DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Election/Restrictions
Claims 8 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR
1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/24/25.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following
informality: On line 3, “the” should read The. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality: On line 5, “to on to
a row unit” is unclear. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ),
second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, is it unclear whether the second occurrence of a load cell is the same or different since it is previously defined. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 8. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Wolfer et al. (7,493,836, hereinafter Wolfer) in view of Swanson et al. (WO2020/012369, hereinafter Swanson).
Regarding claim 1, Wolfer discloses an apparatus comprising an adapter 16 including a first side (top side), a second side (bottom side) comprising a seat 22 shaped to be engaged with a load cell 11 configured for mounting to a component placed under pressure and tension, and an opening (screw bore) 20 shaped for insertion of a bolt therethrough (See Figs. 1, 3b and 4, See Col. 2, lines 62 – 67 and Col. 3, lines 1 – 45). Wolfer fails to disclose that the adaptor provides a consistent surface for mounting the load cell to a row unit. However, Swanson discloses an apparatus comprising an adapter (backing plate) 5501 (See Figs. 209 – 213) that aids in mounting a load cell to a row unit 11 of an agricultural vehicle for measuring strain or pressure of samples subjected to strain or pressure (See Figs. 209 – 213, See Abstract and Pg. 59, Para. 0622, Pg. 61, Para. 0633 and Pg. 95, Para. 0595). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Wolfer according to the teachings of Swanson for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device allows multiple samples to be processed and analyzed (See Swanson, Pg. 1, Para. 0006).
Regarding claim 2, in Wolfer, at least one electronic contact region 27 is located on the first side (See Figs. 5 and 6, See Col. 4, lines 16 – 34).
Regarding claim 3, Wolfer fails to disclose at least three contacts pads on the first side. However, in Swanson, the adaptor 5501 includes a plurality of contact regions (See Fig. 209, See Swanson, Pg. 95, Para. 0595).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Wolfer according to the teachings of Swanson for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device allows multiple samples to be processed and analyzed (See Swanson, Pg. 1, Para. 0006).
Regarding claim 4, in Wolfer, at least one alignment pin 32 is located on the first side (See Fig. 4, See Col. 4, lines 1 – 5).
Regarding claim 5, in Wolfer, two alignment pins are on the first side disposed on opposing sides of the opening (See Fig. 4, See Col. 3, lines 32 – 45).
Regarding claim 6, in Wolfer, a notch 23 is shaped within the first side (See Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Wolfer fails to disclose that the notch is a water drain. However, in Swanson, the adaptor 5501 includes a mounting flange 5522 having a notch for drainage (See Fig. 209).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Wolfer according to the teachings of Swanson for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device allows multiple samples to be processed and analyzed (See Swanson, Pg. 1, Para. 0006).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.11. Bassett (2014/0190712) discloses a universal bracket adaptor assembly for agricultural implements. Yelle et al. (12,158,388) disclose a calibration adaptor bracket, apparatus and method. Dienst (2020/0100423) discloses calibrating a depth control system of a row unit in an agricultural planter. Yang et al. (CN110667889) disclose a remote sensing load adapter with a flexible hinge. Holcomb (10,408,670) discloses an apparatus and method for detecting multiple workpieces. Hehenberger (DE202005007450) discloses an adaptor for fitting a rotor blade onto a hub of a wind powered generator. Karpa (4,765,423) discloses a load cell adaptor. Hatschek (3,463,010) discloses an indicator adaptor and method for operating it. 12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2176. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm.
/OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 12/23/25