DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on November 25, 2025 for the application filed January 27, 2023. Claims 1-18 have been amended; claims 19-20 have been canceled. New claims 21-22 have been added. Claims 1-18 and 21-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-17, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannan et al. (US2023/0336412A1) hereinafter Kannan, in view of Kwon et al. (US2019/0349718A1) hereinafter Kwon1, and Kwon et al. (US2019/0364608A1) hereinafter Kwon2.
Regarding claim 1, Kannan teaches a method comprising: providing, by an access point (AP), wireless network access to a Wi-Fi network to devices wirelessly connected to the AP; establishing, by the AP, a wireless communication link with an Internet of Things (IoT) device (Paragraph [0040]: The access point device 2 can be, for example, an access point and/or a hardware electronic device that may be a combination modem and gateway that combines the functions of a modem, an access point (AP), and/or a router for providing content received from the ISP 1 to one or more network devices. Paragraph [0041]: The connections 141 and 149 between the access point device 2 and one or more network devices 140 and/or one or more sensing devices 5, respectively, can be implemented using a wireless connection in accordance with any IEEE 802.11 Wi-Fi protocols, Bluetooth protocols, BLE. Paragraph [0042]: The network devices 140 can comprise, for example,…. a sensing device 5, hand-held computing devices, personal computers, electronic tablets, mobile phones, smart phones, smart speakers, Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices, iControl devices, portable music players with smart capabilities capable of connecting to the Internet, cellular networks, and interconnecting with other devices via Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, or other wireless hand-held consumer electronic devices capable of executing and displaying content received through the access point device 2.)
Kannan does not explicitly teach transmitting, from the AP to the IoT device, a management-mode-enable signal indicating a management identifier associated with the AP, the management-mode- enable signal to place the IoT device in a group-management mode to scan nearby APs; in response to receiving, from the IoT device, a response indicating the management identifier, adding, by the AP, the IoT device to a management group associated with the AP; broadcasting, by the AP to a plurality of IoT devices belonging to the management group, a management request specifying a management operation, the management request comprising the management identifier and device filter information specifying a type of device to be managed by the management operation; and receiving, from the IoT device belonging to the management group and having a device type matching the device filter information, a management response confirming execution of the management operation specified by the management request.
However, Kwon1 teaches transmitting, from the AP to the IoT device, a management-mode-enable signal indicating a management identifier associated with the AP, the management-mode- enable signal to place the IoT device in a group-management mode to scan nearby APs (Paragraph [0310]: Specifically, as shown in FIG. 8, a group owner (GO), that is, a GO forming and managing a group, may transmit Group IDs to devices, that is, group participants (GPs) configuring a group, in order to notify the GPs that one group is formed. Paragraph [0311]: In this case, the same ID is transmitted as the Group ID transmitted to each of the GPs. Paragraph [0323]: Hereinafter, a specific device is called a group sender (GS) for transmitting voice data, and each of the plurality of devices is called a group receiver (GR) for receiving voice data. Paragraph [0324]: As shown in FIG. 10, a GS may establish a Bluetooth connection based on Scanning along with GRs. Paragraph [0325]: Specifically, if all the GRs perform Scanning ….an advertising packet for a Bluetooth connection may be transmitted to each of the GRs. Paragraph [0326]: In this case, if a broadcast channel for establishing a connection with the GRs is used, a specific device may establish the connection by transmitting an advertising packet to the plurality of devices forming a group.)
in response to receiving, from the IoT device, a response indicating the management identifier, adding, by the AP, the IoT device to a management group associated with the AP (Paragraph [0327]: In this case, the advertising packet may include a Group ID and the address of each of the plurality of devices attempting to form the connection. Paragraph [0330]: In this case, the advertising packet may include an AD type, an AD length and a Group ID, as shown in FIG. 10. Paragraph [0331]: The advertising packet transmitted by the GS is broadcasted to all surrounding devices, but only devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS because the advertising packet includes the Group ID. Paragraph [0333]: The GR 1 may transmit a connection request message to the GS as a response to the advertising packet, and may establish a Bluetooth connection (S10020). Paragraph [0344]: In this case, the GP may be aware of whether the GRs that have transmitted the advertising packets belong to the same group through a Group ID included in the advertising packet transmitted by the GR.)
