DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments fled on December 18, 2026 in response to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on October 1, 2025 have been received and entered. Claims 1, 2, 9 and 11 have been amended. Claims 1-15 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Claim 1 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miglioranza, F. (US 20080124616 A1).
Applicant argues that Miglioranza fails to teach the limitations of "the system chip sends an activation signal to the battery management circuit through the information transmission interface" as recited in Claim 1 (see pages 9-12). As shown in FIG. 2 of Miglioranza, the control logic unit 8 is connected to the control end of the power regulator SW of the electrical connection 7 (i.e., the alleged battery management circuit) through the data connection 9, such that the control logic unit 8 may actuate the heating element by switching the power regulator SW of the electrical connection 7 (i.e., the alleged battery management circuit) to the closed position through the data connection 9. It should be noted that the Examiner acknowledges this feature by stating that "the control logic unit (8) (system chip analogous) actuates the heating element (5) driving the power regulator SW (battery management circuit) to the closed position, through the line (9)."
In comparison, as shown in FIG. 2 of Miglioranza, the data connection 10 (i.e., the alleged information transmission interface) is electrically coupled between the temperature sensor 6 and the control logic unit 8 to transmit the temperature information from the temperature sensor 6 to the control logic unit 8. Nowhere in Miglioranza teaches that the control logic unit 8 may actuate the heating element by driving the power regulator SW of the electrical connection 7 (i.e., the alleged battery management circuit) through the data connection 10 (i.e., the alleged information transmission interface).
Therefore, Miglioranza fails to disclose the limitation of "the system chip sends an activation signal to the battery management circuit through the information transmission interface".
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-12 , filed on December 18, 2025, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Because of the direct dependency of claim 6 on claim 1, the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection applied to this claim is withdrawn.
Because of the direct/indirect dependency of claims 2-5, 7 and 8 on claim 1, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections applied to these claims are withdrawn.
Claim 9 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miglioranza, F. (US 20080124616 A1) in view of Brockman et al. (US 20150318724 A1).
Applicant argues (see page 13) that as discussed in the arguments against the rejection to claim 1, Miglioranza teaches that the control logic unit 8 is connected to the control end of the power regulator SW of the electrical connection 7 (i.e., the alleged battery management circuit) through the data connection 9, and that the data connection 10 is electrically coupled between the temperature sensor 6 and the control logic unit 8 to transmit the temperature information from the temperature sensor 6 to the control logic unit 8. Therefore, Miglioranza explicitly teaches that the data connection 10 is used solely to output the battery information (e.g., the temperature information from the temperature sensor 6), and the electrical connection 7 (i.e., the alleged battery management circuit) is used solely to control the power input from the power supply unit 4 to the heating element 5. Thus, it appears to be impossible for one of the ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrical structure of Miglioranza, either based on Brockman or other references, such that the electrical connection 7 (i.e., the alleged battery management circuit) of Miglioranza can be electrically connected to a data pin in order to generate the battery information according to a state of the battery cell and output the battery information through the data pin.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 13, filed on December 18, 2025, with respect to claim 9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 9 has been withdrawn.
Because of the direct dependency of claim 10 on claim 9, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection applied to this claim is withdrawn.
Claim 11 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miglioranza, F. (US 20080124616 A1) in view of Brockman et al. (US 20150318724 A1).
Applicant argues (see page 14) that as discussed in the arguments against the rejection to claim 9, Miglioranza explicitly teaches that the data connection 10 is used solely to output the battery information (e.g., the temperature information from the temperature sensor 6), and the electrical connection 7 (i.e., the alleged battery management circuit) is used solely to control the power input from the power supply unit 4 to the heating element 5. Thus, it appears to be impossible for one of the ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrical structure of Miglioranza, either based on Brockman or other references, such that the electrical connection 7 (i.e., the alleged battery management circuit) of Miglioranza can be electrically connected to a data pin, allowing the battery information to be received from the electrical connection 7 through the data pin.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 14, filed on December 18, 2025, with respect to claim 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 11 has been withdrawn.
Because of the direct dependency of claims 12-15 on claim 11, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection applied to this claim is withdrawn.
