CTNF 18/102,430 CTNF 88564 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments 07-38-02 AIA Applicant’s arguments, see page 4 , filed 03/09/2026 , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) original claim 2 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Wang and Hughes have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shin, Wang, Hughes and further in view of Ullrich et al. DE 102004050682 cited in the previous Office action under the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure . Specifically, Ullrich teaches the transmission beam impinges on the beam-deflection device in parallel with the rotational axis of the beam-deflection device (Ullrich: Figure 9, transmission beam light exiting 60 is parallel to rotation axis of beam-deflection device 73. The rotation axis is show by the curved arrow representing rotation) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, and 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. US Pub. No. 20100097598 in view of Wang et al. US Patent No. 11977185 and Hughes et al. US Pub. No. 20190310351 and Ullrich et al. DE 102004050682 . Regarding claim 1. Shin teaches a Laser scanner for scanning of an environment (paragraph 3; Figure 1), comprising: a laser transmitter for transmitting a transmission beam (Figure 1, 11; paragraph 24), a laser receiver for receiving the transmission beam reflected by the environment as a receive beam (Figure 1, 17; paragraph 27 and 28, light reflected form object 1 returns to detector 17), a deflecting mirror deflecting the received beam (Figure 1, 14; paragraphs 28 and 29) Shin is silent with respect to a beam-deflection device arranged in a beam path of the transmission and receive beams in the form of a mirror pyramid that is rotatable about a rotational axis and has pyramid sides inclined relative to the rotational axis that each form a mirror facet, and a housing, in which the laser transmitter, the laser receiver, and the beam-deflection device are arranged and which comprises a bottom face and a top face, a lateral shell which connects the bottom face and top face and has an inner width that is less than a housing height between the bottom face and top face, and a window for the transmission and receive beams, wherein the window is in the bottom face, the beam- deflection device is adjacent to the window and the rotational axis is oriented substantially in parallel with the bottom face, and the laser receiver is arranged closer to the top face than to the bottom face, a deflecting mirror being arranged in the housing so as to be adjacent to the bottom face and deflecting the receive beam from the beam-deflection device onto the laser receiver. Hughes teaches a beam-deflection device arranged in a beam path of the transmission and receive beams in the form of a multi-faceted mirror that is rotatable about a rotational axis (Figure 6A; 202 multi faceted mirror that rotated about axis. Rotation axis is into and out of the page), and a housing (Figure 6a 249), in which the laser transmitter, the laser receiver, and the beam-deflection device are arranged (202, light source 102, and detector 230 are inside the housing) and which comprises a bottom face (upper portion with mirror 242) and a top face (side closest to light source 102), a lateral shell which connects the bottom face and top face (left and right of housing are the lateral shells) and has an inner width that is less than a housing height between the bottom face and top face (6a shows that the housing is rectangular with the height up/down is longer than the width left/right), and a window for the transmission and receive beams (window 242), wherein the window is in the bottom face (242 is attached to top portion which is interpretated as the bottom), the multi-faceted mirror device is adjacent to the window and the rotational axis is oriented substantially in parallel with the bottom face (242 is closest to the window 242 the rotation axis is into and out of the page the bottom face 246 is into and out of the page therefore they are parallel), and the laser receiver is arranged closer to the top face than to the bottom face (received 230 is close to light source 102 which is near the bottom which is interpreted as the top), a deflecting mirror being arranged in the housing so as to be adjacent to the bottom face and deflecting the receive beam from the beam-deflection device onto the laser receiver (deflecting mirrors 206 and 204 both are near the bottom face which is located at the top of the page). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the teachings of Hughes to Shin to have a beam-deflection device arranged in a beam path of the transmission and receive beams that is rotatable about a rotational axis, and a housing, in which the laser transmitter, the laser receiver, and the beam-deflection device are arranged and which comprises a bottom face and a top face, a lateral shell which connects the bottom face and top face and has an inner width that is less than a housing height between the bottom face and top face, and a window for the transmission and receive beams, wherein the window is in the bottom face, the beam- deflection device is adjacent to the window and the rotational axis is oriented substantially in parallel with the bottom face, and the laser receiver is arranged closer to the top face than to the bottom face, a deflecting mirror being arranged in the housing so as to be adjacent to the bottom face and deflecting the receive beam from the beam-deflection device onto the laser receiver for the purposes of protecting the optical components from dust (housing) increase the flexibility of the system by allowing for scanning (rotatable beam deflection device) and decrease the overall size of the apparatus by having deflecting mirror to fold the optical path (deflecting mirror and height larger than width). Shin and Hughs are silent with respect to the rotating multi-faceted mirror be a pyramid. Wang teaches using a beam-deflection device arranged in a beam path of the transmission and receive beams in the form of a mirror pyramid that is rotatable about a rotational axis and has pyramid sides inclined relative to the rotational axis that each form a mirror facet wherein the mirror facets each have inclinations relative to the rotational axis that are different from one another (Figure 3a-3c; col 4, lines 60-63). Wang teaches conventional systems require multiple moving components and its desirable to simplify the steering system by removing one of the moving mirrors (col 1, lines 40-55). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the teachings of Wang to Shin and Hughes to have a multi-faceted pyramid with different angles for the purposes of simplifying the scanning device by removing the need for an additional rotating mirror (Wang: col 1, lines 40-55). NOTE: Figure 4 of Hughes teaches rotating the light source and detector so that their optical axis face the “bottom” side of the housing. Therefore, the combination of Wang would replace rotating mirror 60 with deflecting mirror 130 which will still be near the “bottom side” adjacent to the window. Wang, Shin, and Hughes are silent with respect to wherein the transmission beam impinges on the beam-deflection device in parallel with the rotational axis. However, Primary reference Shin does teach the light beam (light exiting 11) is parallel to the mirror support 15 (Figure 1; paragraph 30 and 31). Paragraph 30 and 31 teaches that the mirror is rotatable allowing the distance measuring apparatus to measure the distance to every object placed horizontally around the distance measuring apparatus. This suggests that the rotation access of mirror 14 is about the vertical shift of rotatory device 15. Therefore, the rotation axis would be along the light line exiting light source 11 and Shin teaches the transmission beam impinges on the beam-deflection device in parallel with the rotational axis. However, Ullrich additionally teaches the transmission beam impinges on the beam-deflection device in parallel with the rotational axis of the beam-deflection device (Ullrich: Figure 9, transmission beam light exiting 60 is parallel to rotation axis of beam-deflection device 73. The rotation axis is show by the curved arrow representing rotation). The beam deflection device of Ullrich is a mirror pyramid. Therefore, it is known in the art to have the transmission beam impinge on a mirror pyramid such that the transmission beam impinges on the beam-deflection device in parallel with the rotational axis. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the teachings of Ullrich to Shin, Wang, and Hughes to have the transmission beam impinges on the beam-deflection device in parallel with the rotational axis for the purposes of measuring the distance to every object placed horizontally around the distance measuring apparatus as required by Shin utilizing the known techniques of Shin and Ullrich to place the light beam parallel to the rotation axis of the beam deflection device. Regarding claim 3. The laser scanner according to claim 1, Shin teaches wherein an optical receiving system is arranged in the housing in the beam path between the beam-deflection device and the laser receiver to focus the receive beam on the laser receiver (Figure 1, optical system 24). Regarding claim 4. The laser scanner according to claim 3, Shin teaches wherein the optical receiving system is arranged between the deflecting mirror and the laser receiver (Figure 1, 24 is located between deflecting mirror 14 and receiver 