broadcasting, by the AP to a plurality of IoT devices belonging to the management group, a management request specifying a management operation, the management request comprising the management identifier and device filter information specifying a type of device to be managed by the management operation (Paragraph [0327]: In this case, the advertising packet may include a Group ID and the address of each of the plurality of devices attempting to form the connection. Paragraph [0330]: In this case, the advertising packet may include an AD type, an AD length and a Group ID, as shown in FIG. 10. Paragraph [0331]: The advertising packet transmitted by the GS is broadcasted to all surrounding devices, but only devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS because the advertising packet includes the Group ID.)
and receiving, from the IoT device belonging to the management group and having a device type matching the device filter information (Paragraph [0327]: In this case, the advertising packet may include a Group ID and the address of each of the plurality of devices attempting to form the connection. Paragraph [0330]: In this case, the advertising packet may include an AD type, an AD length and a Group ID, as shown in FIG. 10. Paragraph [0331]: The advertising packet transmitted by the GS is broadcasted to all surrounding devices, but only devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS because the advertising packet includes the Group ID.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting, from the AP to the IoT device, a management-mode-enable signal indicating a management identifier associated with the AP, the management-mode- enable signal to place the IoT device in a group-management mode to scan nearby APs; in response to receiving, from the IoT device, a response indicating the management identifier, adding, by the AP, the IoT device to a management group associated with the AP; broadcasting, by the AP to a plurality of IoT devices belonging to the management group, a management request specifying a management operation, the management request comprising the management identifier and device filter information specifying a type of device to be managed by the management operation; and receiving, from the IoT device belonging to the management group and having a device type matching the device filter information, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that the GS can establish connection with the GR, and only those devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0310], [0311], [0323] – [0327], [0330] – [0333]).
The combination of Kannan and Kwon1 does not explicitly teach a management response confirming execution of the management operation specified by the management request.
However, Kwon2 teaches a management response confirming execution of the management operation specified by the management request (Paragraph [0014]: Specifically, a method for controlling, by a client, a server according to an embodiment of the present invention includes forming a Bluetooth low energy (LE) connection with a server, transmitting, to the server, a first write request message to request the writing of a control point characteristic for an indication of a specific operation, receiving a first write response message as a response to the write request message, and receiving, from the server, a first indication message for indicating whether the specific operation has been executed. Paragraph [0015]: Furthermore, in the present invention, if the specific operation has been successfully executed, the first indication message includes a response code indicating the success of the specific operation. Paragraph [0048]: The client device 110 may also be called as master device. Paragraph [0050]: The server device refers to a device which receives data from the client device and provides data to the client device in response when a corresponding request is received from the client device, through direct communication with the client device. Paragraph [0316]: If a server has successfully performed a related operation in response to the indication of a client, it transmits, to the client, an indication message including a response code indicating that the indicated operation has been successfully executed.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a management response confirming execution of the management operation specified by the management request, as taught by Kwon2 in the combined system of Kannan and Kwon1, so that the BLE anchor/master device can control the server device to perform the specified operation within a set operation time, and recognize when an operation has failed (Kwon2: Paragraphs [0010], [0014], [0015], [0022]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Kannan does not explicitly teach wherein the management identifier is specific to the AP and defines the management group associated with the AP.
However, Kwon1 teaches wherein the management identifier is specific to the AP and defines the management group associated with the AP (Paragraph [0327]: In this case, the advertising packet may include a Group ID and the address of each of the plurality of devices attempting to form the connection. Paragraph [0330]: In this case, the advertising packet may include an AD type, an AD length and a Group ID, as shown in FIG. 10. Paragraph [0331]: The advertising packet transmitted by the GS is broadcasted to all surrounding devices, but only devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS because the advertising packet includes the Group ID.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the management identifier is specific to the AP and defines the management group associated with the AP, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that so that the GS can establish connection with the GR, and only those devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0327], [0330] – [0331]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Kannan does not explicitly teach wherein the management request and the management response comprise advertising packets according to a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) Generic Access Profile (GAP) protocol.
