DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 21 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the claim to the different species recite the mutually exclusive characteristics of such species. The originally filed claims 1-5,9-12, presently pending, are directed to a first species (e.g. Figure 2A) where the first and second set of peripheral cavities are discontinuous while newly added claim 21 is directed to second species (e.g. Figure 2B) where one or more continuous peripheral cavities surround one or more noncontinuous peripheral cavities.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 21 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 and 9-12 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 1, lines 11-12, it appears the phrase “”each of a first set” should be changed to -- each of the first set --. In lines 14-15, it appears the phrase “each of a second set” should be changed to -- each of the second set --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4, lines 2-3, the phrase “the plurality of peripheral cavities” is vague. Is this referring to the first set of the plurality of peripheral cavities or the second set of the plurality of peripheral cavities or both the first set and second set of the plurality of peripheral cavities Please clarify.
In claim 5, lines 2-3, the phrase “the plurality of peripheral cavities” is vague. Is this referring to the first set of the plurality of peripheral cavities or the second set of the plurality of peripheral cavities or both the first set and second set of the plurality of peripheral cavities Please clarify.
In claim 10, lines 2-3, the phrase “the plurality of peripheral cavities” is vague. Is this referring to the first set of the plurality of peripheral cavities or the second set of the plurality of peripheral cavities or both the first set and second set of the plurality of peripheral cavities Please clarify.
In claim 11, lines 2-3, the phrase “the plurality of peripheral cavities” is vague. Is this referring to the first set of the plurality of peripheral cavities or the second set of the plurality of peripheral cavities or both the first set and second set of the plurality of peripheral cavities Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0325342 (Takiar et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Takiar et al. discloses a semiconductor package comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-22, a wafer die assembly 160 (e.g. die package; Figures 14,15) comprising a first wafer 102,102c (e.g. one of semiconductor die of a plurality of semiconductor dies; paragraphs [0042],[0046],[0048]; Figures 11,12,14) having at least a central cavity 114 (e.g. cavity; paragraph [0048]) defined therein such that the central cavity has a rectangular shaped opening (e.g. observed in Figures 11,12) with a length side (e.g. x-axis) and a width side (e.g. y-axis); a second wafer 102b (e.g. one of semiconductor die of a plurality of semiconductor dies; paragraphs [0042],[0046],[0048]; Figures 11,12,14) mounted to the first wafer; an etched pattern (e.g. etched cavities pattern; paragraph [0043]) included on at least one of the first wafer or the second wafer (e.g. on first wafer 102,102c) such that the etched pattern including a plurality of peripheral cavities 110 (e.g. cavities; paragraph [0043]); each peripheral cavity of the plurality of peripheral cavities is separated by a raised area (e.g. the region where the die is not etched to form the cavity is this raised area which is between two cavities) such that the raised area is raised relative to an indented surface of the plurality of peripheral cavities (e.g. observed in Figures 10,12); the plurality of peripheral cavities includes a first set of the plurality of peripheral cavities 110,110 (e.g. the front 2 cavities in Figures 10,12) such that each of a first set of the plurality of peripheral cavities have a length side that is arranged parallel to the width side of the central cavity (e.g. observed in Figures 10,11,12); a second set of the plurality of peripheral cavities 110 (e.g. the back 2 cavities in Figures 10,12) such that each of a second set of the plurality of peripheral cavities have a length side that is arranged parallel to the length side of the central cavity (e.g. observed in Figures 10,11,12); the first set of the plurality of peripheral cavities and the second set of the plurality of peripheral cavities are discontinuous (e.g. observed in Figures 10,11,12 where the first set of peripheral cavities and the second set of peripheral cavities are individual cavities so that each cavity is discontinuous from one another). (See, paragraphs [0040] to [0062]).
With regards to claim 5, Takiar et al. further discloses the plurality of peripheral cavities 110 is spaced apart from one another around the central cavity (e.g. as observed in Figures 11,12).
With regards to claim 9, Takiar et al. further discloses the central cavity 114 has a rectangular shaped opening with a length side (e.g. x-axis; Figure 11 )and a width side (e.g. y-axis; Figure 11).
With regards to claim 10, Takiar et al. further discloses each peripheral cavity of the plurality of peripheral cavities 110 has a rectangular shaped opening with a length side (e.g. x-axis; Figures 10,11,12) and a width side (e.g. y-axis; Figures 10,11,12).
Claims 1, 5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/010273 (Chen).
