This office action is in response to remarks filed on 01/14/2026.
Claims 1, 2 and 4-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 2 and 18-20 are amended. Claim 3 is canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/24/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 2 and 18-20 have been considered based on amendments.
Amendment to the title has been acknowledged.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because they contain abbreviations which should be defined the first time they are used in the claims:
Claim 1: RRC, RNTI, G-RNTI, C-RNTI
Claim 12: MT-SDT, MO-SDT
Claim 16: TMGI
Claim 17: CCCH
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro et al (US20230362595A1) (hereinafter "Fujishiro '595") in view of Lin et al (US20240349238A1) (hereinafter "Lin").
Regarding claim 1, Fujishiro '595 discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a receiver configured to ([0039] the UE 100 includes a receiver 110, a transmitter 120, and a controller 130.):
receive a first message indicating at least a first bearer ([0142] In Step S108, based on the notification from the UE 100, the gNB 200 transmits an RRC Release message to the UE 100 for which the reception preparation has been completed.), wherein the UE enters or stays in an RRC Inactive state in response to receiving the first message; and ([0143] the UE 100 transitions to the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state upon reception of the RRC release message.)
a transmitter ([0041] The transmitter 120 performs various types of transmission under control of the controller 130.) configured to transmit data via the first bearer during a first time period in the RRC Inactive state ([0073] The first mode may be available for the UE 100 in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state. [0077] The second mode (Delivery mode 2) is a delivery mode that can be used not only by the UE 100 in the RRC connected state, but also by the UE 100 in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state and is a delivery mode for low QoS requirements.),
wherein: during the first time period, the receiver is configured to receive scheduling information (Fig. 19, S509 SWITTCHING INFORMATION [0109] the gNB 200 provides the scheduling information of the MCCH to the UE 100 using a system information block (SIB) transmitted through the BCCH.) for a first channel ([0077] The second mode (Delivery mode 2) is a delivery mode that can be used not only by the UE 100 in the RRC connected state, but also by the UE 100 in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state and is a delivery mode for low QoS requirements. The second mode is used for broadcast sessions among MBS sessions. However, the second mode may also be applicable to multicast sessions. [0078] An MBS reception configuration in the second mode is performed through broadcast signaling.) and a second message (Fig. 19, S509 SWITTCHING INFORMATION [0191] In Step S509, the gNB 200 transmits switching information for switching from the second mode to the first mode for the specific MBS session.) on the first channel, wherein the second message triggers data transmission (Fig. 19, S5010 connection processing (random access procedure)) via a second bearer ([0073] the first mode (Delivery mode 1) is a delivery mode that can be used by the UE 100 in the RRC connected state and is a delivery mode for high QoS requirements. The first mode is used only for multicast sessions among MBS sessions. In an embodiment, the first mode is assumed to be used for multicast sessions, but the first mode may also be used for broadcast sessions. The first mode may be available for the UE 100 in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state. [0074] In an embodiment, an MBS reception configuration in the first mode is performed through dedicated signaling (also referred to as “unicast signaling”)),
one of the first bearer or the second bearer is a Multicast/Broadcast Service (MBS) radio bearer (MRB), and another one of the first bearer or the second bearer is a data radio bearer (DRB) ([0157] In the present operation example, the gNB 200 establishes, in the UE 100, a bearer (i.e., a split bearer) split into a first communication path for the first mode (hereinafter referred to as a “first mode leg”) and a second communication path for the second mode (hereinafter referred to as a “second mode leg”). When the first mode is switched to the second mode, the UE 100 switches from the first mode leg to the second mode leg while maintaining the PDCP entity. [0083] FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating the split MBS bearer according to an embodiment. Hereinafter, the PTP communication path is referred to as a PTP leg, and the PTM communication path is referred to as a PTM leg.),
the scheduling information is scrambled by a first RNTI associated with the first bearer, and ([0089] When the PTM leg is in an activated state, the UE 100 monitors a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) to which a G-RNTI associated with the MBS session is applied (i.e., performs blind decoding of the PDCCH using the G-RNTI). The UE 100 may monitor the PDCCH only at a scheduling occasion of the MBS session.)
on a condition that [0086] The PHY entity transmits and receives data of the PTP leg using a cell RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI)) that is allocated to the UE 100 on a one-to-one basis. The PHY entity transmits and receives data of the PTM leg using a group RNTI (Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier (G-RNTI)) allocated to the MBS session on a one-to-one basis. The C-RNTI is different for each UE 100, but the G-RNTI is an RNTI common to a plurality of UEs 100 receiving one MBS session.))
