DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 14 November 25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
4. Claims 1, 2, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Wada et al.
Wada et al. (US Pub. No. 2008/0090719 A) is directed toward a spongy sintered article of titanium (title).
Regarding Claim 1 , Wada et al. discloses a composition for a porous transport layer (analogous to spongy sintered article useful in fuel cells on water electrolyzers in ¶2), the composition comprising:
(i) a titanium group element (powdered titanium in Ex. 4-6 in Table 1);
(ii) a solvent (water in Ex. 4-6 in Table 1);
(iii) a foaming agent (e.g.: neopentane in Ex. 4- 6 in Table 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Wada et al. discloses the composition of Claim 1, where in the titanium group element is titanium (Ex. 4-6 in Table 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Wada et al. discloses the composition of Claim 1, further comprising a dispersant (surfactant such as alkylbenzene sulfonate in Ex. 4-6 in Table 1) and a binder (methylcellulose in Ex. 4-6 in Table 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wada et al.
Wada et al. (US Pub. No. 2008/0090719 A) is directed toward a spongy sintered article of titanium (title).
Regarding 6, Wada et al. discloses the composition of Claim 1 and Wada et al. further renders the composition of Claim 6 obvious. The composition of Claim 6 requires the composition comprises 40 to 90 parts by weight of the titanium group element, 2 to 10 parts by weight of the solvent, and 5 to 40 parts by weight of the blowing agent. In Ex. 4-6, Wada et al. explicitly discloses a concentration of 60 wt.% for the titanium powder. Wada et al. discloses the composition is applied to a substrate prior to foaming using a doctor blade (¶22) meaning that the viscosity of the slurry will dictate the thickness of the wet film and the thickness of the final film. Wada et al. evaluated different concentrations of neopentane (blowing agent) and water (solvent) with both of these species expected to modify the viscosity of the slurry as pentane forms insoluble bubbles in the water-based slurry. Moreover, Wada et al. teaches in the Table 1 (by Ex. 4-6) that the increased the concentration of the blowing agent will increase the porosity of the sintered titanium foam.
Given the effect of the concentrations of both the blowing agent and the solvent as taught by Wada et al. on the resultant sintered foam, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the levels of these two additives in the composition, including the levels of the claimed range, as part of routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II) – routine optimization
Regarding Claim 8, Wada et al. renders the composition of Claim 6 obvious as explained above; moreover, the composition of Claim 8 can also be derived from Wada et al. The limitations of Claim 8 require a composition of: 0.1 to 3.0 by weight of a dispersant; and 0.1 to 4 parts by weight of a binder with respect to 40 to 90 parts by weight of the titanium group element. In Ex. 4, 5, and 6 of Wada et al., there different composition are disclosed that comprise 60 wt.% titanium powder, 2.0-2.9 wt.% methylcellulose (i.e.: a binder), 0.4-3.0 wt.% neopentane (i.e.: foaming agent), 4.0 wt.% alkylbenzene sulfonate (i.e.: surfactant), and other additives. Given the examples in the prior art (i.e.: Wada et al.), a prima facie case of obviousness exists as the concentrations of the titanium group (i.e.: titanium powder), the dispersant (i.e.: alkyl benzenesulfonate), and the binder (i.e.: methyl cellulose) overlap, approach, or are similar to the concentrations of the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
7. Claims 3, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada et al. as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kazufumi et al.
Wada et al. (US Pub. No. 2008/0090719 A) is directed toward a spongy sintered article of titanium (title). Kazufumi et al. (JP2017050185A) is directed toward a gas diffusion layer for membrane electrode assemblies (title).
Regarding Claim 3, Wada et al. discloses the composition of Claim 1, but Wada et al. does not disclose the use of a pyrolytic chemical foaming agent. Kazufumi et al. teaches the composition for forming a conductive porous layer (11) in ¶78 comprising a conductive carbon material, high molecular weight polymer (i.e.: a binder), a dispersant, a dispersion medium (i.e.: solvent) and a foaming agent. Since both Wada et al. and Kazufumi et al. are directed toward conductive porous layers useful for electrochemical process and are formed using a foaming agent, they are deemed analogous art. The conductive carbon material is analogous to the titanium element in the present application as both materials make the porous layer conductive. In ¶83, Kazufumi et al. discloses two preferred organic foaming agents (analogous to pyrolytic foaming agents of the instant application), which are azodicarbonamide (ADCA) and 4,4'-oxybisbenzenesulfonylhydrazide (OBSH). The foaming agents in Kazufumi et al. are defined to have an average particle size of 1 micron to 50 microns in ¶82. The advantage of having a well-defined particle size for the foaming agent ensure more predictable results as the particle size of the foaming agent will dictate the void size in the sintered conductive foam. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metallic foam forming composition of Wada et al. by using the organic foaming agents taught in Kazufumi et al. with the reasonable expectation of controlling the void size of the pores in the prepared titanium foam.
Regarding Claim 4, Wada et al. in view of Kazufumi et al. discloses the composition of Claim 3, wherein the pyrolytic foaming agent comprises 4,4'-oxybisbenzenesulfonylhydrazide (OBSH) as supported by ¶83 as a preferred organic (pyrolytic) foaming agent (Kazufumi et al.).
Regarding Claim 5, Wada et al. in view of Kazufumi et al. discloses the composition of Claim 1, but uses a liquid blowing agent, so does not define the average particle size of the granular blowing agent. Kazufumi et al. teaches the composition for forming a conductive porous layer (11) in ¶78 comprising a conductive carbon material, high molecular weight polymer (i.e.: a binder), a dispersant, a dispersion medium (i.e.: solvent) and a foaming agent. Since both Wada et al. and Kazufumi et al. are directed toward conductive porous layers useful for electrochemical process and are formed using a foaming agent, they are deemed analogous art. The conductive carbon material is analogous to the titanium element in the present application as both materials make the porous layer conductive. Kazufumi et al. discloses foaming agent that are defined to have an average particle size of 1 micron to 50 microns in ¶82, meaning the materials are granular. These foaming agents include both organic (e.g.: oxybisbenzenesulfonylhydrazide) and inorganic (e.g.: sodium bicarbonate). The advantage of having a well-defined particle size for the foaming agent ensure more predictable results as the particle size of the foaming agent will dictate the void size in the sintered conductive foam. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metallic foam forming composition of Wada et al. by using the defined particle size foaming agents taught in Kazufumi et al. with the reasonable expectation of controlling the void size of the pores in the prepared titanium foam.
It has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the prior art discloses a range that overlaps, approaches, or is similar to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gros et al. (US Pub. No. 2010/0028710 A1) is directed toward an open all porous material and a method of producing the same (title). Gauthier et al. (“Production of Metallic Foams Having Open Porosity Using a Powder Metallurgy Approach,” Mater. Manufact. Process. 2004, 19(5), 793-811) is directed toward the production of metallic foams (title).
/KEVIN SYLVESTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794