data (Paragraph 0038; Figure 7).
Regarding claim 11, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 9 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches that the data storage device stores machine readable instructions to cause the system upon execution of the by the processor to perform the steps of: a. receiving a first signal representative of a first toe angle of said first independently steerable wheel, wherein said first signal corresponds to a position of said first linear steering actuator (Paragraph 0037), b. calculating a target toe angle for said second independently steerable wheel based on first toe angle and a predetermined steering geometry (Paragraph 0041), c. receiving a second signal representative of a starting toe angle of said second independently steerable wheel (Paragraph 0037), d. calculating an angular difference between said target toe angle and said second toe angle to determine an angle adjustment for said second independently steerable wheel (Paragraph 0041), and e. sending a steering command from said controller to said second linear steering actuator for said second independently steerable wheel to turn said second independently steerable wheel according to said angle adjustment (Paragraphs 0041 and 0046; Figure 8).
Regarding claim 50, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches a retractable lifting mechanism operable to extend away from and retract into the vehicle chassis (See scissor lift structure in the Figures cited above; Paragraphs 0030+).
Regarding claim 51, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 50 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches a retractable lifting mechanism actuator operable to extend said retractable lifting mechanism from the vehicle chassis and to retract said retractable lifting mechanism into said chassis (See scissor lift structure in the Figures cited above; Paragraphs 0030+).
Regarding claim 52, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 50 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches a platform assembly positioned at a superior end of the retractable lifting mechanism and operable to move vertically with extension of said retractable lifting mechanism (See scissor lift structure in the Figures cited above; Paragraphs 0030+).
Regarding claim 53, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 9 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches that an operator input device for inputting data (Paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 41, Ahern teaches a mobile elevated work platform vehicle comprising: a. a vehicle chassis (102) having a central compartment (See central compartment located between all of the wheel well compartments, in Figure 8), a first lateral compartment (compartment of one of the steered wheels in Figure 8, e.g., the left), and a second lateral compartment (compartment of one of the steered wheels in Figure 8, e.g., the right); b. a first independently steerable wheel mounted to rotate about a first geometrically fixed steering axis (410) relative to said vehicle chassis; (See “The steering bracket includes a tab and is configured to rotate about a steer axis of rotation” in Paragraph 0025; “Steering bracket 404 includes a tab 408 and is configured to rotate about a steer axis of rotation 410” in Paragraph 0036; etc., which does not move in any of the Figures 4, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12); c. a first linear steering actuator (See one of the four linear steer guide assemblies 200, with linear drive device 202, steer motor 414, and gearbox 416) in mechanical communication with said first independently steerable wheel and nested within said first lateral compartment (Figures 2-6 and 8; Paragraphs 0033-0037 [See left or right fwd wheel in Figure 8, for example]); d. a second independently steerable wheel mounted to rotate about a second geometrically fixed steering axis relative to said vehicle chassis (See other of steered wheels 104/105 and its associated steering axis 410); e. a second linear steering actuator in mechanical communication with said second independently steerable wheel (See other four wheels 104/105 and their respective actuator arrangement 200/202/414/416) and nested within said second lateral compartment (Figure 8), wherein there is no mechanical linkage between said first independently steerable wheel and said second independently steerable wheel (as noted in the previously cited sections and general description of the wheels being independently steerable by not having mechanical steering connection to one another); and f. a controller having a processor for processing data, a memory, and a data storage device for storing data (Paragraph 0038; Figure 7), wherein the data storage device has instructions to execute the instructions by the processor to perform the machine-implemented steps of: i. receiving a first signal representative of a first toe angle based on the position of said first linear steering actuator of said first independently steerable wheel (Paragraphs 0037-0038), i. calculating a target toe angle for said second independently steerable wheel based on a predetermined steering geometry and said position of said first linear steering actuator (Paragraph 0041), iii. receiving a second signal representative of a second toe angle of said second independently steerable wheel (Paragraph 0037); iv. calculating an angular difference between said target toe angle and said second toe angle to create a steering command, and sending said steering command from said controller to said second linear steering actuator for said second independently steerable wheel to turn said second independently steerable wheel to the target toe angle (Paragraphs 0041 and 0046; Figure 8).