Fujishiro '595 fails to disclose a user equipment (UE), comprising: the UE resumes the second bearer in response to receiving the second message, wherein receiving the second message does not trigger an RRC connection resume procedure.
However, Lin discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: the UE resumes the second bearer in response to receiving the second message, wherein receiving the second message does not trigger an RRC connection resume procedure ([0069] Specifically, a terminal device in an inactive state may receive a paging message. The paging message includes first indication information, and the first indication information is configured for indicating that a network side triggers MT-SDT; and the terminal device resumes at least part of radio bearers from suspended radio bearers, where the at least part of radio bearers are configured for receiving to-be-transmitted data corresponding to the MT-SDT. That is, after the terminal device in RRC_INACTIVE is triggered to enter an MT-SDT process, the terminal device may not perform RRC state switching, but resumes at least part of radio bearers from the suspended radio bearers, and receives DL data through the at least resumed part of radio bearers.).
Fujishiro '595 and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of the transfer of data for a terminal device in an idle state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595 and Lin to create a user equipment (UE), comprising: the UE resumes the second bearer in response to receiving the second message, wherein receiving the second message does not trigger an RRC connection resume procedure.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce the power consumption and signaling overhead of the terminal device.
Regarding claim 18, Fujishiro '595 discloses a base station, comprising:
a transmitter configured to: ([0044] the gNB 200 includes a transmitter 210, a receiver 220, a controller 230, and a backhaul communicator 240.)
transmit a first message indicating at least a first bearer ([0142] In Step S108, based on the notification from the UE 100, the gNB 200 transmits an RRC Release message to the UE 100 for which the reception preparation has been completed.) for causing a UE to enter or stay in an RRC Inactive state, wherein the UE ; and ([0143] the UE 100 transitions to the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state upon reception of the RRC release message.)
a receiver ([0044] the gNB 200 includes a transmitter 210, a receiver 220, a controller 230, and a backhaul communicator 240.) configured to receive via the first bearer during the first time period ([0073] The first mode may be available for the UE 100 in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state. [0077] The second mode (Delivery mode 2) is a delivery mode that can be used not only by the UE 100 in the RRC connected state, but also by the UE 100 in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state and is a delivery mode for low QoS requirements.),
wherein: one of the first bearer or the second bearer is a Multicast/Broadcast Service (MBS) radio bearer (MRB) and another one of the first bearer or the second bearer is a data radio bearer (DRB) ([0157] In the present operation example, the gNB 200 establishes, in the UE 100, a bearer (i.e., a split bearer) split into a first communication path for the first mode (hereinafter referred to as a “first mode leg”) and a second communication path for the second mode (hereinafter referred to as a “second mode leg”). When the first mode is switched to the second mode, the UE 100 switches from the first mode leg to the second mode leg while maintaining the PDCP entity. [0083] FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating the split MBS bearer according to an embodiment. Hereinafter, the PTP communication path is referred to as a PTP leg, and the PTM communication path is referred to as a PTM leg.);
the scheduling information is scrambled by a first RNTI associated with the first bearer, and ([0089] When the PTM leg is in an activated state, the UE 100 monitors a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) to which a G-RNTI associated with the MBS session is applied (i.e., performs blind decoding of the PDCCH using the G-RNTI). The UE 100 may monitor the PDCCH only at a scheduling occasion of the MBS session.)
on a condition that [0086] The PHY entity transmits and receives data of the PTP leg using a cell RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI)) that is allocated to the UE 100 on a one-to-one basis. The PHY entity transmits and receives data of the PTM leg using a group RNTI (Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier (G-RNTI)) allocated to the MBS session on a one-to-one basis. The C-RNTI is different for each UE 100, but the G-RNTI is an RNTI common to a plurality of UEs 100 receiving one MBS session.))
