DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Action on the Merits. Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed on December 15h, 2025 has been considered and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 4-6, 8-18, and 20 have been amended. Claim 3 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
The previous contingent limitations of claims 6 and 8-18 have been overcome due to the Applicant’s Amendments.
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the newly formulated grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 objected to because of the following informalities:
The entirety of claim 20 appears to be missing from the claim sheet and is found in the Applicant Initiated Interview Summary (PTOL-413) submitted by the applicant. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyama (US 20190371281 A1) (“Koyama”) in view of Nakashima (US 20070101290 A1) (“Nakashima”).
With respect to claim 1, Koyama teaches a vehicle display control device provided in a vehicle, the vehicle display control device comprising processing circuitry connected to a memory (See at least Koyama Paragraph 30 “The periphery monitoring ECU 60 is mainly configured by a processor, a volatile memory, a non-transitory tangible storage medium such as a nonvolatile memory, an I/O, and a microcomputer including buses for connecting those components, and executes various processes by executing control programs stored in the non-volatile memory”) and configured to:
recognize a traffic regulation mark indicating a traffic regulation provided on a traveling route of the vehicle (See at least Koyama FIG. 4 and Paragraph 60 “In Step S3, the mark identification unit 203 identifies a traffic regulation mark existing ahead of the course of the host vehicle and a regulation effective range for the traffic regulation mark”);
control a display device to display first content information and second content information in a display area in front of a seat of driver of the vehicle, the first content information related to content of the traffic regulation and an effective range indicated by the traffic regulation mark in response to the vehicle entering the effective range of the traffic regulation, the second content information indicating content other than the first content information (See at least Koyama FIG. 4 and Paragraphs 61-62 “In Step S5, the remaining amount identification unit 204 identifies the remaining travel time as the starting remaining amount or the ending remaining amount. In S5, before the host vehicle enters the regulation effective range, the remaining amount identification unit 204 identifies the remaining travel time as the starting remaining amount of the regulation effective range, and after the host vehicle has entered the regulation effective range, the remaining amount identification unit 204 identifies the remaining travel time as the ending remaining amount of the regulation effective range. In Step S6, if there are multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks in which the host vehicle is located within the regulation effective range (YES in Step S6), the process proceeds to Step S7. On the other hand, if only one type of effective traffic regulation mark exists (NO in S6), the process proceeds to Step S8. In Step S7, the priority setting unit 207 sets the priority of each of the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks.”); and
control display of the first content information and the second content information in the display area based on priorities set for the first content information and the second content information (See at least Koyama FIG. 4 and Paragraph 63 “In Step S8, the display control unit 208 performs a display control to display the regulation content information and the remaining amount information of the effective traffic regulation marks on the HUD 231. The display control unit 208 causes the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to be switched between the proximal display region and the distal display region in accordance with the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. When there are the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks, the display control unit 208 also arbitrates the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information in accordance with the priority set in S7.”)
wherein the vehicle enters the effective range of the traffic regulation (See at least Koyama Paragraphs 60-62).
Koyama, however, fails to explicitly disclose that the second content information includes at least one of: warning information for giving a warning about an obstacle positioned around the vehicle; guidance information for guiding to a route to a destination; or abnormality information indicating that an abnormality has occurred in the vehicle.
Nakashima teaches that the second content information includes at least one of: warning information for giving a warning about an obstacle positioned around the vehicle; guidance information for guiding to a route to a destination; or abnormality information indicating that an abnormality has occurred in the vehicle (See at least Nakashima Paragraph 74 “Let us suppose that the display contents of the map window 46 and the audio operation window 48 are unchanged, but the vehicle information window 50 changes its display content from “no error” to “abnormal air pressure.” In this case, the display priority for the vehicle information window changes to 30. As a result, the vehicle information window 50 is assigned the highest display priority. The order of three overlapping windows 46, 48, and 50 changes. The overall image generated by the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes from the one displayed at the top of FIG. 4 to the one as shown in FIG. 6. That is, the vehicle information window 50 showing “abnormal air pressure” is displayed at the top for easy recognition. A driver can promptly notice the detection of abnormal air pressure.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Koyama to include that the second content information includes at least one of: warning information for giving a warning about an obstacle positioned around the vehicle; guidance information for guiding to a route to a destination; or abnormality information indicating that an abnormality has occurred in the vehicle, as taught by Nakashima as disclosed above, in order to ensure information is presented to the user accurately and efficiently (Nakashima Paragraph 8 “It is therefore an object of the present invention to provide a display apparatus that facilitates fast recognition of necessary information”).
With respect to claim 2, Koyama in view of Nakashima teaches that the processing circuitry is configured to: set the priorities of the first content information and the second content information (See at least Koyama FIG. 4 and Paragraphs 61-62 “In Step S5, the remaining amount identification unit 204 identifies the remaining travel time as the starting remaining amount or the ending remaining amount. In S5, before the host vehicle enters the regulation effective range, the remaining amount identification unit 204 identifies the remaining travel time as the starting remaining amount of the regulation effective range, and after the host vehicle has entered the regulation effective range, the remaining amount identification unit 204 identifies the remaining travel time as the ending remaining amount of the regulation effective range. In Step S6, if there are multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks in which the host vehicle is located within the regulation effective range (YES in Step S6), the process proceeds to Step S7. On the other hand, if only one type of effective traffic regulation mark exists (NO in S6), the process proceeds to Step S8. In Step S7, the priority setting unit 207 sets the priority of each of the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks.”).
With respect to claim 4, Koyama in view of Nakashima teaches that the second content information includes at least one of the warning information and the abnormality information (See at least Koyama Paragraph 27 “The map DB 4 is a nonvolatile memory and stores map data such as link data and node data. The link data includes various pieces of data such as an link ID identifying a link, a link length indicating a length of the link, a link azimuth, a link travel time, link shape information, node coordinates (latitude/longitude) between a beginning and an end of the link, and road attributes. The road attribute data includes, for example, data (hereinafter, referred to as regulation data) on regulation by a traffic regulation mark, which is at least one of a traffic sign and a road marking. Examples of such regulations include a speed limit, no parking, no overtaking, no vehicle crossing, and the like. When an effective range exists in the regulation by the traffic regulation mark, the link data also includes data of the effective range (hereinafter, referred to as effective range data). The regulation data and the effective range data may be stored in the map DB 4 as data other than the link data. The node data includes a various pieces of data such as a node ID in which a unique number is assigned to each node on a map, node coordinates, a node name, a node type, a connection link ID in which a link ID of a link connected to the node is described, an intersection type, and the like.”), and each of the at least one of the warning information or the abnormality information is given a higher priority than the first content information (See at least Koyama Paragraph 52 “An example of setting the priority of the traffic regulation mark according to the type of the traffic regulation mark and the traveling state of the host vehicle is as follows. In this example, a description will be made taking “speed limit,” “no parking,” and “no overtaking” as examples of the traffic regulation marks. For example, when the speed of the host vehicle is less than a set value, the priority of “no parking” is set to be higher than the priority of “speed limit”, while when the speed of the host vehicle is equal to or higher than the set value, the priority of “speed limit” is set to be higher than the priority of “no parking”. In the case where there is a preceding vehicle, the priority of “no overtaking” may be set to be higher than the priority of “limit speed”, while in the case where there is no preceding vehicle, the priority of “speed limit” may be set to be higher than the priority of “no overtaking””).
