DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/101,619 filed on January 26, 2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
The amended claims submitted January 29, 2026 in response to the office action mailed November 14, 2025 are under consideration. Claims 1, 3-8, 11-15 are pending. Claims 2 and 9-10 are cancelled.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Drawings
The objections to the drawings of the previous office action have been overcome by the amendments to the specification and the claims.
Specification
The amendments to the specification submitted January 29, 2026 contain no new matter and have been entered into the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Seo et al. US 2022/0210300 A1 (cited in an IDS, hereafter Seo) in view of Yoon et al. US 2018/0109660 A1 (hereafter Yoon which is the PGPub of previously cited reference 10,516,773).
The applied reference, Seo, has a common inventor and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). Based on the publication date it also constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by eliminating it as prior art under both 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
To eliminate the qualification of Seo as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) would require one of the following: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
To eliminate the qualification of Seo under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) that cannot be excepted under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C), applicant may provide a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore, not prior art as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
Regarding claim 1, Seo teaches “A camera module (camera module 1000 of embodiment 1-3 or 3-8) or comprising:
a housing (housing 1010) defining an internal space (the internal space inside housing 1010 see e.g. Fig. 7);
a lens module (lens module 1200) including a plurality of lenses (the lenses in lens modules 1210, 1220 and 1230 of Fig. 7 or 1210, 1220 of Figs. 24A, 24B) disposed along an optical axis (the optical axis of the camera module which includes the optical axis of the incident light entering the reflective module and the optical axis through the lenses);
a reflective module (reflective module 1100) disposed in front of the lens module (see e.g. Figs. 3 and 7) and including a reflective member (optical path changing member 1110) configured to change an optical path of light (e.g. paragraph [0138]: “the reflective module 1100 may include an optical path changing member 1110 configured to change the path of light (e.g., to reflect light).”);
a first driving unit (coils 1141b, 1143b and magnets 1141a, 1143a) configured to rotate the reflective module (paragraph [0214]: “the rotation holder 1120 … may rotate with respect to the first axis (X-axis) and the second axis (Y-axis) by electromagnetic influence between the plurality of magnets 1141a, 1143a, 1145a, and 1147a and the plurality of coils 1141b, 1143b, 1145b, and 1147b.”) and including a first coil (coils 1141b, 1143b) and a first magnet (magnets 1141a, 1143a);
a second driving unit (coils 1145b, 1147b and magnets 1145a, 1147a) configured to rotate the reflective module (paragraph [0214]: “the rotation holder 1120 … may rotate with respect to the first axis (X-axis) and the second axis (Y-axis) by electromagnetic influence between the plurality of magnets 1141a, 1143a, 1145a, and 1147a and the plurality of coils 1141b, 1143b, 1145b, and 1147b.”) and including a second coil (coils 1145b, 1147b) and a second magnet (magnets 1145a, 1147a);
a main substrate (main board 1070) attached to the housing (paragraph [0215]: “the main board 1070 may be attached to an external surface of the housing 1010”) and including a first side substrate (the two sides on which the plurality of coils 1141b, 1143b, 1145b, 1147b, 1241b and 1243b are disposed, see paragraphs [0215] and [0299]); and
a circuit element (paragraph [0223]: “driving circuit device (driver IC, not illustrated)”) disposed on the main substrate (paragraph [0223]: “The main board 1070 … and may include a driving circuit device (driver IC, not illustrated)”) and configured to provide a driving signal (paragraph [0223]: “a driving circuit device (driver IC, not illustrated) for providing a driving signal to the plurality of coils 1141b, 1143b, 1145b, and 1147b.”),
wherein the first coil and the second coil are disposed on the first side substrate of the main substrate (paragraph [0215]: “the plurality of coils 1141b, 1143b, 1145b, and 1147b may be disposed on the main board 1070”. From the configuration shown in Fig. 7, it is self-evident that these coils are mounted on the first side substrate of 1070).”
However, Seo fails to explicitly teach “the circuit element is disposed on a surface of the main substrate that is perpendicular to the first side substrate, and the circuit element faces the internal space of the housing and faces the reflective module along a direction parallel to the optical axis along which the plurality of lenses is disposed.”
