DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/11/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive in view of the new grounds of rejection as necessitated by the applicant’s claim amendments.
Applicant argues on page 6 “The cited prior art fails to disclose or suggest such an arrangement. In Blum, the "contact location" is referring to the lead body, as described in [0154] for example, not to a tissue source or location within a patient”.
The examiner has revised the rejection and the cited paragraphs in Blum to address the new claim language and this related argument. For the prediction step, the examiner is now citing [0066]-[0069], [0117]-[0122]. Note: The physician anticipates the neural target location in [0067], which reads on predicting “a location of an oscillatory neural tissue source”. The claims do not define what neural tissue constitutes “oscillatory neural tissue”. For the determining step, the examiner is citing [0066]-[0069], [0117]-[0122]. Note: The electrode configurations in these paragraphs will read on determining at least one electrode relative to the neural tissue. For the visualizing step, the examiner is citing figure 6A element 603, [0155], which discloses “The data generation tab 601 shows a gauge for optimal contact location 603 and a gauge for optimal amplitude 604. The values for these gauges are determined as a result of running the feedback loop stimulation parameter control system (system 500 in FIG. 5), presented here as an application”. For the programming step, the examiner is citing figure 5 element 500, [0090], [0155].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0104500 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Blum”, in view of Towe et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0247668 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Towe”.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Blum discloses conducting a brain sense survey with at least one lead including a plurality of electrodes (e.g. see figure 5 element 500, [0090]. Note: The first loop of the feedback loop is being interpreted as the “brain sense survey”); developing at least one machine learning model based on the brain sense survey (e.g. see figure 5 element 502, [0093]-[0106]. Note: One of the parameters may be “contact location”); applying the at least one machine learning model to in-vivo patient data (e.g. see figure 5 element 502, [0093]-[0106]) to predict a location of an oscillatory neural tissue source within a patient (e.g. see [0066]-[0069], [0117]-[0122]. Note: The physician anticipates the neural target location in [0067], which reads on predicting “a location of an oscillatory neural tissue source”. The claims do not define what neural tissue constitutes “oscillatory neural tissue”); and determine at least one predicted electrode from the plurality of electrodes relative to the oscillatory neural tissue source (e.g. see [0066]-[0069], [0117]-[0122]. Note: The electrode configurations in these paragraphs will read on determining at least one electrode relative to the neural tissue.); visualizing the at least one predicted electrode (e.g. see figure 6A element 603, [0155], “The data generation tab 601 shows a gauge for optimal contact location 603 and a gauge for optimal amplitude 604. The values for these gauges are determined as a result of running the feedback loop stimulation parameter control system (system 500 in FIG. 5), presented here as an application”); and programming the medical device based on the at least one predicted electrode (e.g. see figure 5 element 500, [0090], [0155]).
Blum discloses the claimed invention but is silent as to conducting the brain sense survey in a simulated environment. Towe teaches that it is known to use such a modification as set forth in figures 6-7, [0049]-[0053], especially [0053], to provide minimized patient discomfort. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to conduct the brain sense survey in a simulated environment as taught by Towe in the system/method of Blum, since said modification would provide the predictable results of minimized patient discomfort (Note: [0060] and [0067] of the applicant’s printed application disclose that the simulation occurs in a saline tank like Towe discloses).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Blum discloses conducting the brain sense survey includes collecting data from all possible channels for the plurality of electrodes (e.g. see [0047]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Blum discloses visualizing the at least one predicted electrode includes displaying the at least one lead and the at least one predicted electrode proximate anatomical scan data (e.g. see figure 6, [0154]-[0155]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Blum discloses visualizing the at least one predicted electrode includes displaying the at least one lead and the at least one predicted electrode without anatomical scan data (e.g. see figure 6, [0154]-[0155]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Blum discloses visualizing the at least one predicted electrode includes displaying the at least one lead and the at least one predicted electrode relative to a heatmap (e.g. see figure 6, [0154]-[0155]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Blum discloses applying the at least one machine learning model to in-vivo patient data to determine the at least one predicted electrode includes detecting an electrode furthest from the oscillatory neural tissue source (e.g. see [0066]-[0069], [0117]-[0122]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Blum discloses applying the at least one machine learning model to in-vivo patient data to determine the at least one predicted electrode includes detecting an electrode nearest to the oscillatory neural tissue source (e.g. see [0066]-[0069], [0117]-[0122]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Blum discloses visualizing the at least one predicted electrode includes displaying at least one longitudinal change associated with disease progression or a therapy change (e.g. see figures 5-6, elements 500 and 600).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Blum discloses visualizing the at least one predicted electrode includes displaying a change in a location of the oscillatory neural tissue source (e.g. see figures 5-6, elements 500 and 600).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Blum discloses the claimed invention but is silent as to the simulated environment includes a signal generated using a signal generator in a saline tank. Towe teaches that it is known to use such a modification as set forth in figures 6-7, [0049]-[0053], especially [0053], to provide minimized patient discomfort. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the simulated environment including a signal generated using a signal generator in a saline tank as taught by Towe in the system/method of Blum, since said modification would provide the predictable results of minimized patient discomfort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kaemmerer et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0144186 A1), Madhavan et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0230419 A1), and Panken et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0338351 A1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.C.E/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/Examiner, Art Unit 3792