With respect to claim 5, Koyama in view of Nakashima teaches that the second content information includes the warning information and the guidance information (See at least Koyama Paragraph 52 “An example of setting the priority of the traffic regulation mark according to the type of the traffic regulation mark and the traveling state of the host vehicle is as follows. In this example, a description will be made taking “speed limit,” “no parking,” and “no overtaking” as examples of the traffic regulation marks. For example, when the speed of the host vehicle is less than a set value, the priority of “no parking” is set to be higher than the priority of “speed limit”, while when the speed of the host vehicle is equal to or higher than the set value, the priority of “speed limit” is set to be higher than the priority of “no parking”. In the case where there is a preceding vehicle, the priority of “no overtaking” may be set to be higher than the priority of “limit speed”, while in the case where there is no preceding vehicle, the priority of “speed limit” may be set to be higher than the priority of “no overtaking””) and the warning information is given a higher priority than the guidance information (See at least Koyama Paragraph 52 “An example of setting the priority of the traffic regulation mark according to the type of the traffic regulation mark and the traveling state of the host vehicle is as follows. In this example, a description will be made taking “speed limit,” “no parking,” and “no overtaking” as examples of the traffic regulation marks. For example, when the speed of the host vehicle is less than a set value, the priority of “no parking” is set to be higher than the priority of “speed limit”, while when the speed of the host vehicle is equal to or higher than the set value, the priority of “speed limit” is set to be higher than the priority of “no parking”. In the case where there is a preceding vehicle, the priority of “no overtaking” may be set to be higher than the priority of “limit speed”, while in the case where there is no preceding vehicle, the priority of “speed limit” may be set to be higher than the priority of “no overtaking””).
With respect to claim 6, Koyama in view of Nakashima teaches that the display area includes a plurality of display areas of different positions (See at least Koyama FIG. 6 and Paragraph 32 “The display device 23 displays information based on an instruction from the HCU 20, to thereby present information to the driver. Examples of the display device 23 include a HUD (Head-Up Display) 231, a combination meter 232, and a CID (Center Information Display) 233. The HUD 231 projects a light of a display image based on the image data acquired from the HCU 20 onto a projection region in front of the driver's seat of the host vehicle, to thereby display a virtual image of the display image superimposed on a part of a foreground so as to be able to be visually recognized by the driver. The combination meter 232 and the CID 233 display information by, for example, a liquid crystal display. The combination meter 232 is disposed on the instrument panel in front of the driver's seat. The CID 233 is located above a center cluster”)
display areas for displaying the first content information and the second content information are same, and the processing circuitry is configured, in response to the display areas for displaying the first content information and the second content information being the same, to change a display mode of a first one of the first content information and the second content information, the first one being given a lower priority than a second one of the first content information and the second content information (See at least Nakashima Paragraph 73 “The synthesized screen generation unit 35 determines the order of overlapping windows so that the window having the highest display priority is displayed at the top, then the window having the next highest display priority is displayed next to the top window, and so on. For example, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates the synthesized screen as shown at the top in FIG. 4. The synthesized screen generation unit 35 outputs screen data for the synthesized screen to the display unit 42. In this manner, the display unit 42 displays the synthesized screen.”).
With respect to claim 7, Koyama in view of Nakashima teaches that the display area includes a distal display area and a proximal display area whose position is different from the distal display area, the proximal display area displaying an image appearing more proximal to a user than the distal display area (See at least Koyama FIG. 6 and Paragraph 32 “The display device 23 displays information based on an instruction from the HCU 20, to thereby present information to the driver. Examples of the display device 23 include a HUD (Head-Up Display) 231, a combination meter 232, and a CID (Center Information Display) 233. The HUD 231 projects a light of a display image based on the image data acquired from the HCU 20 onto a projection region in front of the driver's seat of the host vehicle, to thereby display a virtual image of the display image superimposed on a part of a foreground so as to be able to be visually recognized by the driver. The combination meter 232 and the CID 233 display information by, for example, a liquid crystal display. The combination meter 232 is disposed on the instrument panel in front of the driver's seat. The CID 233 is located above a center cluster”).
With respect to claim 8, Koyama in view of Nakashima teach that information included in the second content information is displayed in the distal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given a higher priority than the first content information, the first content information is displayed in the distal display area, and the processing circuitry is configured to switch a display area for displaying the first content information to the proximal display area in response to the information included in the second content information being displayed in the distal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given the higher priority than the first content information, and the first content information being displayed in the distal display area (See at least Koyama Paragraphs 55-56 “The display control unit 208 switches the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to the proximal display region and the distal display region, according to the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. In addition, the display control unit 208 causes the latest regulation content information and the remaining amount information to be displayed in the distal display region, and then causes the display to shift to the proximal display region. However, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are to be displayed in the proximal display region for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, arbitration is performed to switch the display of the traffic regulation mark having a lower priority set by the priority setting unit 207 from the proximal display region to the distal display region. Further, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information whose display region is switched from the proximal display region to the distal display region exist for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, the information on those traffic regulation marks is displayed in the distal display region in order according to the priority set by the priority setting unit 207. Details of the display control of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information by the display control unit 208 will be described later. In addition, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch whether to display information indicating the remaining travel distance or information indicating the remaining travel time as the remaining amount information in accordance with a selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21. Information indicating both of the remaining travel distance and the remaining travel time may be displayed. Alternatively, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch the presence or absence of display on the HUD 231 or to selectively cancel the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information for the identified traffic regulation marks in accordance with the selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21.” | Paragraph 63 “In Step S8, the display control unit 208 performs a display control to display the regulation content information and the remaining amount information of the effective traffic regulation marks on the HUD 231. The display control unit 208 causes the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to be switched between the proximal display region and the distal display region in accordance with the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. When there are the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks, the display control unit 208 also arbitrates the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information in accordance with the priority set in S7.”) (See at least Nakashima Paragraphs 73-74 “The synthesized screen generation unit 35 determines the order of overlapping windows so that the window having the highest display priority is displayed at the top, then the window having the next highest display priority is displayed next to the top window, and so on. For example, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates the synthesized screen as shown at the top in FIG. 4. The synthesized screen generation unit 35 outputs screen data for the synthesized screen to the display unit 42. In this manner, the display unit 42 displays the synthesized screen. Let us suppose that the display contents of the map window 46 and the audio operation window 48 are unchanged, but the vehicle information window 50 changes its display content from “no error” to “abnormal air pressure.” In this case, the display priority for the vehicle information window changes to 30. As a result, the vehicle information window 50 is assigned the highest display priority. The order of three overlapping windows 46, 48, and 50 changes. The overall image generated by the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes from the one displayed at the top of FIG. 4 to the one as shown in FIG. 6. That is, the vehicle information window 50 showing “abnormal air pressure” is displayed at the top for easy recognition. A driver can promptly notice the detection of abnormal air pressure.” | Paragraph 77 “When multiple windows overlap with each other to generate an overall image, the above-mentioned embodiment determines the order of overlapping windows using display priorities determined based on the display contents. When a window is displayed second or later in terms of the order of overlapping windows without changing the display content, changing the display content may assign the highest display priority to that window. The window is displayed at the top, making it easy to view the information in the window. Consequently, the user can promptly and easily recognize the necessary information.”).