Fujishiro '595 fails to disclose a base station, comprising: the second bearer is resumed in response to transmitting the second message, wherein transmitting the second message does not trigger an RRC connection resume procedure.
However, Lin discloses a base station, comprising: the second bearer is resumed in response to transmitting the second message, wherein transmitting the second message does not trigger an RRC connection resume procedure ([0069] Specifically, a terminal device in an inactive state may receive a paging message. The paging message includes first indication information, and the first indication information is configured for indicating that a network side triggers MT-SDT; and the terminal device resumes at least part of radio bearers from suspended radio bearers, where the at least part of radio bearers are configured for receiving to-be-transmitted data corresponding to the MT-SDT. That is, after the terminal device in RRC_INACTIVE is triggered to enter an MT-SDT process, the terminal device may not perform RRC state switching, but resumes at least part of radio bearers from the suspended radio bearers, and receives DL data through the at least resumed part of radio bearers.).
Fujishiro '595 and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of the transfer of data for a terminal device in an idle state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595 and Lin to create a base station, comprising: the second bearer is resumed in response to transmitting the second message, wherein transmitting the second message does not trigger an RRC connection resume procedure.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce the power consumption and signaling overhead of the terminal device.
Regarding claim 20, Fujishiro '595 discloses method, comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) a first message, indicating at least a first bearer ([0142] In Step S108, based on the notification from the UE 100, the gNB 200 transmits an RRC Release message to the UE 100 for which the reception preparation has been completed.):
entering or staying in an RRC Inactive state in response to receiving the first message ([0143] the UE 100 transitions to the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state upon reception of the RRC release message.);
transmitting data via the first bearer during a first time period in the RRC Inactive state ([0073] The first mode may be available for the UE 100 in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state. [0077] The second mode (Delivery mode 2) is a delivery mode that can be used not only by the UE 100 in the RRC connected state, but also by the UE 100 in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state and is a delivery mode for low QoS requirements. [0187] the UE 100a continues the MBS reception in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state.);
receiving scheduling information (Fig. 19, S509 SWITTCHING INFORMATION [0109] the gNB 200 provides the scheduling information of the MCCH to the UE 100 using a system information block (SIB) transmitted through the BCCH.) for a first channel and a second message (Fig. 19, S509 SWITTCHING INFORMATION [0191] In Step S509, the gNB 200 transmits switching information for switching from the second mode to the first mode for the specific MBS session.) on the first channel ([0077] The second mode (Delivery mode 2) is a delivery mode that can be used not only by the UE 100 in the RRC connected state, but also by the UE 100 in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state and is a delivery mode for low QoS requirements. The second mode is used for broadcast sessions among MBS sessions. However, the second mode may also be applicable to multicast sessions. [0078] An MBS reception configuration in the second mode is performed through broadcast signaling.) during the first time period, wherein the second message triggers data transmission via a second bearer wherein ([0073] the first mode (Delivery mode 1) is a delivery mode that can be used by the UE 100 in the RRC connected state and is a delivery mode for high QoS requirements. The first mode is used only for multicast sessions among MBS sessions. In an embodiment, the first mode is assumed to be used for multicast sessions, but the first mode may also be used for broadcast sessions. The first mode may be available for the UE 100 in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state. [0074] In an embodiment, an MBS reception configuration in the first mode is performed through dedicated signaling (also referred to as “unicast signaling”)):
one of the first bearer or the second bearer is a Multicast/Broadcast Service (MBS) radio bearer (MRB), and another one of the first bearer or the second bearer is a data radio bearer (DRB) ([0157] In the present operation example, the gNB 200 establishes, in the UE 100, a bearer (i.e., a split bearer) split into a first communication path for the first mode (hereinafter referred to as a “first mode leg”) and a second communication path for the second mode (hereinafter referred to as a “second mode leg”). When the first mode is switched to the second mode, the UE 100 switches from the first mode leg to the second mode leg while maintaining the PDCP entity. [0083] FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating the split MBS bearer according to an embodiment. Hereinafter, the PTP communication path is referred to as a PTP leg, and the PTM communication path is referred to as a PTM leg.),
the scheduling information is scrambled by a first RNTI associated with the first bearer, and ([0089] When the PTM leg is in an activated state, the UE 100 monitors a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) to which a G-RNTI associated with the MBS session is applied (i.e., performs blind decoding of the PDCCH using the G-RNTI). The UE 100 may monitor the PDCCH only at a scheduling occasion of the MBS session.)