Upon further consideration anew ground of rejection is presented under Li, Z. (CN 206195376 U, see machine translation for citation) in view of Ren, D. (CN 103515669 A, see machine translation for citation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "battery cells" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 1 and 2, on which claim 4 depends, only make reference to a single battery cell.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "battery cells" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 9, on which claim 10 depends, only make reference to a single battery cell.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Li, Z. (CN 206195376 U, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches a battery management and heating system for low temperature lithium ion batteries [Abstract and 0002]. It is taught that low-temperature batteries are widely used in polar scientific research, military, aerospace and other fields [0002], from which a consumer electronic device comprising the referred battery management and heating system is reasonably inferred. The taught battery management and heating system includes a battery cell (2) and a heating film (1) (heater) adjacent to it [0015 and Fig. 1]. An inner temperature sensor (9) is placed in the middle layer between the battery cell (2) and the heating film (1) and an outer temperature sensor (8) is placed in the non-heated area of the heating film (1) (heater) and attached to the end face of the battery cell (2). The heating film (1) (heater) is used to heat the battery cell (2). The outer temperature sensor (8) is used to monitor the ambient temperature. The inner temperature sensor (9) is used to monitor the temperature of the battery cell (2) [0015].
The battery cell (2) is connected to the a SMBus communication battery protection board (3) via a BAT interface. The SMBus communication battery protection board (3's) PACK port and SMBus communication port are respectively connected to the charging management and temperature control board (4) (system chip). The control board (4) (system chip) is connected to the battery charging/discharging interface and the SMBus communication interface. The heating film (1) (heater) is connected to the heating film interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4) (system chip). The inner temperature sensor (9) and the outer temperature sensor (8) are connected to the inner temperature interface and the outer temperature interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4) (system chip), respectively. The charger (5) is connected to the charger interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4). The electrical device (6) is connected to the discharge interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4) (system chip). The host computer (7's) serial port is connected to the RS485 communication interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4) (system chip) [0015]. The charging management and temperature control board (4) (system chip) obtains the current, voltage, and power information of the battery cell (2) through the SMBus communication battery protection board (3) connected to it, and reports the current, voltage, and power information of the battery cell (2) to the host computer (7) through the RS485 communication interface.
Li further teaches that the heating element is driven by V1 and V2, which are 2N2907 (PNP transistor) [0017].
Because the SMBus communication battery protection board (3) receives the current, voltage, and power information of the battery cell (2) the features “an existence pin, data pin and power pin” is met, therefore the “electrical connector” feature is met as well.
The connection between the SMBus communication battery protection board (3), the battery cell (2) and the heating film (1) (heater) can be considered the battery management circuit. From the above descriptions, the battery management circuit “is configured to generate the battery information according to a state of the battery cell and to output the battery information through the data pin”. Also from the description above the battery management circuit is “configured to activate the heater according to the activation signal received through the existence pin.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Z. (CN 206195376 U, see machine translation for citation) in view of Ren, D. (CN 103515669 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a battery management and heating system for low temperature lithium ion batteries [Abstract and 0002]. It is taught that low-temperature batteries are widely used in polar scientific research, military, aerospace and other fields [0002], from which a consumer electronic device comprising the referred battery management and heating system is reasonably inferred. The taught battery management and heating system includes a battery cell (2) and a heating film (1) (heater) adjacent to it [0015 and Fig. 1]. An inner temperature sensor (9) is placed in the middle layer between the battery cell (2) and the heating film (1) and an outer temperature sensor (8) is placed in the non-heated area of the heating film (1) (heater) and attached to the end face of the battery cell (2). The heating film (1) (heater) is used to heat the battery cell (2). The outer temperature sensor (8) is used to monitor the ambient temperature. The inner temperature sensor (9) is used to monitor the temperature of the battery cell (2) [0015].