With respect to claim 9, Koyama in view of Nakashima teach that information included in the second content information is displayed in the distal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given a higher priority than the first content information, the first content information is displayed in the distal display area, and the processing circuitry is configured to reduce a size for displaying the first content information in response to the information included in the second content information being displayed in the distal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given the higher priority than the first content information, and the first content information being displayed in the distal display area (See at least Koyama Paragraphs 55-56 “The display control unit 208 switches the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to the proximal display region and the distal display region, according to the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. In addition, the display control unit 208 causes the latest regulation content information and the remaining amount information to be displayed in the distal display region, and then causes the display to shift to the proximal display region. However, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are to be displayed in the proximal display region for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, arbitration is performed to switch the display of the traffic regulation mark having a lower priority set by the priority setting unit 207 from the proximal display region to the distal display region. Further, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information whose display region is switched from the proximal display region to the distal display region exist for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, the information on those traffic regulation marks is displayed in the distal display region in order according to the priority set by the priority setting unit 207. Details of the display control of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information by the display control unit 208 will be described later. In addition, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch whether to display information indicating the remaining travel distance or information indicating the remaining travel time as the remaining amount information in accordance with a selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21. Information indicating both of the remaining travel distance and the remaining travel time may be displayed. Alternatively, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch the presence or absence of display on the HUD 231 or to selectively cancel the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information for the identified traffic regulation marks in accordance with the selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21.” | Paragraph 63 “In Step S8, the display control unit 208 performs a display control to display the regulation content information and the remaining amount information of the effective traffic regulation marks on the HUD 231. The display control unit 208 causes the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to be switched between the proximal display region and the distal display region in accordance with the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. When there are the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks, the display control unit 208 also arbitrates the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information in accordance with the priority set in S7.”) (See at least Nakashima Paragraph 75-76 “Let us suppose that a change is made to the display content of the map window 46 in the screen of FIG. 6 and the display priority for the map window 46 changes from 10 to 30. As a result, the same display priority is assigned to the map window 46 and the vehicle information window 50. The highest display priority is assigned to the two windows. The rendering unit 31 determines the display ranges of the two windows 46 and 50 so that they overlap with each other. In this case, however, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes the display ranges determined by the rendering unit 31. As shown in FIG. 7, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates a synthesized screen so that the display ranges of the two windows 46 and 50 do not overlap with each other. Broken lines indicate the display ranges of the windows 46 and 50 before changing the display ranges (i.e., the display ranges of the windows 46 and 50 in FIG. 6). Since the display ranges change, the user can simultaneously view all the windows 46 and 50 having the same display priority without needing to change the order of overlapping windows 46 and 50 or change the display positions thereof. Instead of changing the display ranges, different display times may be assigned to the windows so that they do not overlap with each other. Also in this case, the user can view all the windows having the same display priority without needing to switch between the windows.”).
With respect to claim 10, Koyama in view of Nakashima teach that information included in the second content information is displayed in the proximal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given a higher priority than the first content information, the first content information is displayed in the proximal display area, and the processing circuitry is configured to switch a display area for displaying the first content information to the distal display area in response to the information included in the second content information being displayed in the proximal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given the higher priority than the first content information, and the first content information being displayed in the proximal display area (See at least Koyama Paragraphs 55-56 “The display control unit 208 switches the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to the proximal display region and the distal display region, according to the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. In addition, the display control unit 208 causes the latest regulation content information and the remaining amount information to be displayed in the distal display region, and then causes the display to shift to the proximal display region. However, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are to be displayed in the proximal display region for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, arbitration is performed to switch the display of the traffic regulation mark having a lower priority set by the priority setting unit 207 from the proximal display region to the distal display region. Further, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information whose display region is switched from the proximal display region to the distal display region exist for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, the information on those traffic regulation marks is displayed in the distal display region in order according to the priority set by the priority setting unit 207. Details of the display control of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information by the display control unit 208 will be described later. In addition, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch whether to display information indicating the remaining travel distance or information indicating the remaining travel time as the remaining amount information in accordance with a selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21. Information indicating both of the remaining travel distance and the remaining travel time may be displayed. Alternatively, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch the presence or absence of display on the HUD 231 or to selectively cancel the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information for the identified traffic regulation marks in accordance with the selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21.” | Paragraph 63 “In Step S8, the display control unit 208 performs a display control to display the regulation content information and the remaining amount information of the effective traffic regulation marks on the HUD 231. The display control unit 208 causes the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to be switched between the proximal display region and the distal display region in accordance with the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. When there are the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks, the display control unit 208 also arbitrates the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information in accordance with the priority set in S7.”) (See at least Nakashima Paragraphs 73-74 “The synthesized screen generation unit 35 determines the order of overlapping windows so that the window having the highest display priority is displayed at the top, then the window having the next highest display priority is displayed next to the top window, and so on. For example, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates the synthesized screen as shown at the top in FIG. 4. The synthesized screen generation unit 35 outputs screen data for the synthesized screen to the display unit 42. In this manner, the display unit 42 displays the synthesized screen. Let us suppose that the display contents of the map window 46 and the audio operation window 48 are unchanged, but the vehicle information window 50 changes its display content from “no error” to “abnormal air pressure.” In this case, the display priority for the vehicle information window changes to 30. As a result, the vehicle information window 50 is assigned the highest display priority. The order of three overlapping windows 46, 48, and 50 changes. The overall image generated by the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes from the one displayed at the top of FIG. 4 to the one as shown in FIG. 6. That is, the vehicle information window 50 showing “abnormal air pressure” is displayed at the top for easy recognition. A driver can promptly notice the detection of abnormal air pressure.” | Paragraph 77 “When multiple windows overlap with each other to generate an overall image, the above-mentioned embodiment determines the order of overlapping windows using display priorities determined based on the display contents. When a window is displayed second or later in terms of the order of overlapping windows without changing the display content, changing the display content may assign the highest display priority to that window. The window is displayed at the top, making it easy to view the information in the window. Consequently, the user can promptly and easily recognize the necessary information.”).
