DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed 07/01/2025 has been entered.
Claims 7-8 are cancelled.
Claims 1-2 and 14-15 are amended.
Claims 1-6 and 9-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-12, 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bodine (US 3504756 A) in view of Clayton (Earth contact products 2005) and Meynier (US 7325647 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Bodine teaches a seismic source system [Fig. 2] that includes a seismic source [#15 in Fig 2],….. for the force generated by a first seismic source[#15 in Fig 2]
b) installing and anchoring a first screw in piling into a ground surface of the earth by screwing the first screw in piling into the ground surface at [#16, #17] at a first location…..
c)…..coupling the first seismic source [#15] to the first screw in piling [#16, #17] and then energizing the first seismic source [#51, #52, #55, #61, #62]
Bodine does not explicitly teach ….. calculating a first predetermined amount of torque to provide a first sufficient bearing load needed ….. to a first predetermined torque and
after the first screw in piling has been installed and anchored into the ground surface
Clayton teaches calculating a first predetermined amount of torque to provide a first sufficient bearing load needed …..to a first determined torque [Introduction, Tables, Equations all teach predetermined depth and torque meaning it is basic engineering to design a screw in piling to withstand a certain load as well as know the torque required to anchor it. Said another way applicant is attempting to claim basic engineering with this claim language]
Meynier teaches vibratory sources after the first screw in piling has been installed and anchored into the ground surface, [Abstract; Fig 3 has seismic source being movable meaning it can be installed on each screw after the each one is anchored and installed]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have screw in piling of Bodine with the movable seismic source of Meynier screwed into the ground to a predetermined torque based on the concept of basic engineering from Clayton to calculate the torque required and design a screw in piling to desired specifications and conditions in order to withstand vibrations and the ground conditions and move the source between screws after the screws are installed.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Bodine discloses a seismic source system [Fig. 2] that includes a vibratory seismic source [#15 in Fig 2],
a screw in piling ground anchor installed into a ground surface the earth [#16, #17]…..
a means of coupling energy [#5 1, #52, #55, #61, #62] from the vibratory seismic source [15] to the screw in piling ground anchor [16, 17]…..
wherein a seismic sensor is coupled to the screw in piling[#1 15 or #31 is attached to the screw]
Bodine does not explicitly teach….. to a predetermined torque….. wherein the predetermined is calculated to provide a sufficient bearing load needed for the force generated by the …..
Clayton teaches a predetermined torque…..wherein the predetermined is calculated to provide a sufficient bearing load needed for the force generated by the vibratory seismic. [Introduction, Tables, Equations all teach predetermined depth and torque meaning it is basic engineering to design a screw in piling to withstand a certain load as well as know the torque required to anchor it. Said another way applicant is attempting to claim basic engineering with this claim language]
Meynier teaches vibratory sources after the first screw in piling has been installed and anchored into the ground surface, [Abstract; Fig 3 has seismic source being movable meaning it can be installed on each screw after the each one is anchored and installed]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have screw in piling of Bodine with the movable seismic source of Meynier screwed into the ground to a predetermined torque based on the concept of basic engineering from Clayton to calculate the torque required and design a screw in piling to desired specifications and conditions in order to withstand vibrations and the ground conditions and move the source between screws after the screws are installed.
Regarding claim 2, Bodine teaches….. e) installing and anchoring a second screw in piling into a ground surface of the earth by screwing the second screw in piling into the ground surface at [#16, #17] at a second location…..
f)…..coupling the second seismic source [#15] to the second screw in piling [#16, #17] and then energizing the second seismic source [#51, #52, #55, #61, #62]
Bodine does not explicitly teach…..calculating a second predetermined amount of torque to provide a second sufficient bearing load needed for the force generated ….. to a second predetermined torque and
after the second screw in piling has been installed and anchored into the ground surface.
Clayton teaches calculating a second predetermined amount of torque to provide a second sufficient bearing load needed for the force generated …..to a second determined torque [Introduction, Tables, Equations all teach predetermined depth and torque meaning it is basic engineering to design a screw in piling to withstand a certain load as well as know the torque required to anchor it. Said another way applicant is attempting to claim basic engineering with this claim language]
Meynier teaches vibratory sources after the first screw in piling has been installed and anchored into the ground surface, [Abstract; Fig 3 has seismic source being movable meaning it can be installed on each screw after the each one is anchored and installed]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have screw in piling of Bodine with the movable seismic source of Meynier screwed into the ground to a predetermined torque based on the concept of basic engineering from Clayton to calculate the torque required and design a screw in piling to desired specifications and conditions in order to withstand vibrations and the ground conditions and move the source between screws after the screws are installed.
Moreover it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have more than one screw and seismic source, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 3, Bodine, as modified teaches coupling a second seismic source to the second screw in piling after the second screw in piling has been installed and anchored into the ground surface. [Fig 1 has multiple locations].
Meynier also teaches, coupling a second seismic source to the second screw in piling after the second screw in piling has been installed and anchored into the ground surface. [Fig 3 has multiple locations]
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a second screw, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 4, Bodine, does not explicitly teach removing the first vibratory seismic source from the first screw in piling and coupling the first vibratory seismic source to the second screw in piling.
Meynier teaches removing the first vibratory seismic source from the first screw in piling and coupling the first vibratory seismic source to the second screw in piling. [Abstract; Fig 3 has seismic source being movable meaning it can be installed on each screw after the each one is anchored and installed]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the screw in the piling into the ground surface of Bodine with the movable seismic source of Meynier to provide greater monitoring of the evolution of hydrocarbon reservoirs and therefore move the source to screws after the screws have been installed.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to move the vibratory source to a different screw, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In rc Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Bodine, as modified teaches the screw in piling is fitted with a sensor [#15 or #31 is attached to the screw meaning sensor]
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a sensor on each screw, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 9, Bodine, as modified, teaches that wherein the first vibratory seismic source is selected from a group consisting of a rotary vibrator, a linear vibrator, or a rotary vibrator that produces linear vibratory motion. [Col 3, Lines 2-65 has vibrators]
Regarding claim 10, Bodine, as modified, teaches that wherein the first vibratory seismic source can be electrically powered, pneumatically powered, or hydraulically powered. [Col 3, Lines 2-65 has vibrators]
Regarding claim 11, Bodine, as modified, teaches wherein the first coupling means is via one or more mechanical fasteners.| Col 5, Lines 15-20 has Chuck #65 that is mechanically fastened]
Regarding claim 12, Bodine, as modified, teaches wherein the first coupling means is selected from a group consisting of welding or adhesive bonding. [Col 5, Lines 15-20 has Chuck #65 that is mechanically fastened]
Regarding claim 17, Bodine, as modified, teaches wherein the seismic source is located at or above the ground surface. [Fig 2 has source #15]
Regarding claim 18, Bodine, as modified, teaches wherein the seismic source is supported by the screw in piling. Fig 2 has source #15 on top of screw #17]
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bodine (US 3504756 A) in view of Clayton (Earth contact products 2005) and Meynier (US 7325647 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Elder (US 7292943 B2).
Regarding claims 13 and 16, Bodine does not explicitly teach wherein the first vibratory seismic source is controlled remotely.
Elder teaches wherein the first vibratory seismic source is controlled remotely. [col 2, lines 15-20 has remote control over seismic systems]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the screw in the piling into the ground surface of Bodine with the remote control system of Elder in order to control seismic systems remotely and not having to go to each one.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/24/2024 with respect to claims 1-6 and 9-18 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/VIKAS ATMAKURI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645