The battery cell (2) is connected to the a SMBus communication battery protection board (3) via a BAT interface. The SMBus communication battery protection board (3's) PACK port and SMBus communication port are respectively connected to the charging management and temperature control board (4) (system chip). The control board (4) (system chip) is connected to the battery charging/discharging interface and the SMBus communication interface. The heating film (1) (heater) is connected to the heating film interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4) (system chip). The inner temperature sensor (9) and the outer temperature sensor (8) are connected to the inner temperature interface and the outer temperature interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4) (system chip), respectively. The charger (5) is connected to the charger interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4). The electrical device (6) is connected to the discharge interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4) (system chip). The host computer (7's) serial port is connected to the RS485 communication interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4) (system chip) [0015]. The charging management and temperature control board (4) (system chip) obtains the current, voltage, and power information of the battery cell (2) through the SMBus communication battery protection board (3) connected to it, and reports the current, voltage, and power information of the battery cell (2) to the host computer (7) through the RS485 communication interface.
The connection between the SMBus communication battery protection board (3), the battery cell (2) and the heating film (1) (heater) can be considered the battery management circuit. The connection between the charging management and temperature control board (4) (system chip) and the SMBus communication battery protection board (3) can be considered the information transmission interface. Because the SMBus communication battery protection board (3) receives the current, voltage, and power information of the battery cell (2) the feature “a power transmission interface coupled to the battery cell” is met. Because the “information and power transmission interfaces” are met, the “electrical connector” feature is met as well.
Li do not explicitly teaches the feature “wherein when a battery temperature of the battery information is lower than a first threshold, the system chip sends an activation signal to the battery management circuit through the information transmission interface, for the battery management circuit to activate the heater according to the activation signal”.
Ren teaches an electronic device battery heating device including a battery temperature detection unit (M10), a central control unit (M20), a power supply unit (M30), a heating unit (M40) and a battery (M50) of the electronic device [0002, 0023 and Fig. 1]. The central processing unit (M20) may include a corresponding code table of resistance and temperature, a first temperature threshold, and a second temperature threshold, wherein the second temperature threshold is greater than the first temperature threshold. When the battery temperature is lower than the first temperature threshold, the power supply unit (M30) is controlled to provide electric energy to the heating unit (M40), so that the heating unit (M40) heats the battery (M50); when the battery temperature is higher than the second temperature threshold, the power supply unit (M30) is controlled to stop providing electric energy to the heating unit (M40), so that the heating unit (M40) stops heating the battery (M50) [0028]. The first temperature threshold setting range is -1 to 1 °C and the second temperature threshold setting range is 20 to 30 °C [0009]. It is taught that with the process described above battery of the entire electronic device can be heated, ensuring the normal charging and normal use of the electronic device in a low-temperature environment [0016].
Li is analogous art to the current invention because is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a consumer electronic device having a battery module, comprising: a battery cell; a heater, adjacent to the battery cell, configured to heat the battery cell; a battery management circuit, electrically coupled to the battery cell and the heater; and an electrical connector, comprising: an information transmission interface, electrically coupled to the battery management circuit; and a power transmission interface, coupled to the battery cell; and a system chip, coupled to the information transmission interface, configured to receive a battery information of the battery management circuit through the information transmission interface.
Ren is analogous art to the current invention because is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a consumer electronic device, comprising: a battery module, comprising: a battery cell; a heater, adjacent to the battery cell, configured to heat the battery cell; a battery management circuit, electrically coupled to the battery cell and the heater and the feature where the battery heating is controlled by comparing the battery temperature to a first threshold.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery module of Li to include the feature “wherein when a battery temperature of the battery information is lower than a first threshold, the system chip sends an activation signal to the battery management circuit through the information transmission interface, for the battery management circuit to activate the heater according to the activation signal”, because Ren teaches that with the process described above battery of the entire electronic device can be heated, ensuring the normal charging and normal use of the electronic device in a low-temperature environment.
Regarding claim 2, Li and Ren teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Li further teaches that a battery management and heating system is characterized in that: the charging management and temperature control board (4) (system chip) obtains the current, voltage and power information of the battery cell (2) through the SMBus communication battery protection board (3) connected thereto [claim 2]. From the above description the features “the information transmission interface comprises: an existence pin, electrically coupled to the battery management circuit and the system chip, configured to output a battery existence signal to the system chip; and a data pin, electrically coupled between the battery management circuit and the system chip, configured to output battery information to the system chip” are met.