With respect to claim 11, Koyama in view of Nakashima teach information included in the second content information is displayed in the proximal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given a higher priority than the first content information, the first content information is displayed in the proximal display area, and the processing circuitry is configured to switch a display area for displaying the first content information to the distal display area and reduce a size for displaying the first content information in response to the information included in the second content information being displayed in the proximal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given the higher priority than the first content information, and the first content information being displayed in the proximal display area (See at least Koyama Paragraphs 55-56 “The display control unit 208 switches the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to the proximal display region and the distal display region, according to the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. In addition, the display control unit 208 causes the latest regulation content information and the remaining amount information to be displayed in the distal display region, and then causes the display to shift to the proximal display region. However, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are to be displayed in the proximal display region for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, arbitration is performed to switch the display of the traffic regulation mark having a lower priority set by the priority setting unit 207 from the proximal display region to the distal display region. Further, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information whose display region is switched from the proximal display region to the distal display region exist for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, the information on those traffic regulation marks is displayed in the distal display region in order according to the priority set by the priority setting unit 207. Details of the display control of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information by the display control unit 208 will be described later. In addition, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch whether to display information indicating the remaining travel distance or information indicating the remaining travel time as the remaining amount information in accordance with a selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21. Information indicating both of the remaining travel distance and the remaining travel time may be displayed. Alternatively, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch the presence or absence of display on the HUD 231 or to selectively cancel the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information for the identified traffic regulation marks in accordance with the selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21.” | Paragraph 63 “In Step S8, the display control unit 208 performs a display control to display the regulation content information and the remaining amount information of the effective traffic regulation marks on the HUD 231. The display control unit 208 causes the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to be switched between the proximal display region and the distal display region in accordance with the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. When there are the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks, the display control unit 208 also arbitrates the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information in accordance with the priority set in S7.”) (See at least Nakashima Paragraphs 73-74 “The synthesized screen generation unit 35 determines the order of overlapping windows so that the window having the highest display priority is displayed at the top, then the window having the next highest display priority is displayed next to the top window, and so on. For example, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates the synthesized screen as shown at the top in FIG. 4. The synthesized screen generation unit 35 outputs screen data for the synthesized screen to the display unit 42. In this manner, the display unit 42 displays the synthesized screen. Let us suppose that the display contents of the map window 46 and the audio operation window 48 are unchanged, but the vehicle information window 50 changes its display content from “no error” to “abnormal air pressure.” In this case, the display priority for the vehicle information window changes to 30. As a result, the vehicle information window 50 is assigned the highest display priority. The order of three overlapping windows 46, 48, and 50 changes. The overall image generated by the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes from the one displayed at the top of FIG. 4 to the one as shown in FIG. 6. That is, the vehicle information window 50 showing “abnormal air pressure” is displayed at the top for easy recognition. A driver can promptly notice the detection of abnormal air pressure.” | Paragraphs 75-76 “Let us suppose that a change is made to the display content of the map window 46 in the screen of FIG. 6 and the display priority for the map window 46 changes from 10 to 30. As a result, the same display priority is assigned to the map window 46 and the vehicle information window 50. The highest display priority is assigned to the two windows. The rendering unit 31 determines the display ranges of the two windows 46 and 50 so that they overlap with each other. In this case, however, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes the display ranges determined by the rendering unit 31. As shown in FIG. 7, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates a synthesized screen so that the display ranges of the two windows 46 and 50 do not overlap with each other. Broken lines indicate the display ranges of the windows 46 and 50 before changing the display ranges (i.e., the display ranges of the windows 46 and 50 in FIG. 6). Since the display ranges change, the user can simultaneously view all the windows 46 and 50 having the same display priority without needing to change the order of overlapping windows 46 and 50 or change the display positions thereof. Instead of changing the display ranges, different display times may be assigned to the windows so that they do not overlap with each other. Also in this case, the user can view all the windows having the same display priority without needing to switch between the windows.” | Paragraph 77 “When multiple windows overlap with each other to generate an overall image, the above-mentioned embodiment determines the order of overlapping windows using display priorities determined based on the display contents. When a window is displayed second or later in terms of the order of overlapping windows without changing the display content, changing the display content may assign the highest display priority to that window. The window is displayed at the top, making it easy to view the information in the window. Consequently, the user can promptly and easily recognize the necessary information.”).
With respect to claim 12, Koyama in view of Nakashima teach information included in the second content information is displayed in the proximal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given a higher priority than predetermined information included in the first content information, the predetermined information is displayed in the proximal display area, low priority information is displayed in the distal display area, and the processing circuitry is configured to stop display of the low priority information and switch a display area for displaying the predetermined information included in the first content information to the distal display area, the low priority information being given a lower priority than the predetermined information, the stop of the display and the switch of the display area being performed in response to the information included in the second content information being displayed in the proximal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given the higher priority than the predetermined information, the predetermined information being displayed in the proximal display area, and the low priority information being displayed in the distal display area (See at least Koyama Paragraphs 55-56 “The display control unit 208 switches the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to the proximal display region and the distal display region, according to the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. In addition, the display control unit 208 causes the latest regulation content information and the remaining amount information to be displayed in the distal display region, and then causes the display to shift to the proximal display region. However, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are to be displayed in the proximal display region for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, arbitration is performed to switch the display of the traffic regulation mark having a lower priority set by the priority setting unit 207 from the proximal display region to the distal display region. Further, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information whose display region is switched from the proximal display region to the distal display region exist for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, the information on those traffic regulation marks is displayed in the distal display region in order according to the priority set by the priority setting unit 207. Details of the display control of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information by the display control unit 208 will be described later. In addition, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch whether to display information indicating the remaining travel distance or information indicating the remaining travel time as the remaining amount information in accordance with a selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21. Information indicating both of the remaining travel distance and the remaining travel time may be displayed. Alternatively, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch the presence or absence of display on the HUD 231 or to selectively cancel the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information for the identified traffic regulation marks in accordance with the selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21.” | Paragraph 63 “In Step S8, the display control unit 208 performs a display control to display the regulation content information and the remaining amount information of the effective traffic regulation marks on the HUD 231. The display control unit 208 causes the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to be switched between the proximal display region and the distal display region in accordance with the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. When there are the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks, the display control unit 208 also arbitrates the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information in accordance with the priority set in S7.”) (See at least Nakashima Paragraphs 73-74 “The synthesized screen generation unit 35 determines the order of overlapping windows so that the window having the highest display priority is displayed at the top, then the window having the next highest display priority is displayed next to the top window, and so on. For example, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates the synthesized screen as shown at the top in FIG. 4. The synthesized screen generation unit 35 outputs screen data for the synthesized screen to the display unit 42. In this manner, the display unit 42 displays the synthesized screen. Let us suppose that the display contents of the map window 46 and the audio operation window 48 are unchanged, but the vehicle information window 50 changes its display content from “no error” to “abnormal air pressure.” In this case, the display priority for the vehicle information window changes to 30. As a result, the vehicle information window 50 is assigned the highest display priority. The order of three overlapping windows 46, 48, and 50 changes. The overall image generated by the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes from the one displayed at the top of FIG. 4 to the one as shown in FIG. 6. That is, the vehicle information window 50 showing “abnormal air pressure” is displayed at the top for easy recognition. A driver can promptly notice the detection of abnormal air pressure.” | Paragraph 77 “When multiple windows overlap with each other to generate an overall image, the above-mentioned embodiment determines the order of overlapping windows using display priorities determined based on the display contents. When a window is displayed second or later in terms of the order of overlapping windows without changing the display content, changing the display content may assign the highest display priority to that window. The window is displayed at the top, making it easy to view the information in the window. Consequently, the user can promptly and easily recognize the necessary information.” | Paragraphs 99-100 “The following describes the display screen displayed on the display unit 42 according to the fourth embodiment using the same example as the first embodiment. While the virtual screens 1 to 3 are generated as shown in FIG. 4, the maximum display count may be set to 2. In this case, virtual screen 3 is not displayed based on the display priority. Only virtual screens 1 and 2 are used to generate the overall image. The display unit 42 displays the screen as shown in FIG. 16. In this state, let us suppose that the vehicle information window 50 changes its display content with display priority 1 to the one with display priority 30. The generation of the overall image uses the vehicle information window 50 instead of the audio operation window 48. In addition, the vehicle information window 50 is higher than the map window 46 in terms of the order of overlapping windows. The display unit 42 displays the screen as shown in FIG. 17.”).
