Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 11, 15, and 17 are amended and claims 19-20 are new by applicant’s amendment filed 21 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 10-11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 2 and 10, they appear redundant to the amended limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively. Claims 2 and 10 recite “wherein the generating the next action as the model outputs further comprises generating a confidence score of the decision maker model and explanation information as part of the model outputs.” However, the amendments to claims 1 and 9 include more detailed generation of a confidence score and explanation information.
Regarding Claims 3 and 11, they recite “the decision maker training engine” and “the database.” These terms lack antecedent basis, so they are indefinite.
Regarding Claim 18, it is repeated in the claim listing filed 21 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khorasgani, Hamed, et al. (“An offline deep reinforcement learning for maintenance decision-making,” arXiv preprint arXiv:2109.15050 (2021); hereinafter “Khorasgani”) in view of in view of Moradian et al. (U.S. 2023/0185268; hereinafter “Moradian”), and further in view of Botari, Tiago, et al. (“MeLIME: Meaningful local explanation for machine learning models,” arXiv preprint arXiv:2009.05818 (2020); hereinafter “Botari”).
Regarding Claim 1, Khorasgani teaches an offline reinforcement learning method for predictive maintenance of equipment (Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving an expected future return value as input to a decision maker model, wherein the decision maker model is a machine learning model that predicts maintenance action associated with the equipment (section 2, equations 3 and 4—the expected reward R is an input to the decision maker model. The “Total expected reward” portion of section 2 explains that the total expected reward used as input is within the vicinity of the maximum episodic return, so the input to the model comprises an expected future return value);
feeding recent observations and recent actions from an environment as inputs to the decision maker model (section 2, equations 1, 2, and 4—observations O and actions A are fed into the model);
generating a next action as model outputs of the decision maker model, wherein the next action is the predicted maintenance action associated with the equipment (section 2, equation 4—next action âk is generated by the model); and
executing the next action in the environment (section 2 and fig. 1—“The idea here is to solve maintenance decision-making using on offline supervised RL approach,” indicating that the generated action is executed in the environment to maintain a machine. See also the applications in section 3.6).
Khorasgani does not specifically teach generating a confidence score indicating reliability of the next action, and explanation information comprising feature-wise explanation identifying which input features are most responsible for the next action and instance-wise explanation showing which training samples most influenced the model output for generating the next action; and executing the next action in the environment.
However, Moradian teaches generating a confidence score indicating reliability of output of a predictive model (¶ [0085] – [0086]—a confidence score is generated that indicates a level of confidence in the model outputs).
These claimed elements were known in Khorasgani and Moradian and could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions. It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the confidence score of Moradian with the generating the next action of Khorasgani to yield the predictable result of generating a next action as model outputs of the decision maker model, wherein the next action is the predicted maintenance action associated with the equipment, a confidence score indicating reliability of the next action. One would be motivated to make this combination for the purpose of facilitating improvement of the model by re-training when confidence in the model is low (Moradian, ¶ [0086]).
Khorasgani/Moradian does not specifically teach generating explanation information comprising feature-wise explanation identifying which input features are most responsible for the next action and instance-wise explanation showing which training samples most influenced the model output for generating the next action; and executing the next action in the environment.
However, Botari teaches explanation information comprising feature-wise explanation identifying which input features are most responsible for a model output and instance-wise explanation showing which training samples most influenced the model output (p. 2, fig. 1 and pp. 11-14, Iris dataset and MNIST dataset, including figs. 5 and 6—the explanations generated include both feature importance that identifies which input features are most responsible for a model output and an instance-wise explanation showing which training samples most influenced the classification output of the model).
All of the claimed elements were thus known in Khorasgani/Moradian and Botari and could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions. It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the feature-wise and instance-wise explanations of Botari with the generating the next action of Khorasgani to yield the predictable result of generating a next action as model outputs of the decision maker model, wherein the next action is the predicted maintenance action associated with the equipment, a confidence score indicating reliability of the next action, and explanation information comprising feature-wise explanation identifying which input features are most responsible for the next action and instance-wise explanation showing which training samples most influenced the model output for generating the next action. One would be motivated to make this combination for the purpose of producing more meaningful explanations compared to other techniques (Botari, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 9, Khorasgani teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium, storing instructions for predictive maintenance of equipment (abstract and section 3—it is understood that the instructions and dataset for a machine learning model are stored on a computer readable medium). Khorasgani, Moradian, and Botari teach the instructions, when executed by a processor, perform the operations of the present claim in the same manner as for claim 1.
