DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11/11/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 12 have been amended. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 10, 12-14 and 17-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Liljestrand et al. (US 20090097627 A9) in view of Schroeder (US 20070105531 A1) and further in view of Creswell et al. (US 20080260130 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liljestrand teaches a mobile device (device 150 of Fig. 1) provisioned as a subscriber of a second line service (“SLS”) and configured to request a service (method of Fig. 3A), the mobile device comprising: a memory element (contact list, [0117]);
an interface to a communications network (subscriber equipment 150 that can interface with the ELE 130 via the PTN 102. For example, within the PTN 102, the subscriber can access the ELE 130 via a wireless phone 150 within the PLMN 102a or via a wireline phone 150 within the PSTN, [0064]); a processing unit, wherein the processing unit is communicatively coupled to the memory element and the interface (by default all wireless phone included an processing unit connected to the memory);
the processor, in response to commands obtained from the memory element, is operative to:
receive a service request number consisting only of a non-temporary network recognizable telephone number (Subscribers who register with the enhanced local exchange of FIG. 4 are provided a personal local dialable telephone number and optionally an 800 number associated with the local number, [0096]);
initiate a communication request using the mobile device in response to a user dialing the service request number on the mobile device (Subscribers are able to call into the enhanced local exchange via their local and/or toll-free telephone number, [0096]); whereby an SLS platform receiving the communication requests initiates the provision of at least one service associated with the service request number (When the subscriber dials his/her local or toll-free telephone number (step 800), the call is routed to the enhanced services platform within the enhanced local exchange (as described above in connection with FIG. 3, [0097]);
and receiving the at least one service rendered on the mobile device (Once a voice command is received, the voice-activated interface and softswitch interact with the database server to carry out the command, [0101]).
However, Liljestrand does not clearly teach wherein the service request number is associated with (1) an SLS number, (2) at least one service and (3) a primary telephone number associated with the subscriber.
In an analogous art, Schroeder teaches wherein the service request number is associated with (1) an SLS number (The Identity table lists all the virtual identities for a user, [0027]), (2) at least one service (The Identity table lists all the virtual identities for a user. It provides a mapping between the virtual identity code (IDENTITY_ID) and MSISDN (or IMSI) to a tag for the virtual identity (VN_POOL_ID), [0027]) and (3) a primary telephone number associated with the subscriber (The User table provides the primary identity for a user, [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liljestrand with Schroeder to provide a method and a system to dial out from any of multiple phone numbers on a single cell phone or to receive calls on any of multiple phone numbers on a single cell phone as suggested, Schroeder [0003].
However, Liljestrand and Schroeder do not clearly teach wherein the communication request includes only the service request number, not the SLS number, primary telephone number associated with the subscriber, tag, prefix or suffix, and consists only of a network dialable/terminable number.
In an analogous art, Creswell teaches wherein the communication request includes only the service request number, not the SLS number, primary telephone number associated with the subscriber, tag, prefix or suffix, and consists only of a network dialable/terminable number (For example, the subscriber's home phone or mobile phone may connect to the switch by default when the receiver is picked up. Alternatively, this can be accomplished by dialing a particular number (e.g., 1-800-CALL-ATT) which allows the subscriber to use the customized services even when calling from a phone that does not belong to the subscriber, [0031], step 300 of Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liljestrand and Schroeder with the multiple lines service of Creswell to provide a method and a system for consolidating access and administration of telephone calling services for multiple lines and/or devices to better serve the customer as suggested, Creswell [0002].
Regarding claim 2, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the mobile device of claim 1, wherein the communication request is a call setup request (When the subscriber dials his/her local or toll-free telephone number (step 800), the call is routed to the enhanced services platform within the enhanced local exchange (as described above in connection with FIG. 3, Liljestrand [0097]) and the processor is operative to identify the communication as being associated with the service request number by including the service request number as the called number in the communication request ((When the subscriber dials his/her local or toll-free telephone number (step 800), the call is routed to the enhanced services platform within the enhanced local exchange (as described above in connection with FIG. 3, Liljestrand [0097]).
Regarding claim 3, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the mobile device of claim 2, wherein the mobile device is communicatively coupled a network based system for receiving the service (e.g. voice over IP of Liljestrand Fig. 5) and the service is identified as being associated with the SLS telephone number associated with the service request number (when the platform receives the call, the softswitch accesses the database server to retrieve the subscriber profile information associated with the called subscriber. The subscriber profile is generated from a subscriber database that includes elements of the components he/she is utilizing. These elements include general information, such as the subscriber account number, accounting information (for billing, usage, etc.), personal identifying information (for validation purposes), current schedules and routing options, usage statistics for prompting and tutoring levels, caller ID history of previous callers and other general information, Liljestrand [0099]).