With regards to claim 1, Chen discloses a wafer level packaging comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-10, a wafer die assembly (e.g. assembly as illustrated in Figure 7) comprising a first wafer 50 (e.g. device wafer; paragraph [0013]) having at least a central cavity (e.g. not numbered but a cavity is formed for positioning device 56 as illustrated in Figure 7) with a length side (e.g. x-axis) and a width side (e.g. y-axis); a second wafer 60 (e.g. cap wafer; paragraph [0015]) mounted to the first wafer; an etched pattern (e.g. etched cavities pattern; paragraph [0014]) included on at least one of the first wafer or the second wafer (e.g. on second wafer 60) such that the etched pattern including a plurality of peripheral cavities 64 (e.g. cavities patterns; paragraph [0014]); each peripheral cavity of the plurality of peripheral cavities is separated by a raised area (e.g. the region where the die is not etched to form the cavity is this raised area which is between two cavities) such that the raised area is raised relative to an indented surface of the plurality of peripheral cavities (e.g. observed in Figures 7,8); the plurality of peripheral cavities includes a first set of the plurality of peripheral cavities 64 (e.g. left side and right side cavities for contact pads 58 in Figure 8) such that each of a first set of the plurality of peripheral cavities have a length side that is arranged parallel to the width side of the central cavity (e.g. observed in Figure 8 along with Figure 7); a second set of the plurality of peripheral cavities 64 (e.g. top side and bottom side cavities for contact pads 58 in Figure 8) such that each of a second set of the plurality of peripheral cavities have a length side that is arranged parallel to the length side of the central cavity (e.g. observed in Figure 8 along with Figure 7); the first set of the plurality of peripheral cavities and the second set of the plurality of peripheral cavities are discontinuous (e.g. observed in Figures 7,8 where the first set of peripheral cavities and the second set of peripheral cavities are individual cavities so that each cavity is discontinuous from one another). (See, paragraphs [0013] to [0018]).
With regards to claim 5, Chen further discloses the plurality of peripheral cavities 64 is spaced apart from one another around the central cavity (e.g. as observed in Figures 7,8).
With regards to claim 9, Chen further discloses the central cavity has a rectangular shaped opening with a length side (e.g. x-axis; Figure 8 )and a width side (e.g. y-axis; Figure 8).
With regards to claim 10, Chen further discloses the peripheral cavity 64 has a rectangular shaped opening with a length side (e.g. x-axis; Figure 8 along with Figure 7) and a width side (e.g. y-axis; Figure 8 along with Figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0325342 (Takiar et al.) or U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/010273 (Chen) in view of U.S. Patent 6,406,636 (Vaganov).
With regards to claim 2, neither of the references, Takiar et al. and Chen, discloses the second wafer is mounted to the first wafer with a bonding material such that the bonding material abuts the raised area and is positioned between the first or second wafer and the raised area.
Vaganov discloses a wafer to wafer bonding system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-66, a wafer die assembly (e.g. Figures 1,4) comprising a first wafer 10,40 (e.g. upper wafer; column 4, lines 50-67; column 5, lines 40-47) having at least a central cavity (e.g. middle cavity; Figures 4,7) defined therein; a second wafer 12,42 (e.g. lower wafer; column 4, lines 50-67; column 5, lines 40-47) mounted to the first wafer; at least one of the first or second wafers (e.g. first wafer 10,40) includes an etched pattern (e.g. observed in Figures 4,7; column 4, lines 50-67; column 5, lines 40-47) such that the etched pattern including at least one peripheral cavity (e.g. concave-shaped cavity observed in Figures 4,7) and a raised area (e.g. bottom area region of concave-shaped cavity points outwardly and is considered as this raised area observed in Figures 4,7) raised relative to the peripheral cavity (e.g. observed in Figures 4,7); the second wafer is mounted to the first wafer with a bonding material 14,44 (e.g. bonding material; column 4, lines 50-67; column 5, lines 40-47) such that the bonding material abuts the raised area and is positioned between the first or second wafer and the raised area (e.g. observed in Figures 4,7). (See, column 4, line 50 to column 15, line 50).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the second wafer is mounted to the first wafer with a bonding material such that the bonding material abuts the raised area and is positioned between the first or second wafer and the raised area as suggested by Vaganov to the system of either Takair et al. or Chen to have the ability to decreases and prevent the stress, like thermos-mechanical, in the bonding material thereby preventing warping, cracking and breakage of the wafers. (See, column 6, lines 1-28 of Vaganov).
With regards to claim 3, Vaganov, modifying either Takiar et al. or Chen, further discloses the central cavity includes at least one side wall (e.g. surface of cavity) such that the bonding material 14,44 extends into the central cavity along the at least one side wall. (See, observed in Figures 4,7).
With regards to claim 4, Vaganov, modifying either Takiar et al. or Chen, further discloses each peripheral cavity of the plurality of peripheral cavities includes at least one side wall (e.g. surface of cavity) such that the bonding material 14,44 extends into each peripheral cavity along the at least one side wall. (See, observed in Figures 4,7).
With regards to claim 11, Vaganov, modifying either Takiar et al. or Chen, further discloses each peripheral cavity of the plurality of peripheral cavities is at least one of a vacuum cavity, a gas filled cavity, or filled entirely with bonding material 14,44 (e.g. filled entirely with bonding material; observed in Figures 4,7).
With regards to claim 12, Vaganov discloses the knowledge and concepts of liquid bonding (column 14, line 64 to column 15, line 8), liquid spun (column 14, lines 27-35) and pressure (column 14, lines 47-57); however, the reference does not disclose the second wafer includes a through hole configured and adapted to act as a pressure port and provide fluid communication into the central cavity of the first wafer. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing a through hole configured and adapted to act as a pressure port and provide fluid communication into the central cavity of the first wafer is considered to have been a matter of design choice possibilities using the knowledge and concepts of Vaganov indicated above how and ways of providing fluid from the second wafer to the first wafer without departing from the scope of the invention.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5,9-12,21 have been considered but are
moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection and/or because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855