DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 10/2/2025. Claims 1-7 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 4-7 are withdrawn from further consideration.
The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vrolijk (WO 01/34309) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments. Accordingly, the rejections of claims 2, and 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combinations of Vrolijk, Innes (US 11,571,723), and Harvey et al. (US 2021/00273424).
In response to Applicant’s amendments, new ground(s) of rejection are applied below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H02-31850 (hereafter, “JP ‘850) in view of Vrolijk (WO 01/34309 A2).
JP ‘850 discloses a remote controlled high pressure water washing apparatus for installation on a boom lift device comprising: a framework comprising a first horizontal rail (16) and a pair of vertical rails (15a); a vertical motor assembly configured to enable said first horizontal rail to slide vertically along a length of said pair of vertical rails (17); a nozzle member movably mounted to said first horizontal rail (18); a horizontal motor assembly configured to enable said nozzle member to slide horizontally along a length of said first horizontal rail (19), thereby providing two distinct orthogonal axes of programmable motion for said nozzle members within said framework (see 15a, 16-19); an attachment bracket connected to the framework (Figure 2: connection between 14 and 15); and, a connector member having a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the proximal end is configured to attach to a telescopic boom arm of the boom lift device and the distal end is configured to attach to the attachment bracket (14).
JP ‘850 does not expressly disclose that the nozzle member is a plurality of nozzle members. It is established that mere duplication of parts is obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B) – Duplication of Parts. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JP ‘850 and to have a plurality of nozzle members, and the results would be predictable.
JP ‘850 does not expressly disclose a pivoting connector member, the proximal end is configured to pivotally attach to a telescopic boom arm, the distal end is configured to pivotally attach to the attachment bracket. Rather, JP ‘850 discloses that the servo arm (13) has a tip (13a) at the fittings (14) and is moved arbitrarily in three dimensions while interval maintenance legs (20) to hold the frame to a prescribed interval to the surface (see machine translation, page 2).
Vrolijk discloses a method and device for spraying a surface and a spray nozzle for use therewith, wherein the spraying treatments include any treatment whereby fluid is fed under pressure, such as applying a paint layer, cleaning with a liquid under high pressure, or blasting with sand or grit (machine translation: abstract; page 1, paragraph 2). An embodiment of the device include a means (Figures 1-2: 4; machine translation, page 5) for moving spray nozzles (3) comprising a telescoping arm (9), and pivotally suspended therefrom by means of a hinge (10) acting in different directions, a mechanism (11) carrying the nozzles (3).
Because it is known in the art to have a hinge to pivotally suspend the nozzles, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a means for adjusting the angle of the device to match the surface being treated, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pivoting connector member, the proximal end is configured to pivotally attach to a telescopic boom arm, the distal end is configured to pivotally attach to the attachment bracket.
It is noted that performing high pressure water washing and/or inspection is intended use of the claimed apparatus, and the apparatus of JP ‘850, in view of Vrolijk, would be capable of performing the intended use. Additionally, it is noted that a boom lift device and its components are not positively recited elements of the claimed remote controlled high pressure water washing apparatus, such that the boom lift device and its components are not required by the claim. The apparatus of JP ‘850, in view of Vrolijk, would be capable of use with a boom lift device as claimed. The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H02-31850 (hereafter, “JP ‘850), in view of Vrolijk (WO 01/34309 A2), and further in view of Innes (US 11,571,723).
Regarding claim 2, JP ‘850, in view of Vrolijk, is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the pivoting connector member includes a Z-axis pivot at the proximal end, wherein the Z-axis pivot is pivotally attached to a Y-axis pivot on the distal end.
Rather, Vrolijk indicates that the means (4) for moving the spray nozzles (3) comprises a hinge (10) acting in different directions (machine translation, page 5), and JP ‘850 discloses that the servo arm (13) has a tip (13a) at the fittings (14) and is moved arbitrarily in three dimensions while interval maintenance legs (20) to hold the frame to a prescribed interval to the surface (see machine translation, page 2).
Innes discloses a wrist assembly (3) of a quick disconnect receiver plate (Figure 2: 14) and a set of forked linkages (20) coupled through a center linkage (18) with corresponding pivot points (12) opposed at 90 degrees (col. 4, lines 19-22).
Because it is known in the art to move the hinge in different directions, and to have a wrist assembly with 90 degree pivot points, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a multi-axis connector as known in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the pivoting connector member includes a Z-axis pivot at the proximal end, wherein the Z-axis pivot is pivotally attached to a Y-axis pivot on the distal end.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H02-31850 (hereafter, “JP ‘850), in view of Vrolijk (WO 01/34309 A2), in view of Innes (US 11,571,723), and further in view of Harvey et al. (US 2021/0273424).
Regarding claim 3, JP ‘850, in view of Vrolijk, and further in view of Innes, is relied upon as above, in view of Innes, is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the Z-axis pivot and the Y-axis pivot are releasably attached via locking pins.
Harvey discloses a robotic arm having a boom adapter arm (Figure 4: 20) mounted to a hinge coupler (14) by means of a hole and pin arrangement, including a pin (14a) and a second pin (14b).
Because it is known in the art to join elements using holes and pins, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing known connectors as known in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the Z-axis pivot and the Y-axis pivot are releasably attached via locking pins.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711