However, Kwon1 teaches wherein the management request and the management response comprise advertising packets according to a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) Generic Access Profile (GAP) protocol (Paragraph [0117]: The attribute protocol 22 and the BR/EDR profile 25 define service (profile) using Bluetooth BR/EDR and an application protocol for exchanging their data. The generic access profile (GAP) 24 defines device discovery, a connection and a security level. Paragraph [0279]: Specifically, the Bluetooth communication architecture for providing the PoB service may be configured with a New Profile, a New Service, a Voice Codec, a Gap. Paragraph [0287]: A group may be formed between devices supporting Bluetooth through such a protocol stack. Devices configuring the same group may transmit and receive voice data. Paragraph [0324]: As shown in FIG. 10, a GS may establish a Bluetooth connection based on Scanning along with GRs. Paragraph [0325]: Specifically, if all the GRs perform Scanning ….an advertising packet for a Bluetooth connection may be transmitted to each of the GRs. Paragraph [0326]: In this case, if a broadcast channel for establishing a connection with the GRs is used, a specific device may establish the connection by transmitting an advertising packet to the plurality of devices forming a group.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the management request and the management response comprise advertising packets according to a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) Generic Access Profile (GAP) protocol, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that the protocol can be used to define device discovery, a connection and a security level (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0117], [0279], [0287], [0324] – [0326]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2, teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising (see rejection for claim 1);
Kannan does not explicitly teach transmitting, from the AP to the IoT device, a set of scan parameters comprising a scan interval, the set of scan parameters specifying how the IoT device is to scan for advertising information from the AP.
However, Kwon1 teaches transmitting, from the AP to the IoT device, a set of scan parameters comprising a scan interval, the set of scan parameters specifying how the IoT device is to scan for advertising information from the AP (Paragraph [0194]: During the scanning state, the LL listens to an advertising channel index in a scan window duration. A scan interval is defined as an interval between start points of two continuous scan windows. Paragraph [0253]: After receiving the advertising message, the client may transmit a Scan Request message to the server in order to obtain additional data (e.g., server device name). Paragraph [0254]: In this case, the server transmits a Scan Response message, including additional data, to the client as a response to the Scan Request message. Paragraph [0348]: Specifically, if a GS that has established a Bluetooth connection with GRs based on the Scanning or Advertising described in FIG. 11 has voice data to be transmitted to the GRs, it may transmit the voice data to a GR 1 during a connection event interval for the GR 1.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting, from the AP to the IoT device, a set of scan parameters comprising a scan interval, the set of scan parameters specifying how the IoT device is to scan for advertising information from the AP, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that a Bluetooth connection can be established between the GRs and GS (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0194], [0253], [0254], [0348]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Kannan further teaches wherein the management operation specified by the management request comprises an upgrade of the IoT device with a configuration file (Paragraph [0092]: In one or more embodiments, the portal system 180 comprises a version management system 910 that control or otherwise manages the download of upgrades (such as, software, hardware, or both) to a sensing device control system 150 so as to upgrade a device, such as any of a sensing device control system 150, a network device 140, a sensing device 5, or any combination thereof. The version notification can comprise any of one or more instructions associated with an upgrade, a schedule or alert that indicates a time, deadline, and/or other indicator as to the scheduling of the update, one or more identifiers associated with one or more devices to be upgraded (such as a unique identifier, a group identifier that identifies a group of devices, or both), any other information required to perform the update, or any combination thereof.
Kannan does not explicitly teach the management request further comprises identifiers of data packets containing the configuration file that are transmitted from the AP to the IoT device
However, Kwon1 teaches that the management request further comprises identifiers of data packets containing the configuration file that are transmitted from the AP to the IoT device (Paragraph [0327]: In this case, the advertising packet may include a Group ID and the address of each of the plurality of devices attempting to form the connection. Paragraph [0330]: In this case, the advertising packet may include an AD type, an AD length and a Group ID, as shown in FIG. 10. Paragraph [0331]: The advertising packet transmitted by the GS is broadcasted to all surrounding devices, but only devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS because the advertising packet includes the Group ID.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the management request further comprises identifiers of data packets containing the configuration file that are transmitted from the AP to the IoT device, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that so that the GS can establish connection with the GR, and only those devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0327], [0330] – [0331]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the AP is a first AP and the management identifier is a first management identifier specific to the first AP, the method further comprising (see rejection for claim 1);
Kannan does not explicitly teach receiving, by the first AP, a further management response transmitted by a further IoT device, the further management response containing a second management identifier; determining, by the first AP, whether the second management identifier in the further management response matches the first management identifier specific to the first AP; and based on determining that the second management identifier does not match the first management identifier, ignoring, by the first AP, the further management response.