Regarding claim 5, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the mobile device of claim 3, wherein the action of communicatively coupling the mobile device to the network based system to provide the service comprises the mobile device being connected to a third party telephone number (in order to facilitate the Single Number Access Service and future enhanced services, the softswitch 160 must be capable of obtaining call routing information from third party applications, Liljestrand [0081]) and the SLS of the subscriber is utilized as the calling line identifier (Subscribers are able to call into the enhanced local exchange via their local and/or toll-free telephone number, Liljestrand [0096]).
Regarding claim 7, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the mobile device of claim 1, wherein the communication request is a text message directed to the service request number as the texted number (The subscriber may then call into the platform to access the fax similar to voice messages (unified messaging). Faxes can be sent and/or accessed through a local fax machine, Internet fax capability, speech-to-text or e-mail conversion, [0125]).
Regarding claim 8, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the mobile device of claim 7, wherein the mobile device is communicatively coupled to a system to provide the service (remote access link of Liljestrand Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the mobile device of claim 8, wherein the action of communicatively coupling the mobile device to the network based system to provide the service comprises the mobile device being connected to a third party telephone number wherein the calling line identifier is the SLS number of the mobile device (Subscribers are able to call into the enhanced local exchange via their local and/or toll-free telephone number, Liljestrand [0096]).
Regarding claim 12, Liljestrand teaches a method for requesting and receiving a service at a mobile device provisioned as a subscriber of a second line service ("SLS")(method of Figs. 3A-4B, 8A), the method comprising the actions of:
receiving a service request number consisting only of a network recognizable telephone number (Subscribers who register with the enhanced local exchange of FIG. 4 are provided a personal local dialable telephone number and optionally an 800 number associated with the local number, [0096]),
initiating a communication request from the mobile device by dialing only the service request number (Subscribers are able to call into the enhanced local exchange via their local and/or toll-free telephone number, [0096]); and
receiving the provision of the service at the mobile device (Once a voice command is received, the voice-activated interface and softswitch interact with the database server to carry out the command, [0101]), wherein the service is associated with the service request number (Once connected to the platform 100, a "virtual administrator" associated with the voice-activated interface within the enhanced services platform 100 takes over to assist the subscriber 150a in requesting/performing all desired services via the voice-activated interface. For example, the "virtual administrator" can prompt the subscriber 150a for a voice command, and the subscriber 150a can reply by saying, "Call Mike., [0034]), such service being rendered to the initiating mobile device and being attributed to the SLS telephone number associated with the service request number (The "virtual administrator" connects the subscriber 150a to the called subscriber 150b (Mike) without the subscriber 150a ever dialing Mike's number, [0034]).
However, Liljestrand does not clearly teach wherein the service request number is associated with (1) an SLS number, (2) at least one service and (3) a primary telephone number associated with the subscriber.
In an analogous art, Schroeder teaches wherein the service request number is associated with (1) an SLS number (The Identity table lists all the virtual identities for a user, [0027]), (2) at least one service (The Identity table lists all the virtual identities for a user. It provides a mapping between the virtual identity code (IDENTITY_ID) and MSISDN (or IMSI) to a tag for the virtual identity (VN_POOL_ID), [0027]) and (3) a primary telephone number associated with the subscriber (The User table provides the primary identity for a user, [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liljestrand with Schroeder to provide a method and a system to dial out from any of multiple phone numbers on a single cell phone or to receive calls on any of multiple phone numbers on a single cell phone as suggested, Schroeder [0003].
However, Liljestrand and Schroeder do not clearly teach wherein the communication request includes only the service request number, not the SLS number, primary telephone number associated with the subscriber, tag, prefix or suffix, and consists only of a network dialable/terminable number.
In an analogous art, Creswell teaches wherein the communication request includes only the service request number, not the SLS number, primary telephone number associated with the subscriber, tag, prefix or suffix, and consists only of a network dialable/terminable number (For example, the subscriber's home phone or mobile phone may connect to the switch by default when the receiver is picked up. Alternatively, this can be accomplished by dialing a particular number (e.g., 1-800-CALL-ATT) which allows the subscriber to use the customized services even when calling from a phone that does not belong to the subscriber, [0031], step 300 of Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liljestrand and Schroeder with the multiple lines service of Creswell to provide a method and a system for consolidating access and administration of telephone calling services for multiple lines and/or devices to better serve the customer as suggested, Creswell [0002].
Regarding claim 13, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the communication request is a call setup request with the service request number being set as the called number (When the subscriber dials his/her local or toll-free telephone number (step 800), the call is routed to the enhanced services platform within the enhanced local exchange (as described above in connection with FIG. 3, Liljestrand [0097]).
Regarding claim 14, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the mobile device is communicatively coupled to a network based system for receiving the service (Fig. 5 depicted wherein the device 110 is coupled to the network 130).
Regarding claim 17, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the mobile device is communicatively coupled to a third party telephone number (For the routing service, in order to facilitate the Single Number Access Service and future enhanced services, the softswitch 160 must be capable of obtaining call routing information from third party applications, Liljestrand [0081]) and using the SLS of the subscriber as the calling line identifier (Subscribers are able to call into the enhanced local exchange via their local and/or toll-free telephone number, Liljestrand [0096]).