on a condition that [0086] The PHY entity transmits and receives data of the PTP leg using a cell RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI)) that is allocated to the UE 100 on a one-to-one basis. The PHY entity transmits and receives data of the PTM leg using a group RNTI (Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier (G-RNTI)) allocated to the MBS session on a one-to-one basis. The C-RNTI is different for each UE 100, but the G-RNTI is an RNTI common to a plurality of UEs 100 receiving one MBS session.))
Fujishiro '595 fails to disclose a method, comprising: resuming the second bearer in response to receiving the second message, wherein receiving the second message does not trigger an RRC connection resume procedure.
However, Lin discloses a method, comprising: resuming the second bearer in response to receiving the second message, wherein receiving the second message does not trigger an RRC connection resume procedure ([0069] Specifically, a terminal device in an inactive state may receive a paging message. The paging message includes first indication information, and the first indication information is configured for indicating that a network side triggers MT-SDT; and the terminal device resumes at least part of radio bearers from suspended radio bearers, where the at least part of radio bearers are configured for receiving to-be-transmitted data corresponding to the MT-SDT. That is, after the terminal device in RRC_INACTIVE is triggered to enter an MT-SDT process, the terminal device may not perform RRC state switching, but resumes at least part of radio bearers from the suspended radio bearers, and receives DL data through the at least resumed part of radio bearers.).
Fujishiro '595 and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of the transfer of data for a terminal device in an idle state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595 and Lin to create a method, comprising: resuming the second bearer in response to receiving the second message, wherein receiving the second message does not trigger an RRC connection resume procedure.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce the power consumption and signaling overhead of the terminal device.
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro '595 in view of Lin, as applied to claims 1, 18, or 20 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US20220329982A1) (hereinafter "Kim '982").
Regarding claim 2, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the UE, wherein: the UE monitors a second RRC connection resume procedure message in response to a first RRC connection resume procedure message, and the UE resumes the second bearer along with the RRC connection resume procedure.
However, Kim '982 discloses the UE, wherein: the UE monitors a second RRC connection resume procedure message (Fig. 13 RRCResume m-15 ) in response to a first RRC connection resume procedure message ([0602] the UE m-01 may transmit the first RRC message m-10 to receive the MBS service, receive the second RRC message m-15), and
the UE resumes the second bearer along with the RRC connection resume procedure ([0628] the UE may configure the information in RRC message… through an SRB, DRB, or MBS bearer (unicast bearer or multicast bearer) configured in the UE in the RRC connected mode and transmit the information by establishing a connection with the network (trigger RRC connection procedure or RRC connection resume procedure)).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Kim '982 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multicast/broadcast, MBS, or small/early data transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, with Kim '982 to create the UE, wherein: the UE monitors a second RRC connection resume procedure message in response to a first RRC connection resume procedure message, and the UE resumes the second bearer along with the RRC connection resume procedure.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the possibility of needing to resume or switch bearers in response to an RRC resume request or when the base station requests information from the UE (e.g. measurement data).