Yoon teaches “A camera module (camera module 400) comprising:
a housing (first housing 130 and second housing 230) defining an internal space (see e.g. paragraph [0059]: “the reflecting member 110 mounted therein is accommodated in the first housing 130,” and paragraph [0112]: “a second housing 230 accommodating the lens barrel 210 and the carrier 220”. Thus 130 and 230 together have an internal space that accommodates 110 and 210);
a lens module (lens module 200) including a plurality of lenses (paragraph [0055]: “a plurality of lenses” see also Fig. 3) disposed along an optical axis (the optical axis of the lenses or the camera);
a reflective module (reflecting module 100) disposed in front of the lens module (see e.g. Fig. 3) and including a reflective member (reflecting member 110) configured to change an optical path of light (see e.g. Fig. 3);
a first driving unit (magnet 141a and coil 141b) configured to rotate the reflective module (e.g. paragraph [0062]: “In a case in which power is applied to coils 141b, 143b, and 145b, the holder 120 including magnets 141a, 143a, and 145a mounted therein may be rotated with respect to the first axis (the X axis) and the second axis (the Y axis).”) and including a first coil (coil 141b) and a first magnet (magnet 141a);
a second driving unit (coil 145b and magnet 145a) configured to rotate the reflective module (e.g. paragraph [0062]: “In a case in which power is applied to coils 141b, 143b, and 145b, the holder 120 including magnets 141a, 143a, and 145a mounted therein may be rotated with respect to the first axis (the X axis) and the second axis (the Y axis).”) and including a second coil (coil 145b) and a second magnet (magnet 145a);
a main substrate (OIS substrate 161) attached to the housing (paragraph [0063]: “the OIS substrate 161 is mounted in the first housing 130.”) and including a first side substrate (the side of 161 on which 145b is disposed); and
a circuit element (driver integrated circuit (IC) 163 or 163 and gyro sensor 165) disposed on the main substrate (see Fig. 5 and paragraph [0065]: “A driver integrated circuit (IC) 163… is also disposed on the OIS substrate 161.”) and configured to provide a driving signal (paragraph [0065]: “A driver integrated circuit (IC) 163 providing a driving signal to the plurality of coils 141b, 143b, and 145b”),
wherein … the second coil are disposed on the first side substrate of the main substrate (145b is disposed on the first side substrate of 161), and
the circuit element is disposed on a surface of the main substrate that is perpendicular to the first side substrate (see the side of 161 on which 163 is disposed in Fig. 5), and the circuit element faces the internal space of the housing (in Fig. 5 the internal major surface of 163 that is attached to 161 faces the internal space of the housing) and faces the reflective module along a direction parallel to the optical axis along which the plurality of lenses is disposed (see Figs. 2 and 5, driver IC 163 faces 100 along a direction parallel to the optical axis along which the plurality of lenses is disposed).”
It is a well-established proposition that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961); MPEP §2144.04(V)(C).
In the instant case, Seo teaches one main substrate for both the reflective module and the lens module, whereas Yoon teaches separate substrates for the reflective module and the lens module each having their own flexible connections to the outside presumably to input external control signals and power to the camera components.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the main substrate of Seo in two parts with two external connections as taught by Yoon since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961); MPEP §2144.04(V)(C).
Further, Seo teaches the camera module of claim 1 including the presence of a driver IC except for where to position the driver IC.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the circuit element on a surface of the main substrate such that the circuit element faces the reflective module along a direction parallel to the optical axis through the lenses as taught by Yoon in the device of Seo, because Seo teaches that the driver IC is located on the main substrate but is silent regarding where it should be positioned, and Yoon teaches a similar device with an explicit disclosure of the location of the driver IC being positioned on a end surface substrate of the main substrate, next to the reflective module, facing the internal space. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose the position taught by Yoon because the driver IC must be located somewhere on the main substrate and the position taught in Yoon is close to the connection to external control and power signals.
