Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 20, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument on pages 8 – 9 pertaining to “Majewski does not disclose an edge device that performs prognostic health monitoring functions to produce a data output as required by amended independent claim 1. Rather, Majewski is directed to monitoring device data from one or more local devices at a local facility with an edge device and sending a representation or translation of that data to a remote server and does not perform prognostic health monitoring analysis related to the local devices. Fymat does not compensate for the deficiencies of Majewski; Fymat is directed to an avionics interface that can be connected to sensors and other systems of an aircraft to display information to a pilot and perform automated low-level flight control inputs. The Office Action notes that Fymat discloses "a communication interface configured to received sensed data related to a characteristic of a heating element of a first probe," but neither this nor any other disclosure of Fymat concerns prognostic health monitoring, as the claims are presently amended to recite.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Prognostic health monitoring (PHM) as recited by the claim refers to receiving sensor data that measures signals that predict a fault so that preventative maintenance can be performed before equipment breaks down. The Examiner does rely on Fymat to disclose “an edge device that performs prognostic health monitoring functions”. The Examiner relies on Majewski. Majewski discloses an edge device that performs prognostic health monitoring functions (Fig. 3A, ¶ 33 anticipating maintenance need and fault, etc.)
In response to Applicant's argument on page 9 pertaining to “Ghelam also does not compensate for the deficiencies of Majewski; Ghelam is directed to a system for predictive maintenance by fusion between modeling and simulation for a rotary wing aircraft. For at least these reasons, Majewski is uninformative as to the presence of a coarse-PHM application on an edge device and performance of coarse-PHM analysis to generate data outputs by the edge device as recited in claim 1, and the rejection of claim 1 should be withdrawn.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner does not rely on Ghelam to disclose “a coarse-PHM application on an edge device and performance of coarse-PHM analysis to generate data outputs by the edge device”. The Examiner relies on Majewski. Majewski discloses “a coarse-PHM application (Fig. 5, ¶ 65 rather than pulling all of the data from all of the data points, identify points of interests) on an edge device and performance of coarse-PHM analysis to generate data outputs (Fig. 3A, ¶ 42 sensors) by the edge device”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majewski et al (US 2021/0389968 A1) (herein after Majewski) in view of Fymat (US 9,849,999 B1) (herein after Fymat), and further in view of IM et al. (US 2021/0201598 A1) (herein after Im).
Regarding Claim 1, Majewski teaches, an edge device (Fig. 3A, edge controller 16) for use in a system for monitoring a vehicle-borne probe (Fig. 3A, ¶ 49 avionic subsystems, aircraft, Line-replaceable Units (LRUs)), the edge device comprising: — a core application module (Fig. 5, ¶ 87 the ARM Pelion endpoint 74; “Fig 3A comprises Fig 5, see ¶ 87”) configured to host a plurality of core applications (Fig. 5, ¶ 87 one, two or more different containers), — a dynamic application module (Fig. 5, ¶ 87 the ARM Pelion endpoint 74) configured to host a plurality of dynamic applications (Fig. 5, ¶ 87 one, two or more different containers), —; and a processing unit (Fig. 5, physical device 70) configured to implement the plurality of core applications on the sensed data (Fig. 5, ¶ 87 various operations associated with assets), wherein the plurality of core applications comprises: a coarse-PHM data processing application (Fig. 5, ¶ 65 rather than pulling all of the data from all of the data points, identify points of interests) configured to monitor and analyze the sensed data to generate a first data output (Fig. 3A, ¶ 42 sensors).
Majewski fails to teach, — a first communication interface configured to receive sensed data related to a characteristic of a heating element of a first probe; — the core applications configured to generate coarse prognostic health monitoring (coarse-PHM) data analytics outputs based on the received sensed data; — the dynamic applications configured to monitor the coarse-PHM data analytics outputs and adjust parameter monitoring based on the coarse-PHM data analytics outputs; —
In analogous art, Fymat teaches, — the edge device (Fig. 2 DAP unit 250) comprising: a first communication interface (Fig. 2, sensor I/O interface 254) configured to receive sensed data related to a characteristic of a heating element of a first probe (Fig. 2. Col. 8. Ln. 13 pitot heat; Col. 9. Ln. 41 pitot tube); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski by combining the edge device taught by Majewski with an edge device taught by Fymat the edge device comprising: a first communication interface configured to receive sensed data related to a characteristic of a heating element of a first probe; taught by Fymat for the benefit of performing compliance monitoring of a vehicle to prevent dangerous conditions [Fymat: Col. 18, Ln. 20 – 27 compliance monitoring, in which system 100 alerts the pilot user, important for novice pilots who are more likely to make dangerous mistakes].