However, Kwon1 teaches receiving, by the first AP, a further management response transmitted by a further IoT device, the further management response containing a second management identifier; determining, by the first AP, whether the second management identifier in the further management response matches the first management identifier specific to the first AP; and based on determining that the second management identifier does not match the first management identifier, ignoring, by the first AP, the further management response (Paragraph [0327]: In this case, the advertising packet may include a Group ID and the address of each of the plurality of devices attempting to form the connection. Paragraph [0330]: In this case, the advertising packet may include an AD type, an AD length and a Group ID, as shown in FIG. 10. Paragraph [0331]: The advertising packet transmitted by the GS is broadcasted to all surrounding devices, but only devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS because the advertising packet includes the Group ID. Paragraph [0344]: In this case, the GP may be aware of whether the GRs that have transmitted the advertising packets belong to the same group through a Group ID included in the advertising packet transmitted by the GR.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, by the first AP, a further management response transmitted by a further IoT device, the further management response containing a second management identifier; determining, by the first AP, whether the second management identifier in the further management response matches the first management identifier specific to the first AP; and based on determining that the second management identifier does not match the first management identifier, ignoring, by the first AP, the further management response, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that so that the GS can establish connection with the GR, and only those devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0327], [0330] – [0331]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Kannan does not explicitly teach wherein an IoT device having a device type not matching the device filter information ignores the management request.
However, Kwon1 teaches wherein an IoT device having a device type not matching the device filter information ignores the management request (Paragraph [0327]: In this case, the advertising packet may include a Group ID and the address of each of the plurality of devices attempting to form the connection. Paragraph [0330]: In this case, the advertising packet may include an AD type, an AD length and a Group ID, as shown in FIG. 10. Paragraph [0331]: The advertising packet transmitted by the GS is broadcasted to all surrounding devices, but only devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS because the advertising packet includes the Group ID. Paragraph [0344]: In this case, the GP may be aware of whether the GRs that have transmitted the advertising packets belong to the same group through a Group ID included in the advertising packet transmitted by the GR.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein an IoT device having a device type not matching the device filter information ignores the management request, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that so that the GS can establish connection with the GR, and only those devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0327], [0330] – [0331]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kannan, Kwo1, and Kwon2 teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1);
Kannan further teaches wherein the establishing of the wireless communication link with the IoT device comprises establishing a Bluetooth point- to-point connection between the AP and the IoT device (Paragraph [0040]: The access point device 2 can be, for example, an access point and/or a hardware electronic device that may be a combination modem and gateway that combines the functions of a modem, an access point (AP), and/or a router for providing content received from the ISP 1 to one or more network devices. Paragraph [0041]: The connections 141 and 149 between the access point device 2 and one or more network devices 140 and/or one or more sensing devices 5, respectively, can be implemented using a wireless connection in accordance with any IEEE 802.11 Wi-Fi protocols, Bluetooth protocols, BLE. Paragraph [0042]: The network devices 140 can comprise, for example,…. a sensing device 5, hand-held computing devices, personal computers, electronic tablets, mobile phones, smart phones, smart speakers, Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices, iControl devices, portable music players with smart capabilities capable of connecting to the Internet, cellular networks, and interconnecting with other devices via Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, or other wireless hand-held consumer electronic devices capable of executing and displaying content received through the access point device 2.)
Regarding claim 11, Kannan teaches an access point (AP), the AP comprising: a processor; a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions executable on the processor to: provide wireless network access to a Wi-Fi network to devices wirelessly connected to the AP; establish a wireless communication link with an Internet of Things (IoT) device (Paragraph [0005]: The device comprises a memory storing one or more computer-readable instructions and a processor configured to execute the one or more computer-readable instructions to receive a provisioning request for a device from a sensing device control system, receive from a device instance list a policy associated with an instance of the device, validate the request for association of the device, and send the validation to the sensing device control system. See rejection for claim 1).
Kannan does not explicitly teach to transmit, from the AP to the IoT device, an indicator comprising a management identifier associated with the AP, the indicator to place the IoT device in a group-management mode to scan nearby APs; in response to receiving, from the IoT device, a response indicating the management identifier, add the IoT device to a management group associated with the AP; broadcast, from the AP to a plurality of IoT devices belonging to the management group, management request specifying a management operation, the management request comprising the management identifier and device filter information specifying a type of device to be managed by the management operation; and receiving at the AP, from the IoT device belonging to the management group and having a device type matching the device filter information, a management response confirming execution of the management operation specified by the management request.