With respect to claim 13, Koyama in view of Nakashima teach the first content information is displayed in the distal display area, information included in the second content information is displayed in the distal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given a higher priority than the first content information, and the processing circuitry is configured to switch a display area for displaying the first content information to the proximal display area in response to the first content information being displayed in the distal display area, and the information included in the second content information being displayed in the distal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given the higher priority than the first content information (See at least Koyama Paragraphs 55-56 “The display control unit 208 switches the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to the proximal display region and the distal display region, according to the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. In addition, the display control unit 208 causes the latest regulation content information and the remaining amount information to be displayed in the distal display region, and then causes the display to shift to the proximal display region. However, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are to be displayed in the proximal display region for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, arbitration is performed to switch the display of the traffic regulation mark having a lower priority set by the priority setting unit 207 from the proximal display region to the distal display region. Further, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information whose display region is switched from the proximal display region to the distal display region exist for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, the information on those traffic regulation marks is displayed in the distal display region in order according to the priority set by the priority setting unit 207. Details of the display control of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information by the display control unit 208 will be described later. In addition, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch whether to display information indicating the remaining travel distance or information indicating the remaining travel time as the remaining amount information in accordance with a selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21. Information indicating both of the remaining travel distance and the remaining travel time may be displayed. Alternatively, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch the presence or absence of display on the HUD 231 or to selectively cancel the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information for the identified traffic regulation marks in accordance with the selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21.” | Paragraph 63 “In Step S8, the display control unit 208 performs a display control to display the regulation content information and the remaining amount information of the effective traffic regulation marks on the HUD 231. The display control unit 208 causes the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to be switched between the proximal display region and the distal display region in accordance with the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. When there are the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks, the display control unit 208 also arbitrates the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information in accordance with the priority set in S7.”) (See at least Nakashima Paragraphs 73-74 “The synthesized screen generation unit 35 determines the order of overlapping windows so that the window having the highest display priority is displayed at the top, then the window having the next highest display priority is displayed next to the top window, and so on. For example, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates the synthesized screen as shown at the top in FIG. 4. The synthesized screen generation unit 35 outputs screen data for the synthesized screen to the display unit 42. In this manner, the display unit 42 displays the synthesized screen. Let us suppose that the display contents of the map window 46 and the audio operation window 48 are unchanged, but the vehicle information window 50 changes its display content from “no error” to “abnormal air pressure.” In this case, the display priority for the vehicle information window changes to 30. As a result, the vehicle information window 50 is assigned the highest display priority. The order of three overlapping windows 46, 48, and 50 changes. The overall image generated by the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes from the one displayed at the top of FIG. 4 to the one as shown in FIG. 6. That is, the vehicle information window 50 showing “abnormal air pressure” is displayed at the top for easy recognition. A driver can promptly notice the detection of abnormal air pressure.” | Paragraph 77 “When multiple windows overlap with each other to generate an overall image, the above-mentioned embodiment determines the order of overlapping windows using display priorities determined based on the display contents. When a window is displayed second or later in terms of the order of overlapping windows without changing the display content, changing the display content may assign the highest display priority to that window. The window is displayed at the top, making it easy to view the information in the window. Consequently, the user can promptly and easily recognize the necessary information.”).
With respect to claim 14, Koyama in view of Nakashima teach the first content information is displayed in the distal display area, information included in the second content information is displayed in the distal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given a higher priority than the first content information, and the processing circuitry is configured to reduce a size for displaying the first content information in response to the first content information being displayed in the distal display area, and the information included in the second content information being displayed in the distal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given the higher priority than the first content information (See at least Koyama Paragraphs 55-56 “The display control unit 208 switches the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to the proximal display region and the distal display region, according to the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. In addition, the display control unit 208 causes the latest regulation content information and the remaining amount information to be displayed in the distal display region, and then causes the display to shift to the proximal display region. However, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are to be displayed in the proximal display region for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, arbitration is performed to switch the display of the traffic regulation mark having a lower priority set by the priority setting unit 207 from the proximal display region to the distal display region. Further, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information whose display region is switched from the proximal display region to the distal display region exist for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, the information on those traffic regulation marks is displayed in the distal display region in order according to the priority set by the priority setting unit 207. Details of the display control of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information by the display control unit 208 will be described later. In addition, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch whether to display information indicating the remaining travel distance or information indicating the remaining travel time as the remaining amount information in accordance with a selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21. Information indicating both of the remaining travel distance and the remaining travel time may be displayed. Alternatively, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch the presence or absence of display on the HUD 231 or to selectively cancel the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information for the identified traffic regulation marks in accordance with the selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21.” | Paragraph 63 “In Step S8, the display control unit 208 performs a display control to display the regulation content information and the remaining amount information of the effective traffic regulation marks on the HUD 231. The display control unit 208 causes the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to be switched between the proximal display region and the distal display region in accordance with the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. When there are the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks, the display control unit 208 also arbitrates the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information in accordance with the priority set in S7.”) (See at least Nakashima Paragraph 75-76 “Let us suppose that a change is made to the display content of the map window 46 in the screen of FIG. 6 and the display priority for the map window 46 changes from 10 to 30. As a result, the same display priority is assigned to the map window 46 and the vehicle information window 50. The highest display priority is assigned to the two windows. The rendering unit 31 determines the display ranges of the two windows 46 and 50 so that they overlap with each other. In this case, however, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes the display ranges determined by the rendering unit 31. As shown in FIG. 7, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates a synthesized screen so that the display ranges of the two windows 46 and 50 do not overlap with each other. Broken lines indicate the display ranges of the windows 46 and 50 before changing the display ranges (i.e., the display ranges of the windows 46 and 50 in FIG. 6). Since the display ranges change, the user can simultaneously view all the windows 46 and 50 having the same display priority without needing to change the order of overlapping windows 46 and 50 or change the display positions thereof. Instead of changing the display ranges, different display times may be assigned to the windows so that they do not overlap with each other. Also in this case, the user can view all the windows having the same display priority without needing to switch between the windows.”).