Majewski in view of Fymat fail to disclose, — the core applications configured to generate coarse prognostic health monitoring (coarse-PHM) data analytics outputs based on the received sensed data; — the dynamic applications configured to monitor the coarse-PHM data analytics outputs and adjust parameter monitoring based on the coarse-PHM data analytics outputs; —
In analogous art, Im discloses, — the core applications configured to generate coarse prognostic health monitoring (coarse-PHM) data analytics outputs (Fig. 11, ¶ 53 information database 140, items of information) based on the received sensed data; — the dynamic applications configured to monitor the coarse-PHM data analytics outputs (Fig. 11, ¶ 187 the precise diagnosis performance module 324 can perform precise diagnosis on an abnormal safety part, in more detail) and adjust parameter monitoring (Fig. 11, ¶ 190 precise diagnosis performance module 324 can perform sampling with a cycle shorter than the cycle in which the vehicle state summarization module 321 samples) based on the coarse-PHM data analytics outputs; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski in view of Fymat by combining the edge device taught by Majewski in view of Fymat with an edge device, the edge device comprising: core applications configured to generate coarse prognostic health monitoring (coarse-PHM) data analytics outputs based on the received sensed data; dynamic applications configured to monitor the coarse-PHM data analytics outputs and adjust parameter monitoring based on the coarse-PHM data analytics outputs; taught by Im for the benefit of diagnosing a vehicle part in order to perform preventative maintenance. [Im: ¶ 13].
Regarding Claim 10, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Majewski and Im fail to teach, the edge device of claim 1, wherein the vehicle is an aircraft, and wherein the first probe is one of a pitot probe, a total air temperature probe, and an angle-of-attack probe.
Fymat further teaches, the edge device of claim 1, wherein the vehicle is an aircraft, and wherein the first probe is one of a pitot probe, a total air temperature probe, and an angle-of-attack probe (Fig. 2. Col. 8. Ln. 13 pitot heat).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski, Fymat, and Im fail to teach, by combining the edge device taught by Majewski, Fymat, and Im fail to teach, with an edge device wherein, the vehicle is an aircraft, and wherein the first probe is one of a pitot probe, a total air temperature probe, and an angle-of-attack probe; taught by Fymat for the benefit of performing compliance monitoring of a vehicle to prevent dangerous conditions [Fymat: Col. 18, Ln. 20 – 27 compliance monitoring, in which system 100 alerts the pilot user, important for novice pilots who are more likely to make dangerous mistakes].
Regarding Claim 21, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Majewski and Fymat fail to teach, 21. (New) The edge device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of dynamic applications are further configured to generate fine prognostic health monitoring (fine-PHM) analytics outputs based on the coarse-PHM data analytics outputs, the fine-PHM analytics including at least one of monitoring additional parameters of the sensed data, monitoring parameters among the sensed data at a higher rate, and monitoring of parameters among the sensed data at higher precision.
Im further teaches, 21. (New) The edge device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of dynamic applications are further configured to generate fine prognostic health monitoring (fine-PHM) analytics outputs (Fig. 11, ¶ 187 the precise diagnosis performance module 324 can perform precise diagnosis on an abnormal safety part, in more detail) based on the coarse-PHM data analytics outputs, the fine-PHM analytics including at least one of monitoring additional parameters (Fig. 11, ¶ 108 at least one diagnosis parameter) of the sensed data, monitoring parameters among the sensed data at a higher rate (Fig. 11, ¶ 190 precise diagnosis performance module 324 can perform sampling with a cycle shorter than the cycle in which the vehicle state summarization module 321 samples), and monitoring of parameters among the sensed data at higher precision (Fig. 11, ¶ 190 precise diagnosis performance module 324 can perform sampling with a cycle shorter than the cycle in which the vehicle state summarization module 321 samples).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski in view of Fymat by combining the edge device taught by Majewski in view of Fymat with an edge device, the edge device comprising: dynamic applications, wherein the plurality of dynamic applications are further configured to generate fine prognostic health monitoring (fine-PHM) analytics outputs based on the coarse-PHM data analytics outputs, the fine-PHM analytics including at least one of monitoring additional parameters of the sensed data, monitoring parameters among the sensed data at a higher rate, and monitoring of parameters among the sensed data at higher precision; taught by Im for the benefit of diagnosing a vehicle part in order to perform preventative maintenance. [Im: ¶ 13].
