DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Andrewartha et al. (US 2024/0149979 A1).
Andrewartha et al. disclose a hydrofoiling watercraft comprising: a board with a top surface for supporting a user (see ¶0019: lines 4-5); left and right masts [58, 60] extending downwardly from the left and right sides of the board, respectively; and left and right fuselages [12, 14] mounted to outboard ends of the left and right mast, respectively, wherein a forward portion of each fuselage extends toward a direction of travel for the watercraft and a rearward portion of each fuselage extends opposite the forward portion. A hydrofoil wing [16] is mounted to the forward portions of the left and right fuselages; and a tail wing [18] is mounted to the rearward portion of the right fuselage and the rearward portion of the left fuselage.
Re claim 10, the masts are positioned inboard of the board (see ¶0075: line 5), and therefore, considered as extending downwardly from a bottom surface of the board. Each fuselage is rigidly mounted to an outboard end of a respective one of the masts, wherein the hydrofoil wing is rigidly mounted at the forward portion of the respective fuselage; and the tail wing is rigidly mounted at the rearward portion of the respective fuselage.
Claims 1, 3-4, 9, 15 and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rosen (US 2022/0380005 A1).
Rosen shows a hydrofoiling watercraft (see Fig 5) comprising: a board [4] having left and right sides and a top surface for supporting a user; left and right masts [10] extending downwardly from the left and right sides of the board, respectively; and left and right fuselages [50] mounted to outboard ends of the left and right mast respectively, wherein a forward portion of each fuselage extends toward a direction of travel for the watercraft and a rearward portion of each fuselage extends opposite the forward portion. A hydrofoil wing [16] is mounted to the forward portions of the left and right fuselages; and a tail wing [16] is mounted to the rearward portion of the right fuselage and the rearward portion of the left fuselage.
Re claim 3, the hydrofoil wing further comprises: a right side portion extending outwardly from the right mast, a left side portion extending outwardly from the left mast, and wherein the right and left side portions both sweep rearwardly away from the direction of travel for the watercraft (see Fig 5 and Fig 6).
Re claim 4, the hydrofoil wing further comprises: a right side portion extending outwardly from the right mast, a left side portion extending outwardly from the left mast, and wherein the right and left side portions both angle downwardly away from the board (see Fig 6).
Re claim 9, the hydrofoil wing comprises a cross-section having a concave lower surface (see Fig 6) and a downward-sloped trailing edge (see Fig 5).
Re claim 15, the hydrofoil wing comprises: a first wing portion extending substantially between the right mast and the left mast; a right side wing portion extending outwardly from the right mast; and a left side wing portion extending outwardly from the left mast; wherein the right side wing portion and the left side wing portion both sweep rearwardly away from a direction of travel for the watercraft.
Re claim 19, the right side wing portion and the left side wing portion both angle downwardly away from the board.
Re claim 20, the first wing portion, the right side wing portion, and the left side wing portion each comprise a cross-section having a concave lower surface and a downward-sloped trailing edge (see Fig 5 and Fig 6).
Claims 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (US 7192323 B2).
Smith discloses a hydrofoiling watercraft (see Fig 10) comprising: a board [110] having a top surface for supporting a user; right and left masts mast [116, 118] extending downwardly from right and left sides of the board, respectively; and a hydrofoil wing [112] comprising a first wing portion extending substantially between the right and left masts. The hydrofoil further comprises a right side wing portion extending outwardly from the right mast; and a left side wing portion extending outwardly from the left mast; wherein the right side wing portion and the left side wing portion both sweep rearwardly away from a direction of travel for the watercraft.
Re claim 16, a center mast [114] extends downwardly from the bottom surface of the board; wherein the hydrofoil wing is rigidly mounted to the center mast.
Re claim 19, in an embodiment shown in Fig 8, the right side wing portion and the left side wing portion both angle downwardly away from the board.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrewartha (US 2024/0149979 A1) in view of Sommerlatt (US 11,345,449 B2).
Andrewartha et al. disclose a hydrofoiling watercraft comprising: a board; left and right masts connected to a respective side of the board; and fuselages rigidly mounted to an outboard end of a respective one of the masts.
Andrewartha et al. however fails to expressly disclose the left and right masts as being rigidly connected to the board.
Sommerlatt discloses a hydrofoiling watercraft comprising a mast that is rigidly connected to a board.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to connect the masts of Andrewartha et al. to the board in a rigid manner, as taught by Sommerlatt. Having such an arrangement would have provided a hydrofoiling watercraft that was easy and inexpensive to manufacture, and which could be easily and safely operated in a predictable manner without requiring much training.
Claim 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen (US 2022/0380005 A1) in view of DE 102018215176 A1 (‘176)
Rosen shows a watercraft comprising: a board [4] and a hydrofoil wing [16] with right and left side portions, as described above.
Rosen, however, fails to show the hydrofoil wing as having wingtip portions attached to the hydrofoil right and left side portions that angle upwardly toward the board.
DE ‘176 shows a watercraft (see Fig 1) comprising: a board [1] and a hydrofoil, wherein wingtip portions [7a, 7b] are attached to the hydrofoil right and left side portions, and wherein the wingtip portions angle upwardly toward the board.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the hydrofoil wing of Rosen with wingtip portions, as taught by DE ‘176. Having such a modification would have reduced wingtip vortices to reduce drag and improve hydrodynamic efficiency of the hydrofoils.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen (US 2022/0380005 A1) in view of You et al. (US 11535343 B2)
Rosen shows a watercraft comprising: a board [4] having a top surface for supporting a user, as described above.
Rosen, however. fails to show a removable flotation portion surrounding at least a portion of the board.
You et al. show a watercraft comprising: a board [14] and a removable flotation portion [12] surrounding at least a portion of the board.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the board of Rosen with a removable flotation portion, as taught by You et al. Having such an arrangement would have provided the board of Rosen with increased displacement, thereby improving stability and safety of the board.
Regarding claim 8, although You et al. do not expressly disclose the use of gas for inflating the removable flotation portion, it is noted that air is a common and frequently used gaseous medium employed in inflatable marine watercraft. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to inflate the removable flotation portion of modified Rosen with air. Having such an arrangement would have provided an inexpensive and easily available source of inflation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 11-14 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20230042907 shows a hydrofoiling watercraft having masts connected to an anhedral hydrofoil wing
/AJAY VASUDEVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615