Regarding claim 19, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the base station, wherein: the base station determines whether to transmit a second RRC connection resume procedure message in response to a first RRC connection resume procedure message, and the RRC connection resume procedure and the second bearer are resumed.
However, Kim '982 discloses the base station, wherein: the base station determines whether to transmit a second RRC connection resume procedure message in response to a first RRC connection resume procedure message, and ([0560-0561] If the base station receives the first RRC message in the procedure m-10 above, the base station may…transmit a second RRC message m-15 to the UE)
the RRC connection resume procedure and the second bearer are resumed ([0628] where the base station requests the information from the UE in the RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode…the UE may configure the information in RRC message…and transmit the information by establishing a connection with the network (trigger RRC connection procedure or RRC connection resume procedure).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Kim '982 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multicast/broadcast, MBS, or small/early data transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, with Kim '982 to create the base station, wherein: the base station determines whether to transmit a second RRC connection resume procedure message in response to a first RRC connection resume procedure message, and the RRC connection resume procedure and the second bearer are resumed.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the possibility of needing to resume or switch bearers in response to an RRC resume request or when the base station requests information from the UE (e.g. measurement data).
Claims 4-5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro '595 in view of Lin as applied to claims 1, 18, or 20 above, and further in view of Wei et al (US20220361161A1) (hereinafter "Wei").
Regarding claim 4, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the second message includes a first identity of the UE, where the first identity of the UE is unique in at least one cell; and the first bearer is an MRB, and the first RNTI is an RNTI of the first candidate RNTI set.
However, Wei discloses the UE, wherein the second message includes a first identity of the UE, where the first identity of the UE is unique in at least one cell; and the first bearer is an MRB, and the first RNTI is an RNTI of the first candidate RNTI set ([0091] The PTM transmission may be achieved (scheduled) by a gNB through a group (shared) RNTI (e.g., G-RNTI) and the PTP transmission may be achieved (scheduled) by the gNB through a UE-specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI). The group RNTI may be (pre)configured by the gNB and associated with an MRB (or an MBS session, or TMGI)).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Wei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of MBS transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Wei to create the UE, wherein the second message includes a first identity of the UE, where the first identity of the UE is unique in at least one cell; and the first bearer is an MRB, and the first RNTI is an RNTI of the first candidate RNTI set.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have the appropriate RNTI to match the bearer type.
Regarding claim 5, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the second message includes a second identity, the second identity indicating a first MBS session, the UE joins the first MBS session, the first bearer is a DRB, and the first RNTI is an RNTI of the second candidate RNTI set.
However, Wei discloses the UE, wherein the second message includes a second identity, the second identity indicating a first MBS session, the UE joins the first MBS session, the first bearer is a DRB, and the first RNTI is an RNTI of the second candidate RNTI set ([0091] The PTM transmission may be achieved (scheduled) by a gNB through a group (shared) RNTI (e.g., G-RNTI) and the PTP transmission may be achieved (scheduled) by the gNB through a UE-specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI). The group RNTI may be (pre)configured by the gNB and associated with an MRB (or an MBS session, or TMGI)).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Wei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of MBS transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Wei to create the UE, wherein the second message includes a second identity, the second identity indicating a first MBS session, the UE joins the first MBS session, the first bearer is a DRB, and the first RNTI is an RNTI of the second candidate RNTI set.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have the appropriate RNTI to match the bearer type.
Regarding claim 14, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the UE, wherein transmitting the data via the first bearer in the RRC Inactive state belongs to a first RRC update procedure; and the first RRC update procedure comprises: transmitting a first target message, the first target message being transmitted through a CCCH.
