DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments filed 12/30/2025 have been entered.
Claims 24-44 are pending. Claims 43-44 have been added in the amendments filed 12/30/2025.
The outstanding rejection under 35 USC 112 is withdrawn in view of the amendments filed 12/30/2025.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 43-44 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: The social behavioral condition being treated was presented as anxiety. The newly added claims are directed to the treatment of autism spectrum disorders and social phobia. These conditions are patentably distinct from anxiety. They involve in different medical treatments, symptoms, and diagnostic criteria. Searching all of the disorders recited in the claims would impose undue burden to the examiner.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 43-44 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weston et al., Depression Anxiety, 2020;37:1261-1279 (from IDS filed 1/6/2026), Gasser et al., Journal of Psychopharmacology 2015, Vol. 29(1) 57–68 in view of Polito et al., PLoS ONE (2019) 14(2): e0211023 and Anderson et al., Harm Reduction Journal, 2019;16:43 (from IDS filed 8/19/2024).
Weston et al. teaches the use of LSD, in various dosages (50-350µg) for treating anxiety (see page 1265, Table 1).
Gasser et al. teaches the administration of 200 µg of LSD improves anxiety of life-threatening illness (see page 64, col. 2, Discussion Section; also page 58, Materials and methods Section).
Gasser et al. does not expressly teach the herein claimed dosage or the dosing regimen of LSD.
Polito et al. teaches “People follow a variety of different schedules when microdosing, sometimes taking a dose each day but much more frequently interspersing dosing days with rest days. One common schedule is to microdose every three days. The idea behind this regimen is that there may be a residual effect from each microdose that lasts one to two days afterwards. Most popular press stories on microdosing have mentioned this three day cycle.” (see 2/26, third paragraph).
Anderson et al. teaches the benefits of using microdosing of psychedelic such as LSD include reduced anxiety, improved mood, and social benefits (see page 4 of 10, Fig. 1; page 7 of 10, col. 1, second paragraph to col. 2, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the herein claimed dosing regimen in the method of treating neuropsychiatric condition such as anxiety.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the herein claimed dosing regimen in the method of treating neuropsychiatric condition such as anxiety. It is well-known in the art for patient to take a dose of LSD and then wait a few days and then take a second dose. The reason for such dosing regimen is well-known that there may be a residual effect from each microdose that lasts one to two days afterwards. Therefore, employing the dosing regimen would be reasonably expected to be effective in treating anxiety.
Furthermore, the optimization of result effect parameters (e.g., dosage range) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). As anyone of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate, preferred dosages are merely exemplary and serve as useful guideposts for the physician. There are, however, many reasons for varying dosages, including by orders of magnitude; for instance, an extremely heavy patient or one having an unusually severe infection would require a correspondingly higher dosage; or in the case of patients having renal or hepatic impairment, the required dosage would be much lower. For these and other self-evident reasons and since the cited prior art teaches a range of dosage encompassing that of recited in the claims, prima facie obviousness exists.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 24-42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAN MING R HUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627