With respect to claim 15, Koyama in view of Nakashima teach the first content information is displayed in the distal display area, information included in the second content information is displayed in the distal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given a higher priority than the first content information, and the processing circuitry is configured to stop display of the first content information in response to the first content information being displayed in the distal display area, and the information in the second content information [[is]] being displayed in the distal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given the higher priority than the first content information (See at least Koyama Paragraphs 55-56 “The display control unit 208 switches the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to the proximal display region and the distal display region, according to the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. In addition, the display control unit 208 causes the latest regulation content information and the remaining amount information to be displayed in the distal display region, and then causes the display to shift to the proximal display region. However, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are to be displayed in the proximal display region for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, arbitration is performed to switch the display of the traffic regulation mark having a lower priority set by the priority setting unit 207 from the proximal display region to the distal display region. Further, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information whose display region is switched from the proximal display region to the distal display region exist for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, the information on those traffic regulation marks is displayed in the distal display region in order according to the priority set by the priority setting unit 207. Details of the display control of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information by the display control unit 208 will be described later. In addition, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch whether to display information indicating the remaining travel distance or information indicating the remaining travel time as the remaining amount information in accordance with a selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21. Information indicating both of the remaining travel distance and the remaining travel time may be displayed. Alternatively, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch the presence or absence of display on the HUD 231 or to selectively cancel the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information for the identified traffic regulation marks in accordance with the selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21.” | Paragraph 63 “In Step S8, the display control unit 208 performs a display control to display the regulation content information and the remaining amount information of the effective traffic regulation marks on the HUD 231. The display control unit 208 causes the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to be switched between the proximal display region and the distal display region in accordance with the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. When there are the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks, the display control unit 208 also arbitrates the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information in accordance with the priority set in S7.”) (See at least Nakashima Paragraphs 73-74 “The synthesized screen generation unit 35 determines the order of overlapping windows so that the window having the highest display priority is displayed at the top, then the window having the next highest display priority is displayed next to the top window, and so on. For example, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates the synthesized screen as shown at the top in FIG. 4. The synthesized screen generation unit 35 outputs screen data for the synthesized screen to the display unit 42. In this manner, the display unit 42 displays the synthesized screen. Let us suppose that the display contents of the map window 46 and the audio operation window 48 are unchanged, but the vehicle information window 50 changes its display content from “no error” to “abnormal air pressure.” In this case, the display priority for the vehicle information window changes to 30. As a result, the vehicle information window 50 is assigned the highest display priority. The order of three overlapping windows 46, 48, and 50 changes. The overall image generated by the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes from the one displayed at the top of FIG. 4 to the one as shown in FIG. 6. That is, the vehicle information window 50 showing “abnormal air pressure” is displayed at the top for easy recognition. A driver can promptly notice the detection of abnormal air pressure.” | Paragraph 77 “When multiple windows overlap with each other to generate an overall image, the above-mentioned embodiment determines the order of overlapping windows using display priorities determined based on the display contents. When a window is displayed second or later in terms of the order of overlapping windows without changing the display content, changing the display content may assign the highest display priority to that window. The window is displayed at the top, making it easy to view the information in the window. Consequently, the user can promptly and easily recognize the necessary information.” | Paragraphs 99-100 “The following describes the display screen displayed on the display unit 42 according to the fourth embodiment using the same example as the first embodiment. While the virtual screens 1 to 3 are generated as shown in FIG. 4, the maximum display count may be set to 2. In this case, virtual screen 3 is not displayed based on the display priority. Only virtual screens 1 and 2 are used to generate the overall image. The display unit 42 displays the screen as shown in FIG. 16. In this state, let us suppose that the vehicle information window 50 changes its display content with display priority 1 to the one with display priority 30. The generation of the overall image uses the vehicle information window 50 instead of the audio operation window 48. In addition, the vehicle information window 50 is higher than the map window 46 in terms of the order of overlapping windows. The display unit 42 displays the screen as shown in FIG. 17.”).
With respect to claim 16, Koyama in view of Nakashima teach the first content information is displayed in the proximal display area, information included in the second content information is displayed in the proximal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given a higher priority than the first content information, and the processing circuitry is configured to switch a display area for displaying the first content information to the distal display area in response to the first content information being displayed in the proximal display area, and the information included in the second content information being displayed in the proximal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given the higher priority than the first content information (See at least Koyama Paragraphs 55-56 “The display control unit 208 switches the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to the proximal display region and the distal display region, according to the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. In addition, the display control unit 208 causes the latest regulation content information and the remaining amount information to be displayed in the distal display region, and then causes the display to shift to the proximal display region. However, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are to be displayed in the proximal display region for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, arbitration is performed to switch the display of the traffic regulation mark having a lower priority set by the priority setting unit 207 from the proximal display region to the distal display region. Further, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information whose display region is switched from the proximal display region to the distal display region exist for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, the information on those traffic regulation marks is displayed in the distal display region in order according to the priority set by the priority setting unit 207. Details of the display control of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information by the display control unit 208 will be described later. In addition, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch whether to display information indicating the remaining travel distance or information indicating the remaining travel time as the remaining amount information in accordance with a selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21. Information indicating both of the remaining travel distance and the remaining travel time may be displayed. Alternatively, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch the presence or absence of display on the HUD 231 or to selectively cancel the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information for the identified traffic regulation marks in accordance with the selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21.” | Paragraph 63 “In Step S8, the display control unit 208 performs a display control to display the regulation content information and the remaining amount information of the effective traffic regulation marks on the HUD 231. The display control unit 208 causes the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to be switched between the proximal display region and the distal display region in accordance with the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. When there are the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks, the display control unit 208 also arbitrates the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information in accordance with the priority set in S7.”) (See at least Nakashima Paragraphs 73-74 “The synthesized screen generation unit 35 determines the order of overlapping windows so that the window having the highest display priority is displayed at the top, then the window having the next highest display priority is displayed next to the top window, and so on. For example, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates the synthesized screen as shown at the top in FIG. 4. The synthesized screen generation unit 35 outputs screen data for the synthesized screen to the display unit 42. In this manner, the display unit 42 displays the synthesized screen. Let us suppose that the display contents of the map window 46 and the audio operation window 48 are unchanged, but the vehicle information window 50 changes its display content from “no error” to “abnormal air pressure.” In this case, the display priority for the vehicle information window changes to 30. As a result, the vehicle information window 50 is assigned the highest display priority. The order of three overlapping windows 46, 48, and 50 changes. The overall image generated by the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes from the one displayed at the top of FIG. 4 to the one as shown in FIG. 6. That is, the vehicle information window 50 showing “abnormal air pressure” is displayed at the top for easy recognition. A driver can promptly notice the detection of abnormal air pressure.” | Paragraph 77 “When multiple windows overlap with each other to generate an overall image, the above-mentioned embodiment determines the order of overlapping windows using display priorities determined based on the display contents. When a window is displayed second or later in terms of the order of overlapping windows without changing the display content, changing the display content may assign the highest display priority to that window. The window is displayed at the top, making it easy to view the information in the window. Consequently, the user can promptly and easily recognize the necessary information.”).