Regarding claim 42, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 41 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches that said first signal representative of a first toe angle is determined by the positional displacement of said first linear steering actuator (Paragraph 0037), wherein a neutral position of said first linear steering actuator aligns said first independently steerable wheel with said first lateral compartment (The aft wheels in Figure 8 show the neutral position aligning those wheels with their respective compartments, so the same applies to the compartments on the "fwd" side when the steered wheels are in their respective neutral positions), and wherein said first and second linear steering actuators are operatively connected to said first and second independently steerable wheels, respectively, such that an actuation of said first or second linear steering actuator induces a corresponding rotational movement of the associated independently steerable wheel about the fixed steering axis (See Figure 8+ and corresponding previously cited paragraphs).
Regarding claim 43, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 42 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches said second signal representative of a second toe angle is measured by an electromechanical sensor and is compared to the position of said second linear steering actuator to perform said calculating an angular difference between said target toe angle and said second toe angle (Paragraphs 0037-0038 and 0041).
Regarding claim 44, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 43 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches that said compared position of said linear steering actuator and said second toe angle generates a steering command for said second linear steering actuator to turn said second independently steerable wheel to the target toe angle based until said angular difference between said target toe angle and said second toe angle is zero (Paragraphs 0041 and 0048 [turning speed is increased proportional to the difference, and thus decreased proportional to decrease in the difference, i.e. turning speed reaches zero when difference is zero]).
Regarding claim 45, Ahern teaches a method for determining steering geometry of a vehicle of a type having first and second independently steerable wheels, wherein each independently steerable wheel being mounted to rotate about a geometrically fixed steering axis (410) relative to a vehicle chassis (See “The steering bracket includes a tab and is configured to rotate about a steer axis of rotation” in Paragraph 0025; “Steering bracket 404 includes a tab 408 and is configured to rotate about a steer axis of rotation 410” in Paragraph 0036; etc., which does not move in any of the Figures 4, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12), and a steering system comprises wheel angle sensor devices for generating toe angle signals representative of toe angles of the steerable wheels (See sections/figures previously cited with regard to claim 1, along with their general descriptions of the structure of the independently steerable first and second wheels, which is used in the method below), the method comprising the machine implemented steps of: i. receiving a first signal representative of a first toe angle of a first independently steerable wheel (Paragraphs 0037-0038); i. calculating a target toe angle for a second independently steerable wheel based on a predetermined steering geometry (Paragraph 0041); iii. receiving a second signal representative of a second toe angle of a second independently steerable wheel (Paragraph 0037); iv. calculating an angular difference between said target toe angle and said second toe angle to create a steering command, wherein the steering command eliminates scrub of said second independently steerable wheel (Paragraphs 0041 and 0046 [See orientation about point 802 in Figure 8]); and v. sending said steering command from said controller to a linear steering actuator for said second independently steerable wheel to turn said second independently steerable wheel (Paragraphs 0041 and 0046; Figure 8).
Regarding claim 46, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 45 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches a. determining an Ackermann angle of said second independently steerable wheel based on the second toe angle of said first independently steerable wheel; and b. calculating an electrical signal value operable to actuate said linear steering actuator of said second independently steerable wheel to achieve said Ackerman angle; and c. transmitting said electrical signal value from aid controller to said electrical steering actuator of said second independently steerable wheel (Figure 8 illustrates the steps above, in combination with corresponding Paragraphs 0041 and 0046).
Regarding claim 47, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 45 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches that the controller is further operable to receive a third signal representative of a third toe angle of the first independently steerable wheel when the first independently steerable wheel is being turned to a second direction by manipulation of the steering mechanism, wherein said third toe angle determined by the position of said first linear steering actuator (continued operation of the vehicle includes different vehicle turning maneuvers, which necessarily cause a third signal, etc.).
Regarding claim 48, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 47 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches calculating a second target toe angle for said second independently steerable wheel based on said third toe angle and said predetermined steering geometry (continued operation of the vehicle includes different vehicle turning maneuvers and subsequent targets and commands).
Regarding claim 49, Ahern discloses the invention of claim 48 as discussed above, and Ahern teaches calculating a second angular difference between said second target toe angle and a toe angle of said second independently steerable wheel to create a second steering command (continued operation of the vehicle includes different vehicle turning maneuvers and subsequent targets, difference calculations, and commands).
Conclusion
/KEVIN R STECKBAUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747