Note that the limitations “the circuit element is disposed on a surface of the main substrate that is perpendicular to the first side substrate” are considered to be met by the combination of references because Yoon teaches that the circuit element is disposed on an end surface of the main substrate next to the reflective module, and both Seo and Yoon teaches the first side substrates on which coils are disposed that either is perpendicular to the end surface of the main substrate as in Yoon or which would be perpendicular to the end surface of the main substrate if it were present as in Seo.
Regarding claim 3, the Seo – Yoon combination teaches “The camera module of claim 1,” however, Seo fails to teach “wherein the circuit element includes a plurality of circuit elements.”
Yoon teaches “wherein the circuit element includes a plurality of circuit elements (driver IC 163 and gyro sensor 165 are a plurality of circuit elements. Note that the gyro sensor 165 provides a detection result thus it is a circuit element in that an electrical signal from 165 is generated see e.g. paragraph [0065]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second circuit element as taught by Yoon in the device of the Seo – Yoon combination for the purpose of detecting instances of shakiness as taught by Yoon (paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 4, the Seo – Yoon combination teaches “The camera module of claim 1,” and Seo further teaches “further comprising:
a third driving unit (second driver 1240) including a third coil (coils 1241b, 1243b) and a third magnet (magnets 1241a, 1243a) configured to drive the lens module (e.g. paragraph [0238]: “lens barrels 1210 and 1220 may be driven by a second driver 1240.”), wherein the third coil is disposed on the first side substrate (paragraph [0299]: “the plurality of coils 1241b and 1243b may be mounted on the main board 1070”), and
the lens module includes a first lens barrel (lens barrel 1210) and a second lens barrel (lens barrel 1220).”
Regarding claim 5, the Seo – Yoon combination teaches “The camera module of claim 4,” and Seo further teaches “further comprising:
a plurality of shafts (two guide shafts GS in Figs. 24A and 24B) coupled to the housing (although not shown in Figs. 24A and 24B, it is self-evident that the guide shafts are coupled to the housing in some manner so that the lens modules 1210 and 1220 can roll along them, see paragraph [0244]: “shaft 1215a fixed to one side of the bottom surface of the housing 1010”) and disposed along the optical axis direction (see Fig. 24a and paragraph [0327]: “the guide shafts GS may be arranged side by side in the optical axis direction”), wherein the first lens barrel is configured to move in the optical axis direction along the shafts (paragraph [0327]: “each of the first or second lens barrels 1210 and 1220, may slide using the grooves formed on and between the two guide shafts GS”).”
Regarding claim 6, the Seo – Yoon combination teaches “The camera module of claim 5,” and Seo further teaches “further comprising:
a guide ball member (two fixed ball members 1215d and 1225d) disposed between the shafts and the first lens barrel (see Fig. 24B and paragraph [0327]), wherein the guide ball member is configured to move in a rolling manner between the plurality of shafts (The ball members either roll or slide. In Fig. 23, the sliding ball members are 1215d and 1225d, whereas the rolling ball members are 1215b and 1225b, see paragraph [0324]. As depicted in Fig. 24A, the ball members 1215d and 1225d are within a groove 1214a and 1224a, like the rolling ball members of Fig. 23. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably deduce that the ball members of Figs. 24A, 24B are rolling ball members. Furthermore, the genus of rolling or sliding is a genus with only two species. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would at once envisage both species, and therefor Seo anticipates rolling ball members rolling between the shafts GS in Figs. 24A,24B.1).
Regarding claim 11, the Seo -Yoon combination teaches “The camera module of claim 1,” and Seo further teaches “wherein the main substrate includes a second side substrate (circuit board 1320) having a surface perpendicular to the optical axis (see Fig. 7, 1320 is where the image sensor 1310 is mounted perpendicular to the optical axis),” however, Seo fails to teach “and the circuit element is disposed on the second side substrate.”