Claim(s) 2 – 9, 11 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majewski et al (US 2021/0389968 A1) (herein after Majewski) in view of Fymat (US 9,849,999 B1) (herein after Fymat) in view of IM et al. (US 2021/0201598 A1) (herein after Im), and further in view of Ghelam (US 2012/0179326 A1) (herein after Ghelam).
Regarding Claim 2, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Majewski further teaches, the edge device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of core applications further comprises: — and a field loader application (Fig. 5, ¶ 87 one, two or more different containers) configured to update at least one of device configuration files, cybersecurity certificate, device-specific software, and device-specific applications (Fig. 5, ¶ 87 virtual security engine (VSE) pod 76).
Majewski, Fymat, and Im fail to teach, wherein the plurality of core applications further comprises: an advanced data repository for implementing reusable data analytics algorithms; —
In analogous art, Ghelam teaches, wherein the plurality of core applications further comprises: an advanced data repository for implementing reusable data analytics algorithms (Fig. 9, ¶ 208 calculation algorithms used by the calculation unit (BIHM) 9); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im by combining the edge device taught by Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im with an edge device comprising core applications wherein, the plurality of core applications further comprises: an advanced data repository for implementing reusable data analytics algorithms; taught by Ghelam for the benefit of determining remaining lifetime of vehicle electronic equipment to make it more reliable [Ghelam: ¶ 56 refine the diagnosis of remaining lifetime for electronic equipment and to make it more reliable].
Regarding Claim 3, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam teach the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends on.
Majewski, Fymat, and Im fail to teach, the edge device of claim 2, wherein the plurality of dynamic applications comprises a targeted assessment application configured to monitor and analyze the first data output.
Ghelam further teaches, the edge device of claim 2, wherein the plurality of dynamic applications comprises a targeted assessment application (Fig. 9, ¶ 203 software specific to calculating degradation) configured to monitor and analyze the first data output (Fig. 9, ¶ 190 Tracking trends in the values of these parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam by combining the edge device taught by Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam with an edge device comprising a plurality of dynamic applications wherein, the plurality of dynamic applications comprises a targeted assessment application configured to monitor and analyze the first data output; taught by Ghelam for the benefit of determining remaining lifetime of vehicle electronic equipment to make it more reliable [Ghelam: ¶ 56 refine the diagnosis of remaining lifetime for electronic equipment and to make it more reliable].
Regarding Claim 4, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam teach the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends on.
Majewski further teaches, the edge device of claim 3, wherein the targeted assessment application is pre-loaded (Fig. 3A, ¶ 75 registration of the edge controller 16) in the edge device.
Regarding Claim 5, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam teach the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends on.
Majewski further teaches, the edge device of claim 3, wherein the targeted assessment application is dynamically loaded (Fig. 3A, ¶ 75 downloaded to the edge controller 16) in the edge device by a coordinator (Fig. 3A, ¶ 75 Connection Management block 42) in communication with the edge device.
Regarding Claim 6, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam teach the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends on.
Majewski, Fymat, and Im fail to teach, the edge device of claim 3, wherein the targeted assessment application is configured to generate a second data output.
Ghelam further teaches, the edge device of claim 3, wherein the targeted assessment application is configured to generate a second data output (Fig. 9, ¶ 197 prognosis result 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam by combining the edge device taught by Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam with an edge device comprising a targeted assessment application wherein, the targeted assessment application is configured to generate a second data output; taught by Ghelam for the benefit of determining remaining lifetime of vehicle electronic equipment to make it more reliable [Ghelam: ¶ 56 refine the diagnosis of remaining lifetime for electronic equipment and to make it more reliable].
