DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “operable” should read “operably”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 11, 14-15, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annese et al. (US 8021077) in view of Hendricks Sr. (US 2021/0277613) and Falk (US 488713).
As to claim 1, Annese et al. discloses a self-moving device for spraying a surface (see abstract). The device comprises a housing having a compartment for holding paint (see 4 of Fig. 1; col. 2, lines 35-36); a spraying mechanism connected to the compartment (see 10 of Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 14-16) and that sprays paint within an area (see col. 2, lines 65-67); a driving system configured to move the housing (see moving system 6 of Fig. 1); a global positioning system connected to an onboard control for determining the position of the housing (see co. 3k lines 43-49); the onboard control receives design input (see col. 4, lines 31-42); the design is mapped out using discrete spots which correspond to the printing area (see abstract) the housing positioned within the spot using the drive system; moving the spray head to paint the associated design and repositioning to the next spot and repeating (see col. 3 line 62 – col. 4, line 3).
Annese et al. fails to teach the spray head is connected to an arm which is connected to the compartment where the spray head is configured to move about a plurality of axes or the design is mapped using an array of blocks arranged in a row and column corresponding to the spray area of the spray head as required by claim 1.
Hendricks Sr. discloses a robotic maintenance system having a paint applicator mounted on an articulated positioning mechanisms that allows movement of the paint spraying about a plurality of axes (see 0007). Hendricks Sr. states the system improves the quality of road maintenance and optimize maintenance tasks (see 0005).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Annese et al. to include the multi-axis arm of Hendricks Sr. One would have been motivated to do so since both are directed to road spraying systems where Hendricks Sr. further teaches the use of a multi-axis arm improving the accuracy of the materials applied (see 0013).
Falk discloses a system for digitizing a surface by receiving an image/design input; mapping the design into a 2D array (rows and columns) and using the array to determine where the design should be placed (see abstract, col. 7, line 63 – col. 8,line 68). The design is mapped as a rectangular array of pixels (see col. 5, lines 29-31) which corresponds to a discrete region of the design.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Annese et al. and Hendricks Sr. to include the row and column array structure to create a digital design as taught by Falk. One would have been motivated to do so since both are directed to digitizing a design to apply to a substrate where Falk teaches a technique of storing and accessing digital design information that allows for a simpler and less expensive system.
As to claims 3 and 4, Annese discloses the power supply is a rechargeable battery (see col. 2, lines 49).
As to claim 5, Hendricks Sr. discloses the use of a generator as a power source (see 0050). Hendricks teaches a known alternative power source. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Annese to include the generator power source of Hendricks Sr. It has been established that the mere substitution of one known element for another with the same intended use provides predictable results. It would have been obvious to use the power source of Hendrick.
As to claim 11, the control is configured to receive a predesigned pattern and execute the pattern by controlling the spraying mechanism (see col. 4, lines 10-20).
As to claim 14, Hendricks teaches the spray mechanism is adapted to spray in various orientations (0048).
As to claim 15, the drive system comprises a plurality of wheels extending from a base of the housing (see 3 of Fig. 1 of Annese).
As to claim 17, the system comprises a camera mounted where eh camera is connected to a remote electronic device for monitoring (see col. 4, lines 4 – 42).
As to claim 19, Hendricks Sr. discloses the arm that is moveable in multiple axes has a ball joint (see Fig. 9 and 14)
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annese et al. (US 8021077) in view of Hendricks Sr. (US 2021/0277613) and Falk (US 488713) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Dolinar et al. (US 20130184938).
The teachings of Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk as applied to claim 1 are as stated above.
Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk fail to teach the system comprises a servomotor operably connected to the driving system to drive the housing.
Dolinar et al. discloses an apparatus for making a roadway (see abstract). Dolinar states the system comprises a GPS, computer, imager, nozzle array, control system, movable cross track carriage and a servo system (see 0075). Dolinar states the servo system controls actuators and the moveable cross track carriage (see 0088). Dolinar teaches an alternative device for controlling the drive system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk to include the servo system. One would have been motivated to do so since both are directed systems based on GPS positioning used for marking roadways and Dolinar et al. teaches an alternative system for controlling the drive system. It has been established that the mere substitution of one known element for another having the same intended purpose provided predictable results.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annese et al. (US 8021077) in view of Hendricks Sr. (US 2021/0277613) and Falk (US 488713) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dolinar et al. (US 20130184938) and Cotta Sr. (US 9096172).
The teachings of Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk as applied to claim 1 are as stated above.
Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk fail to teach the system comprises a light bar pivotally connected to the housing where the light bar comprises at least one light configured to illuminate a surrounding area of the housing as required by claim 6.
Dolinar et al. discloses an apparatus for making a roadway (see abstract). Dolinar et al. stats the apparatus can include a floodlight to illuminate an area when in low ambient light conditions while performing marking (see 0147).