However, Kwon1 teaches to transmit, from the AP to the IoT device, an indicator comprising a management identifier associated with the AP, the indicator to place the IoT device in a group-management mode to scan nearby APs; in response to receiving, from the IoT device, a response indicating the management identifier, add the IoT device to a management group associated with the AP; broadcast, from the AP to a plurality of IoT devices belonging to the management group, management request specifying a management operation, the management request comprising the management identifier and device filter information specifying a type of device to be managed by the management operation; and receiving at the AP, from the IoT device belonging to the management group and having a device type matching the device filter information (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit, from the AP to the IoT device, an indicator comprising a management identifier associated with the AP, the indicator to place the IoT device in a group-management mode to scan nearby APs; in response to receiving, from the IoT device, a response indicating the management identifier, add the IoT device to a management group associated with the AP; broadcast, from the AP to a plurality of IoT devices belonging to the management group, management request specifying a management operation, the management request comprising the management identifier and device filter information specifying a type of device to be managed by the management operation; and receiving at the AP, from the IoT device belonging to the management group and having a device type matching the device filter information, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that the GS can establish connection with the GR, and only those devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0310], [0311], [0323] – [0327], [0330] – [0333]).
The combination of Kannan and Kwon1 does not explicitly teach a management response confirming execution of the management operation specified by the management request.
However, Kwon2 teaches a management response confirming execution of the management operation specified by the management request (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a management response confirming execution of the management operation specified by the management request, as taught by Kwon2 in the combined system of Kannan and Kwon1, so that the BLE anchor/master device can control the server device to perform the specified operation within a set operation time, and recognize when an operation has failed (Kwon2: Paragraphs [0010], [0014], [0015], [0022]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 teaches the AP of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Kannan does not explicitly teach wherein the management identifier is specific to the AP and defines the management group associated with the AP.
However, Kwon1 teaches wherein the management identifier is specific to the AP and defines the management group associated with the AP (see rejection for claim 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the management identifier is specific to the AP and defines the management group associated with the AP, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that so that the GS can establish connection with the GR, and only those devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0327], [0330] – [0331]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 teaches the AP of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Kannan does not explicitly teach wherein the management request and the management response comprise advertising packets according to a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) Generic Access Profile (GAP) protocol.
However, Kwon1 teaches wherein the management request and the management response comprise advertising packets according to a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) Generic Access Profile (GAP) protocol (see rejection for claim 3);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the management request and the management response comprise advertising packets according to a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) Generic Access Profile (GAP) protocol, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that the protocol can be used to define device discovery, a connection and a security level (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0117], [0279], [0287], [0324] – [0326]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 teaches the AP of claim 11, wherein the instructions are executable on the processor to (see rejection for claim 11);
Kannan does not explicitly teach to transmit, from the AP to the IoT device, a set of scan parameters comprising a scan interval, the set of scan parameters specifying how the IoT device is to scan for advertising information from the AP.
However, Kwon1 teaches transmitting, from the AP to the IoT device, a set of scan parameters comprising a scan interval, the set of scan parameters specifying how the IoT device is to scan for advertising information from the AP (see rejection for claim 4);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit, from the AP to the IoT device, a set of scan parameters comprising a scan interval, the set of scan parameters specifying how the IoT device is to scan for advertising information from the AP, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that a Bluetooth connection can be established between the GRs and GS (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0194], [0253], [0254], [0348]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 teaches the AP of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Kannan further teaches wherein the management operation specified by the management request comprises an upgrade of the IoT device with a configuration file (see rejection for claim 5);
Kannan does not explicitly teach the management request further comprises identifiers of data packets containing the configuration file that are transmitted from the AP to the IoT device
However, Kwon1 teaches that the management request further comprises identifiers of data packets containing the configuration file that are transmitted from the AP to the IoT device (see rejection for claim 5);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the management request further comprises identifiers of data packets containing the configuration file that are transmitted from the AP to the IoT device, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that so that the GS can establish connection with the GR, and only those devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0327], [0330] – [0331]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 teaches the AP of claim 11, wherein the AP is a first AP and the management identifier is a first management identifier specific to the first AP, and the instructions are executable on the processor to (see rejection for claim 11);
Kannan does not explicitly teach to receive, at the first AP, a further management response transmitted by a further IoT device, the further management response containing a second management identifier; determine, at the first AP, whether the second management identifier in the further management response matches the first management identifier specific to the first AP; and based on determining that the second management identifier does not match the first management identifier, ignore, at the first AP, the further management response.