Regarding Claim 7, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam teach the limitations of claim 6, which this claim depends on.
Majewski further teaches, the edge device of claim 6 and further comprising: a memory (Fig. 3A, ¶ 155 non-transitory computer-readable or processor- readable media) accessible by the processing unit and configured to store the plurality of core applications; and a second communication interface (Fig. 3A, ¶ 98 wired network access, wirelessly) configured to communicate the first data output and the second data output to a coordinator (Fig. 3A, ¶ 75 Connection Management block 42) of the system.
Regarding Claim 8, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam teach the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends on.
Majewski, Fymat, and Im fail to teach, the edge device of claim 3, wherein the plurality of dynamic applications further comprises: a monitoring application for monitoring at least one of brake temperature, acoustics, smart BIT, battery, vibration, cabin temperature, and heater current arc fault.
Ghelam further teaches, the edge device of claim 3, wherein the plurality of dynamic applications further comprises: a monitoring application for monitoring at least one of brake temperature, acoustics, smart BIT, battery, vibration, cabin temperature, and heater current arc fault (Fig. 9, ¶ 304 (vibration, temperature, humidity, chemical aggression).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam by combining the edge device taught by Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam with an edge device comprising a plurality of dynamic applications wherein, the plurality of dynamic applications further comprises: a monitoring application for monitoring at least one of brake temperature, acoustics, smart BIT, battery, vibration, cabin temperature, and heater current arc fault; taught by Ghelam for the benefit of determining remaining lifetime of vehicle electronic equipment to make it more reliable [Ghelam: ¶ 56 refine the diagnosis of remaining lifetime for electronic equipment and to make it more reliable].
Regarding Claim 9, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Majewski and Im fail to teach, the edge device of claim 1, wherein the characteristic of the heating element is one of current, capacitance, and voltage.
Fymat further teaches, the edge device of claim 1, wherein the characteristic of the heating element is one of current, capacitance, and voltage (Fig. 2. Col. 8. Ln. 13 pitot heat; Examiner interpretation: pitot heat is achieved using voltage and current).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im by combining the edge device taught by Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im with an edge device wherein, the characteristic of the heating element is one of current, capacitance, and voltage; taught by Fymat for the benefit of performing compliance monitoring of a vehicle to prevent dangerous conditions [Fymat: Col. 18, Ln. 20 – 27 compliance monitoring, in which system 100 alerts the pilot user, important for novice pilots who are more likely to make dangerous mistakes].
Regarding Claim 11, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam teach the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends on.
Majewski further teaches, a system (Fig. 3A, facility management system 30) for monitoring a vehicle-borne probe (Fig. 3A, ¶ 49 avionic subsystems, aircraft, Line-replaceable Units (LRUs)), the system comprising: a coordinator (Fig. 3A, ¶ 75 Connection Management block 42) in communication with the edge device of claim 4 (Fig. 3A, ¶ 98 wired network access, wirelessly) and configured to receive the first data output and the second data output from the edge device and to incorporate the first data output and second data output into a data package (Fig. 3A, ¶ 98 wired network access, wirelessly; Examiner interpretation: wired/wireless data is sent as packets/packages); and a cloud infrastructure (Fig. 3A, cloud 14) in communication with the coordinator via a data gateway (Fig. 3A, a firewall 34) and configured to analyze the data package (Fig. 3A, ¶ 63 analyzed by the cloud 14) to estimate a remaining useful life and predict a failure of the first probe (Fig. 3A, ¶ 33 anticipating maintenance need and fault, etc.).
Regarding Claim 12, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam teach the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Majewski, Im, and Ghelam fail to teach, the system of claim 11 and further comprising: a second edge device in communication with a second probe and configured to sense data related to a characteristic of a heating element of the second probe.
Fymat further teaches, the system of claim 11 and further comprising: a second edge device (Fig. 2 DAP unit 250) in communication with a second probe (Fig. 2. Col. 8. Ln. 13 pitot heat; Col. 9. Ln. 41 pitot tube) and configured to sense data related to a characteristic of a heating element of the second probe (Fig. 2. Col. 9. Ln. 39 retrieve relevant flight data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam by combining the edge device taught by Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam with a second edge device taught by Fymat, the second edge device comprising: a second edge device in communication with a second probe and configured to sense data related to a characteristic of a heating element of the second probe; taught by Fymat for the benefit of performing compliance monitoring of a vehicle to prevent dangerous conditions [Fymat: Col. 18, Ln. 20 – 27 compliance monitoring, in which system 100 alerts the pilot user, important for novice pilots who are more likely to make dangerous mistakes].