However, Wu '333 discloses the UE, wherein transmitting the data via the first bearer in the RRC Inactive state belongs to a first RRC update procedure; and the first RRC update procedure comprises: transmitting a first target message, the first target message being transmitted through a CCCH ([0074] the UE 102 in the inactive state initiates 314 SDT (e.g., in accordance with the SDT configuration received in event 306) to transmit UL data or receive DL data) [0078] After or in response to initiating 314 the SDT, the UE 102 transmits 316 an initial UL MAC PDU to RAN 105...The UL RRC message can be a CCCH message, an RRC resume request message, or an RRC early data request message).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Wu '333 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multicast/broadcast transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Wu '333 to create the UE, wherein transmitting the data via the first bearer in the RRC Inactive state belongs to a first RRC update procedure; and the first RRC update procedure comprises: transmitting a first target message, the first target message being transmitted through a CCCH.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a control message sent in the appropriate channel.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro '595 in view of Lin, as applied to claims 1, 18, or 20 above, and further in view of Wu et al (US20240430980A1) (hereinafter "Wu '980").
Regarding claim 6, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the second message indicates that data is to be transmitted via the second bearer in the RRC Inactive state.
However, Wu '980 discloses the UE, wherein the second message indicates that data is to be transmitted via the second bearer in the RRC Inactive state ([0010] a method, performed by a UE… receiving an RRC release message from the RAN while the UE is in the connected state, and, in response to the RRC release message…receiving further MBS data from the RAN via the second MRB while the UE is in the idle state or the inactive RRC state).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Wu '980 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multicast/broadcast, MBS, or small/early data transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, with Wu '980 to create the UE, wherein the second message indicates that data is to be transmitted via the second bearer in the RRC Inactive state.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the possibility of needing to resume bearers while the UE is in an idle state.
Regarding claim 7, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the second message indicates that data is to be transmitted via the second bearer in the RRC Connected state.
However, Wu '980 discloses the UE, wherein the second message indicates that data is to be transmitted via the second bearer in the RRC Connected state ([0010] a method, performed by a UE… receiving an RRC release message from the RAN while the UE is in the connected state, and, in response to the RRC release message…receiving further MBS data from the RAN via the second MRB while the UE is in the idle state or the inactive RRC state).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Wu '980 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multicast/broadcast, MBS, or small/early data transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, with Wu '980 to create the UE, wherein the second message indicates that data is to be transmitted via the second bearer in the RRC Connected state.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the possibility of needing to switch or resume bearers in response to a RRC resume or handover procedure.
Claims 8, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro '595 in view of Lin, as applied to claims 1, 18, or 20 above, and further in view of Wu et al (US20240306248A1) (hereinafter "Wu '248").
Regarding claim 8, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the first message indicates at least one first-type DRB, and the first message does not indicate any first-type MRB; and the first bearer is any first-type DRB of the at least one first-type DRB.
However, Wu '248 discloses the UE, wherein the first message indicates at least one first-type DRB, and the first message does not indicate any first-type MRB; and the first bearer is any first-type DRB of the at least one first-type DRB ([0095] CU 172 can include an EDT indication in the RRC release message to indicate a first DRB of the one or more RBs as an EDT DRB).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Wu '248 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multicast/broadcast, MBS, or small/early data transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, with Wu '248 to create the UE, wherein the first message indicates at least one first-type DRB, and the first message does not indicate any first-type MRB; and the first bearer is any first-type DRB of the at least one first-type DRB.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to utilize a radio bearer configuration that supports SDT.
Regarding claim 12, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, discloses the UE, wherein the first-type DRB is a DRB that can be used for MT-SDT ( [0074] In cases of receiving DL data while the UE 102 is in the inactive state, the SDT is referred to as mobile terminating (MT) SDT); or the first-type DRB is a DRB that can be used for MO-SDT ( [0074] In cases of transmitting UL data while the UE 102 is in the inactive state, the SDT is referred to as mobile originating (MO) SDT).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the first-type DRB is a DRB that can be used for SDT.
However, Wu '248 discloses the UE, wherein the first-type DRB is a DRB that can be used for SDT ([0095] CU 172 can include an EDT indication in the RRC release message to indicate a first DRB of the one or more RBs as an EDT DRB.).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Wu '248 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multicast/broadcast, MBS, or small/early data transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, with Wu '248 to create the UE, wherein the first-type DRB is a DRB that can be used for SDT.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to utilize a radio bearer configuration that supports SDT.