Yoon teaches “wherein the main substrate includes a second side substrate (the end substrate on which 163 and 165 are disposed is a side substrate in that it is perpendicular to the bottom of the camera) having a surface perpendicular to the optical axis (the end substrate is perpendicular to the optical axis through the lenses), and the circuit element (driver IC 163 and gyro sensor 165) is disposed on the second side substrate (see Fig. 5).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the circuit element on a second side surface of the main substrate perpendicular to the first side substrate as taught by Yoon in the device of Seo, because Seo teaches that the driver IC is located on the main substrate but is silent regarding where it should be positioned, and Yoon teaches a similar device with an explicit disclosure of the location of the driver IC being positioned on a end surface substrate of the main substrate, next to the reflective module, facing the internal space. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose the position taught by Yoon because the driver IC must be located somewhere on the main substrate and the position taught in Yoon is close to the connection to external control and power signals.
Regarding claim 12, the Seo – Yoon combination teaches “The camera module of claim 11,” however Seo fails to teach “wherein the circuit element includes a plurality of circuit elements, and the plurality of circuit elements are symmetrical with respect to a center of the second side substrate.”
Yoon teaches “wherein the circuit element includes a plurality of circuit elements (driver IC 163 and gyro sensor 165 are a plurality of circuit elements. Note that the gyro sensor 165 provides a detection result thus it is a circuit element in that an electrical signal from 165 is generated see e.g. paragraph [0065]), and the plurality of circuit elements are symmetrical with respect to a center of the second side substrate (see Figs. 4 and 5 elements 163 and 165 are symmetrically located on the end substrate of 161 with respect to a center line parallel to the Y-axis).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second circuit element as taught by Yoon in the device of the Seo – Yoon combination for the purpose of detecting instances of shakiness as taught by Yoon (paragraph [0065]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the circuit elements symmetrically about a center-line of the end substrate as taught by Yoon, because Yoon teaches that such a placement is appropriate for both the controller and the gyro sensor and Seo is silent as to the positioning of such elements.
Regarding claim 13, Seo teaches “A camera module (camera module 1000 of embodiment 1-3 or 3-8) comprising:
a housing (housing 1010;
a lens module (lens module 1200) disposed in the housing (see Fig. 7) and including a plurality of lenses (the lenses in lens modules 1210, 1220 and 1230 of Fig. 7 or 1210, 1220 of Figs. 24A, 24B) arranged along an optical axis (the optical axis of the camera module which includes the optical axis of the incident light entering the reflective module and the optical axis through the lenses);
a reflective module (reflective module 1100) disposed in front of the lens module (see e.g. Figs. 3 and 7) and including a reflective member (optical path changing member 1110) configured to change an optical path of light (e.g. paragraph [0138]: “the reflective module 1100 may include an optical path changing member 1110 configured to change the path of light (e.g., to reflect light).”);
a main substrate (main board 1070) attached to the housing (paragraph [0215]: “the main board 1070 may be attached to an external surface of the housing 1010”);
a driving unit (coils 1141b, 1143b) disposed on the main substrate (paragraph [0215]: “the plurality of coils 1141b, 1143b, 1145b, and 1147b may be disposed on the main board 1070”) and configured to rotate the reflective module (paragraph [0214]: “When power is applied to the plurality of coils 1141b, 1143b, 1145b, and 1147b, the rotation holder 1120 … may rotate with respect to the first axis (X-axis) and the second axis (Y-axis)”) and including a coil (coils 1141b, 1143b); and
a circuit element (paragraph [0223]: “driving circuit device (driver IC, not illustrated)”) disposed on the main substrate (paragraph [0223]: “The main board 1070 … and may include a driving circuit device (driver IC, not illustrated)”) and configured to provide a driving signal (paragraph [0223]: “a driving circuit device (driver IC, not illustrated) for providing a driving signal to the plurality of coils 1141b, 1143b, 1145b, and 1147b.”).”
However, Seo fails to teach “wherein the circuit element is disposed to face the reflective module along a direction parallel to the optical axis along which the plurality of lenses is disposed, and the circuit element and the coil are disposed on different surfaces of the main substrate that are perpendicular to each other.”