Regarding Claim 13, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Im in view of Ghelam teach the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends on.
Majewski further teaches, the system of claim 12, wherein the coordinator is in communication with the edge device and the second edge device (Fig. 3A, ¶ 98 wired network access, wirelessly), and wherein the coordinator is configured to incorporate the first data output, the second data output, and a third data output (Fig. 3A, ¶ 42 sensors) from the second edge device into the data package (Fig. 3A, ¶ 98 wired network access, wirelessly; Examiner interpretation: wired/wireless data is sent as packets/packages).
Claim(s) 14, and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majewski et al (US 2021/0389968 A1) (herein after Majewski) in view of Fymat (US 9,849,999 B1) (herein after Fymat), and further in view of Ghelam (US 2012/0179326 A1) (herein after Ghelam).
Regarding Claim 14, Majewski teaches, a method for operating (Fig. 3A, ¶ 181 a method for obtaining device data using an edge controller from one or more local devices) an edge device (Fig. 3A, edge controller 16) in a system (Fig. 3A, facility management system 30) for monitoring a vehicle-borne probe (Fig. 3A, ¶ 49 avionic subsystems, aircraft, Line-replaceable Units (LRUs)), the method comprising: powering up the edge device; determining, by a processing unit (Fig. 5, physical device 70) of the edge device, a location and identification of the edge device (Fig. 3A, ¶ 34 automatically discovering and identifying assets); — monitoring and analyzing, by a coarse prognostic health monitoring (coarse-PHM) data processing application (Fig. 5, ¶ 65 rather than pulling all of the data from all of the data points, identify points of interests) of the edge device, the sensed data to generate a first data output (Fig. 3A, ¶ 42 sensors); — sending, via a second communication interface (Fig. 3A, ¶ 98 wired network access, wirelessly) of the edge device, the first data output to a coordinator (Fig. 3A, ¶ 75 Connection Management block 42); and sending, via the second communication interface (Fig. 3A, ¶ 98 wired network access, wirelessly) of the edge device, the second data output to the coordinator (Fig. 3A, ¶ 75 Connection Management block 42).
Majewski fails to teach, — receiving, by a first communication interface of the edge device, sensed data related to a characteristic of a heating element of the probe; — monitoring, by a targeted assessment application of the edge device, the first data output; analyzing, by the targeted assessment application, the first data output and generating a second data output; —
In analogous art, Fymat teaches, — receiving, by a first communication interface of the edge device, sensed data related to a characteristic of a heating element of the probe; —
In analogous art, Fymat teaches, — receiving, by a first communication interface (Fig. 2, sensor I/O interface 254) of the edge device (Fig. 2 DAP unit 250), sensed data related to a characteristic of a heating element of the probe (Fig. 2. Col. 8. Ln. 13 pitot heat; Col. 9. Ln. 41 pitot tube); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski by combining the method of operating the edge device taught by Majewski with a method of operating an edge device comprising: receiving, by a first communication interface of the edge device, sensed data related to a characteristic of a heating element of the probe; taught by Fymat for the benefit of performing compliance monitoring of a vehicle to prevent dangerous conditions [Fymat: Col. 18, Ln. 20 – 27 compliance monitoring, in which system 100 alerts the pilot user, important for novice pilots who are more likely to make dangerous mistakes].
Majewski in view of Fymat fail to disclose, — monitoring, by a targeted assessment application of the edge device, the first data output; analyzing, by the targeted assessment application, the first data output and generating a second data output; —
In analogous art, Ghelam teaches, — monitoring, by a targeted assessment application (Fig. 9, ¶ 203 software specific to calculating degradation) of the edge device, the first data output; analyzing, by the targeted assessment application, the first data output and generating a second data output; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski in view of Fymat by combining the method of operating the edge device taught by Majewski in view of Fymat with a method of operating an edge device comprising: — monitoring, by a targeted assessment application of the edge device, the first data output; analyzing, by the targeted assessment application, the first data output and generating a second data output; —; taught by Ghelam for the benefit of determining remaining lifetime of vehicle electronic equipment to make it more reliable [Ghelam: ¶ 56 refine the diagnosis of remaining lifetime for electronic equipment and to make it more reliable].