17). Regarding claim 5. The laser scanner according to claim 3, Shin teaches wherein the optical receiving system is an optical lens having a decentralized optical axis (Figure 1 and 3, OA optical axis is not in the center). Regarding claim 6. The laser scanner according to claim 5, Shin teaches wherein the deflecting mirror further deflects the transmission beam from the laser transmitter onto the beam-deflection device (Figure 1, defelcting mirror 14 reflected light from laser 11), the optical lens having a cut-out, which is in parallel with said optical axis and spaced apart therefrom, for the transmission beam to pass through (Figure 1, hole “h” is a cutout passing laser light from 11 which is parallel to optical axis OA but off center). Regarding claim 7. The laser scanner according to claim 6, Hughes teaches wherein, when viewed from the deflecting mirror, the laser transmitter is arranged on the top face behind the laser receiver, the transmission beam being guided from the laser transmitter, past the laser receiver and to the cut-out by means of an optical waveguide (Figure 6a, optical fibers 220; light source 102 is arrange on the top face behind laser receiver 230. Additionally Shin teaches the light source 11 is behind received 17). Regarding claim 8. The laser scanner according to claim 1, Hughes teaches wherein, when viewed in the direction of the rotational axis, the window has the cross section of an arc of a circle or an arc of an ellipse, or of an open polygon, in an interior of which the rotational axis is positioned (Figure 6a, window 242 is an open polygon on two sides). Regarding claim 9. The laser scanner according to claim 1, Wang teaches wherein the mirror facets each have inclinations relative to the rotational axis that are different from one another (Figure 3a-3c; col 4, lines 60-63). NOTE: motivations for all dependent claims apply to the motivation and combinations made in claim 1 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin, Wang, Hughes, and Ullrich as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tobiassen et al. US Pub. No. 20210063093 . Regarding claim 10 . The laser scanner according to claim 1, Wang, Hughes, and Shin are silent with respect to wherein the housing has a cooling body on the outside of the top face. Tobiassen teaches wherein the housing has a cooling body on the outside of the top face (Figure 17C and 18; paragraph 126 fan 1716 and heat sink 1708 form the outer housing of optical sensor 1712). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the teaching of Tobiassen to Wang, Hughes, and Shin to have the housing has a cooling body on the outside of the top face for the purposes of increase the thermal efficiency and cooling of the light source and optical detector by placing the heat sink and fan on the outside of the housing . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Greiner; Alexander et al. US 20130010307 A1 vents for cooling on the outside of the LIDAR housing. Choi; Hyunyong et al. US 20180275251 A1 a hole in the deflecting mirror. Mack; Stefan et al. US 20080151218 A1 rotating mirrors and the general coaxial alignment of the light source and the detector. Allouis; Tristan et al. US 20220299608 A1 vents for cooling on the housing. LI; Run et al. US 20250155690 A1 cut out in the lens for the light beam to pass. REICHERT; Rainer et al. US 20220299609 A1 rotating pyramid. Demers; Richard et al. US 20210364605 A1 rotating pyramid with each facet being different. Lazzara; Anthony Ross US 3996476 A a hole in the lens for the light source to pass. ENGBERG C A et al. US 10324170 B1 generally the same teachings as Hughes. HAN H G et al. WO 2021210954 A1 rotating pyramids for scanning. MORI HAJIME et al. WO 2017183145 A1 rotating pyramids for scanning. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Shawn DeCenzo whose telephone number is (571)270-3227. The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9am to 4pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kathleen Bragdon can be reached at 571-272-0931 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Shawn Decenzo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 6212 Application/Control Number: 18/102,430 Page 2 Art Unit: 6212 Application/Control Number: 18/102,430 Page 3 Art Unit: 6212 Application/Control Number: 18/102,430 Page 4 Art Unit: 6212 Application/Control Number: 18/102,430 Page 5 Art Unit: 6212 Application/Control Number: 18/102,430 Page 6 Art Unit: 6212 Application/Control Number: 18/102,430 Page 7 Art Unit: 6212 Application/Control Number: 18/102,430 Page 8 Art Unit: 6212 Application/Control Number: 18/102,430 Page 9 Art Unit: 6212 Application/Control Number: 18/102,430 Page 10 Art Unit: 6212 Application/Control Number: 18/102,430 Page 11 Art Unit: 6212