Yoon teaches “A camera module (camera module 400) comprising:
a housing (first housing 130 and second housing 230);
a lens module (lens module 200) disposed in the housing (paragraph [0112]: “housing 230 accommodating the lens barrel 210 and the carrier 220”) and including a plurality of lenses (paragraph [0055]: “a plurality of lenses” see also Fig. 3) disposed along an optical axis (the optical axis of the lenses or the camera) arranged along an optical axis (the optical axis of the lenses or the camera);
a reflective module (reflecting module 100) disposed in front of the lens module (see e.g. Fig. 3) and including a reflective member (reflecting member 110) configured to change an optical path of light (see e.g. Fig. 3);
a main substrate (OIS substrate 161) attached to the housing (paragraph [0063]: “the OIS substrate 161 is mounted in the first housing 130.”);
a driving unit (coil 145b) disposed on the main substrate (paragraph [0063]: The coils 141b, 143b, and 145b are disposed in the OIS substrate 161) and configured to rotate the reflective module and including a coil (e.g. paragraph [0062]: “In a case in which power is applied to coils 141b, 143b, and 145b, the holder 120 including magnets 141a, 143a, and 145a mounted therein may be rotated with respect to the first axis (the X axis) and the second axis (the Y axis).”); and
a circuit element (driver integrated circuit (IC) 163 or 163 and gyro sensor 165) disposed on the main substrate (see Fig. 5 and paragraph [0065]: “A driver integrated circuit (IC) 163… is also disposed on the OIS substrate 161.”) and configured to provide a driving signal (paragraph [0065]: “A driver integrated circuit (IC) 163 providing a driving signal to the plurality of coils 141b, 143b, and 145b”),
wherein the circuit element is disposed to face the reflective module along a direction parallel to the optical axis along which the plurality of lenses is disposed (see Figs. 2 and 5, driver IC 163 faces 100 along a direction parallel to the optical axis along which the plurality of lenses is disposed), and the circuit element and the coil are disposed on different surfaces of the main substrate that are perpendicular to each (see Fig. 5 145b is disposed on a side surface of 161, while 163 is disposed on an end surface of 161 that is perpendicular to the side surface).”
It is a well-established proposition that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961); MPEP §2144.04(V)(C).
In the instant case, Seo teaches one main substrate for both the reflective module and the lens module, whereas Yoon teaches separate substrates for the reflective module and the lens module each having their own flexible connections to the outside presumably to input external control signals and power to the camera components.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the main substrate of Seo in two parts with two external connections as taught by Yoon since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961); MPEP §2144.04(V)(C).
Further, Seo teaches the camera module of claim 1 including the presence of a driver IC except for where to position the driver IC.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the circuit element on a surface of the main substrate such that the circuit element faces the reflective module along a direction parallel to the optical axis through the lenses as taught by Yoon in the device of Seo, because Seo teaches that the driver IC is located on the main substrate but is silent regarding where it should be positioned, and Yoon teaches a similar device with an explicit disclosure of the location of the driver IC being positioned on a end surface substrate of the main substrate, next to the reflective module, facing the internal space. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose the position taught by Yoon because the driver IC must be located somewhere on the main substrate and the position taught in Yoon is close to the connection to external control and power signals.
Note that the limitations “the circuit element and the coil are disposed on different surfaces of the main substrate that are perpendicular to each other” are considered to be met by the combination of references because Yoon teaches that the circuit element is disposed on an end surface of the main substrate next to the reflective module, and both Seo and Yoon teaches the first side substrates on which coils are disposed that either is perpendicular to the end surface of the main substrate as in Yoon or which would be perpendicular to the end surface of the main substrate if it were present as in Seo.
Regarding claim 14, the Seo – Yoon combination teaches “The camera module of claim 13,” however, Seo fails to teach “wherein the circuit element is disposed perpendicular to the optical axis.”