Regarding Claim 17, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Ghelam further teaches, teach the limitations of claim 14, which this claim depends on.
Majewski further teaches, the method of claim 14 and further comprising: loading and activating (Fig. 3A, ¶ 75 registration of the edge controller 16), by the coordinator, —
Fymat, fails to teach, — a targeted assessment application to the edge device; and analyzing the first data output if a trigger event occurs.
Ghelam further teaches, — a targeted assessment application (Fig. 9, ¶ 203 software specific to calculating degradation) to the edge device; and analyzing the first data output if a trigger event occurs (Fig. 9, ¶ 206 transmit measurements under periodic triggering).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Ghelam by combining the method of operating the edge device taught by Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Ghelam with a method of operating an edge device comprising: loading and activating a targeted assessment application to the edge device; and analyzing the first data output if a trigger event occurs; taught by Ghelam for the benefit of determining remaining lifetime of vehicle electronic equipment to make it more reliable [Ghelam: ¶ 56 refine the diagnosis of remaining lifetime for electronic equipment and to make it more reliable].
Regarding Claim 18, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Ghelam teach the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Majewski and Fymat fail to teach, the method of claim 17, wherein the trigger event comprises a start event and an end event.
Ghelam further teaches, 18. The method of claim 17, wherein the trigger event comprises a start event and an end event (Fig. 9, ¶ 206 transmit measurements under periodic triggering; “the periods comprise a start and end”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Ghelam by combining the method of operating the edge device taught by Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Ghelam with a method of operating an edge device wherein, the trigger event comprises a start event and an end event; taught by Ghelam for the benefit of determining remaining lifetime of vehicle electronic equipment to make it more reliable [Ghelam: ¶ 56 refine the diagnosis of remaining lifetime for electronic equipment and to make it more reliable].
Regarding Claim 19, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Ghelam teach the limitations of claim 18, which this claim depends on.
Majewski and Fymat fail to teach, the method of claim 18, wherein the start event comprises at least one of a probe fault and exceedance of a parameter threshold or count.
Ghelam further teaches, the method of claim 18, wherein the start event comprises at least one of a probe fault and exceedance of a parameter threshold or count (Fig. 9, ¶ 190 abnormal operating thresholds (failure state)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Ghelam by combining the method of operating the edge device taught by Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Ghelam with a method of operating an edge device wherein, the start event comprises at least one of a probe fault and exceedance of a parameter threshold or count; taught by Ghelam for the benefit of determining remaining lifetime of vehicle electronic equipment to make it more reliable [Ghelam: ¶ 56 refine the diagnosis of remaining lifetime for electronic equipment and to make it more reliable].
Regarding Claim 20, Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Ghelam teach the limitations of claim 19, which this claim depends on.
Majewski and Fymat fail to teach, the method of claim 19, wherein the end event comprises one of elapsing of a predetermined amount of time after the start event, and exceedance of a parameter threshold or count.
Ghelam further teaches, the method of claim 19, wherein the end event comprises one of elapsing of a predetermined amount of time after the start event, and exceedance of a parameter threshold or count (Fig. 9, ¶ 206 transmit measurements under periodic triggering; Examiner interpretation: a certain amount of time elapses after the start and end events).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Ghelam by combining the method of operating the edge device taught by Majewski in view of Fymat in view of Ghelam with a method of operating an edge device wherein, the end event comprises one of elapsing of a predetermined amount of time after the start event, and exceedance of a parameter threshold or count; taught by Ghelam for the benefit of determining remaining lifetime of vehicle electronic equipment to make it more reliable [Ghelam: ¶ 56 refine the diagnosis of remaining lifetime for electronic equipment and to make it more reliable].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. TURETTA (US 2019/0072958 A1) teaches application configured to monitor and analyze the sensed data to generate a first data output (Fig. 5, ¶ 57 a means 132 to measure air data (e.g., probes, pitot-static, static port)).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 3/10/2026