Regarding claim 6, Li and Ren teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. From claim 1 discussion, the taught first temperature threshold of Ren was -1 to 1 °C [0009].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the first temperature threshold range disclosed by Ren because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, Li and Ren teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 2. From claim 1 and 2 discussion, the claimed features can be considered to be met by the modified battery module of Li and Ren.
Regarding claim 8, Li and Ren teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 7. From claim 1 discussion, the taught second temperature threshold of Ren was 20 to 30 °C [0009].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the second temperature threshold range disclosed by Ren because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Z. (CN 206195376 U, see machine translation for citation) in view of Ren, D. (CN 103515669 A, see machine translation for citation) as applied to claim 2 above, further in view of Miglioranza, F. (US 20080124616 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Li and Ren teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 2. From claim 1 and 2 the host computer (system chip) is capable of “receive the battery existence signal through the existence pin and determines that the power transmission interface is electrically connected to the power supply circuit upon receiving the battery existence signal”. From Fig. 1, the feature “a power supply circuit, electrically connected to the system chip, configured to supply power to the system chip and the power transmission interface” is met from the connection between the battery cell (2), the SMBus communication battery protection board (3) and the charging management and temperature control board (4).
Li and Ren does not teach where “wherein the battery module is a removable battery”.
Miglioranza teaches a power supply device (2) mechanically and electrically removably connected to a bicycle electronic device (3) [0118, 0120, 0125, 0126 and Fig. 1]. The power supply device (2) comprises a power supply unit (4), consisting of many battery elements, a heating element (5) thermally coupled with the power supply unit (4), a temperature sensor (6 ) thermally coupled with the power supply unit (4) to detect its temperature Tbatt and a control logic unit or controller (8) [0121 and Fig. 1]. The control logic unit (8) is coupled to the data connection (10) and receives the output of the temperature sensor (6), which is connected to the power supply unit (4) and therefore to the electrical connection (7) [0125]. If the detected value Tbatt is less than or equal to the preselected lower temperature threshold value Tlow, the control logic unit (8), actuates the heating element (5) driving the power regulator SW to the closed position, through the line (9). Electrical energy is therefore supplied from the power supply unit (4) to the heating element (5). The power supply unit (4) (battery module), therefore, self-heats [0147]. All the referred elements and connections are shown on Fig. 2.
It is taught that the removable connection of the power supply device (2) allows for its detachment from the electronic device to recharge it and/or to replace it with a charged one [0103].
Miglioranza is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a consumer electronic device, comprising: a battery module, comprising: a battery cell; a heater, adjacent to the battery cell, configured to heat the battery cell and wherein when a battery temperature of the battery information is lower than a first threshold, the system chip sends an activation signal to the battery management circuit through the information transmission interface, for the battery management circuit to activate the heater according to the activation signal.
If the removable connection of the power supply device of Miglioranza is applied to the battery management and heating system of Li and Ren, the claimed limitations are met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify battery management and heating system of Li and Ren to include the feature “wherein the battery module is a removable battery”, because Miglioranza teaches that it allows its detachment from the electronic device to recharge it and/or to replace it with a charged one.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Z. (CN 206195376 U, see machine translation for citation) in view of Ren, D. (CN 103515669 A, see machine translation for citation) as applied to claim 2 above, evidenced by Battery University (BU-601: How does a Smart Battery Work?, see NPL documents for citation) further in view of Miglioranza, F. (US 20080124616 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Li and Ren teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 2.
Battery university evidence that today, many manufacturers offer integrated circuit (IC) chips in single-wire and two-wire systems, also known as System Management Bus (SMBus) [p. 1; par. 8]. From this description and the discussion for claims 1 and 2, the features “wherein the battery management circuit further comprises: a battery management chip, coupled to the data pin, configured to generate the battery information according to a state of the battery cell” is met.
Li and Ren teaches does not teach the feature “a power switch, coupled to the existence pin and coupled between the battery cells and the heater, configured to connect the battery cell to the heater in response to the activation signal, so as to activate the heater”.