Yoon teaches “wherein the circuit element is disposed perpendicular to the optical axis (see Fig. 5 where the major surfaces of 163 are perpendicular to the optical axis of the lenses).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the circuit element on a surface of the main substrate such that the circuit element is disposed perpendicular to the optical axis as taught by Yoon in the device of Seo, because Seo teaches that the driver IC is located on the main substrate but is silent regarding where it should be positioned, and Yoon teaches a similar device with an explicit disclosure of the location of the driver IC being positioned on a end surface substrate of the main substrate, next to the reflective module, facing the internal space. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose the position taught by Yoon because the driver IC must be located somewhere on the main substrate and the position taught in Yoon is close to the connection to external control and power signals.
Regarding claim 15, the Seo – Yoon combination teaches “The camera module of claim 14,” however, Seo fails to teach “wherein the circuit element includes a plurality of circuit elements.”
Yoon teaches “wherein the circuit element includes a plurality of circuit elements (driver IC 163 and gyro sensor 165 are a plurality of circuit elements. Note that the gyro sensor 165 provides a detection result thus it is a circuit element in that an electrical signal from 165 is generated see e.g. paragraph [0065]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second circuit element as taught by Yoon in the device of the Seo – Yoon combination for the purpose of detecting instances of shakiness as taught by Yoon (paragraph [0065]).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Seo et al. US 2022/0210300 A1 (cited in an IDS, hereafter Seo) in view of Yoon et al. US 2018/0109660 A1 (hereafter Yoon which is the PGPub of previously cited reference 10,516,773) as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of Shabtay et al. WO 2020/174325 A2 (cited in an IDS, hereafter Shabtay).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the Seo – Yoon combination teaches “The camera module of claim 6,” however, Seo and Yoon fail to teach (claim 7) “wherein the second lens barrel is coupled to the first lens barrel and configured to be integrally movable with the first lens barrel” and (claim 8) “further comprising: a rolling ball member disposed between the first lens barrel and the second lens barrel, wherein the second lens barrel is movable above the first lens barrel along the rolling ball member.”
Shabtay teaches a folded camera module (see prism 104 and tele lens 114 with movable lens assemblies 502 and 504).
Shabtay further teaches (claim 7) “wherein the second lens barrel (504) is coupled to the first lens barrel (502, see Figs. 5A-5E, 504 rests on top of 502 and is coupled thereto via balls 520 and grooves 542 and 642) and configured to be integrally movable with the first lens barrel (when the bottom actuated assembly moves, the top actuated assembly moves with it, because it rests on it, see also page 3 lines 26-27: “In some embodiments, the focusing of the lens is performed by moving G1+G2+G3 together” and page 4 lines 8-9 “a VCM mechanism for focusing the lens by moving G1+G2+G3 together”).”
(claim 8) “further comprising: a rolling ball member (balls 520) disposed between the first lens barrel and the second lens barrel (see Fig. 5E), wherein the second lens barrel is movable above the first lens barrel along the rolling ball member (compare the positions of 504 relative to 502 in Figs. 5B and 5C).”
Shabtay further teaches (page 35 lines 2-4) “Module 500 includes a VCM based actuation mechanism for changing between zoom states and focus states of lenses 114% 114”, 114”% 114””, 114””’ and 114””””.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adopt a configuration where the first lens barrel is coupled to the second lens barrel such that it can move integrally therewith for focusing or move relative to the second lens barrel via a rolling ball member for zooming as taught by Shabtay in the camera module of the Seo – Yoon combination because Seo does not specify the focusing and zooming lens characteristics of the lens system, and Shabtay teaches that such a configuration of the two barrels enables the zoom and focusing states of the tele lens designs in Shabtay, where focusing requires integral movements and zooming requires relative movements as taught by Shabtay (e.g. page 4 lines 6-13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-8 and 11-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARA E RAKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 See MPEP § 2131.02(III). A reference disclosure can anticipate a claim when the reference describes the limitations but "'d[oes] not expressly spell out' the limitations as arranged or combined as in the claim, if a person of skill in the art, reading the reference, would ‘at once envisage’ the claimed arrangement or combination." Kennametal, Inc. v. Ingersoll Cutting Tool Co., 780 F.3d 1376, 1381, 114 USPQ2d 1250, 1254 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (quoting In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 681(CCPA 1962)).