However, Kwon1 teaches to receive, at the first AP, a further management response transmitted by a further IoT device, the further management response containing a second management identifier; determine, at the first AP, whether the second management identifier in the further management response matches the first management identifier specific to the first AP; and based on determining that the second management identifier does not match the first management identifier, ignore, at the first AP, the further management response (see rejection for claim 6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive, at the first AP, a further management response transmitted by a further IoT device, the further management response containing a second management identifier; determine, at the first AP, whether the second management identifier in the further management response matches the first management identifier specific to the first AP; and based on determining that the second management identifier does not match the first management identifier, ignore, at the first AP, the further management response, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that so that the GS can establish connection with the GR, and only those devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0327], [0330] – [0331]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 teaches the AP of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Kannan does not explicitly teach wherein an IoT device having a device type not matching the device filter information ignores the management request.
However, Kwon1 teaches wherein an IoT device having a device type not matching the device filter information ignores the management request (see rejection for claim 7);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein an IoT device having a device type not matching the device filter information ignores the management request, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that so that the GS can establish connection with the GR, and only those devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0327], [0330] – [0331]).
Regarding claim 21, Kannan teaches a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that upon execution cause an access point (AP) to: provide wireless network access to a Wi-Fi network to devices wirelessly connected to the AP; establish a wireless communication link between the AP and an Internet of Things (IoT) device (Paragraph [0044]: It is contemplated by the present disclosure that the portal system 180, the management system 160, the access point device 2, the network devices 140, and/or the sensing devices 5 include electronic components or electronic computing devices operable to receive, transmit, process, store, and/or manage data and information associated with the network 102, which encompasses any suitable processing device adapted to perform computing tasks consistent with the execution of computer-readable instructions stored in a memory or a computer-readable recording medium (for example, a non-transitory computer-readable medium). See rejection for claim 1);
Kannan does not explicitly teach to transmit, from the AP to the IoT device, a management-mode-enable signal indicating a management identifier associated with the AP, the management-mode-enable signal to place the IoT device in a group-management mode to scan nearby APs; in response to receiving, from the IoT device, a response indicating the management identifier, add the IoT device to a management group associated with the AP; broadcast, from the AP to a plurality of IoT devices belonging to the management group, a management request specifying a management operation, the management request comprising the management identifier and device filter information specifying a type of device to be managed by the management operation; and receive, at the AP from the IoT device belonging to the management group and having a device type matching the device filter information, a management response confirming execution of the management operation specified by the management request.
However, Kwon1 teaches to transmit, from the AP to the IoT device, a management-mode-enable signal indicating a management identifier associated with the AP, the management-mode-enable signal to place the IoT device in a group-management mode to scan nearby APs; in response to receiving, from the IoT device, a response indicating the management identifier, add the IoT device to a management group associated with the AP; broadcast, from the AP to a plurality of IoT devices belonging to the management group, a management request specifying a management operation, the management request comprising the management identifier and device filter information specifying a type of device to be managed by the management operation; and receive, at the AP from the IoT device belonging to the management group and having a device type matching the device filter information (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Kannan and Kwon1 does not explicitly teach a management response confirming execution of the management operation specified by the management request.
However, Kwon2 teaches a management response confirming execution of the management operation specified by the management request (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a management response confirming execution of the management operation specified by the management request, as taught by Kwon2 in the combined system of Kannan and Kwon1, so that the BLE anchor/master device can control the server device to perform the specified operation within a set operation time, and recognize when an operation has failed (Kwon2: Paragraphs [0010], [0014], [0015], [0022]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 teaches he non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 21, wherein the AP is a first AP and the management identifier is a first management identifier specific to the first AP, and the instructions upon execution cause the AP to (see rejection for claim 21);
Kannan does not explicitly teach to receive, at the first AP, a further management response transmitted by a further IoT device, the further management response containing a second management identifier; determine whether the second management identifier in the further management response matches the first management identifier specific to the first AP; and based on determining that the second management identifier does not match the first management identifier, ignore the further management response.