With respect to claim 17, Koyama in view of Nakashima teach the first content information is displayed in the proximal display area, information included in the second content information is displayed in the proximal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given a higher priority than the first content information, and the processing circuitry is configured to switch a display area for displaying the first content information to the distal display area and reduce a size for displaying the first content information in response to the first content information being displayed in the proximal display area, and the information included in the second content information being displayed in the proximal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given the higher priority than the first content information (See at least Koyama Paragraphs 55-56 “The display control unit 208 switches the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to the proximal display region and the distal display region, according to the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. In addition, the display control unit 208 causes the latest regulation content information and the remaining amount information to be displayed in the distal display region, and then causes the display to shift to the proximal display region. However, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are to be displayed in the proximal display region for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, arbitration is performed to switch the display of the traffic regulation mark having a lower priority set by the priority setting unit 207 from the proximal display region to the distal display region. Further, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information whose display region is switched from the proximal display region to the distal display region exist for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, the information on those traffic regulation marks is displayed in the distal display region in order according to the priority set by the priority setting unit 207. Details of the display control of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information by the display control unit 208 will be described later. In addition, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch whether to display information indicating the remaining travel distance or information indicating the remaining travel time as the remaining amount information in accordance with a selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21. Information indicating both of the remaining travel distance and the remaining travel time may be displayed. Alternatively, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch the presence or absence of display on the HUD 231 or to selectively cancel the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information for the identified traffic regulation marks in accordance with the selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21.” | Paragraph 63 “In Step S8, the display control unit 208 performs a display control to display the regulation content information and the remaining amount information of the effective traffic regulation marks on the HUD 231. The display control unit 208 causes the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to be switched between the proximal display region and the distal display region in accordance with the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. When there are the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks, the display control unit 208 also arbitrates the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information in accordance with the priority set in S7.”) (See at least Nakashima Paragraphs 73-74 “The synthesized screen generation unit 35 determines the order of overlapping windows so that the window having the highest display priority is displayed at the top, then the window having the next highest display priority is displayed next to the top window, and so on. For example, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates the synthesized screen as shown at the top in FIG. 4. The synthesized screen generation unit 35 outputs screen data for the synthesized screen to the display unit 42. In this manner, the display unit 42 displays the synthesized screen. Let us suppose that the display contents of the map window 46 and the audio operation window 48 are unchanged, but the vehicle information window 50 changes its display content from “no error” to “abnormal air pressure.” In this case, the display priority for the vehicle information window changes to 30. As a result, the vehicle information window 50 is assigned the highest display priority. The order of three overlapping windows 46, 48, and 50 changes. The overall image generated by the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes from the one displayed at the top of FIG. 4 to the one as shown in FIG. 6. That is, the vehicle information window 50 showing “abnormal air pressure” is displayed at the top for easy recognition. A driver can promptly notice the detection of abnormal air pressure.” | Paragraphs 75-76 “Let us suppose that a change is made to the display content of the map window 46 in the screen of FIG. 6 and the display priority for the map window 46 changes from 10 to 30. As a result, the same display priority is assigned to the map window 46 and the vehicle information window 50. The highest display priority is assigned to the two windows. The rendering unit 31 determines the display ranges of the two windows 46 and 50 so that they overlap with each other. In this case, however, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes the display ranges determined by the rendering unit 31. As shown in FIG. 7, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates a synthesized screen so that the display ranges of the two windows 46 and 50 do not overlap with each other. Broken lines indicate the display ranges of the windows 46 and 50 before changing the display ranges (i.e., the display ranges of the windows 46 and 50 in FIG. 6). Since the display ranges change, the user can simultaneously view all the windows 46 and 50 having the same display priority without needing to change the order of overlapping windows 46 and 50 or change the display positions thereof. Instead of changing the display ranges, different display times may be assigned to the windows so that they do not overlap with each other. Also in this case, the user can view all the windows having the same display priority without needing to switch between the windows.” | Paragraphs 75-76 “Let us suppose that a change is made to the display content of the map window 46 in the screen of FIG. 6 and the display priority for the map window 46 changes from 10 to 30. As a result, the same display priority is assigned to the map window 46 and the vehicle information window 50. The highest display priority is assigned to the two windows. The rendering unit 31 determines the display ranges of the two windows 46 and 50 so that they overlap with each other. In this case, however, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes the display ranges determined by the rendering unit 31. As shown in FIG. 7, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates a synthesized screen so that the display ranges of the two windows 46 and 50 do not overlap with each other. Broken lines indicate the display ranges of the windows 46 and 50 before changing the display ranges (i.e., the display ranges of the windows 46 and 50 in FIG. 6). Since the display ranges change, the user can simultaneously view all the windows 46 and 50 having the same display priority without needing to change the order of overlapping windows 46 and 50 or change the display positions thereof. Instead of changing the display ranges, different display times may be assigned to the windows so that they do not overlap with each other. Also in this case, the user can view all the windows having the same display priority without needing to switch between the windows.” | Paragraph 77 “When multiple windows overlap with each other to generate an overall image, the above-mentioned embodiment determines the order of overlapping windows using display priorities determined based on the display contents. When a window is displayed second or later in terms of the order of overlapping windows without changing the display content, changing the display content may assign the highest display priority to that window. The window is displayed at the top, making it easy to view the information in the window. Consequently, the user can promptly and easily recognize the necessary information.”).