Regarding Claims 2 and 10, Khorasgani/Moradian/Botari teaches wherein the generating the next action as the model outputs further comprises generating a confidence score of the decision maker model (Moradian, (¶ [0085] – [0086]—a confidence score is generated that indicates a level of confidence in the model outputs) and explanation information as part of the model outputs (Botari, p. 2, fig. 1 and pp. 11-14, Iris dataset and MNIST dataset, including figs. 5 and 6—the explanations generated include both feature importance that identifies which input features are most responsible for a model output and an instance-wise explanation showing which training samples most influenced the classification output of the model).
Regarding Claims 3 and 11, Khorasgani/Moradian/Botari teaches comparing the confidence score against a threshold; and if the confidence score is below the threshold, retraining the machine learning model with observations observed more recent in time than the recent observations and actions observed more recent in time than the recent actions as inputs (Moradian, ¶ [0086]—the model is re-trained when the confidence score is below a threshold),
wherein retraining the machine learning model comprises using the decision maker training engine to randomly draw sample batches from the database and update parameters using gradient descent (Moradian, ¶ [0082] and [0156]—training is performed using a batch of training data; a random selection of samples is well-known in the art. Training using backpropagation to update weights is a gradient descent method).
Regarding Claims 4 and 12, Khorasgani/Moradian/Botari teaches displaying the model outputs on a graphical user interface (GUI) (Khorasgani, section 3.6 and figs. 3 and 4—the remaining useful life {RUL} is the output of the model, displayed in a graph).
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Khorasgani/Moradian/Botari teaches:
feeding the recent observations as input to a remaining useful life (RUL) estimator; generating estimated remaining useful life of the equipment as output from the RUL estimator; and feeding the generated estimated remaining useful life of the equipment as input to the decision maker model in generating the next action (Khorasgani, fig. 1; sections 2 and 3.4—observations are input to a RUL estimator, which generates estimated remaining useful life that is fed into the decision maker model as input).
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, Khorasgani/Moradian/Botari teaches displaying the model outputs and the estimated remaining useful life of the equipment on a graphical user interface (GUI) (Khorasgani, sections 3.4 and 3.6, and figs. 3 and 4—the graph displays the estimated remaining useful life and the actual remaining useful life as determined by the model).
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, Khorasgani/Moradian/Botari teaches identifying a subset of the inputs that are most responsible to the generation of the decision maker model’s model outputs, wherein the subset of the inputs directly impacts the generation of the next action (Khorasgani, section 2, equation 4—the observations and actions of window of time T are identified as relevant, and are used an inputs to the decision maker model so that it can generate the next action).
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Khorasgani/Moradian/Botari teaches storing data from a plurality of sensors as the recent observations and the recent actions in a database; and retrieving the recent observations and the recent actions from the database (Khorasgani, sections 3 and 3.1—sensor outputs are stored in the dataset).
Regarding Claim 17, Khorasgani teaches an offline reinforcement learning method for predictive maintenance of equipment (Abstract), the method comprising:
preparing time-series data of past observations and associated past actions (sections 2 and 3);
splitting the time-series data into episodes and computing rewards associated with the episodes (section 2—the windows with a length T are episodes);
storing the episodes and the rewards in a database (sections 3 and 3.5—training is performed offline, so the datasets, including the episodes and rewards, are clearly stored in a database);
initializing a decision maker model, wherein the decision maker model is a machine learning model that predicts maintenance action associated with the equipment (section 2);
training the decision maker model by randomly drawing a sample batch from the database, computing loss associated with the sample batch, and updating parameters of the decision maker model using gradient descent of the loss (sections 3 and 3.1—each trajectory in the training dataset can be considered a batch. Training with a regression normalization model updates parameters using gradient descent of a loss);
receiving expected future return value as input to the decision maker model (section 2, equations 3 and 4—the expected reward R is an input to the decision maker model. The “Total expected reward” portion of section 2 explains that the total expected reward used as input is within the vicinity of the maximum episodic return, so the input to the model comprises an expected future return value);
feeding recent observations and recent actions from environment as inputs to the decision maker model (section 2, equations 1, 2, and 4—observations O and actions A are fed into the model);
generating a next action as model outputs of the decision maker model, wherein the next action is the predicted maintenance action associated with the equipment (section 2, equation 4—next action âk is generated by the model); and
executing the next action in the environment (section 2 and fig. 1—“The idea here is to solve maintenance decision-making using on offline supervised RL approach,” indicating that the generated action is executed in the environment to maintain a machine. See also the applications in section 3.6).