Miglioranza teaches a power supply device (2) mechanically and electrically removably connected to a bicycle electronic device (3) [0118, 0120, 0125, 0126 and Fig. 1]. The power supply device (2) comprises a power supply unit (4), consisting of many battery elements, a heating element (5) thermally coupled with the power supply unit (4), a temperature sensor (6 ) thermally coupled with the power supply unit (4) to detect its temperature Tbatt and a control logic unit or controller (8) [0121 and Fig. 1]. The control logic unit (8) is coupled to the data connection (10) and receives the output of the temperature sensor (6), which is connected to the power supply unit (4) and therefore to the electrical connection (7) [0125]. If the detected value Tbatt is less than or equal to the preselected lower temperature threshold value Tlow, the control logic unit (8), actuates the heating element (5) driving the power regulator (SW) to the closed position, through the line (9). Electrical energy is therefore supplied from the power supply unit (4) to the heating element (5). The power supply unit (4) (battery module), therefore, self-heats [0147]. All the referred elements and connections are shown on Fig. 2.
It is taught that the switch feature is advantageous because it undergoes heating caused by switching losses during its activation and deactivation. The heat produced by such losses is advantageously exploited to heat the power supply unit, in addition to the heating produced by the heating element [0106].
Miglioranza is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a consumer electronic device, comprising: a battery module, comprising: a battery cell; a heater, adjacent to the battery cell; configured to heat the battery cell and wherein when a battery temperature of the battery information is lower than a first threshold, the system chip sends an activation signal to the battery management circuit through the information transmission interface, for the battery management circuit to activate the heater according to the activation signal.
If the battery management and heating device of Li and Ren is modified to include power regulator (SW) as taught by Miglioranza, the claimed features would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery management and heating device of Li and Ren to include the feature “a power switch, coupled to the existence pin and coupled between the battery cells and the heater, configured to connect the battery cell to the heater in response to the activation signal, so as to activate the heater”, because Miglioranza teaches that the switch feature is advantageous because it undergoes heating caused by switching losses during its activation and deactivation. The heat produced by such losses is advantageously exploited to heat the power supply unit, in addition to the heating produced by the heating element.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Z. (CN 206195376 U, see machine translation for citation) in view of Ren, D. (CN 103515669 A, see machine translation for citation) as applied to claim 2 above, further in view of ADSANTEC (Why Logic Level Shifters Are More Important Than You Think, see NPL documents for citation).
Regarding claim 5, Li and Ren teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 2, except “wherein the battery management circuit further comprises: a level circuit, coupled to the existence pin so as to pull the level of the existence pin to a given level”.
ADSANTEC teaches about different logic level shifters (level circuits) employed on electronic circuits. Among the logic level shifters (level circuits), a uni-directional shifter is taught to have two different voltage domains for their input and output pins [p. 1; par. 3], therefore being capable to “pull the level of the existence pin to a given level”. These logic level shifters (level circuits) are employed on electronic systems to create compatibility between processors, sensors and devices which operate at different voltages [p.1; par. 1]. With its employment costly damages to the circuit can be prevented [p. 2; par. 3-4].
ADSANTEC is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely logic level shifters (level circuits) employable on electronic circuits, which include the battery management circuits.
If the uni-directional shifter of ADSANTEC is couple to the existence pin of the battery management circuit of Li, the claimed features would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery management circuit of Li and Ren to include the feature “wherein the battery management circuit further comprises: a level circuit, coupled to the existence pin so as to pull the level of the existence pin to a given level”, because ASANTEC teaches that it can create compatibility between processors, sensors and devices which operate at different voltages and with its employment costly damages to the circuit can be prevented.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Z. (CN 206195376 U, see machine translation for citation) as applied to claim 9 above, evidenced by Battery University (BU-601: How does a Smart Battery Work?, see NPL documents for citation) further in view of Miglioranza, F. (US 20080124616 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 9.
Battery university evidence that today, many manufacturers offer integrated circuit (IC) chips in single-wire and two-wire systems, also known as System Management Bus (SMBus) [p. 1; par. 8]. From this description and the discussion for claim 9, the feature “wherein the battery management circuit further comprises: a battery management chip, coupled to the data pin, configured to generate the battery information according to a state of the battery cell” is met.