With respect to claim 18, Koyama in view of Nakashima teach information included in the second content information is displayed in the proximal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given a higher priority than predetermined information included in the first content information, the predetermined information is displayed in the proximal display area, low priority information is displayed in the distal display area, and the processing circuitry is configured to stop display of the low priority information and switch a display area for displaying the predetermined information included in the first content information to the distal display area, the low priority information being given a lower priority than the predetermined information, the stop of the display and the switch of the display area being performed in response to the predetermined information being displayed in the proximal display area, the information included in the second content information being displayed in the proximal display area, with the information included in the second content information being given the higher priority than the predetermined information, and the low priority information being displayed in the distal display area (See at least Koyama Paragraphs 55-56 “The display control unit 208 switches the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to the proximal display region and the distal display region, according to the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. In addition, the display control unit 208 causes the latest regulation content information and the remaining amount information to be displayed in the distal display region, and then causes the display to shift to the proximal display region. However, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are to be displayed in the proximal display region for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, arbitration is performed to switch the display of the traffic regulation mark having a lower priority set by the priority setting unit 207 from the proximal display region to the distal display region. Further, when the regulation content information and the remaining amount information whose display region is switched from the proximal display region to the distal display region exist for the multiple types of traffic regulation marks, the information on those traffic regulation marks is displayed in the distal display region in order according to the priority set by the priority setting unit 207. Details of the display control of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information by the display control unit 208 will be described later. In addition, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch whether to display information indicating the remaining travel distance or information indicating the remaining travel time as the remaining amount information in accordance with a selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21. Information indicating both of the remaining travel distance and the remaining travel time may be displayed. Alternatively, the display control unit 208 may be configured to switch the presence or absence of display on the HUD 231 or to selectively cancel the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information for the identified traffic regulation marks in accordance with the selection by the driver accepted through the operation device 21.” | Paragraph 63 “In Step S8, the display control unit 208 performs a display control to display the regulation content information and the remaining amount information of the effective traffic regulation marks on the HUD 231. The display control unit 208 causes the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to be switched between the proximal display region and the distal display region in accordance with the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. When there are the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks, the display control unit 208 also arbitrates the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information in accordance with the priority set in S7.”) (See at least Nakashima Paragraphs 73-74 “The synthesized screen generation unit 35 determines the order of overlapping windows so that the window having the highest display priority is displayed at the top, then the window having the next highest display priority is displayed next to the top window, and so on. For example, the synthesized screen generation unit 35 generates the synthesized screen as shown at the top in FIG. 4. The synthesized screen generation unit 35 outputs screen data for the synthesized screen to the display unit 42. In this manner, the display unit 42 displays the synthesized screen. Let us suppose that the display contents of the map window 46 and the audio operation window 48 are unchanged, but the vehicle information window 50 changes its display content from “no error” to “abnormal air pressure.” In this case, the display priority for the vehicle information window changes to 30. As a result, the vehicle information window 50 is assigned the highest display priority. The order of three overlapping windows 46, 48, and 50 changes. The overall image generated by the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes from the one displayed at the top of FIG. 4 to the one as shown in FIG. 6. That is, the vehicle information window 50 showing “abnormal air pressure” is displayed at the top for easy recognition. A driver can promptly notice the detection of abnormal air pressure.” | Paragraph 77 “When multiple windows overlap with each other to generate an overall image, the above-mentioned embodiment determines the order of overlapping windows using display priorities determined based on the display contents. When a window is displayed second or later in terms of the order of overlapping windows without changing the display content, changing the display content may assign the highest display priority to that window. The window is displayed at the top, making it easy to view the information in the window. Consequently, the user can promptly and easily recognize the necessary information.” | Paragraphs 99-100 “The following describes the display screen displayed on the display unit 42 according to the fourth embodiment using the same example as the first embodiment. While the virtual screens 1 to 3 are generated as shown in FIG. 4, the maximum display count may be set to 2. In this case, virtual screen 3 is not displayed based on the display priority. Only virtual screens 1 and 2 are used to generate the overall image. The display unit 42 displays the screen as shown in FIG. 16. In this state, let us suppose that the vehicle information window 50 changes its display content with display priority 1 to the one with display priority 30. The generation of the overall image uses the vehicle information window 50 instead of the audio operation window 48. In addition, the vehicle information window 50 is higher than the map window 46 in terms of the order of overlapping windows. The display unit 42 displays the screen as shown in FIG. 17.”).
With respect to claim 19, Koyama in view of Nakashima teaches a display configured to form a display image in accordance with an instruction from the vehicle display control device according to claim 1; and an optical system configured to project the display image formed by the display onto a projection member (See at least Koyama FIG. 6 and Paragraph 32 “The display device 23 displays information based on an instruction from the HCU 20, to thereby present information to the driver. Examples of the display device 23 include a HUD (Head-Up Display) 231, a combination meter 232, and a CID (Center Information Display) 233. The HUD 231 projects a light of a display image based on the image data acquired from the HCU 20 onto a projection region in front of the driver's seat of the host vehicle, to thereby display a virtual image of the display image superimposed on a part of a foreground so as to be able to be visually recognized by the driver. The combination meter 232 and the CID 233 display information by, for example, a liquid crystal display. The combination meter 232 is disposed on the instrument panel in front of the driver's seat. The CID 233 is located above a center cluster”).
With respect to claim 20, Koyama teaches a vehicle display control method for controlling a display device provided in a vehicle, the vehicle display control method comprising:
recognizing a traffic regulation mark indicating a traffic regulation provided on a traveling route of the vehicle (See at least Koyama FIG. 4 and Paragraph 60 “In Step S3, the mark identification unit 203 identifies a traffic regulation mark existing ahead of the course of the host vehicle and a regulation effective range for the traffic regulation mark”);
controlling the display device to display first content information and second content information in a display area in front of a seat of a driver of the vehicle, the first content information related to content of the traffic regulation and an effective range indicated by the traffic regulation mark in response to the vehicle entering the effective range of the traffic regulation, the second content information indicating content other than the first content information (See at least Koyama FIG. 4 and Paragraphs 61-62 “In Step S5, the remaining amount identification unit 204 identifies the remaining travel time as the starting remaining amount or the ending remaining amount. In S5, before the host vehicle enters the regulation effective range, the remaining amount identification unit 204 identifies the remaining travel time as the starting remaining amount of the regulation effective range, and after the host vehicle has entered the regulation effective range, the remaining amount identification unit 204 identifies the remaining travel time as the ending remaining amount of the regulation effective range. In Step S6, if there are multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks in which the host vehicle is located within the regulation effective range (YES in Step S6), the process proceeds to Step S7. On the other hand, if only one type of effective traffic regulation mark exists (NO in S6), the process proceeds to Step S8. In Step S7, the priority setting unit 207 sets the priority of each of the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks.”); and
controlling display of the first content information and the second content information in the display area based on priorities set for the first content information and the second content information (See at least Koyama FIG. 4 and Paragraph 63 “In Step S8, the display control unit 208 performs a display control to display the regulation content information and the remaining amount information of the effective traffic regulation marks on the HUD 231. The display control unit 208 causes the display region in which the regulation content information and the remaining amount information are displayed to be switched between the proximal display region and the distal display region in accordance with the situation of the host vehicle with respect to the regulation effective range. When there are the multiple types of effective traffic regulation marks, the display control unit 208 also arbitrates the display of the regulation content information and the remaining amount information in accordance with the priority set in S7.”).
wherein the vehicle enters the effective range of the traffic regulation (See at least Koyama Paragraphs 60-62).
Koyama, however, fails to explicitly disclose that the second content information includes at least one of: warning information for giving a warning about an obstacle positioned around the vehicle; guidance information for guiding to a route to a destination; or abnormality information indicating that an abnormality has occurred in the vehicle.
Nakashima teaches that the second content information includes at least one of: warning information for giving a warning about an obstacle positioned around the vehicle; guidance information for guiding to a route to a destination; or abnormality information indicating that an abnormality has occurred in the vehicle (See at least Nakashima Paragraph 74 “Let us suppose that the display contents of the map window 46 and the audio operation window 48 are unchanged, but the vehicle information window 50 changes its display content from “no error” to “abnormal air pressure.” In this case, the display priority for the vehicle information window changes to 30. As a result, the vehicle information window 50 is assigned the highest display priority. The order of three overlapping windows 46, 48, and 50 changes. The overall image generated by the synthesized screen generation unit 35 changes from the one displayed at the top of FIG. 4 to the one as shown in FIG. 6. That is, the vehicle information window 50 showing “abnormal air pressure” is displayed at the top for easy recognition. A driver can promptly notice the detection of abnormal air pressure.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Koyama to include that the second content information includes at least one of: warning information for giving a warning about an obstacle positioned around the vehicle; guidance information for guiding to a route to a destination; or abnormality information indicating that an abnormality has occurred in the vehicle, as taught by Nakashima as disclosed above, in order to ensure information is presented to the user accurately and efficiently (Nakashima Paragraph 8 “It is therefore an object of the present invention to provide a display apparatus that facilitates fast recognition of necessary information”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IBRAHIM ABDOALATIF ALSOMAIRY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667 /KENNETH J MALKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667