Regarding claim 13, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the first-type MRB is an MRB that can be used for receiving MBS in the RRC Inactive state.
However, Wu '980 discloses the UE, wherein the first-type MRB is an MRB that can be used for receiving MBS in the RRC Inactive state ([0156] receiving further MBS data from the RAN via the second MRB while the UE is in the idle state or the inactive RRC state).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Wu '980 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multicast/broadcast, MBS, or small/early data transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, with Wu '980 to create the UE, wherein the first-type MRB is an MRB that can be used for receiving MBS in the RRC Inactive state.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the needing have radio bearers capable of transmitting multicast/broadcast data while the UE in in an inactive state (e.g. SDT).
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, as applied to claims 1, 18, or 20 above, and further in view of Fujishiro et al (US20240179800A1) (hereinafter "Fujishiro '800").
Regarding claim 9, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the first message indicates at least one first-type MRB, and the first message does not indicate any first-type DRB; and the first bearer is any first-type MRB of the at least one first-type MRB.
However, Fujishiro '800 discloses the UE, wherein the first message indicates at least one first-type MRB, and the first message does not indicate any first-type DRB ( [0146] The RRC message includes an MRB identifier (a bearer ID, an RLC channel ID, an LCID, or the like) or an MBS session identifier (a TMGI or the like)); and the first bearer is any first-type MRB of the at least one first-type MRB ( [0146] The RRC message includes an MRB identifier (a bearer ID, an RLC channel ID, an LCID, or the like) or an MBS session identifier (a TMGI or the like)).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Fujishiro '800 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multicast/broadcast, MBS, or small/early data transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, with Fujishiro '800 to create the UE, wherein the first message indicates at least one first-type MRB, and the first message does not indicate any first-type DRB; and the first bearer is any first-type MRB of the at least one first-type MRB.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to utilize a radio bearer configuration that supports MBS.
Regarding claim 16, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, discloses the UE, wherein the first paging message comprises a first identity of the UE ( [0074] the UE 102 at event 314 receives from the RAN 105 a paging message, which includes a UE ID of the UE 102 and an SDT indication. The UE ID can be an I-RNTI, resume ID, or a NAS ID (e.g., S-TMSI or 5G-S-TMSI)).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the first paging message comprises a TMGI, the UE being joined in one or more MBS sessions identified by the TMGI.
However, Fujishiro '800 discloses the UE, wherein the first paging message comprises a TMGI, the UE being joined in one or more MBS sessions identified by the TMGI ([0146] The RRC message includes an MRB identifier (a bearer ID, an RLC channel ID, an LCID, or the like) or an MBS session identifier (a TMGI or the like)).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Fujishiro '800 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multicast/broadcast, MBS, or small/early data transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, with Fujishiro '800 to create the UE, wherein the first paging message comprises a TMGI, the UE being joined in one or more MBS sessions identified by the TMGI.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a group identifier and a radio bearer configuration that supports MBS.
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro '595 in view of Lin, as applied to claims 1, 18, or 20 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US20240073987A1) (hereinafter "Kim '987").
Regarding claim 15, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, discloses the UE, wherein as a response to receiving a first paging message, resuming the first bearer ([0074] In response to the paging message (i.e., the UE ID and the SDT indication), the UE 102 initiates SDT).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the UE, wherein along with the first target message, resuming the first bearer; or, the first RRC update procedure comprises: receiving a second target message; and along with the second target message, resuming the first bearer.
However, Kim '987 discloses the UE, wherein along with the first target message, resuming the first bearer ( [0307] Based on initiating the transmission of the RRC resume request message, the UE may re-establish PDCP entities for one or more bearers, resume one or more bearers); or, the first RRC update procedure comprises: receiving a second target message; and along with the second target message, resuming the first bearer ( [0244] A UE-RRC layer may receive an RRC resume message in response to an RRC resume request message. Based on the RRC resume message, the UE-RRC layer may…perform a cell group configuration, a radio bearer configuration…resuming SRB2, all DRBs).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Kim '987 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multicast/broadcast, MBS, or small/early data transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, with Kim '987 to create the UE, wherein along with the first target message, resuming the first bearer; or, the first RRC update procedure comprises: receiving a second target message; and along with the second target message, resuming the first bearer.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to resume a bearer(s) in response to an RRC resume or release procedure.