Li does not teach the feature “a power switch, coupled to the existence pin and coupled between the battery cells and the heater, configured to connect the battery cell to the heater in response to the activation signal, so as to activate the heater”.
Miglioranza teaches a power supply device (2) mechanically and electrically removably connected to a bicycle electronic device (3) [0118, 0120, 0125, 0126 and Fig. 1]. The power supply device (2) comprises a power supply unit (4), consisting of many battery elements, a heating element (5) thermally coupled with the power supply unit (4), a temperature sensor (6 ) thermally coupled with the power supply unit (4) to detect its temperature Tbatt and a control logic unit or controller (8) [0121 and Fig. 1]. The control logic unit (8) is coupled to the data connection (10) and receives the output of the temperature sensor (6), which is connected to the power supply unit (4) and therefore to the electrical connection (7) [0125]. If the detected value Tbatt is less than or equal to the preselected lower temperature threshold value Tlow, the control logic unit (8), actuates the heating element (5) driving the power regulator (SW) to the closed position, through the line (9). Electrical energy is therefore supplied from the power supply unit (4) to the heating element (5). The power supply unit (4) (battery module), therefore, self-heats [0147]. All the referred elements and connections are shown on Fig. 2.
It is taught that the switch feature is advantageous because it undergoes heating caused by switching losses during its activation and deactivation. The heat produced by such losses is advantageously exploited to heat the power supply unit, in addition to the heating produced by the heating element [0106].
Miglioranza is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a battery module, comprising: a battery cell; a heater, adjacent to the battery cell; configured to heat the battery cell; an electrical connector, comprising: an existence pin, configured to receive an activation signal; a data pin, configured to output battery information; and a power pin, coupled to the battery cell, configured to input and output the power; and a battery management circuit, electrically coupled to the battery cell, the heater, the existence pin and the data pin, wherein the battery management circuit is configured to generate the battery information according to a state of the battery cell and to output the battery information through the data pin, wherein the battery management circuit is further configured to activate the heater according to the activation signal received through the existence pin.
If the battery management and heating device of Li is modified to include power regulator (SW) as taught by Miglioranza, the claimed features would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery management and heating device of Li to include the feature “a power switch, coupled to the existence pin and coupled between the battery cells and the heater, configured to connect the battery cell to the heater in response to the activation signal, so as to activate the heater”, because Miglioranza teaches that the switch feature is advantageous because it undergoes heating caused by switching losses during its activation and deactivation. The heat produced by such losses is advantageously exploited to heat the power supply unit, in addition to the heating produced by the heating element.
Claim 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Z. (CN 206195376 U, see machine translation for citation) in view of Miglioranza, F. (US 20080124616 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches a battery management and heating system for low temperature lithium ion batteries [Abstract and 0002]. It is taught that low-temperature batteries are widely used in polar scientific research, military, aerospace and other fields [0002], from which a consumer electronic device comprising the referred battery management and heating system is reasonably inferred. The taught battery management and heating system includes a battery cell (2) and a heating film (1) (heater) adjacent to it [0015 and Fig. 1]. An inner temperature sensor (9) is placed in the middle layer between the battery cell (2) and the heating film (1) and an outer temperature sensor (8) is placed in the non-heated area of the heating film (1) (heater) and attached to the end face of the battery cell (2). The heating film (1) (heater) is used to heat the battery cell (2). The outer temperature sensor (8) is used to monitor the ambient temperature. The inner temperature sensor (9) is used to monitor the temperature of the battery cell (2) [0015].