However, Kwon1 teaches to receive, at the first AP, a further management response transmitted by a further IoT device, the further management response containing a second management identifier; determine whether the second management identifier in the further management response matches the first management identifier specific to the first AP; and based on determining that the second management identifier does not match the first management identifier, ignore the further management response (see rejection for claim 6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive, at the first AP, a further management response transmitted by a further IoT device, the further management response containing a second management identifier; determine whether the second management identifier in the further management response matches the first management identifier specific to the first AP; and based on determining that the second management identifier does not match the first management identifier, ignore the further management response, as taught by Kwon1 in the system of Kannan, so that so that the GS can establish connection with the GR, and only those devices forming a group indicated by a Group ID may respond to the advertising packet transmitted by the GS (Kwon1: Paragraphs [0327], [0330] – [0331]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannan in view of Kwon1 and Kwon2, and further in view of Alpert et al. (US2024/0147196A1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 does not explicitly teach determining, by the AP, whether all IoT devices of the plurality of IoT devices in the management group have responded to the management request; and in response to determining that at least one IoT device in the management group has not responded, re-broadcasting, by the AP, the management request.
However, Alpert teaches determining, by the AP, whether all IoT devices of the plurality of IoT devices in the management group have responded to the management request; and in response to determining that at least one IoT device in the management group has not responded, re-broadcasting, by the AP, the management request (Paragraph [0049]: The multicast anchor 310 can repeatedly send the broadcast message 331 in regular time intervals to allow multiple BLE devices to detect and receive the broadcast message 331. The BLE devices can be configured to scan for broadcast messages 331 from other BLE devices, such as by listening for a packet at regular time intervals. The regular time intervals, also referred to herein as time periods, can be separated by equal time delays. BLE devices 320 a and 320 b can be configured to detect and receive the advertisement in the broadcast message 331 within matching time periods. Paragraph [0061]: The first BLE device 420 a can repeatedly send the broadcast message 432 in regular time intervals to allow multiple BLE devices to detect and receive the broadcast message 432. The BLE devices can be configured to scan for broadcast messages from other BLE devices, such as by listening for a packet at regular time intervals. Paragraph [0069]: The multicast anchor can also continue to broadcast capability advertisement messages 531 in subsequent time periods to continue advertising the multicast service to other BLE devices.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining, by the AP, whether all IoT devices of the plurality of IoT devices in the management group have responded to the management request; and in response to determining that at least one IoT device in the management group has not responded, re-broadcasting, by the AP, the management request, as taught by Alpert in the combined system of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2, so that repeatedly sending the broadcast message in regular time intervals allows multiple BLE devices to detect and receive the broadcast message (Alpert: Paragraphs [0049], [0061], [0069]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannan in view of Kwon1 and Kwon2, and further in view of Gilson et al. (US2023/0247405A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Kannan, Kwon1, and Kwon2 does not explicitly teach wherein the management operation comprises adjusting a transmitter power of the IoT device, and the management response confirms execution of the adjusting of the transmitter power of the IoT device.
However, Gilson teaches wherein the management operation comprises adjusting a transmitter power of the IoT device, and the management response confirms execution of the adjusting of the transmitter power of the IoT device (Paragraph [0030]: The first device 102 can comprise a computing device, such as an access point, such as a wireless access point. Paragraph [0064]: For example, the second device 124 can comprise a computer, a smart device (e.g., smart phone, smart watch, smart glasses, smart apparel, smart accessory), a laptop, a tablet, a set top box, a display device (e.g., television, monitor), a digital streaming device, a proxy, a gateway. Paragraph [0067]: As an illustration, the second device 124 can receive a message comprising timing information (e.g., the first timing information), such as a time window, from other devices, such as the first device 102. The second device 124 can reduce functionality during the time window. Paragraph [0074]: A wireless device 204 that is or was previously connected to the access point 202 can be configured to actively scan for the access point 202 by sending a probe request (e.g., probe request frame). Paragraph [0078]: The devices 404 (e.g., user and/or client devices) associated with the access point 402 may be connected to the access point 402 but not currently transferring data. In such scenarios, the access point 402 can attempt to put one or more of the devices 404 associated with the access point 402 into