Regarding claim 18, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the communication request is a text message sent from the mobile device to the service request number as the texted number (The subscriber may then call into the platform to access the fax similar to voice messages (unified messaging). Faxes can be sent and/or accessed through a local fax machine, Internet fax capability, speech-to-text or e-mail conversion, [0125]).
Claims 4, 6, 9, 11 and 15-16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Liljestrand in view of Schroeder and further in view of Creswell and Cerami et al. (US 20120113978 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the mobile device of claim 3.
However, Liljestrand, Schroeder and Creswell does not teach wherein the action of communicatively coupling the mobile device to the network based system to provide the service comprises the mobile device being connected to a voicemail system.
In an analogous art, Cerami teaches wherein the action of communicatively coupling the mobile device to the network based system to provide the service comprises the mobile device being connected to a voicemail system (Based on the identification of the subscriber as one that has subscribed to converged voice mail services, the SIP server invokes the VM controller , see [0087] and The VM controller then sends a SIP INVITE to the identified messaging platform (block 955) (either directly or through the PSTN, depending on whether the identified messaging platform is local to the VM controller, see [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liljestrand, Schroeder and Creswell with the voice mail services of Cerami to provide a method and a system that deliver enhanced services to telephone subscribers with multiple telephone lines as suggested.
Regarding claim 6, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the mobile device of claim 2.
However, Liljestrand, Schroeder and Creswell does not teach wherein the mobile device the services are received by the mobile device receiving a status of received voicemail messages.
In an analogous art, Cerami teaches wherein the mobile device the services are received by the mobile device receiving a status of received voicemail messages (The system then sends a notification to the subscriber (block 975) to inform the subscriber of the new voice message, see [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liljestrand, Schroeder and Creswell with the voice mail services of Cerami to provide a method and a system that deliver enhanced services to telephone subscribers with multiple telephone lines as suggested.
Regarding claim 9, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the mobile device of claim 8.
However, Liljestrand, Schroeder and Creswell does not teach wherein the network based system is a voicemail system and the mobile device is communicatively coupled to the voicemail system.
In an analogous art, Cerami teaches wherein the network based system is a voicemail system and the mobile device is communicatively coupled to the voicemail system (Based on the identification of the subscriber as one that has subscribed to converged voice mail services, the SIP server invokes the VM controller , see [0087] and The VM controller then sends a SIP INVITE to the identified messaging platform (block 955) (either directly or through the PSTN, depending on whether the identified messaging platform is local to the VM controller, see [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liljestrand, Schroeder and Creswell with the voice mail services of Cerami to provide a method and a system that deliver enhanced services to telephone subscribers with multiple telephone lines as suggested.
Regarding claim 11, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the mobile device of claim 7.
However, Liljestrand, Schroeder and Creswell does not teach wherein the mobile device the services are received by the mobile device receiving a status of received voicemail messages.
In an analogous art, Cerami teaches wherein the mobile device the services are received by the mobile device receiving a status of received voicemail messages (The system then sends a notification to the subscriber (block 975) to inform the subscriber of the new voice message, see [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liljestrand, Schroeder and Creswell with the voice mail services of Cerami to provide a method and a system that deliver enhanced services to telephone subscribers with multiple telephone lines as suggested.
Regarding claim 15, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell teaches the method of claim 14.
However, Liljestrand, Schroeder and Creswell does not teach wherein the network based system is a voicemail system and the mobile device is communicatively coupled to the voicemail system.
In an analogous art, Cerami teaches wherein the network based system is a voicemail system and the mobile device is communicatively coupled to the voicemail system (Based on the identification of the subscriber as one that has subscribed to converged voice mail services, the SIP server invokes the VM controller , see [0087] and The VM controller then sends a SIP INVITE to the identified messaging platform (block 955) (either directly or through the PSTN, depending on whether the identified messaging platform is local to the VM controller, see [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liljestrand, Schroeder and Creswell with the voice mail services of Cerami to provide a method and a system that deliver enhanced services to telephone subscribers with multiple telephone lines as suggested.
Regarding claim 16, Liljestrand as modified by Schroeder and Creswell and Cerami teaches the method of claim 15. Cerami further teaches further comprising receiving the status of received voicemail messages (The system then sends a notification to the subscriber (block 975) to inform the subscriber of the new voice message, see [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liljestrand, Schroeder and Creswell with the voice mail services of Cerami to provide a method and a system that deliver enhanced services to telephone subscribers with multiple telephone lines as suggested.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. O’Leary (US 20090299868 A1): This disclosure generally relates to computer- and network-based methods and systems for providing bid information to a user in response to a service request in order to facilitate the selection of a preferred service provider. In some cases, bid information from each of a number of bids originating from a selection of service providers is presented in such a manner that a user is able to simultaneously view at least a portion of the bid information of each respective bid.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641