The battery cell (2) is connected to the a SMBus communication battery protection board (3) via a BAT interface. The SMBus communication battery protection board (3's) PACK port and SMBus communication port are respectively connected to the charging management and temperature control board (4). The control board (4) is connected to the battery charging/discharging interface and the SMBus communication interface. The heating film (1) (heater) is connected to the heating film interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4). The inner temperature sensor (9) and the outer temperature sensor (8) are connected to the inner temperature interface and the outer temperature interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4), respectively. The charger (5) is connected to the charger interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4). The electrical device (6) is connected to the discharge interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4). The host computer (7's) serial port is connected to the RS485 communication interface of the charging management and temperature control board (4) [0015]. The charging management and temperature control board (4) obtains the current, voltage, and power information of the battery cell (2) through the SMBus communication battery protection board (3) connected to it (power transmission interface), and reports the current, voltage, and power information of the battery cell (2) to the host computer (7) (system chip) through the RS485 communication interface (information transmission interface). The connection between the temperature control board (4), the SMBus communication battery protection board (3), the battery cell (2) and the heating film (1) (heater) can be considered the battery management circuit.
From the descriptions above and from general knowledge of SMBus systems the existence and data pin features are met by the SMBus communication battery protection board (3). The features “a consumer electronic device at a low temperature, comprising: receiving, from a battery management circuit of the battery module, battery information of a battery module through a data pin of the battery module, wherein the battery management circuit is electrically coupled to the data pin and is configured to generate the battery information of the battery module” are met. The information sending and receiving to and from the battery management circuit through the existence and data pins can be considered met.
Li further teaches that the heating element is driven by V1 and V2, which are 2N2907 (PNP transistor) [0017].
Li does not teach the feature “a start method of a consumer electronic device, comparing a battery temperature of the battery information with a first threshold; when the battery temperature is lower than the first threshold, which send the activation signal for the heater and when the battery temperature of the battery information received again is higher than the first threshold, performing a start-up procedure of a consumer electronic device under power supplied by the battery module”.
Miglioranza teaches a method for temperature-controlled supplying electrical energy from a battery power supply unit to a bicycle electronic device (start method of a consumer electronic device at a low temperature) [0007]. Based on Fig. 6, the method consist of first on checking if Tbatt is less than or equal to the lower temperature threshold value Tlow. If the detected value Tbatt is less than or equal to the lower temperature, the controller (8), actuates the heating element (5) so as to self-heat the power supply unit (4) (battery module) [0156]. It can also be provided that the power supply unit (4) (battery module) does not supply power to the electronic device (3) until the power supply unit (4) (battery module) itself is at a temperature Tbatt below the lower temperature threshold Tlow. In this way, the electrical energy of the power supply unit (4) (battery module), which is operating in non -optimal conditions, is dedicated exclusively to self-heating [0158]. When the detected value Tbatt is higher than the upper temperature threshold Thigh, the control logic unit (8) deactivates the heating element (5) [0159].
Miglioranza further teaches that on the first two steps of its invention operation the
control unit (8) (system chip) checks whether the system is active (existence) and if it is
active, it is checked whether the detected value Tbatt (data) is less than or equal to the lower temperature threshold [Fig. 6].
Miglioranza teaches that with this method advantageously, it can be provided that the step of supplying electrical energy to the electronic device only occurs when the detected temperature is higher than the lower temperature threshold. In this way, the electrical energy of the power supply unit (4) (battery module), which is operating under non-optimal conditions, is dedicated exclusively to self-heating [0075].
Li is analogous art to the current invention because is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a consumer electronic device having a battery module, comprising: a battery cell; a heater, adjacent to the battery cell, configured to heat the battery cell; a battery management circuit, electrically coupled to the battery cell and the heater; and an electrical connector, comprising: an information transmission interface, electrically coupled to the battery management circuit; and a power transmission interface, coupled to the battery cell; and a system chip, coupled to the information transmission interface, configured to receive a battery information of the battery management circuit through the information transmission interface.
Miglioranza is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a start method of a consumer electronic device, comparing a battery temperature of the battery information with a first threshold; when the battery temperature is lower than the first threshold, which send the activation signal for the heater and when the battery temperature of the battery information received again is higher than the first threshold, performing a start-up procedure of a consumer electronic device under power supplied by the battery module.