Regarding claim 17, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, discloses the UE, wherein during a time interval between receiving the first paging message and resuming the first bearer, the UE does not transmit an RRC message transmitted through a CCCH ([0074-0078] the UE 102 at event 314 receives from the RAN 105 a paging message, which includes a UE ID of the UE 102 and an SDT indication…After or in response to initiating 314 the SDT, the UE 102 transmits 316 an initial UL MAC PDU to RAN 105 on the cell 124).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro '595 in view of Lin, as applied to claims 1, 18, or 20 above, and further in view of Zhu et al (US20210120526A1) (hereinafter "Zhu").
Regarding claim 10, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the first message indicates at least one first-type DRB, and the first message indicates at least one first-type MRB; and the first bearer is any first-type DRB of the at least one first- type DRB, and the second bearer is any first-type MRB of the at least one first-type MRB.
However, Zhu discloses the UE, wherein the first message indicates at least one first-type DRB, and the first message indicates at least one first-type MRB ([0068] a base station may select to use an MRB or a DRB, such as to switch from the MRB to the DRB. The base station may signal this switch to a UE using a…radio resource control (RRC) message); and the first bearer is any first-type DRB of the at least one first- type DRB, and the second bearer is any first-type MRB of the at least one first-type MRB ([0050] the base station includes means for dynamically switching between the first bearer and the second bearer, wherein the first bearer is one of a multicast broadcast radio bearer (MRB) or a dedicated radio bearer (DRB), and wherein the second bearer is the other of the MRB or the DRB).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Zhu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multicast/broadcast, MBS, or small/early data transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, with Zhu to create the UE, wherein the first message indicates at least one first-type DRB, and the first message indicates at least one first-type MRB; and the first bearer is any first-type DRB of the at least one first- type DRB, and the second bearer is any first-type MRB of the at least one first-type MRB.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to utilize a radio bearer configuration that supports unicast or multicast/broadcast traffic.
Regarding claim 11, Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the first message indicates at least one first-type DRB, and the first message indicates at least one first-type MRB; and the first bearer is any first-type MRB of the at least one first- type MRB, and the second bearer is any first-type DRB of the at least one first-type DRB.
However, Zhu discloses the UE, herein the first message indicates at least one first-type DRB, and the first message indicates at least one first-type MRB ([0068] a base station may select to use an MRB or a DRB, such as to switch from the MRB to the DRB. The base station may signal this switch to a UE using a…radio resource control (RRC) message); and the first bearer is any first-type MRB of the at least one first- type MRB, and the second bearer is any first-type DRB of the at least one first-type DRB ([0050] the base station includes means for dynamically switching between the first bearer and the second bearer, wherein the first bearer is one of a multicast broadcast radio bearer (MRB) or a dedicated radio bearer (DRB), and wherein the second bearer is the other of the MRB or the DRB).
Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, and Zhu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multicast/broadcast, MBS, or small/early data transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Fujishiro '595, as modified by Lin, with Zhu to create the UE, herein the first message indicates at least one first-type DRB, and the first message indicates at least one first-type MRB; and the first bearer is any first-type MRB of the at least one first- type MRB, and the second bearer is any first-type DRB of the at least one first-type DRB.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to utilize a radio bearer configuration that supports unicast or multicast/broadcast traffic.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 20, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al (US20230284315A1) discloses methods of communication for data transmission in an inactive state of a terminal device..
Gao et al (WO2022241682A1) discloses a method for small data transmission, involving the transmission of a message comprising an indicator to instruct a wireless communication node handling SDT, in which the indicator indicates that SDT bearers are resumed.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419