Khorasgani does not specifically teach generating a confidence score indicating reliability of the next action, and explanation information comprising feature-wise explanation identifying which input features are most responsible for the next action and instance-wise explanation showing which training samples most influenced the model output for generating the next action; and executing the next action in the environment.
However, Moradian teaches generating a confidence score indicating reliability of output of a predictive model (¶ [0085] – [0086]—a confidence score is generated that indicates a level of confidence in the model outputs).
These claimed elements were known in Khorasgani and Moradian and could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions. It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the confidence score of Moradian with the generating the next action of Khorasgani to yield the predictable result of generating a next action as model outputs of the decision maker model, wherein the next action is the predicted maintenance action associated with the equipment, a confidence score indicating reliability of the next action. One would be motivated to make this combination for the purpose of facilitating improvement of the model by re-training when confidence in the model is low (Moradian, ¶ [0086]).
Khorasgani/Moradian does not specifically teach generating explanation information comprising feature-wise explanation identifying which input features are most responsible for the next action and instance-wise explanation showing which training samples most influenced the model output for generating the next action; and executing the next action in the environment.
However, Botari teaches explanation information comprising feature-wise explanation identifying which input features are most responsible for a model output and instance-wise explanation showing which training samples most influenced the model output (p. 2, fig. 1 and pp. 11-14, Iris dataset and MNIST dataset, including figs. 5 and 6—the explanations generated include both feature importance that identifies which input features are most responsible for a model output and an instance-wise explanation showing which training samples most influenced the classification output of the model).
All of the claimed elements were thus known in Khorasgani/Moradian and Botari and could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions. It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the feature-wise and instance-wise explanations of Botari with the generating the next action of Khorasgani to yield the predictable result of generating a next action as model outputs of the decision maker model, wherein the next action is the predicted maintenance action associated with the equipment, a confidence score indicating reliability of the next action, and explanation information comprising feature-wise explanation identifying which input features are most responsible for the next action and instance-wise explanation showing which training samples most influenced the model output for generating the next action. One would be motivated to make this combination for the purpose of producing more meaningful explanations compared to other techniques (Botari, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 18, Khorasgani/Moradian/Botari teaches the sample batch comprising sequences of past observations, past actions, and associated expected future return value (Khorasgani, section 2, equations 1, 2, and 4—observations O, actions A, and returns R are fed into the model).
Regarding Claim 19, Khorasgani/Moradian/Botari teaches wherein the feature-wise explanation is generated using at least one of Local Interpretable Model-agnostic Explanations (LIME), SHapley Additive exPlanations (SHAP), or Gradient-weighted Class Activation Mapping (Grad-CAM) (Botari, p. 1, Abstract and pp. 4-5, Methodology—the MeLIME method is a variation of LIME).
Regarding Claim 20, Khorasgani/Moradian/Botari teaches wherein the confidence score is generated using at least one of a Bayesian neural network, Deep Ensembles, Monte Carlo Dropout, or Quantile Neural Network (Moradian, ¶ [0085] – [0086] describes the confidence score, which is generated by machine learning model 190. ¶ [0084] states that machine learning model 190 may be multiple machine learning models 190, and they may be deep neural networks; machine learning models 190 may therefore comprise deep ensemble).
Response to Arguments
The amendments to the claims are accepted as overcoming the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Note, however, the new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, which were necessitated by the amendments to the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Although Khorasgani does not teach all of the amended limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17, new prior art reference Botari, in combination with Khorasgani and Moradian, teaches these limitations, as detailed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Cai, Carrie J., Jonas Jongejan, and Jess Holbrook (“The effects of example-based explanations in a machine learning interface,” Proceedings of the 24th international conference on intelligent user interfaces. 2019) teaches example-based explanations of a machine learning model that show which training examples led the model to output a particular classification.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAL SCHNEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2129