If the method taught by Miglioranza is applied to the battery management and heating system of Li, the claimed features would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery management and heating system of Li to incorporate “a start method of a consumer electronic device, comparing a battery temperature of the battery information with a first threshold; when the battery temperature is lower than the first threshold, which send the activation signal for the heater and when the battery temperature of the battery information received again is higher than the first threshold, performing a start-up procedure of a consumer electronic device under power supplied by the battery module”, because Miglioranza teaches that with this method it can be provided that the step of supplying electrical energy to the electronic device only occurs when the detected temperature is higher than the lower temperature threshold. In this way, the electrical energy of the power supply unit (4) (battery module), which is operating under non-optimal conditions, is dedicated exclusively to self-heating.
Regarding claim 13, Li and Miglioranza teach ell the elements of the current invention in claim 11. From claim 11 discussion the claimed features are met.
Regarding claim 14, Li and Miglioranza teach ell the elements of the current invention in claim 11. From claim 11 discussion the claimed features are met.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Z. (CN 206195376 U, see machine translation for citation) in view of Miglioranza, F. (US 20080124616 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, further in view of Ren, D. (CN 103515669 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 12, Li and Miglioranza teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 11, except “wherein the first threshold is -10 to 0 °C”.
Ren teaches an electronic device battery heating device including a battery temperature detection unit (M10), a central control unit (M20), a power supply unit (M30), a heating unit (M40) and a battery (M50) of the electronic device [0002, 0023 and Fig. 1]. The central processing unit (M20) may include a corresponding code table of resistance and temperature, a first temperature threshold, and a second temperature threshold, wherein the second temperature threshold is greater than the first temperature threshold. When the battery temperature is lower than the first temperature threshold, the power supply unit (M30) is controlled to provide electric energy to the heating unit (M40), so that the heating unit (M40) heats the battery (M50); when the battery temperature is higher than the second temperature threshold, the power supply unit (M30) is controlled to stop providing electric energy to the heating unit (M40), so that the heating unit (M40) stops heating the battery (M50) [0028]. The first temperature threshold setting range is -1 to 1 °C and the second temperature threshold setting range is 20 to 30 °C [0009]. It is taught that with the process described above battery of the entire electronic device can be heated, ensuring the normal charging and normal use of the electronic device in a low-temperature environment [0016].
Ren is analogous art to the current invention because is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a consumer electronic device, comprising: a battery module, comprising: a battery cell; a heater, adjacent to the battery cell, configured to heat the battery cell; a battery management circuit, electrically coupled to the battery cell and the heater and the feature where the battery heating is controlled by comparing the battery temperature to a first threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the first temperature threshold range disclosed by Ren because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Z. (CN 206195376 U, see machine translation for citation) in view of Miglioranza, F. (US 20080124616 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, further in view of Ren, D. (CN 103515669 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 15, Li and Miglioranza teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 14, except “wherein the first threshold is 10 to 25 °C”.
Ren teaches an electronic device battery heating device including a battery temperature detection unit (M10), a central control unit (M20), a power supply unit (M30), a heating unit (M40) and a battery (M50) of the electronic device [0002, 0023 and Fig. 1]. The central processing unit (M20) may include a corresponding code table of resistance and temperature, a first temperature threshold, and a second temperature threshold, wherein the second temperature threshold is greater than the first temperature threshold. When the battery temperature is lower than the first temperature threshold, the power supply unit (M30) is controlled to provide electric energy to the heating unit (M40), so that the heating unit (M40) heats the battery (M50); when the battery temperature is higher than the second temperature threshold, the power supply unit (M30) is controlled to stop providing electric energy to the heating unit (M40), so that the heating unit (M40) stops heating the battery (M50) [0028]. The first temperature threshold setting range is -1 to 1 °C and the second temperature threshold setting range is 20 to 30 °C [0009]. It is taught that with the process described above battery of the entire electronic device can be heated, ensuring the normal charging and normal use of the electronic device in a low-temperature environment [0016].
Ren is analogous art to the current invention because is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a consumer electronic device, comprising: a battery module, comprising: a battery cell; a heater, adjacent to the battery cell, configured to heat the battery cell; a battery management circuit, electrically coupled to the battery cell and the heater and the feature where the battery heating is controlled by comparing the battery temperature to a first threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the second temperature threshold range disclosed by Ren because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Conclusion
/G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 03/25/2026