DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rains et al. (US Patent Number 10925404) in view of Adams (US Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0152658).
Regarding claim 20, Rains discloses in combination, a dock (at least 26) for housing a hand-held remote-control device (22) for use in connection with controlling various sections of a powered chair (10), wherein: said dock comprises a hollow housing having a configuration which is substantially that of a rectangular parallelepiped (see Figure 2 for instance), and which is adapted to be fixedly mounted within a frame portion of the powered chair (at 32); a flanged portion (36) fixedly secured upon a front face of said hollow housing; said hand-held remote-control device comprises a housing having a configuration which is substantially that of a parallelepiped and comprising a primary upper face, a rear side face, a front side face, and a bottom face (these could be variously defined with a front opposite the rear, and bottom and primary on others of the six faces); an elongated slot defined within said flanged portion of said dock and extending into said hollow housing of said dock for permitting said hand-held remote-control device to be inserted through said slot of said flanged portion of said dock and into said hollow housing of said dock such that said hand-held remote-control device can be stored within said dock (see Figures 1-3 showing this arrangement). Rains does not disclose a bump/projection and recess, and the rectangular parallelepiped shapes may not be explicitly described (that is, while the figures would appear to show such shapes, Rains may not provide shape detail). Regarding the shape, as changes in shape require only routine skill in the art, even if the shapes were not clearly as claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the dock and remote-control shapes as claimed based on normal variation to improve function and comfort for various users. Regarding the bump/projection and recess, Adams discloses a related device including a dock (37) with a convex bump/projection provided upon an edge section of a flanged portion of the dock and a concave recess (at 36) defined within a face of a hand-held remote-control device for cooperation with said convex bump/projection defined within said dock so as to ensure that said hand- held remote control device can only be inserted in a predetermined manner (this is the general arrangement). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide docking details as taught by Adams in Rains’ device because this could improve security and comfort for various users. Note that while the combination would provide the bump/projection and recess arranged as claimed based on the arrangement of the reference devices, even if this were not clear, rearrangement of components require only routine skill in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the components arranged as claimed based on normal variation to improve function and comfort for various users.
Regarding claim 14, Rains, modified as described, discloses a device as explained above and further discloses a plurality of first buttons (at 24) operatively mounted upon said primary upper face of said hand-held remote-control device for permitting a person to control various sections of the powered chair when said hand-held remote-control device is housed or not housed within said dock. Rains does not disclose a plurality of second buttons. Adams discloses a related device including a hand-held remote-control device including a plurality of first buttons operatively mounted upon a primary upper face of a hand-held remote-control device (sharing a face with 20 for instance), and a plurality of second buttons operatively mounted upon a front side face of said hand-held remote-control device (on the orthogonal face; see Figure 1, etc.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a plurality of second buttons as taught by Adams in Rains’ device because this could improve comfort and versatility for various users. Note that the first and second buttons would be operable when housed or not housed as claimed much as in the reference devices.
Regarding claim 15, Rains, modified as described, further discloses a first magnetic interface disposed within said hollow housing of said dock; and a second magnetic interface mounted upon said rear side face of said hand-held remote-control device for cooperation with said first magnetic interface disposed within said hollow housing of said dock so as to fixedly secure said hand- held remote-control device within said housing of said dock (see the second full paragraph of column 7 describing magnets for retention of the remote-control in the dock; such an arrangement would inherently provide magnets on both components as claimed for functionality). While Rains is thus viewed as disclosing the limitations as claimed, the first and second interfaces on particular sides may not be explicitly described. However, as duplication and rearrangement of components require only routine skill in the art, even if the magnetic interfaces were not clearly as claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide them as positioned claimed based on normal variation to improve function and comfort for various users.
Regarding claim 16, Rains, modified as described, further discloses said hand-held remote-control device comprises a wireless hand-held remote control device (22 is a wireless remote-control device).
Regarding claim 17, Rains, modified as described, further discloses wireless hand-held remote-control device is battery-powered (see again second full paragraph of column 7 describing a battery for device 22) but does not explicitly disclose a lithium-ion battery. Lithium-ion batteries are old and well-known and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide such a battery because this would provide a cheap, readily available, and reliable power source for a variety of users.
Regarding claim 18, Rains, modified as described, further discloses a first electrical charging interface disposed within said hollow housing of said dock; and a second electrical charging interface mounted upon said rear side face of said hand-held remote-control device for cooperation with said first electrical charging interface disposed within said hollow housing of said dock so as to electrically recharge said at least one lithium-ion battery of said hand-held remote-control device when said hand-held remote-control device is disposed within said housing of said dock (see again second full paragraph of column 7 describing a charging member 22 with 26; such an arrangement would inherently provide charging interfaces on both components as claimed for functionality). While Rains is thus viewed as disclosing the limitations as claimed, the first and second interfaces on particular sides may not be explicitly described. However, as duplication and rearrangement of components require only routine skill in the art, even if the charging interfaces were not clearly as claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide them as positioned claimed based on normal variation to improve function and comfort for various users.
Regarding claim 19, Rains, modified as described, further discloses when said dock is disposed within the frame portion of the powered chair, said flanged surface portion of said dock will engage an outer surface portion of the frame portion of the powered chair so as to ensure that said dock is fixedly secured within the frame portion of the powered chair (this is the general arrangement; see at least Figure 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that Adams does not disclose a bump/projection and corresponding recess as currently claimed. However, it is maintained that Adams discloses these features (see at least Adams’ Figure 2) and discloses them positioned as claimed (i.e. on edge section of a flanged portion and on a face, respectively). Moreover, even if the particular positioning were not clear (either in Adams or the resulting combination), it would have been obvious to provide such positioning as explained above.
Conclusion
/PHILIP F GABLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636