Cotta Sr. et al. discloses a lighting system including an elongated light bar that is mountable on a support structure (see abstract). The bar can be pivotally attached to the structure (see abstract). The lighting system can be mounted to a vehicle to illuminate an area around the vehicle (see col. 1, lines 18-40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk to include pivotably attached light bar in order to illuminate the printing area during low light times as taught by Dolinar et al. and Cotta Sr. et al. One would have been motivated to do so since both are directed to marking a roadway using a PGS machine where Dolinar and Cotta Sr. further teaches using an illuminating device on a vehicle to provide light during dusk or nighttime.
As to claim 7, Dolinar et al. discloses multiple lights on opposite ends to illuminate the areas being coated (see 0146-0147). Dolinar et al. shows the lights are mounted high to properly illuminate the area.
Claim(s) 8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annese et al. (US 8021077) in view of Hendricks Sr. (US 2021/0277613), Falk (US 488713), Dolinar et al. (US 20130184938), and Cotta Sr. (US 9096172) as applied to claim 6 above and in further view of Mansfield et al. (WO 2020232163)
The teachings of Annese et al., Hendricks Sr., Falk, Dolinar et al., and Cotta Sr. as applied to claim 6 are as stated above.
Annese et al., Hendricks Sr., Falk, Dolinar et al., and Cotta Sr. fail to teach the light bar comprises a GPS transmitter dome at a distal end as required by claim 8.
Mansfield et al. discloses an antenna equipped light bar mounted onto a vehicle that improves weather resistance, aerodynamics and antenna performance. The antenna can be a GPS antenna (See 0038). The light bar comprises a housing and a shielding panel to provided shielding from electromagnetic interference (see claim 1). The light bar further comprises a domed cover (See claim 2).
It would have bene obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Annese et al., Hendricks Sr., Falk, Dolinar et al., and Cotta Sr. to include the light bar comprising a GPS transmitter as taught by Mansfield et al. One would have been motivated to do so since both are directed to light bars mounted on vehicles and such vehicles having GPS antennas where Mansfield et al. further teaches combining the antenna with the light bar provides improved antenna performance and protection.
As to claim 13, it is well known in the art to provide flashing lights on both the front and rear of a construction vehicle to alert other drivers that the vehicle is working, moving slow or a lane is closed.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annese et al. (US 8021077) in view of Hendricks Sr. (US 2021/0277613) and Falk (US 488713) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Smrt (US 3796353).
The teachings of Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk as applied to claim 1 are as stated above.
Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk fail to teach the spraying mechanism further comprises a spray shield to enclose the spray head as required by claim 9.
Smrt discloses a spraying apparatus for applying a marking strip to pavement, grass or other surfaces (see abstract). The apparatus comprises a spray nozzle having a frame (enclosing the spray head/ see 21-23 of Figures) and a wind screen (shield) to protect the marking material while being sprayed (see col. 1, lines 40-51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk to include the frame/screen of Smrt. One would have been motivated to do so since both are directed to spraying a marking material onto a road where Smrt further teaches the frame/screen can ensure the spray material is provided at the correct location and is not affected by outside elements.
As to claim 10, the frame/screen comprises opposing planar members (see 21, 28 of Fig. 4) that are adjustable (see col. 4, lines 9-12).
Claim(s) 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annese et al. (US 8021077) in view of Hendricks Sr. (US 2021/0277613) and Falk (US 488713) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Clifford (US 8051796).
The teachings of Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk as applied to claim 1 are as stated above.
Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk fail to teach to teach a second compartment configured to hold a second color paint where the second compartment is operably connected to the spraying mechanism as required by claim 12 or multiple nozzles as required by claim 20.
Clifford discloses a robotic apparatus for painting. The painting system comprises a paint supply unit with multiple paint feed lines (teaching more than one paint supply path/ multiple compartments). Clifford shows the apparatus has a spray head having multiple applicators/nozzles (see col. 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk to include multiple compartments and nozzles as taught by Clifford. One would have been motivated to do so since both are directed to robotic spraying devices where Clifford teaches a system where multiple different colors can be used dependent upon the design being formed.
Claim(s) 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annese et al. (US 8021077) in view of Hendricks Sr. (US 2021/0277613) and Falk (US 488713) as applied to claim 1 above Wu et al. (CN 209734936)
The teachings of Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk as applied to claim 1 are as stated above.
Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk fail to teach the system comprises a driving system with a plurality of tracks extending from the base of the housing as required by claim 16 or the housing moves in a crab walk as required by claim 18.
Wu et al. discloses an automatic line spraying robot that can move in all directions. The system comprises a tracking sensor, a spraying device, and a vehicle body. Wu et al. discloses the driving system comprises crawler with a plurality of tracks extending from the base (wheel bands 4 of Fig. 2) allowing for omni omni-directional rotation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Annese et al., Hendricks Sr. and Falk to include the drive system of Wu et all. One would have bene motivated to do so since both are directed to automatic marking systems where Wu et al. teaches the drive system allows for omni -movement with improves the efficiency of the device.
Conclusion
/CACHET I. PROCTOR/
Examiner
Art Unit 1715
/CACHET I PROCTOR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715